(2009) Brides of year 2009

haha i very kiasu.....i gotten my BS package end last year....1 reason is cos i book with my bestie so 2 of us got bigger bargaining power...another reason is i scared prices will increase....so i book earlier to lock in the price...

if the BS u are interested in got show then best is to get it during the show, usually will have more perks....

i think get earlier no harm lah...

shir..i alredi signed up for millenium & copthorne on 2nd march, rasa sentosa on 9th march n mm on 20th april..haha (kiasu syndrome is out..)

i m looking at no more than 25tables in SG. At the same time also looking for venue in KL.. over thr..prolly looking at double the number of tables.

mab3ru, me also v kiasu, gt it 2 yrs ago...haha...mine is mx & mxxx wedding...bt too kiasu liao, after sign then read fr forum nt so good comments so keeping finger cross...haha...but jus rem not to make full payment at one go...my fren say most BS will not give in to your requests if you make full payment first, cox they already gotten ur money, they rather pay their attention on new targets....dunno true or not lah, i listen jux in case lor...

shir, hee hee...yeah lor...3 of them have become like my closest friends so i feel very lucky =)

novotel clarke quay is VERY popular. Better faster check if got dates still available.

Rasa sentosa the food is good, but transport might cause some problems coz a friend of mine had a dinner there n the bus carrying some of his relatives got held up so the whole dinner was delayed. But the food was good =)

Emerald, it's not u kiasu...it's the other sg brides force u to be kiasu...HAHAHAHA...

ur dinner in KL u having in a restaurant/hotel?

as for gowns, u can look at bridal mags or when u go to the bridal studio, ask them to let u try a range of styles so u know what looks good on u =)

Wow .... u gers really well planned ... unlike me ... gt everytin done @ last min.

so sad .... had tried calling most of the hotels for the banquet packages prices .... most of them are like increased by $100++ coz of F1 ... *Sighed*

emerald.. you signed up soo many liao.. wah.. hee.. i muz join in the kiasu gang also.

the suntec one is at lvl 3 (if im not wrong)

shir, when's ur AD?

earlier today, Orchard Hotel called me up and invited me to visit their ballroom and she said will send me their packages.

She told me the M&C show on 2nd march is for package up till Apr 09, thereafter $30 increase per table (i tink) for package up till Sept 09..then the price thereafter is unknown. She said i m too early to plan.. really??

no lah emerald ur not too early...it's just tt M&C open their bookings later so for them ur early but other hotels open already leh =)

Yah. I agree with andrea. Its always better to be early, incase later your dates are all taken up, then wouldn't that be worse?

Somemore, you still need time to visit and consider the venue also. So don't worry, okie?

eh is anyone considering swissotel merchant court? I got reccomendation for co-ordinator there...he handle it, u confirm can rest liao =P

Hi Suzanna,

My AD is on 20th, sunday. Actually 26th is also one of my good date. Was contemplating whether to take 26th, cause its really GOOD in sense where its a weekend, the day before is a PH for the couple and helper to rest and do some last mins things. And the day after is still a weekend, so the helper and couple can rest without having to take leave.

And its so near to xmas, its like a double occasion.

But end up we still stick with 20th, so I consoled myself with the below reasons:
a) sunday package is more reasonable,
b) sat dinner, people tends to drink more, esp its close to xmas, moods and sentiments may carry on during our dinner. So bad for our pockets.
c) boxing day don't sound nice (hee.. just my own thinking)
d) scare our guest / helper partied too much during xmas and had hangover, resulting in no-show.

But all in all, I still envied those couple with dinner on 26th. Think its going to be 1 of the popular dates next year.

okay.. got the dates set liao!!!

6th Dec 2009 - GDL
14th Dec 2009 - An Chuang
20th Dec 2009 - Dinner @ MY
26th Dec 2009 - Dinner @ SG

head oso spin so many dates to remember..

I bought a flower magazine liao lor..heheh

mab3ru, i think most of the hotels for year 2009 the price increase by alot....i read b4 on a newspaper article the hotel say due to inflation and thegst increase oso.....

Hmm.. I have not set my GDL and AC date. Most likely 2-4 weeks before the AD. Hee..

Emeraldbride, these are some hotels that can hold for around 20 tables. There are actually more than that, but I cant recall the rest.

a) Swissotel Merchant Court
b) Four Season hotel
c) M hotel
d) Raffles hotel
e) Hyatt hotel
f) Raffles The Plaza
g) Novotel Clarke Quay

hey gers, wow.. all start to plan for the date already. hehehe..

emeraldbride, my GDL same with u on 06 Dec 09 but my An Chuan fall on 20 Dec 09. mark down all in ur calendar, all fall on Dec09 very easy to rem de. hehhee.. ;P

haha...

for all of u who r here and have been reading the posts here...u may want to join the thread for 2009 BTB and GTB in the banquet venues thread for 2009...there's a lot of us there...

dear all...

do check the F1 route...although it's not announced as to when the F1 will take place next yr, for those hotels affected by the route, their prices will definitely increase...

so if u dun want to be caught unaware like that, do check up on the F1 route...

