(2009) Brides of year 2009

Oooo... Thanks for the info. Or else i really dunnoe where to start. shall start stocking up on magazines and looking ard. hehe.
have u choosen ur gown yet??? PS?

Hi II,

the price includes the photographer and his assistant. Not the makeup artist though....I was tolfd that it is more economical to get a make-up artist in Perth rather than fly one from here. Was alos told that there are some good makeup artists in perth who can do Asian faces as compared to European cities.

But if there are a few couples, maybe it might make sense to get a local makeup artists over and we all share the costs.

Emails me for more info.

Thanks for the warm welcome...hehehe! Appreciate the advises...wah, din even know you gals have booked your banquet so early. Thought my HTB was kiasu in pestering me for a decision.

I've looked at the 2009 NCQ package but as I wanted a weekend dinner, and their weekend tables is from 18-24, it doesn't really fit into my requirement.

Thought M Hotel is quite good in the sense that it fits my budget and fulfil most of my picky requirements.

How about Amara Hotel? Any comments? Near my bridal shop at Tanjong Pagar..hehe!

Harlow everybody..

I am also a Mar '09 Bride! Congrats to all of us.. hehe..

AD - 19 March 2009
ROM - Done - 25 January 2006
BS - still sourcing
Dinner - Grand Copthorne Waterfront
AD PG/VG - still sourcing

Hi all, I'm a Jan09 BTB too. (= Btw does anyone know if $500 to engage a professional photographer on actual day+night is expensive or cheap? Also, are most of you engaging a professional photographer or getting your amatuer friends to do it for you? Running on a tight budget that's why.

dreamz.. wanna share ur pictures? heh.. which bs u took? they will allow u to minus off the wg? wonder how much u will save.. heh..

Welcome Jac! hmm.. it will depends on ur budget and likings.. got any idea now? maybe can base on ur budget and liking to recommend u.. =)

nana.. $500 for actual day is cheap if he also got include returning of edited photos.. mine for actual day is ard $1700 (professional pg includes all photos edited and returned, and a photo book - something like coffee table book liddat)..

shice> haha have to wait for me to transfer the photos from my camera, abit lazy now. will try to do it soon. My BS is My Bridal Room. They say we can exchange it for more photos or something, but we haven decide want to change a not. Anyone interested in MBR can let me know.

Hi nana,

$500 is considered very cheap, there are others who charge over $1k. Although it is cheap, but whether you like his photography style or not is something very important too.

I am going for my first fitting next week. You may be shocked that it's so early because we may be having our PS early.

PS date not confirmed. We are thinking of having it in July.

yeah suz..i alredi strike them off liao..hahaha

me looking at hilton too. their price is $1008nett. Not bad.

oriental min is 30.. my tables now looking at 25 liao. see how lor.

i re-did my budget over the weekend, if i take 30tables of $1.3K per table, i will 'lose' abt $7K provided each guest give AP of $100 each - this is not factored with wine costs.. not tat bad lar hor.

hihi gals...
i have not decided on the venue yet...still discussing with the vendors..
we will not have it at hotel.so not scared will be fully booked..heee but i already kiasu to source now le lo...
my MIL think i too early...
i should be booking my BS soon..shortlist 2...

hehe, are we all really too kiasu? Its like 1.5 years more to go! Haha, i am still searching for BS, but i kind of firm up in my mind that i want The Wedding Present. Dont know why, their gowns blow me off my feet. Does anyone enquiry about them before? But its not cheap too. About 3.5k without photography. Kind of burst my budget.

Ada Sheu> if not hotel, where would you hold it?

Supergal> Armara hotel seems good too as its in town area, convenient for guest. I heard their ballroom is recently renovated? Hows their rate for dinner? And which BS u shortlisted?

hi nana,

$500 is cheap wor.. think you should check out the portfolio and ask him more about what he's providing you with..

haha..realised most of us seem to be the same, planning for wedding first then the proposal! mine too..
we applied for flat and got it end last year.. then he proposed this year beginning.. =)

hi Supergal, i been to Amara for ROM but not the wedding the service is quite good!!

II actually we are not kiasu loh....cos the prices keep increasing and if we book early can lock in the price mah...

Hi II,

I also feel that we are not kiasu and as I wanted a weekend date, the more I should book early! It's just that my parents say they still need to look at the Tong Shu to decide the date, and the book won't be out until end of this year..I was like, huh? I can't wait till then to book leh..otherwise, no weekend dates liao!

