(2009) Brides of year 2009

more or less e pricing r from $3088 onwards coz i signed up mine at the wedding fair at $3688.. but u will still able to find packages at $2988 =)

Hey Yi Jing, you are fast.... hope your PS will be an enjoyable one...

Dianna, ya.. got it! Very informative multiply. Same here... my BS also didn't allow us to take till we confirm the gown...

heh heh... we started preperations acutally beginning this year. Wanted it to be more relaxing towards the wedding so we wont look so haggered.. keke.. also cos he proposed about 2 years ago. I actaully like your wedding date number (22 May) but cos we will be 4 and a half years together next year may 23 and it's a weekend, hence the date. Where's your banquet venue ene?

hi desjO,

yah i also wanted probably hawaii..but we went to ask the price..damm costly lor. The airport tax is almost the same price as the package...damm not worth.

sigh...but japan also not bad lah..something different lor.

Hey Vallous,
I also tot of Hawaii,see can add into japan as my honeymoon..but how come so exp ar??wanted go ang mo country le..hmm

Yi Jing, hope you enjoyed your photoshoot as much as all of us here have enjoyed ourselves!

Vallous & desjO, Japan is a nice nice place! You wouldn't regret. I spent like 11 days there. Hee. Simply love the place! Can't wait to go back there again. For honeymoon, we're looking at either USA or Europe (Italy). This will largely depend on the amount of money we have left after the banquet. Hee. Can't book my honeymoon yet like you girls here because I am expected to be outstationed next Feb again for a few months. Looks like no honeymoon for me. Clearing marriage leave will also be a problem for me. Don't know when then I will get to clear this leave. Hee.

Anyway check with you girls if you have any contractors to recommend? Would like to do some minor renovation (painting, some custom made furniture) to my hubby's room (as our future room).

Hi desjO and grace,

USA or Europe the airport tax can kill lor. We nearly have heartattack when we heard of the price of the airport tax. We also like you too..we intend to see how much money we have left for honeymoon after our banquet.

My hubby also will have an overseas work trip so we only going in may/june.

As for contractor wise...mine is ID. The contact is at my website.

http://weilunjoleen.weddingannouncer.com

Hi Desjo

The photoshoot is fun although tiring... going to view my pics on friday... so quite excited ^_^

As for my package, we opt the design work layout, so already top up $2200 from 18pages to 40pages, and can choose ard 85 to 100 photos... so choosing should be quite easy. ^_^

Cos my hubby know I definately will top up, so at least at maximum amt we get wat we wan... all in we paid $4445 for the whole bridal package. As I did check with my friends, they top up from $3k package to $6-7k...

As for honeymoon have to postpone liao... really drain out years of saving after renovation, last trip when thailand after ROM already spent $3k in a week... *faint

wow...go thailand..spend so much ah

but good lor can go thailand...our ROM we spend at Rasa Sentosa. We din spend much in total about $500 for 3 D 3N.. But rasa really not bad sia...we love it.

Anyway just curious..cos i kept hearing you guys spend on this and that..

did you all keep a check on your finances..as of now..how much have you all spend already?

For us, our breakdown so far is like this:-

ROM - $500
Home Renovation and Furnishing - $20K
Wedding Dinner Banquet - $40K
Bridal Package - $3.2K
Angbaos and Wedding Gifts, Dowry - $5K
Honeymoon - $10K (pending depending on how much left)

when we listed down the money...sometimes we will have heart attack..save for years and years..within a year..spend $100K..

sometimes my hubby and i felt we getting more and more stingy haha...

we go foodcourt eat chicken rice..complaint until can die haha...i guess we really now know how much things can costs...last time mummy and daddy do spoil us

hi hui,

I went to Japan I think was about $3k (without spending). 7 days in hokkaido (with tour), 4 days in Tokyo (free & easy). Thus, we needed to spend a bit of money on booking hotel in Tokyo. We stayed in a central area near the Shinjuku (shopping area) thus, it's more expensive. But it's all worth while!!! I went with SA Tours. Very good!

A rough track from me.

Home Reno (excluding furnish): $46K (approx)
Furnishing (so far...): lost count.
Wedding Banquet: $31.5k
Bridal Package:$3k

Our ROM and customary-
will be held on the same day. We saved on doing another lunch recept/ honeymoon.

Angbaos and Wedding Gifts-
have not worked on a budget yet.

Dowry-
Have not done research. Is it supposed to be given by my parents?

Honeymoon.... HTB says leave it to him. I have no idea where he wants to bring me. hee... Anyway, it will not be soon after our wedding I guess.