hey popprincesstrin and glamourous, it's good to hear that u both r discussing abt various bridal studios...

dear all, if u haven't booked ur hotel yet and wish to do so soon, do take into consideration the F1 race...pls check out the F1 route as it may or may not affect u or the hotel u intend to take....although the dates for F1 race for 2009 are not out yet, it would truly be good to ensure that ur hotel is not along that route to avoid unnecessary distress like whether ur guests have to find more suitable driving routes, ur guests would be late if they r not available of the road closure for the F1 race, increased costs of the banquet venue due to the F1 race...

yeah lor.. we chose dates that fall on weekend, much easier.

hubby dun really liek to take leave one lor..so will utilise block leave during the wedding time (both of us work in the bank)

a) Rasa Sentosa?
b) Orchard Parade Hotel
c) Orchard Hotel
d) Conrad Centennial (table for 12)

Heyo everyone....HAPPY VALENTINE'S/FRIENDSHIP DAY to you all!!! Hope that all the wedding plans will go well and smoothly (and thst all hubbies-to-be will not add onto our stress...hahaha)

hello, happy Valentine's Day to everybody!

hmm, my friend told me Trader's Hotel is by Shangri La Hotel. Is that true?

Hi emeraldbride,

If I didnt forget wrong, Conrad need minimum 25 tables for weekends. So 25 x 12 = 300. Its like 30 tables for normal 10 pax setting.

conrad's ballroom is very nice leh.. but if i m not mistaken, they usually apportioned the food before serving to guest, hence the guest may not be full at the end of the dinner..
tat's wat i felt when i attended an ex colleague's dinner then..hehe

yah. My company's DnD was at Conrad last Dec. The ballroom is nice with a huge recept area. I don't know is it request by my company or so, the food had been apportioned before reaching the table. That is, they served individually without seeing that big whole plate. Abit weird not seeing the big plate. But i guess its the arrangement for company's DnD, not for wedding.

But I think I cant get 300 paxs for the minimum tables.

i also cannot get 300 pax in SG (unless of course i m stil working in my current comp, then it is possible) i tink in SG..wanna get 200 also difficult..

in MY is diff.. my relatives (maternal side) alredi 40plus.. n did not include extended.. all in all i tink can reach 100plus..frens, father's biz frens n associates.. easily need 50tables.. so will be more grander

hey grace,
that's a really good point you've brought up! I was wondering if I shd change my AD to a later date cos 090909 is a weekday and some guests may have probs being on time for dinner

Shir, Merchant Court can hold 20 tables ah? for weekdays? i asked for 26th dec, they told me a minimum of 35 tables..

aniwae, i'm going to CKH to take a look at the ballroom & some photos. hopefully its a fruitful trip there!

PS: envy you girls who have a lot of things striked off the list already! :x

I think weekend dinner at Merchant Court is min 35 coz i wanted to consider also but didn't meet the min table. See if they got smaller ballrooms tt can hold smaller dinners =)

Hope u have a fruitful trip suz! =)

hi ladies.. i'm here to check out the prices for sept 2009 on behalf of my friend. WOw. Hotels do allow people book for more than 1 1/2 year ahead??? then i must let her know already. I didn't know they can.. last year for myself i went to seach for so many hotels too... and heard some of the review on food for Meritus, Meridien, etc... they told me the food cannot make it leh... make me so headache...

yup andrea. its true that they want minimum 35 tables coz they want to maximise profits. spoke to a lady from catering sales yesterday. that's wad she told me..

i realised i got the hotel name wrong. my future MIL asked me to check out Grand Copthorne, but we checked out Copthorne King instead. wasted trip this weekend

now im starting to feel the pressure of not being able to find the "perfect" venue.. :p maybe im too choosy..

Hi Suz =)
No sad no sad....*huggies
Anyway M&C they all say not ready for Dec 09 bookings mah so even if u really wanna consider, you're not late =)

Where else u considering?

suzanna, dont stress up urself. sure nw still got time for u to look ard de. i saw from bridal magazine, there are alot of banquet recommendation. mayb u can refer to tat to shortlist those u wan de. i did mine from there too, but still chose my 1st choice.

hey ladies, return my banquet contract last wk and receive an email introduction from my assign event coordinator today. wow.. tat fast man. heheh

princessxiaomei, i've actually booked my banquet venue last dec...for my AD in sept 2009...so it has alrd started...hehe...actually can book very early lah...depends on whether the hotels that ur frd is looking at r open for booking for or whether they have released their 2009 prices...

anyhow, maybe i was really being KS cos i wanted to hold it on 19092009 which is pretty nice date and it happened to fall on 1st day of 8th lunar mth somemore...so i tot i better act fast before it gets taken up...

[grace]
Hmm.. it's good to start early. I also booked mine in July for this year Sept. I noticed that Sept (if it falls in a lunar 8th mth), the number of couples getting married is alot...

ladies
i realised some of u actually booked the later part of yr 09
but did u gals went to see dates w any geometry?
if so ah?
i consulted mine but all said the tong shu not out yet so pretty hard for me to finalise lei..