(2009) Brides of year 2009

Hi all, thanks for the warm welcomes. =)
For me, I just hope I do not look too flabby on the wedding day. On top of that, I have a friend to motivate and always reminding me the amount I have paid for... So die die have to go.

I am planning to go Gel Nails with simple designs for my PS and AD. That will last you for 2-3 weeks like Yi Jing says.

It's harmful, but it's ok if u only do it for occassion. Once, I was addicted to it for half a year. My nails were then peeling, soft and weak, thus I stopped. Now my new grown nails are strong again. =)

AhBlur> How did you contact Lam with regards to the packages? Call him directly or email? I have emailed but no response from him yet.

Then how long need to let it rest for the nails to recover? I intend to do it on sept for my photoshoot then another last time just before my AD wedding.

Hi Geraldine! Welcome to our group! =)<center><table border=1><tr><td>
mime_msexcel.gif

Jan09_Brides.xls (18.9 k)</td></tr></table></center>

just done my manicure, DIY myself with stick on flowers... so can save some $$$...
Normally if u applied top coat it will help, and usually nail polish last abt 5-7 days for my case... just have to be extra careful esp washing ur hair and opening cupboards to prevent chips

Thanks vallous &amp; desjo for advicing... have to consider outdoor locations, cos its going to be a very long day tomolo... ^_^ hopefully can tahan smiling at the camera... tonight have to rest early liao ^_^

Janice,

Oic. so wat is the gold rate nw??

My montage will be done my my PG. but u can use window movie maker to do ur montage. an easy program...

so u settle ur venue / PG / VG / BS liao le ma?
other than tat tink is left ur GDL tings le lor. time being noting much for u to prepare le ba... if u done all...

for slimming ar. tink best is to exercise ba. exercise often n eat more healthy food mah. keke...
i also wan to slim down. but then juz too bad, keep eating, turn out getting fatter. haha

hhmm~~

maybe i sud start sourcing for the photography.. any good recommendations?? :D

I'm also starting to feel a little paranoid cos I noticed that the BS which I have signed up with is not erm... mentioned much in the forum... -.-"

Desjo,

The Gel overlay is like a layer transparent of hard gel. Not like nail polish.. So will last very long.. Won't break off unless you really knock on something very hard.

Dianna,

You only need to rest your nails for about one month before you do it again.. So should be ok for your photoshooting on Sept and AD on Jan.

hey ladies,

for those who have signed up with GPPH, how's your experience with the co-ordinators over there? what makes you sign up with this hotel huh?

thanks so much for all ur advices! now i know its not part of the culture :p

hi luvlove, my BS prepared flower petals too, ive seen other bride's album, the effct is nice

A big hello to cosyouaremygal and geraldine! ^_^

benjymocha - Go check out the Bridal Veil thread. Lots of chat there. Their "cheapest" package is about $3900+ and this does NOT include any photography. The one with photography costs about $5000+ onwards. I don't have the detailed pricing with me as its at home in hard copy. BV's gowns are very elegant and simple so it may not be everyone's cup of tea but go check them out if you like such stuff. Go look at the gowns on their website first to see if you like them

Thanks for comment about Andrew Choi. Am thinking of getting him but have to make appt to go view his portfolio.

Hello to all the newcomers...here getting very crowded haha

wow got gel..ok but will spoil nails ah..my nails already not so good leh..i see how lor...but due to my job nature, i knt keep long fingernails lah..so no point paint until so nice...

My hotel coordinator just emailed me 2 wedding dinner themes to select..thinking of combining both. What do you all think?

One all white with white roses and gold cutleries but i felt too plain - its called the champagne theme..I love the other one..called scarlet theme..but because scarlet has black chair drapes and napkins with red table cloths and gold cutleries but scared elders will be offended so decided to change the chair and napkins to white but retain the dark red roses scarlet theme..

supergal> My coordinator is very good and efficient during the discussing and liaising process. I like the ballroom the most. Secondly will be the price and package which I think is quite good. Then is the food for which I hear good reviews. And the location is accessible too.

Are you considering GPPH too?

i took herbalife. If u really keen, i can introduce u to my consultant.

I stop taking for 1 month already, no rebounce. However, must still watch what i eat. More healthy stuff, soup based, less rice and carbo and no more fast food + lots of water.If got time to exercise, will be better.

If need be, can PM me. i tell u more.

hi momo,
ya i suppose there's enough time for them to alter... told my frend abt my bridal, they say weekday they too free liao, tat's y can within a few days ok le.. hahaha. when i noe tat is 3 days b4, i was was tinking should arrange like a week b4. but the gal there says tat it's abit too early, scarly i become fatter then no time to alter liao. so they say 3 days is the best, at least within e next 3 days wun be of much difference.

ohhh btw, since u confirm ur gowns already, ur shoe ok le mah ?

