(2009) Brides of year 2009

hi girls, thanks for your comments!

im still considering Novotel, Carlton, Grand Copthorne and Orchard Hotel. still in the midst of arranging dates to go down to take a look..

emeraldbride: which hotel is your first choice? i personally like Rasa Sentosa.. think its nice and unique!

Suzanna, gd tat u hav shortlisted afew venue. go down n feel if u like the area, compare the pkg offer n u can get the 1 u like it easily de.

Rasa sentosa is nice, saw 1 of the 2007 bride having her wedding there. very nice n romatic. she had her sol outdoor beside the beach n dinner in their ballroom. so really very nice place but will it b troublesome for guest to go in??

Suz, Carlton I heard that the service is not consistent (as in sometimes good sometimes bad) so just tot I'd warn you =P

Novotel seems very pop so hopefully u can get the date u want =)

Rasa Sentosa is very nice...esp if ur having ur ROM on the day itself coz it's facing the sea...very romantic.

Piggy, there's transport provided for wedding guests and those who drive will have the entry fee into Sentosa waived off =)

andrea, gd tat they provide transport for the guest. more convenience to go in & out.

Suzanna, NCQ i went in Dec07. the date is still available, mayb u can drop them an email to check wit them again.

suz, till date no preference yet leh.. but deep down in me, I can imagine my wedding at Rasa.. with dreamy bare back gowns... sigh!! so lomantic..haha

not really worried abt transportation lar.. free passes is provided.. n their package not tat bad either. mabbe need to nego for more freebies..hehe

princessxiaomei, that's quite true...i guess a lot of couples like to get married during the 8th lunar mth since it's supposed to be very auspicious...i guess for some, it's so happen that the shifu calculate for them and they have possible marriage dates then lah...

joleen, mine also considered later part of 09...both my parents and parents-in-law weren't particular on that...so we just go ahead to get the dates that we want....

Hi Suz and Emeraldbrides,

I think Rasa is nice and romantic too. My hubby went there for a wedding dinner before, he went to a indoor one. I think his comments are nice, just the hassle of having to take the transport provided. But in a way, good also as your guests are likely to arrive early and not late. Hee..

Are you two planning for indoor / outdoor wedding? I think solemnization outdoor by the sea during sunset is super super romantic!! Hee..

i started looking last yr May.. Confirmed my hotel venue last yr July.. for Saturday slot.. =)

Maybe someone can start creating a list liao.. haha.. since pple here getting mroe and more.. :P

ya, i agree with Shir. its gonna be so romantic! If there is transport provided, you're quite assured that your dinner is gonna be on time!

Yup, i heard NCQ is super popular. but i can't seem to get hold of the people there.. maybe they are too busy.. lol.. i did go down to take a look at the ballroom.. its pillar-less and of adequate size.. but not too sure abt food and service.. they have quite a number of ballrooms to choose from.

thanks andrea for the "warning" abt Carlton Hotel.
will certainly take note of it if im going there.

It has been 3 months since i entered this forum. time really flies! :p

yay! NCQ replied me saying that 26/12 not taken! woah! so excited. at least can go see whether the venue is good annot.. any comments on the foos there?

suzanna, did u read abt the NCQ thread?? I heard that many said the food is good - lotsa good comments but they also commented on the service level provided. Not very sure though.. got one girl wrote in to dispute her guests claim (abit fake lor i feel).. aniwaez, i personally think all this is heng suay one lar

suzanna, NCQ food all famour de. even my mum knw this restaurant, very popular restaurant since she is young till now. food is a sure gd gd de, no worry.

i went there last Dec07, to me it look gd as got a long foyer for ur reception counter. my bf dont really like the ballroom, he say abit too square n too enclose. but to me is ok, the only thing i dont like is the carpark only. whahhahah... ;P

heard frm the SC during last visit tat mayb they will increase the min table for their grand ballroom for wkend wedding. do go down n talk to them abt it & their pkg, quite tempting de with free wine each confirm table. if u dont wan wine can ask to chg to free flow of beer de. parking & wedding card can also ask for more if require. gd luck! ;)

Hi all.. let me start the table bah.. any updates? heh..

<table border=1><tr><td>Bride</TD><TD>Wedding Date</TD><TD>Day</TD><TD>Wedding Venue</TD><TD>BS</TD><TD>PG</TD><TD>VG </TD></TR><TR><TD>10109</TD><TD>1-Jan-09</TD><TD>Thur</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>whyme</TD><TD>1-Jan-09</TD><TD>Thur</TD><TD>St Andrew's Cathedral</TD><TD>Graceful Image</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Blush</TD><TD>3-Jan-09</TD><TD>Sat</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>shice</TD><TD>3-Jan-09</TD><TD>Sat</TD><TD>GCW</TD><TD></TD><TD>Derrick</TD><TD>Forest </TD></TR><TR><TD>shell3110</TD><TD>10-Jan-09</TD><TD>Sun</TD><TD></TD><TD>Jawn</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Shining Hoshi</TD><TD>16-Jan-09</TD><TD>Fri</TD><TD></TD><TD>Precious Moment Bridal</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>noxy</TD><TD>17-Jan-09</TD><TD>Sat</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

ooh, seems to me i've made a right choice. NCQ has a few ballrooms, told me that i must have 30 tables (which i think we can make it).. like wad piggylover said, the carpark is a big concern.. coz i dun seem to find the carpark.. when i went there over the weekend, we parked at liang court instead. so that's a major concern..