Hi grace

we tot of going to SA tours also. Seems a pretty good offer. Will go take a look. The tour has what in it? Got those hot saunas or not???

hee...frankly speaking, we haven not been touching on marriage stuffs for many months since we had already settled all the big issues like Pre and AD PG, BS and banquet by april.
i think we can rest till end of the year then get busy again..haa..

Hi all *wave to all oct'09 brides* =)

anyone knw when is the fair @ MS.?

about how long b4 our actual date should we book for BS?

mrswang,

heard abt the fair. but nt sure got wat BS there. haha...

tink best is bk 1yr b4 ur AD. if u calculate bk, PS is take ard 1/2yr b4 ur AD to cater the time to select photos, view layout, print the album n also unforseen probs lar.
then before PS, u need to select gowns ard 3mths b4 so tat if no hv wat u wan then got time to MTM.

so add all up is abt 9mths. but then the earlier u sign is better as BS packages always increase. sign earlier u can get better price lor...

yup grace, been shaking legs for months..can't wait to get started again.. hee..

i'm not sure where to get vegetarian cakes.. maybe those vegetarian shops at bugis near guan yin temple will have..

just wondering mah..
coz my wedding date has been fixed..my dinner venue settled liao..
so does that mean my FH no need to come over to ti qing??
my parents didnt request..i also didnt ask them need a not.. hmmm..should be okie right?

hi poseidon,

this is how we do it.

Next Sat, my bf will have lunch with my parents. This is to make a formal request to my parents to ask for my hands.

Then, my bf will come over to my house, this time with a "mei po", can be his auntie to "ti qing". This meeting is more for "Guo Da Li" stuff and expectations on the wedding itself. The guy should come with his elder relative and not with his parents.

As to when this "Ti Qing" take place, I suppose 3-6 months before your Guo Da Li, so you can prepare all the stuff needed.

OCCTY...yup I totally agree with Felicia. you should start looking for your hotels and BS asap a U have just a year to your wedding. We booked our hotel and church in March and it was already tentatively booked by another couple. so if u dont wanna be disappointed and would wanna get the hotel of your choice, I suggest starting early. We did not get the church of our first choice and it was very disappointing

wahahaha...twinfairy, dun say like tat lah...we all help each other in watever ways mah...afterall, all in the same kind of 'boat' mah...hehehe

wah, so far ar, Meow...come to tik of it ar, my frd was saying tat Chinatown got sell those veg mooncakes...maybe can go there hor? hmmm...

Hi Grace,Vallous
I believe Japan will be a nice plc to visit,but still hope can go ang mo country le ;p din noe the tax can be so steep..I should be going during CNY..should be winter time ba?I tot SA tours r quite exp?

Indeed very drained out..all add up think exceed $100K..scary hor?hubby said after move in maybe hv to cook instant noodles liao ;p

Hi luvlove,
Tot u just done w ur PS?How come so fast can view photos liao?ur pkg quite reasonable.Mine almost 4K with only 28pcs & no AD photographer & car wor..U can pick up to 100pics very gd deal
i din noe BKK trip can spend so much?keke

Hi cosyouaremygal,
my renovation also close to ur figure..is ur hse done?

Hi Baby,
I took up focal travel for my korea trip..not bad

poseidon,

it depends on ur family whether they want or nt.

mayb u can drop hint to ur mum and ask for her views.

for mine, is we dun hv tat. but tink both side parents will mit to tok abt the GDL tings when the times comes nearer ba.

Think our spending should ard these

Reno + Furnishing = $75k
Bridal package = $4.5k
Rom + wedding bands = $2k
Wedding banquet = $20k (rough guide plus wines)
Drowry & angbao money havent set...
AD photographer asking friends to help also

I told him no more honeymoon cos overspend liao... ^_^ plus we two very shopcoholic, thus spent so much in thailand in just 1 week, buy till luggages overweigh.

Hi Baby & Vallous

SA tours is quite good, my parents just came back from Japan 7 days in hokkaido, the tour guide prepared all local delights plus hotels mostly got hot saunas. Some hotels is on tatami, so can have a taste of their live style. per pax abt $3k, spending abt another $3k.
Mostly sight seeing in Hokkaido, little shopping... anyway Japan stuffs not cheap also, but can try Dasio (is 100 yen shop in Japan, abt $1.30 sing). Also the 7 days abt 5 days in Hokkaido only, 2 days in Toyko transit...can shop ard in toyko, but their cab fare is very much higher, my dad said abt 10mins journey nearby cost 2700yen (=S$32) so travel by cab not recommended if free & easy.

