(2009) Brides of year 2009

hihi.. this is wat my friend told me.. not sure how real isit.. anyway, it depends on individual.Most impt is both u and your hubby need to like the place loh..

Poseidongal,
Have you tried Orchard Parade Hotel? their food is nice too.. HIPV taken for 3rd Oct 09? That is fast...

desjO> Ya the long train makes the gown very heavy. Especially those tube gown, like it is gg to drop kind of feeling. Searching for that once in a lifetime gown is really very hard.

haha.. it took me a few tries to get it right too! wen pastin ur table in between the curly brackets, dun leave any space at the start n end..

I got it already! Thanks Lalaa!

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>AD Date</TD><TD>AD Day</TD><TD>AD Venue</TD><TD>Bridal Studio</TD><TD>Estimated date for PS</TD><TD>AD PG</TD><TD>AD VG </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>gracelourdes</TD><TD>19/09/09</TD><TD>Saturday</TD><TD>Furama Riverfront Hotel</TD><TD>FranceTaipei Bridal (Penang)</TD><TD>8-Dec</TD><TD>Yong How (1950 Photography)</TD><TD>Daniel (Wowmedia) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lalaa</TD><TD>26/09/09</TD><TD>Saturday</TD><TD>still lookin..</TD><TD>La Bell3 Couture</TD><TD>9-Mar</TD><TD>Nozza.net</TD><TD>Nozza.net </TD></TR><TR><TD>elstrial</TD><TD>27/09/09</TD><TD>Sunday</TD><TD>Grand Mercure Roxy</TD><TD>Sophia Wedding Collection</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Hello gals,

me getting married next year too. Bf just proposed but no concrete plan yet. We couldnt decide on our wedding date and havent told anyone our good news.

Not sure if it is a good idea to get married during those super long weekends. We checked 2009 public holiday, there are about 3 long weekends.

What do you all think?

twinfairy,

its actually depends on u both. i wun suggest u both ask ur parents. some elders come to dates are very pang tang. so they might want u to hv gd dates. n select the dates fr tong shu.

unless they are ok, then u can select any dates u like. keke...

but tink u hv to act fast lor. quite a no. of hotels are nt available on hot dates liao...

haiz, i'm also tiking abt dinner activities...the usual yamseng seems pretty cliched but it's also unavoidable leh...

but then, at same time, still tiking if there's possibilities of a dance or sth like tat...wat u gals doing for dinner?

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>AD Date</TD><TD>AD Day</TD><TD>AD Venue</TD><TD>Bridal Studio</TD><TD>Estimated date for PS</TD><TD>Pre PG</TD><TD>AD PG</TD><TD>AD VG </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>gracelourdes</TD><TD>19/09/09</TD><TD>Saturday</TD><TD>Furama Riverfront Hotel</TD><TD>FranceTaipei Bridal (Penang)</TD><TD>8-Dec</TD><TD></TD><TD>Yong How (1950 Photography)</TD><TD>Daniel (Wowmedia) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Meow</TD><TD>20/09/09</TD><TD>Sunday</TD><TD>Mandarin Oriental </TD><TD>Ted Wu</TD><TD>TBC </TD><TD>William Chua</TD><TD>Daylight</TD><TD>NA </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lalaa</TD><TD>26/09/09</TD><TD>Saturday</TD><TD>still lookin..</TD><TD>La Bell3 Couture</TD><TD>9-Mar</TD><TD></TD><TD>Nozza.net</TD><TD>Nozza.net </TD></TR><TR><TD>elstrial</TD><TD>27/09/09</TD><TD>Sunday</TD><TD>Grand Mercure Roxy</TD><TD>Sophia Wedding Collection</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>AD Date</TD><TD>AD Day</TD><TD>AD Venue</TD><TD>Bridal Studio</TD><TD>Estimated date for PS</TD><TD>Pre PG</TD><TD>AD PG</TD><TD>AD VG </TD></TR><TR><TD>gracelourdes</TD><TD>19/09/2009</TD><TD>Saturday</TD><TD>Furama Riverfront Hotel</TD><TD>FranceTaipei Bridal (Penang)</TD><TD>Dec-08</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Yong How (1950 Photography)</TD><TD>Daniel (Wowmedia) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Meow</TD><TD>20/09/2009</TD><TD>Sunday</TD><TD>Mandarin Oriental</TD><TD>Ted Wu</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>William Chua</TD><TD>Daylight</TD><TD>NA </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lalaa</TD><TD>26/09/2009</TD><TD>Saturday</TD><TD>still lookin..</TD><TD>La Bell3 Couture</TD><TD>Mar-08</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Nozza.net</TD><TD>Nozza.net </TD></TR><TR><TD>elstrial</TD><TD>27/09/2009</TD><TD>Sunday</TD><TD>Grand Mercure Roxy</TD><TD>Sophia Wedding Collection</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

