(2009) Brides of year 2009

dreamz.. pg and vg better hurry.. coz the more popular ones seem to be booked already.. nope.. i din go for their wedding show.. got anything new? haha..

hey gers, yup yup. Noble house under tunglok at shenton way de.

agree with dreamz, i shortlisted a few PG, then one of them was taken up, I nearly fainted and that was last month.

Oh no, then I better hurry go book first. Any recommendations of PG & vg that are not very ex?

shice> Nothing much, i brought my parents there to sort of try the food. The wedding show this time not as nice as the last one in July '07. But won some prizes so at least the trip was quite worth it. The fashion show was by Silhouette The Atelier, their lace very nice, but i think their package also very ex.

Blush,i agreed with noxy..better to fly MUA with you in case any hiccups..else waste the whole effort..

Gals, i was kinda worried now knowing gd PG & VG taken up?didn't noe BS also hv to book that fast ya..tot BS hv in-house one..u all not taking?

Shice,which contractor u using?good?? i will be collecting my keys soon.

dreamz.. so lucky.. i never win prizes at this kind of event before one.. haha.. Sihouette's lace wg is very nice.. been to their shop.. but lace makes one look too mature & elegant.. so depends on which one fits you better.

desjo.. my id is homeguide.. overall quite good.. quite satisfied with their workmanship.. and my ID got try to change some things that we don't like.. but the pricing is quite expensive.. however i find it quite worth it coz i bought a peace of mind.. no horror stories like other ID companies.. no arguements or ugly conversation.. =) it was quite fun throughout the whole reno till now..

Hi jy27

Novotel have a very big ballroom if you can confirm 30 table. Pillarless and heard come good comment on the food as well. But if you are getting the small function room, I sugguest you look somewhere else. I personally felt the function are too small.

Furama is a good if you have lower budget. Per table should be less than 800. No comment on the food. Ballroom very simple deco. Its a good place if you wanna keep everything simple.

I have been to Parkroyal in Beach Road as my sis have her ROM there. They have a very nice outdoor place by the pool for solmisation. Food is great. Cant comment much as I dont have the chance to see the grand ballroom and I also not sure about the price.

Above are my thoughts only. You may feel diff when you are there looking at the ballroom. I sugguest you look thru all the ballroom before HIPV wedding workshop. I worry that you will have second thought as you have not seen all the place you shortlisted. (but so far Im glad that I have signed up with HIPV)I think you should go to HIPV last and so that you can decide if you wanna HIPV, you will not miss the perks too!

gg to collect the gown later. it is only 1 fix gown so cannot choose. anyway if not suitable for me then maybe I will just sell it away.

Hi Joyce,

same here, 21 Nov is the only sat from my dates...
Nope, i did not manage to make any reservation, cos other hotels that i called up are not taking reservations yet. Most probably after March then they accept reservations.

gals, there are many PG and VG around, but it's just better to start early at least will leave us with more choices.

Dreamz so early u haf ur gown ready?

Hi fatfat,

I will be seeing Furama tmrw evening and parkroyal @ beach road on Saturday evening. Since they will be having weddings then, I will have the chance to see the set ups. So far, got no response from Carlton yet.

For Novotel, the person in charge told me its either minimum 18 tables (maximum up to 25) or minimum 30 tables. Guess I will have to give this up since I'm looking at minimum 25 but might not exceed 30.

Not sure if will get a chance to see their setup for HIPV during their workshop this weekend.

Will keep u updated after viewing those places..

Hi jy27

You should call Carlton for appointment. Sometime waiting for email can be very long.
For sure you will get to see their setup, you will also get to see the bridal room.

Remember to go to the hotel and request to see the bridal room too. Then you can imagine your Big Day in that room. hehe ;p

Hi Chuababy,

I heard that we have to book a year in advance, but my frenz told me that she almost cant confirm her reservation when she book more than a year ago. Do you know when is the ideal time to book?

I'm joining the club! Planning to have my banquet on 24th October 2009. Now still deciding which hotel or restaurants to sign up with. HTB wants a simple but yet elegant wedding..any places to recommend?

I'm thinking of M Hotel, NCQ or Park Hotel (Cityhall)..anyone of you have attended weddings at these places?

hi fatfat79,

Thanks for your info..
I've called Carlton a couple of times but no one seems to be there to answer.

See how it goes ba...

Hi Ladies...

This is my first post on this thread... and I'm a Jan 2009 BTB also.. :P

I see that most of you have got lots of things done, erm.. i'm getting a little panic.. :P

Anybody has any videographer and Bridal Studio to recommend to me? Thanks...

dreamz - u so lucky! win a wedding gown! silhouette gowns shld be quite nice right?

shice - er, cannot do makeup myself lah. i'm quite hopeless at it. but if fly another person to paris, think i'll also faint. really really no money already....

blush> collected the gown, fully lace one. not bad but I think might have to alter abit. took some pictures yesterday, one of the models was wearing it during the Millenium & Copthorne Bridal Show.