Hi Hui

my bridal is at Thomsom Plaza, Precious Moments Bridal. Thought of going to JB but too troublesome, we quite lazy ppl. Den I very stingy also, must think of our pockets... so quite happy for the deal. If go JB can get more den these, JB bridal still throw in Montage for u.

Desjo, mine also no AD photographer & car... so another headache cos need to rent car. Photographer think ask our friends to help cos professional ones really too expensive ^_^

Now awaiting for this mth utilities bill, dunno will exceed $150 anot...

I even forgot that we need a wedding band!! My VG and PG cost me about 3k. I paid for it cos HTB does not believe in paying a bit more for PG and VG.

Hi Luvlove,

75K for reno!! is quite alot. Furnishing includes electrical products? I must really go and look through all the invoices and do a count.

Hi desjo,

my house is not completed yet.We are very slow... It started since April. Should be handing over in Sept. Carpentry coming in on 12th.

I just went for 7 days Hokkaido with HTB, his mum and sis in May by ANA under UOB traveller plan. We paid about 2.4k each. (Broke!) Every meals included except last day if i remember correctly.

The stays were pretty good. A few nights in hot spring resorts and a few nights in hotels with hot spring facility. Basically every night except last day in Tokyo. Tokyo hotel is also good, it's 5*. We were all given high floor and it has a city view.

The food was "thumbs up"! Lots of seafood. We tried kobe beef at our own cost too.

However, I dread the journey in the coach. We change lodging everyday. We went in a wrong season too. We were a few days late to see Cherry Blossom. So must pick the right season to go.

Personally, I will choose to go back again in Winter. The 2nd time there, I hope to stay in a Ski Resort and visit just one city. And, it is going to be FREE & EASY only. I guess that is much better for bonding... haha..

Hokkaido was my dreamt honeymoon destination but HTB die die wants to bring his mum there cos he said it's time for him to bring his mum on a holiday. But my concern then was, we needed the $$$ very much also. Well...

Hi all who are interested to go to Japan for honeymoon:

I went in April 2007 to Hokkaido with SA Tours. I would say they are very professional in terms of guiding. They provide really good advice too.

Lodging - as mentioned already - changed everyday. Some ppl don't like. But then Hokkaido quite huge, so definitely must change everyday. Most of the hotels in hokkaido have hot springs. But must be fully naked! Hee. So you must not be shy. Of course, female and male separate la. Don't think so much! As mentioned also, you get to experience sleeping on tatami, some will wake up with backaches! Haha...

The food there - I cant describe. It's superb! You can try Hokkaido King Crab, Kobe beef all at your own cost. Their rock melon ice cream rocks! I bought a lot of Bai Se Lian Ren (Shiroi Koibito). It's a biscuit wrapping a piece of white chocolate! Very very yummy~ This is actually bought in the chocolate factory which we visit. A little like Charlie & the chocolate factory. Other food I tried there are their fruits! I spent about $200 on fruits. It's really expensive but you never get to taste sweet strawberries in Singapore. And red Mangoes... Yummy!

Managed to catch some cherry blossom along the streets of Tokyo when we reached Tokyo. I stayed in Metropolitan, Crown Plaza Hotel, at Ikebukuro. This place is about 2 MRT stations away from Shinjuku - the busy shopping area. I went to some temples to take a look, went DisneyLand all these on my own. Their MRT there is really easy to take. Places are easy to go. Just do sufficient research, you can walk around in Tokyo on your own.

My next trip there would be to explore Kyoto, Osaka and the other big cities.

If you're looking at Hokkaido, my Japan tour guide mentioned that the best time to go is in Feb 08, because they hold some ice craving festival there. You see many 'cravers' from around the world, coming to crave ice and showcase their works. Of course, you will miss the Cherry Blossom. Heard Cherry Blossom is earlier in Tokyo compared to Hokkaido, because Hokkaido is colder than Tokyo at each point in time. I went end of April, saw a little cherry blossoms along the street. Hokkaido ones should start blooming in mid-May.

You can ask further questions if you have any. And I try to provide some more info.

Oh ya... initially i wanted to go with Hong Thai, but then they had too little people to make a group, thus, signed up with SA. Did not regret!

So anyone went to USA or Italy before? Care to share some insights?

whoa thanks for the Japan info. My main concern is also on the travelling and changing of hotels. I mean honeymoon should be lazing around but not rush like mad. But Japan is one of the place that I dream of going.

WhoA luvlove, your reno really damm a lot leh. $75K is very high. Perhaps you have a lot of build in and high tech stuff.

oh our wedding bands is about $2k. PG and VG package about $1.6K. We engaging 2 PGs and 1 VG.