Hi Ashley.

Ya, My dream wedding is 2 or 3 months old. Package is slightly more ex than sophia. But I am attracted by the quality of their album and gowns.

hi nana, yes i am..more or less fix my choice le..just waiting for date confirmation from my parents!

which day are you looking at &amp; which package did you take? i'm looking at the ruby package..for the weekends

mrs_kan..

i call him on his mobile... at times he is busy so probably he will ask u to drop him a sms.. n he follow up from there..

perhaps bah.. me oradi ask my htb to go kpo wif his folks see if they mind us fixing things during this month..

yeah~ finalised liao den juz wait and see how the gown turn out bah.. are u still postponing your PS? me tinking of postponing mine to mid Oct..

Thanks Yi Jing,in this case I shall ask the manicurist to apply the gel coating for me..once in a life time thingy,so nails also must be mei mei ;p

Hi Vallous, my hotel also got the scarlet theme..is nice but may not get through with elders.since ur chairs &amp; napkins will be white,then u need ur deco to be in bright colour to bring out liao..how about the lightings &amp; props the htl be using?must see can ur red roses scarlet theme can blend in?

hello girls,

Hasn't been in here for quite a while and there are many new people. *wave wave* hello to all...

verena - the decision will be to buy our own place before getting married. I have already told him the max length I am going to stay with his mum is no longer than 3 months.

aggiegal - TOP is temporary occupation permit. This signifies that the building is done and can move in. The reason why his mum asked where we are going to stay if we applied for the AMK DBSS is because she knew we are plannning for 2009 wedding and the AMK DBSS isn't ready until end 2011. So when bf said we would rent outside, she said why cannot stay with her.

According to bf, he said it is a very casual family chat and I am overly serious. I think is not wise to have too many women in a house. If I would to move in to stay with them, he has 3 women to cope with. His mum, his wife (that's me!) and his sister. Definitely going to be chaotic.

Before we left for our short getaway, my mum did a brief check and she said 10 Oct is not a good date for us. In case, you gals wondering why my mum wouldn't help confirm our wedding date, is because she strongly believed that is the guy's side to come out with the wedding date.

So now, I have found the lunar calendar online and also matched with another "good" wedding date. Bf has passed it to his mum. We are going to leave again today for a mission trip. Will see if his mum can confirm a wedding date.

Just cannot believe that I had to go through so much trouble just to get a date. *shake head*

http://www.herongyang.com/2009/2009_chinese_calendar_v2.pdf

http://www.herongyang.com/chinese/wedding/index.html

Pasted the online links here, in case anyone interested or in case, this is not the correct lunar calendar for 2009.

mashi - i remember you went down to eclarity, did you go down on a weekday or weekend? Did you just call to say you are coming on that same day or advance notice required? We will probably make a trip down when we are back. Both of us are taking long break now so would be a good time for us.

oh yes aggiegal, i also dunno why certain shops said they cannot resize the half eternity ring. Is very puzzling to me too.

to the rest of the girls... happy preparation! catch up with you gals when i am back again

supergal> My date is 4 Dec 09. If you are wondering why I am here in the Oct thread, it's because I chose Oct initally. haha..
I think mine is Jade package, the friday one.

Of cos during our course of searching, there are other good hotels too but either they dun fit my reqirement or I dun meet theirs, eg. table requirements, prices, etc. Some of them need 30 tables or more which I dun think I can meet the numbers.

Hi morning gals,

Its like S$45 for the gold price. Btw what is PG/VG/BS?

Our wedding will be held at Carlton Hotel.
It will be a 8 courses Lunch by Wah Lok Chef.
Actually I do not wish to have a whole day event
and also we have lesser no of tables so we decided to go for lunch instead of dinner. How about you gals? Can share?

Our bridal shop will be at Venus, JB. I didnt go
thru the hassle of looking around. This is the
3rd shop we have visited. How about you gals?

Wow, Fish Hu, this is good that you actually got good effects from the slimming. I actually heard some bad comments about those slimming centres. Anyway I dun think I would like to spend such $ on it. I already cut down supper at night :-P, no snack, and exercise lor. I tried my best to control lor. My photoshots will be end
of Sept. So I still got 8 weeks to go. Hehe..

Hope to keep in touch with you gals more often.