HI all,

Pre-wedding shoot in Perth
--------------------------

I posted on 4th March and got more information now.

If there are at least 2 couples, it should costs about SGD$2500.

This estimated costs includes:

* 1 Photographer (member of WPJA) & 1 Assistant for 1 day of photoshoot in Perth
* Professionally processed photos and digital editing services (45 photos)
* 3-5 mins Photo Montage
* DVD video slideshow
* ONE 12" x 12" deluxe coffee table magazine style album (20 pages - fits about 45 pictures) or 12" x 12" hard bound album (10 pages - fits about 25 pictures)
* All images returned in Mid-res digital copy & Hi-res digital copy

For more information, pls email me [email protected]

I am really keen but will need to look for another couple who is keen so that this price is valid. Else it will be more expensive than this.

Hi jy27

You are most welcome.

I would like to ask if your mum ask for X tables, will she take the X tables' AP also or we give her the X table price??

Hi... Just wondering why I never see any Feb 2009 thread. I am a BTB for Feb 2009. My AD is 15/02/2009.

Are there any brides planning their wedding in Feb 2009?

hi jaimegal,

I am also a Feb 2009 BTB, and was wondering about the same thing too. So thanks for setting up this thread.=)

My AD is 28/02/2009.

Hi Supergal, welcome!!

M hotel, i never been there personally but a few friends of mine did n commented that service not very good....but that was 1-2 years back lah....Park Hotel the place very nice but oso nv personally attended wedding there...

as for NCQ, im a NCQ bride....love the ballroom and also its is within our range ($800) but recently on the NCQ thread, some ppl are making noise on the service of the crew as well as the coordinator....i personally is dealing with another lady so ok for me....as for service, haiz..realli very subjective loh...

i suggest u go down to the hotels, tok to the coordinator and get the quotes then decide....but got to b fast k cos hotels venues might b booked up le.

Hi Phaffia,

Glad to have a Kah kee...

Anyway, have you booked your BS and Wedding Banquet? I booked my wedding banquet already at Carlton Hotel, however haven't booked my BS, haven't even start looking ard yet. A little panicking on this.

Hi fatfat79,

From what I know, they will take the X tables of AP. But nowadays, most mums will give back majority or all of the AP to their daughter to help them cover for the wedding expenses.

Hiya Jaimegal,

Yes, I have already booked my BS and Banquet.

Holding my banquet at Merchant Court. My BS is DiGio Bridal.

There's still time to source for your BS. It will definitely help if you have an idea what you are looking for. Don't panic..there's still time.

Most impt thing is that you find one which you are comfortable with and confident of. Any idea what kind of gowns and/or pkgs you are looking for?

Hi Supergal, suggest no to Park Hotel. I went there for dinner once, and the service and food is a no no. I feel the price paid for it is not very worth..... I remember asking for a cup of hot tea, ask until about 15mins then the waitress brought it over. And it turn cold already

To tell you the truth... i really have no idea. Headache. Did you go scouting ard (getting many quotations from BS) or you decided right away?? I always have the idea that the packages are pretty standard... didn't noe there are any difference

May i know which photographer you are engaging with? Is the price package neg to suit our needs? Cos i dun really want to include montage, dvd thou..

hey joyce, it depends on which venue u have chosen. for those places where booking is open for 2009 already, better to book now so as to secure date & better pricing. oh btw i booked my banquet 1.75 yrs in advance =P

welcome Jacqeline, I also haven't booked any VG,PG & BS yet..keke..you can go through those bridal magazine to see which gown u like so that you can shortlist a few...gotta hurry oso!!

Thank, Shice, will check up on homeguide too..

Dreamz,u really lucky to win a WG..but have to alter ba? wat abt ur EG?Teadress or Kua?

Yes, I did go around visting some of the BS. It helped quite a bit with looking through the bridal magazines and shortlisting a few BSs that I thought have the gowns I like. If not, there'll be too many to visit.

Depending on the BS, std packages may include your gown, bouquet and makeup. While some will provide more comprehensive packages that includes the man suit, car, photoshoot...

Also, gowns can be OTR or MTM, depending on your needs.

desjO> yup have to alter abit, will be getting my MIL to alter it. I still deciding whether to use it as my AD gown though. Most likely will be gg down to my BS to try their gowns first before deciding. My EG, teadress all haven choose yet. planning to try to fix an appt to go my BS next week.