(2009) Brides of year 2009

not everyone.. it will depends on the couple..

For us, due to finances, we are unable to come out with the money to go on honeymoon immediately after wedding. Also, u have to decide which season you r more interested in.. e.g. spring in Australia is in Sept or autumn in Japan is in Oct? We intend to go England or Scotland.. which Nov might be a better period to go.. (we wanna catch EPL live.. haha)

Morning everyone...

Shice...u having ur AD on 3rd Jan right?? Wat is the weather like in Nov for England?? Winter??

And first yr no need to give ang bao ah?? But my parents and his parents say must give wor...how come ah...hmmmm........

Blinko...I should be going for my honeymoon the next morning after my AD...hopefully by den my funds r wat i have expected it to be...

Hi Miumiu

Grand Mercure Roxy is just near my place. I stay around Parkway Parade. We may pass by each other that day. hahahahahah.

Never really go over to that Hotel cause we already have HPIV in mind when looking for venue. Hahahaha Is the ballroom big? Pillarless?

hi all btbs,

went to BOWS yesterday and was overwhelmed by the so many different packages available, not to mention the amount of extra photos they charge. by the time, we finished 2 stops, i was all dizzy.

like to check if you gals, what do you settle first? bridal shop? photographer? videographer?
venue?

also, anyone doing marriage preparation course?

hi mrswang, i think 2009 tong shu not out yet but then some master they actually have 100 years tong shu so those masters will b able to help in the selection of dates

yup.. 3 jan..

England ah.. should be late winter now..

abt the ang bao thing.. ppl got tell me first yr no need to give, so i follow.. haha.. not sure if different dialect got different habits.. maybe u try to plan ur honeymoon over the cny period loh.. then no need to give liao.. haha..

next morning after ur AD? abit rush leh.. coz usually u gotta settle hotel bills and stuffs with ur hotel manager.. and u probably be too tired and sleep in abit more..

happyangel... wow straight in the morning after AD ah... very tired one ah~ plus u need to get ppl to help u return the gowns rite... kinda of rush...

ok i still not sure where i wanna go for honeymoon~ so slowly see see look look...

still got 1 more year before wedding... BS settle le, hotel more or less settle le... still got wat ah?

blinko, u confirm ur bs already ah? which one?

I'm still quite lazy to start finding bs.. haha.. maybe will start end of march.. hope it's not too late.. =)

1 yr to go for AD! yeah yeah....my Hotel , BS settle liao...now left PG & VG..

If we have d time would go aft AD... so the feeling is there ah.. don wan drag honeymoon 2 long..

hi fatfat79, my fiance also stays around PP. In future I will b staying at his place till we get our new house. we did not manage to get their ballroom coz we dunhaf much tables.

we got their function room instead & it is not pillarless. the room looks cosy n nice except for the pillars which might block some tables. however they haf projectors to telecast the ongoing moment so not too bad.

Shice...

my BS is MBR~ Sign up package with them on Sunday. their service was excellent!

MBR was recommendded by forums and my FH colleague by chance. After reading the forum plus comment frm my frend i tot i will take up package with GHA but after i drop by MBR and then to GHA, i know straight away i wanted MBR. i didnt even bother to visit other BS.

maybe u wanna consider booking your package earlier cos now everything also price hike. i was told by MBR that they won't increase the price BUT they will reduce the perks... but dunno when so if possible book earlier... =)

Hoshi...

quite true hor, straight after AD go still got the feeling... hmmm so after PG & VG settle are there any other things? now book PG & VG KS anot ah? cos i also looking for AD PG & VG already~ hee...

ic.. will go take a look at MBR.. =) Hopefully not too expensive..

Actually it's not ks to book vg and pg.. coz you have to book their availability on that day.. unlike bs, anytime also can.. but gotta pay extra..