WAHAHAHAHA....ppl dunno wat happened in tis thread tot we all playing with the tables....damn funny...

anyway, who's having a simple wedding here ar? i mean, for me, i'm not having any gatecrashing ceremony at all...no GDL or an chuang also

haha no probz Grace!

yea if it's gonna be juz eatin n yamseng, can get very boring liao.
il be havin an emcee for the dinner.. gonna haf games for the guests.. to saboh dem.. call dem up to stage to do stuff.. cos im sure me n groom also sure get sabohed.. so must prepare in advance.. hehe.. will also show the photo montage &amp; ROM video.. after dinner will haf dance floor.. will be gettin a DJ..

how abt u all? plannin to do anythin different for ur dinner? will u brides be givin speech?

yeah...haven't really tot of the dinner program exactly yet leh...tot of games during the dinner cos only having 16 tables so i tik the phototaking (v cliched but i'm still tiking of ways to go ard it) will be pretty quick....

hahaha...we going to do a speech....but since hb's not local n most of his frds ain't here, i guess i will have to do the speech...quite weird hor...usually it's the groom doing it leh..but now, seems like it's on my court liao

oo wers ur HTB from? well since most of the guests gonna be ur side, makes more sense for u to give a speech la.. but it wud be nice if he gave a short speech too.. if not it mite be a bit weird wif only the bride tokin..

photo takin cannot escape.. must do.. cos the guests sure wud wanna appear in a pic wif the bride n groom.. mine gonna be 70 tables.. my head spinnin think of it oredi!

I dunno how long one needs to put a wedding together. Supposedly, we only announce end of this year, that is like only 6 months left to prepare, more or less.

The main worry is still the housing though.

oh, my hb is frm penang...so not going to get his ppl over cos he's not pure Chinese also...hehehe...some ppl would say tat he's Chin-dian...hehehe...he's half Chinese n half Indian mah...

yeah, still tiking of some excuses to make him give a speech...

not tat i dun want to give...but u noe, i seriously hate posed pics man...i prefer those styles tat's more impromptu...v much spontaneous kind...but then again, haiz...u shd see the look on my mum's face when i mentioned tat...she was like...huh? dun take table to table pics meh? then how to give relatives the pics ar? faintz...

now i have to re-think...another way is, take posed pics for table to table (just for relatives n parents' frds)...as for our frds, i guess we can do an impromptu style...haven't really tot of it in detail...any ideas ar?

Hi Jayin,

You going to Swissotel the Stamford too? I've shortlisted either Swissotel the Stamford or Mariott. Most likely going to confirm with Swissotel the Stamford by end month.
Roughly when is yr wedding? June too? Mine will be June 2009.

<table border=1><tr><td> Nick</TD><TD>AD Date</TD><TD>AD Day</TD><TD>AD Venue</TD><TD>Bridal Studio</TD><TD>Estimated date for PS</TD><TD>Pre PG</TD><TD>AD PG</TD><TD>AD VG </TD></TR><TR><TD>gracelourdes</TD><TD>19/9/2009</TD><TD>Saturday</TD><TD>Furama Riverfront Hotel</TD><TD>FranceTaipei Bridal (Penang)</TD><TD>Dec-08</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Yong How (1950 Photography)</TD><TD>Daniel (Wowmedia) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Meow</TD><TD>20/9/2009</TD><TD>Sunday</TD><TD>Mandarin Oriental</TD><TD>Ted Wu</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>William Chua</TD><TD>Daylight</TD><TD>NA </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lalaa</TD><TD>26/9/2009</TD><TD>Saturday</TD><TD>still lookin..</TD><TD>La Bell3 Couture</TD><TD>Mar-08</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Nozza.net</TD><TD>Nozza.net </TD></TR><TR><TD>Fifteenmay</TD><TD>26/9/2009</TD><TD>Saturday</TD><TD>Merchant Court</TD><TD>Venus (JB)</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Venus (JB)</TD><TD>Daylight Pictures</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>elstrial</TD><TD>27/9/2009</TD><TD>Sunday</TD><TD>Grand Mercure Roxy</TD><TD>Sophia Wedding Collection</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Hey Glamourous,
i went down to meet Sam and Joyce just now. their office is real cosy and they are really nice pple!
really impressed by their work.apparently they have other couples enquiring for the same date as me,Heng i listened to your recommendation early!
i really like their work but their package is quite ex. have to relook at my wedding budget first!