I went to Amara Hotel just now...but only look at the lobby area..seems very nice after the renovation! Will try to meet up with the wedding co-ordinators to view the ballrooms. I haven't got a chance to look at their packages but keeping my finger crossed that they will be within my budget!

As for BS, I have already signed up last month..cos I will be doing my ROM this October, so just thought I sign up early to have the ROM package thrown in as well. I have signed up with Fiori_Bridal at Tanjong Pagar (just about 10 min walk from Amara Hotel..along the same stretch of road). Done quite alot of homework with HTB and went to 5 BS before we finally settle for this one. What is your budget like?

Hi Queen,

Thanks for letting me know that you have a pleasant experience with Amara Hotel. Will boost my confidence if I were to sign up with them!

Hi Ada,

Which BS have you shortlisted? So are you planning to hold your banquet at a restaurant?

Wah... Let me know how did your first fitting go k???
Would love to know what type of gown you getting.

You make me real gan cheong...

hehe...

Emerald, I took oriental off my list cause I cant meet their min. Thats why abit curious that you are looking at oriental. Hee.. but if they can meet your needs, why not?

30 x 1.3k = 39k
30 x 10pax x 100 = 30k

Hmm.. should be min 9k lost just on the tables. Wine may be quite abit as well.

For ourself, we are not so optimistic. As there are quite a number of relatives, where they come as family. So I don't think they will be 'bao-ing' $100 per pax. And I know some still think $80 is the market for 1 pax.

Anyway, we just look at it as a celebration for us and a treat to all loh, prepared to lost even the whole dinner amount. So we looked for the venue that we are comfortable with, not considering the amount that we may recoup from the ang baos.

wow u girls are fast.. i am currently sourcing for the hotels and going down to take a look at the ballroom.. thinking of carlton or novotel... where u girls intend to have urs?

wow.. i might be an oct 25th bride too.. now thinking of either nov 15th or oct 25th! And one of my choices is to have it in NCQ.. haha...

whyme - heh, actually my FH propose first then we plan for wedding. so i was completely caught off guard. poor boy waited for a good half hour before i said yes! :P

nana - $500 is cheap lor. but like what ryan said, it depends on whether you like the photos, and what it includes.

According to Cheong Geomancy Consultants, 25th Oct is considered to be an auspicious date..that's why so many couples would want to hold their wedding on this date!

Yah my date is also calculated by Master and now im doubly confirmed the day is an auspicious date.

milky, im a 25 oct bride and my venue is NCQ. but mine is phoenix room la. how many tables are you looking at?

ada sheu, so qiao loh!!!! not only is our AD date the same, our BS is oso the same loh...just saw ur posting at the JWN thread. Anyway have you booked xiaoqi?

Im not getting her as my mua....n since our date is so hot, maybe you want to tell them u wan her n book her le...in case she is being booked liao.

Hi jy27

How is the wedding workshop? Did you sign up?

Hi Jenny

Welcome! Welcome! If you are still looking for BS then you should go for the style wedding show. Im going! Who else is going?

hey hey.. me also feb 2009 BTB.. so happy to see this thread..

phaffia, i am also holding my banquet at Merchant Court.. wat a coincidence! my AD is on 12/02/2009.. but my gown fitting only in June.. PS in October.. how come urs so fast huh.. hehe..

jaimegal, i am with Golden Horse Award.. feel that their gowns, photography and album design are pretty good.. digio is the sister company of GHA too.. hope this helps! =)

Welcome mscupid11. Glad to see 1 more bride who will be holding their wedding in Feb 2009.

I heard of Golden Horse award, was thinking of getting some info on that and Bridal Concept (seems quite popular choice as well). I saw my friend's photo with GHA, so nice... so tempted. which outlet are you with? (or is there only 1 outlet?)
Didn't know Digio is the sister company...erm...maybe i should check that out too... thks for the info.
Phaffia and mscupid11, dun mind can share the cost and features for your packages?

desj0 and shice >> thanks for your info... but I'm not having any PS, so I was thinking of a place which is just focus on doing bridal gown so i can get something good.. :P

nana >> I also think $500 is really cheap, but like they say, whether you like his photography style is important...

Morning ladies....!! Wow, got one more kaki liao. Happy pom pipi! *whistle*

Hey jaimegal, my package is about 3388 with OTR (no MTM). Not sure about the pricing now, as I've gotten my package in April last year. (Super kiasu hor? Hehe) The pricing might have gone up a little. You might want to check with the ladies in the DiGio thread for the latest pricings.