PS: now dun have free wine liao..

hmm, i think i'll juz speak to the wedding coordinator and den update u girls on the latest news!

Oh, anyone going Millenium and Copthorne wedding show this march? i signed up for it.. but dunno whether want to go annot...

Suz, very hard to get hold of them meh? tt time i emailed them only they respond very fast one =) Maybe I just heng...hahaha hopefully u will get ur dream venue =)

How come no more free wine? Was it like a promotion thing or how?

Just go lor...since sign up already...then can see the gowns (coz I'm sure will have link up with bridal studios) and see what designs they have. maybe can inspire u =P

Emerald, u going to silverlining to do your WG is it? coz u mentioned bareback and that's the best BS (or so I've heard) that does it...heh heh

Suz, I just went for a wedding dinner at NCQ last dec. The food is nice. Our whole table like that garlic roasted chicken, the whole plate is cleaned out, leaving only the chicken head on it. Hee..

The theme is also quite nice. I don't know how many theme they have, but the one I been to is something like the candles placed in the holder on a tree-look alike thingy. Quite nice.

After the dinner, I took my mum for a stroll along Clarke Quay. Its a nice stroll beside the river and eye-opening for her as she never go there for like 10-15 years already. Hee..

For transport, we didn't drive there, took mrt and reached there in less than 20mins and walk like 10mins. Its actually quite convenience for us. If location is a concern, like some people may not know how to get there. I think this should be easily overcome by providing adequate maps and directions with the invites.

Actually I think no matter which venue we choose, sure need to walk abit if take public transport and sure will have people comments not convenient etc. Like MM also need to walk from City Hall MRT.

Hee.. so my conclusion is we just pick the venue that we like and don't bother much. Those who will come will come, and for those who think too inconvenient to come, we're fine without them. hee..

hahahaha Shir, I love ur logic! =) but true lah...no matter where we choose, sure to have some "inconvenience" but it just depends on how inconvenient lor...

NCQ carpark is okay but jus the turning up space is small le.

Oop.. mine OCC much nt convenience le. heheh.. guest gotta take shutter bus in. ;P

shir, i held my ROM last year liao @ One Rochester..

i also got the same logic as u wrt to the location. As long as me n hubby love it, who cares abt others..wahahaha (which is not entirely true lar) cos if ur guests wanna come sincerely, they will find their own means to come.

as for BS, i tot DC also have very good bareback gown?? because i m not taking up PS, i dun need the package.. juz gown

for a min there I tot wat was DC =P I dunno about DC but I know Silverlining is well known for bareback gowns coz that's all he makes...haha....hmmm actually emerald ah, if u only need gown, maybe can consider my BS coz his is ala carte one
The BS is Vaughn Tan =)

shice! thanks for the effort!

My wedding venue is Regent, BS - Vaughn Tan, PG - TBA, VG - Wedding Paparazzi

Shiny, hanor hanor, wah i tell u, the other day went to the bridal shop, wah, frn tell me (the designer) start in apr, i was like, so fast?!!!?!?

is he good??

i m still shortlisting..so have not decided. so far in my list:
1. Divine Couture (DC)
2. The Wedding Present (TWP)
3. Bridal Veil (BV)
4. Silverlining
5. Dang Bridal

One of my EG (I need 2) needs to be a cheongsam.. also a bare back one..wahaha

I personally find him good =) but u can check out his website to see his collection. Most imptly you got to see if u can click with him.

Dang Bridal:Not sure if they've changed but they got 4 MUA and each got diff top up cost. So best to check with Dang

Silverlining: Jit is VERY busy =P Hahahaha...either that or when I wanted to make appt with him, I just no fate =)

Wedding present is good and I almost signed with them but didn't get to talk to the designers themselves when I first went down.

Silhouette Atelier has nice gowns also but the only thing is when my friend and I went to check them out, we were quoted diff prices for the packages and I dun think it was because of material or additional work cost. N when we compared the package details, it was all the same...so not sure why there was a diff

i think silhouette atelier will have a tie in with the M&amp;C Wedding show. (3.05 PM Bridal Couture Show by Silhouette The Atelier) Perks given during shows are better, but because never see the actual show, so muz pray pray first

but i heard this shop is good.. so can consider la.

honestly, i think DC's service is not that fanastic (if you read the forum on it). i agree their barebacks are v pretty. but if u gonna MTM, den i think no problem at all..

shir and emeraldbride, i like your logic. but my bf dun agree with our logic leh. he say so inconvenient later 3/4 of the guests dun wanna go..

lucks with your selection of BS and / or venue!

nice work fr vaughn. all his gown looks so dreamy..

i hv not read abt all the reviews of the BS.. tink i shuld start calling to make appt liao lar hor.

oh oh, NCQ emailed me back. saying that the ballroom is taken. my bf called yesterday and they said there was. sigh, think its some miscommunication somewhere. well, NCQ is out for me now. left 2 more hotels to choose from..