we are thinking of goodwood park..but my fren told me the food is not good leh, how ah?? hahaha

if really saturday the negotiation din go well, i suppose our back up is Grand Hyatt kua..

Hey Lalaa,
we have the same AD!
in my opinion, better get the venue soon as alot of couples are getting married in Sept 09 for some reason!

hmm, it depends.
hw grand u wan to hv for ur wedding.

best is to start prepare 1yr in advance. becoz u need to find venues, BS, PG, VG and mayb other tings.

if u plan to take PS, PS shld b taken best is 1/2yr b4 ur AD lor. if nt will b very rush...

housing mah. tat 1 i cannot comment as i also lookin for my flat. haha..

depends u wan to take resale or new flat. resale will b faster. if new flat will b u willing to wait or nt lor.

haha

Hey Fifteenmay,

Glad to be of help to you! =)
Maybe U can consider getting their smaller package (For example lesser hours) or engaging their associate VG instead if budget is a concern.
I reckon will be betta off than not getting it videoed at all. Just my 2 cents worth.

Hi Angel,
Digio emphasize more on embroidery, so some designs can be quite bold and unique.. GHA carries a mixture i would say.. their latest collection is very rich in embroidery too.. but they still have a good collection of puffy organza and elegant gowns..

Pinkjolli,
I tried all the diff cuttings, realised tube still look best on me, partly becoz my shoulder quite small.. i brought along my bridesmaid &amp; hubby, gd to hear from both the male and female. But try not to bring too many jie meis too, coz they may have differing views and this will just confuse u..

Hey elstrial,

just happened to see your last post..
my AD is also on the same date as yours!
Don't c many Sept brides getting married on 27/09..Was your date recommended by a geomancer?

Hi ladies! almost a month out of action. I've just went for my first fitting at Volan couture. not very good selection I feel i was a little disappointed, but it didnt stop me from KIV-ing my favourite one. Haiz. I tried about 15 gowns..should I just settle for this now? or I must thicken my skin and give my feedback so hopefully i get better selections. my next fitting is mid june. sigh!!

Hi Pauli,
Did u tell ur coordinator dat u are still not very satisfied with the gowns? Maybe u can arrange another day to try other gowns too.. also try different cuttings and maybe u can find something suitable..

Otherwise can ask ur coordinator when will the next collection be coming in.. bridal shops usually have new batch coming in every 3 mths or so.. so perhaps u can reserve 1-2 gowns from this collection first (as back-up), then tell ur coordinator u wana try the next collection too.. if u do ur last selection in Jul/Aug, still can make it in time for PS in Sept/Oct.

Hi Chuababy,

I'm still re-considering..no preferences for hotels..but I quite like Grand Shanghai for their setting..and theres a 3pcs band provided..

Oh wana check with u rgds the band u booked, how much does it cost u?

Hi Hammiebao, welcome
I do know of one shifu who can calculate wedding dates without the need for tong shu. If you are interested, you can refer to my previous post which is a few posts above.

Jayin and Strawberry, Swissotel Stamford is a great choice. Went to the Style Wedding bash held there not long ago. The ballroom is very grand looking. If i recall correctly, it's high ceiling and pillarless. Food and service were pretty good.

Twinfairy,

if 080809 is nt in chinese 7th mth period, then the date might b quite hot lor. better bk early...

if i nt wrong 'ti qing' and 'guo da li' is different. 'ti qing' shld b the guys go to the gals side to ask the parents for permission to marry the gal.
'guo da li' is confirmed wedding liao then go to gals side to give the cakes, and the things gals parents request.

something like tat. if i m rite...

kath, did u went to GWP thread to study through? list down those question which u can chk with them during the meet up this sat.