However,I do advise that you go down to take a look at their collection and service before you decide. And yes, I agree with mscupid11 that GHA has got a good photographers and pretty gowns. *thumbs up*

Wah mscupid11, we got sister companies for our BS and wedding banquet venue...hehe...so coincidental! Which outlet of GHA are you with?

Anyway, the reason that I am having my fittings so early is because we are thinking of doing our PS in July.

Hi fatfat79,

We went for the workshop but the dates we wanted had already been taken up. So end up, did not sign up.

yeah.. hope we have more kakis in time to come.. hahaha..

Jaimegal, my package is also $3388 but can MTM either WG or EG.. Signed up during their exhibition at marina square so they throw in more perks i guess.. the usual rate is $3388 but both OTR and only 20 poses..

I am with GHA at tamp.. coz me staying in the east, more convenient mah.. there are 2 other branches at Marina Square and Yishun.. for these 2 branches, their gowns are transferrable. But if you sign up with tamp branch, you cant choose your gown at marina square or yishun..

can check out tanjong pagar too but alot of hard-selling.. esp those uncles who stand outside to grab ppl.. my advice is to go with a galfren first, do some shortlisting then bring your hubby along.. coz the sales ppl are less aggressive if u are with a galfren than the "PAYMASTER".. haha.. and most imptly rem to bargain and bargain for more poses.. and make them commit not just the no. of poses, but the no. of pages in the album.. so they dun tricked u into topping up for more pages becoz the album is too thin..

alrite, happy hunting!

Hi fatfat79

Im thinking of taking My Bridal Room.. made an appt to go down tomorrow to see them..

When is the style wedding show? i just managed to grab a copy this morning at my workplace.. wa lau.. been looking for 2 days but everywhere seems to be sold out.. haha.. its like a bible for all Bride to be.. haha

Hi chuababy and joyce,

I also a 21st Nov 2009 BTB! Im suprised that u gals already so active in looking for banquets. I think I too slacked.. Oh by the way, I been to Grand Shanghai, is very nice and unique..but after some considerations with my FH, we felt the prices not really worth it cos they do not have much perks thrown in except for the live band.. now we considering Holiday Inn Park View..actually I've signed up for their workshop but din managed to receive the complimentary invitations from them

Oh btw, my FH and me chose this date, also because it is the only sat among other dates.. so coincident..so did u all decided on the banquets yet? Im still at a lost, so perhaps u gals can give me some advises...

Hi Karine,

Yup...I think different Geomancy Consultants may provide different dates.

To me, as long as the date is one that you are comfortable with, just go for it.

For me, I'm trying to both my ROM and AD date on the same date..cos more memorable for me..

24.10.06 - Together as a couple
24.10.08 - ROM Solemnisation
24.10.09 - AD

Hopefully, my parents have no objections on my AD date lar..hehe!

glamour..so when is ur AD and which venue did u book?

For SG dinner - confirm loss 3 table (my relatives from MY will not give AP in SGD..hahah)

i m trying to minimize loss - considering peony jade liao..

Hey girls, thanks for giving me so much info on BS. Will start going down to BS. Will update u guys when i settle on 1, hopefully soon.

Phaffia, all the best to ur first fitting. Hope u can find the most beautiful and perfect dress.

no prob.. muz relax and enjoy this process k.. =)

phaffia, whose ur wedding coord at merchant court? mine is Priscilla.. wonder if we got the same coord too.. haha.. and do update us on your gown fitting k.. i am so looking forward to mine too!

Wow... its really coincident. Really happy to learn that at least 3 happy brides are getting married that day.

So far I haven been to any hotels to look, only view thro e website on the package. Maybe we can try to exchange the package thro emails?

My email addr is [email protected]

Give me yours & I shall send the Merritus Mandrain package to you if you are interested.

hi queen....
i just went JWN on sat to book...
ask for xiao qi..
she say ok..
i'm not having at restaurant/hotel.
have not decided..becoz small function only.less than 100 pax....so slowly look lo...
so u not having xiaoqi then who u having for AD ah Queen?

25 oct hot date...n it's my dad's bday ...so coincident...

i still got to source for videographer, photographer...
manymany things...

queen, when u going to take ur photoshoot?location decided mah?

i was shortlisting between julia and sophia...but choose JWN becoz of service..
but sophia is cheaper and got more comprehensive package....

hi all BTB, i might be choosing 10 Oct 09 as my AD. Hubby prefers M Hotel... and it fits our budget too. NCQ cinnamon ballroom too small for me le.

hi queen, u ROM in may 2007 too? i rom on 25 may 2007