Vallous,

Actually not very rush... Just that every night you make sure you don't unpack. Just pack what you have bought into your luggage and bring it down tomorrow again.

I find the itinerary just nice. Just that you probably got to spend 2 hours travelling from one place to another. However, the tour guide will usually spend abt 30mins explaining the place, what to do, what not to do, what to expect, the history etc...

Jasmine - We will be having the dinner at Peony Jade. We are looking at about 20 tables so for weekends (Fri included), so it was quite challenging looking for a venue. For me, I am in such a dilemma! Cannot decide between Silverlining and Bridal Veil. BIG SIGHSSSS.

Hi cosyouaremygal

my reno $75k including everything, from furnishing to electrical products, plus utensils. Cos my furnitures(including bed frame) mostly made to measure, only bought pool table convertable to dinner table and sofa, plus electrical products(like TVs, rice cooker, oven, washing machine, fridge etc). Reno so much also partly we change both toilets tiles, basins & taps, plus built in bathtub with jets etc. Plus air con also, our need 4 units to 1 compressor... already $4.5 also. Also floor tiles not included by HDB, so another amt.

Cos contractor is my uncle, we asked him how much to change all tiles for 1 toilet, he will said change lai, change lai, very cheap one... when we saw the bill is close to $3k per toilet excluding fees like fixing basin, fixing toilet bowl etc.

But lucky we changed the toilets tiles, cos the thought of it really make us sick... my hubby said he wont use the toilets at all if not change. ^_^

Hi Baby & vallous,
For the tour I made a mistake, its with ANA. so sorry.

Twinfairys> Now I understand why your FH behaves that way. I agree with Mashi, some guys have weird thinking. But at least everything is clear now. But if he is afraid that you will get robbed, it doesn't make sense for him to get ur PR from Larry le. Haha! Solely that can get a robber's eye le. Hehe!

Is ur PR's rock abit more high rising? Which allows a band to go with it? Cos mine does, as taught by the salesman to my HB. If you get the band with a pointer in it, quite no point cos I believe ur rock will more or less cover the pointer =P

My HB is a station mgr. Precisely it is because of his coming overseas posting, thus we had ROMed in March this year and did our PS so that he dun have to fly back next year to do it. I will be joining him at end Oct later after he goes off to LA at end this month. The 16hrs difference is quite shiong, think it will be quite difficult to communicate by then if we are in different countries.

So yup, I did my PS in mid May. So more or less, we had settled everything except for the GDL.

Mrs Wang? Yup, I agreed with Mashi that the earlier the better cos prices will go up. Try to get PS done a few months before so that there is ample time to edit pics, showed you, and if you don't like it, you can still get it changed. You see, I took my PS in mid may, I have yet to see my edited pics. I can understand that 1st priority is for couples getting married this year. But it will be soon cos my HB is due to fly and the BS asked us to check out the edited pics, not the album. I hope to get the album before I fly.

Mashi> Think I will look around and see whether I want to get some nice pens for the reception. Cos that is not too impt.If I have, that will good, if don't have, guess just have to make do loh.

What are the details you need, let me know and I will give accordingly =) Except for age hor =P Hahaha!

poseidon> I'm the same as Mashi. I also dun have ti qing cos both families are not particular about it. So we had a lunch before ROM so as to know and see how each other look like. This is pathetic cos we dated for 8 years and our families had not seen each other before. Hahaha! Our parents basically just let us decide what we want. GDL is just me wanting to show respect to my parents-in-law. So I will settle it with my sis-i-l and mil after my HB flies.

Hello... How's everyone...
i finally called my BS.. hehhee am told i'm in the q to be called up.. most prob photo taking in Dec/Jan....i called like 3 times already...not sure will be blacklisted anot... heheeee
i'm supposed to be on diet.. but somehow, am putting on weight!!!so frustrating!!!!!
anyone has got tips to diet?? HELP!!!
Its quite scary to see tat most of u have already settled on so many things... but i'm like nothing accomplished yet.. kinda worry...only have my banquet,AD Photo/video,BS confirmed.. nothing else is done..

Aggiegal,

u will b able to get ur album. BS wun hold ur tings so long de lor. but since u take ur PS so early. when near to ur AD, r u allow to choose another gown instead of using ur PS WG. as there will b new gowns coming out..

lets start of wif getting the following details.
ROM Venue
ROM Date
AD Venue
AD Date
BS
AD PG
AD VG (if have)

wat else u all would like to knw? place where u get ur wedding bands? can let me knw. will add accordingly