Charmaine, ur look so sweet &amp; happy!!

hey fifteenmay

yup we have the same AD!

yea Sept is so popular! dis weekend will probably be doin some site visits! hope can find a venue soon.. will be a big load off!

eh how come my estimated date for PS bcame Mar-08? supp to be 09 la.. haha

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>AD Date</TD><TD>AD Day</TD><TD>AD Venue</TD><TD>Bridal Studio</TD><TD>Estimated date for PS</TD><TD>Pre PG</TD><TD>AD PG</TD><TD>AD VG </TD></TR><TR><TD>gracelourdes</TD><TD>19/9/2009</TD><TD>Saturday</TD><TD>Furama Riverfront Hotel</TD><TD>FranceTaipei Bridal (Penang)</TD><TD>Dec-08</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Yong How (1950 Photography)</TD><TD>Daniel (Wowmedia) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Meow</TD><TD>20/9/2009</TD><TD>Sunday</TD><TD>Mandarin Oriental</TD><TD>Ted Wu</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>William Chua</TD><TD>Daylight</TD><TD>NA </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lalaa</TD><TD>26/9/2009</TD><TD>Saturday</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>La Bell3 Couture</TD><TD>Mar-09</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Nozza.net</TD><TD>Nozza.net </TD></TR><TR><TD>Fifteenmay</TD><TD>26/9/2009</TD><TD>Saturday</TD><TD>Merchant Court</TD><TD>Venus (JB)</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Venus (JB)</TD><TD>Daylight Pictures</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>elstrial</TD><TD>27/9/2009</TD><TD>Sunday</TD><TD>Grand Mercure Roxy</TD><TD>Sophia Wedding Collection</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

fifteenmay, dun despair...do check out another 1 more cheaper VG to give u a gd comparison as well...

to be honest, a lot of AD VGs r pretty overpriced if u do count their hourly rates...seems like some just want to cash in on the lucrative wedding market...there are some recommendations at some photography forums as well...can get some guides frm there

Hmmm.. it's getting abit quiet in here...

How's everyone's preparations? I guess it's abt time for most of us to go for our BS try-outs.. we have abt 9 months to go..

Mine is the same as grace hehe...

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>AD Date</TD><TD>AD Day</TD><TD>AD Venue</TD><TD>Bridal Studio</TD><TD>Estimated date for PS</TD><TD>Pre PG</TD><TD>AD PG</TD><TD>AD VG </TD></TR><TR><TD>gracelourdes</TD><TD>19/9/2009</TD><TD>Saturday</TD><TD>Furama Riverfront Hotel</TD><TD>FranceTaipei Bridal (Penang)</TD><TD>8-Dec</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Yong How (1950 Photography)</TD><TD>Daniel (Wowmedia) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Gal</TD><TD>19/9/2009</TD><TD>Saturday</TD><TD>Marina Mandarin</TD><TD>Divine Couture</TD><TD>24-Jun-09</TD><TD>Derrick Ong</TD><TD>Derrick Ong</TD><TD>NA </TD></TR><TR><TD>Meow</TD><TD>20/9/2009</TD><TD>Sunday</TD><TD>Mandarin Oriental</TD><TD>Ted Wu</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>William Chua</TD><TD>Daylight</TD><TD>NA </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lalaa</TD><TD>26/9/2009</TD><TD>Saturday</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>La Bell3 Couture</TD><TD>9-Mar</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Nozza.net</TD><TD>Nozza.net </TD></TR><TR><TD>Fifteenmay</TD><TD>26/9/2009</TD><TD>Saturday</TD><TD>Merchant Court</TD><TD>Venus (JB)</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Venus (JB)</TD><TD>Daylight Pictures</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>elstrial</TD><TD>27/9/2009</TD><TD>Sunday</TD><TD>Grand Mercure Roxy</TD><TD>Sophia Wedding Collection</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

hey Grace
hmm he's chin-dian ah? interestin.. mixed blood sure more gd lookin.. haha.. so will u be havin any indian ceremony as well?

yea too many posed pics can make the album look so borin n fake.. n all pics will look alike :p yea gd idea to haf impromptu pics wif frens.. u shud ask ur PG for ideas for candid shots.. or else all can juz go crazy together n take shots.. haha

other brides.. any ideas??