My PS confirmed postpone to Oct liao. My co-ordinator happened to choose my Birthday for the PS lo.
My HTB laugh and say that it will be a very special birthday for me this yrs lo. hehe

hi nana, yeah similar case in mine..i need around 25 tables and most hotels weekend packages have 30 as the minimum..so i'm glad to have found GPPH..

and we are quite pleased with the food menu..have roasted pig in the first dish..which is something that i like..and it's 9 course on a sat

heard that there will be a wedding show next month..so going down to take a look at it..you booked yours so early arh?

janice, u sure price of gold is S$45 per gram? doubt so lah...i just checked last wk...S$50 hor!!!!!!! can die man....hopefully price of gold will go down...if not, siao liao!

oh ya, if u take lunch, would it be alot cheaper?? for my hotel, lunch n dinner same price so we decided to go for dinner instead...more wu hua...hehehe...

Venus not bad leh...saw their pics n gowns before...quite pretty...

yeah, Janice...another tip on exercising...to lose more fats overall, do cardio exercises 4 times a wk at least...each time, do it in 30 mins or 40 mins rep...cos only after 20 mins of exercising then u r burning ur actual body fats...also, cardio exercises u can vary...sometimes, do treadmill or sometimes do cross trainer machine or sometimes can do cycling....v good cardio exercises....but of cos if u join gym, u can always participate in their kickboxing or cardio exercise classes....really make u sweat like anything...WAHAHAHA

anyway, the lingo here is VG - videographer, PG - photographer, BS - bridal studio, AD - actual day, MUA - makeup artist...

haha...yaya....exercise is very important....but I feel dont swim...will make shoulder very big after tt...
Wat make me decide to go slim centre is becoz I already stop eating my supper...eat light meals for both lunch and dinner...no more KFC all tt...but still...no results at ALL...tt make mi decide to spend the $$ go London....but if u can make sure u go exercise regularly....it's very good...I'm just too lazy...wahaha...

Yup.. I booked mine one or two months back. As I've gotten my date so I thought can jus proceed to book first in case by then my date not available then will have headache.

So have you gotten your date and just waiting for your parents to say ok?

Changes on Nana’s Date

2 Oct 09 - hui xiang
3 Oct 09 - mab3ru | Poseidon_gal | Shynn
4 Oct 09 - Hui Ling | Christy
9 Oct 09 - Karine
10 Oct 09 - Hoonie | Verena (Church) | Jacqueline | mrswang
11 Oct 09 - Verena (Wedding Dinner)
16 Oct 09 - Mashi Mashi
21 Oct 09 – Michelle Yong
24 Oct 09 - Supergal | Virgo
25 Oct 09 - Queen | Blurrypinky | ada sheu | II | Chan Hui Shan | Bubbly19
28 Oct 09 - sotong_gal
30 Oct 09 – Aggiegal
31 Oct 09 – Peareys

lolz.. yah, most number of pics taken tis yr!! hahahha..

me oso tinking of postponing my PS, should i wait till my next fitting then inform my co-ordinator or call them up? bery pai seh leh, i was the one who told them tat i wan Sep one.. =P

Grace, thank godness I bought it at S$45 last weekend. I am actually thinking whether is it necessary to get the 'SI DIAN JIN' coz I wanted to help to save $. But in the end, I am thinking its once in a lifetime, so decided to go ahead and get it. Haha..Anyway I am very happy.

Well there is not much difference between the lunch and the dinner. However I do not wish to have so many tables like 30s. Also I do not wish to drag for the whole day. Lunch will ends at 3pm. Hehee...

Thanks. I like their gowns and their props. So decided to go for venus. Went into Inspiration (JB) but the guy's attitude quite bad and he quotes at S$8888 (something like that). Also we asked to see real couples' photo but he insisted
showing us the models couples photos. So we dun find him reliable too.

Hey thanks for the exercises tips. So far I only
swim (on alternate days). Yeah, Fish Hu, I know it will make the shoulder big big. This is why I tried to swim using breast strokes and also swim slowly. Hahaha.. I tried to use more of legs. Haha..

Actually I like to snack alot alot! Can finish the whole tub of ice-cream. Hhaaha.. and love chips! But coz my photoshots getting nearer so start my own slimming program. Haha.. hope I can stay motivated.

So where are you gals' BS and venue for the wedding? When is your photoshots?

yah tats why lor...

actually i dun like too bright...i like to be warm and cosy..so bright looks very ordinary.

The whole ballroom will be decorated with red roses and some flower stands...each table has a bowl of red roses. The stage has a fence of garden roses flowers with candlelights.

As conrad has high ceilings and no pillars, they have many crystal chandeliers (sorry forget how to spell. It blends in pretty well.