I've already booked my vg and pg le.. heh.. if u say u ks.. then i'm worse loh.. =P

shice... u so cute de... the other way round, book PG & VG first...

u not worry that for BS u cant get the gowns u like? u intend to MTM? if so isn't it better to book early so that the designer got time to design the gowns nicely for u? ;)

Starrry, i'm going for marriage preparation course soon....u planning to go for one? it's good

my suggestion is, settle the bigger items first like venue, bridal shop....the rest can come later

Hi Miu miu

You can try to rent a projector if you want. How many table are you having? I saw the outdoor 1 very nice le. Why dont you get the outdoor 1?

My family stay in Marine Drive. I used to walk to PP. Now stay with my HTB so rarely go over liao. Maybe we might run into each other 1 of these days. hahahahaha

Im also 2009 BTB. I think I have settle most of the things. Details as below:-

AD - 07 March 2009
ROM - 07 March 2009
BS - My Bridal Room
Dinner - Holiday Inn Park View (HIPV)
AD PG - Edmund Leong Photography
AD VG - Mirror Creation

I think thats all for now. Will relex till my first gown selection. hahahahaha

hi Shining, and everyone here..

ya according to my dad, 16 jan 09 is really a good date for both me and my husband chinese zodiac... he also know how to read tongshu and various sources of such books... my cousin's stepson also getting married on this day, so we could not attend each other's wedding....

wow how i wish i going europe for honeymoon too... too broke already after AD...
tink will still be planning for a short honeymoon to Ho Chi min city.... as honeymoon is a must to me after AD.

Hi all. Need help here. my wedding in sept. My mum doesnt knw anything abt chinese wedding customs at all, despite she being a chinese!!! im supposed to rch my hubby-to-be hse at 9am on my AD. den wat time shd i leave my hse?

Hi everyone here...

We are official Le Meridien couple in Sept 2009...haha... Our AD is on 19 Sept 2009...as 19 Sept 2009 is 1st day of Aug (in Lunar calender) and it's a sat also...haha...

Hi grace,
we will be having our AD on the same date...haha...let's count down together....yeah.....

Regarding the first year no need to give ang bao thing, I also hear from my friend, but all is hear from friend one. But none of the older generation ppl confirm this and dunno which dialect also.

Anyone here know which dialect does it apply to?

another 16 Jan 09 bride here.... is it really a gd day? we didnt go see the date, chose it becos its our 10th Anniversay. :P

searching for a hotel now too... headache ah. $_$

fatfat79, the hotel will b providing us wif 2 projectors so its still managable. hmm... we dun really like the seating arrangement for the outdoor one. coz its separated into 2 decks at the pool area & my fiance prefers the indoor one. we always goes PP walk2 one. heh

congrats, fish!
mine is 10 days after urs (29.09.2009)

hello to all sep brides! my ROM is on 20 Sep 2009 hee.. not going to have wedding dinner though.. only wedding lunch or maybe buffet lunch..

all of u are so fast.. we have not even prepare anything yet.. cos firstly we have not announced to our parents which i don't dare to and don't know how to bring up the topic without my mum making a fuss..fustrating..

but anyway we have already shortlisted our BS, ROM venue and photographers.. I'm having Amanda Lee for my BS hee..love at first sight.. as for ROM venues very hard to find something cheap and nice.. the one we have in mine is not open for booking so soon..then the rest that are already open for booking are way over our budget.. haiz.. then photographers we like are so exp also..

my bf brought me to check out engagement rings last sun.. saw one i luv a lot at Love N Co.. anyone already bought their engagement rings? i'm thinking is it too early?? hee.. :P

by the way anyone is a cantonese bride?

Dear Meow,

I have a whole list of ROM hotels, I believe you will interest, after shortlisted all the hotels we have for our ROM, we decided to choose Orchard hotel. U can give me ur email, i fw you their ROM package.

As for photograpger, our photographer is Mr wu from Depixel (http://www.depixel.sg/), we also appoint them for our AD. the ROM price quite reasonable. u may check with them, say fish intro u, ask them whether can provide you good deal onot. U may also go to my multiply to see their skill. (http://benbenfish8083.multiply.com/).
Hope my info u will find it useful.

yay!! fish, so happy for u...
finally, u booked ur venue...did u managed to get the bottles of wine as u wanted? yup, let's count down together...very fun...

kitty, u r the same kitty from flowerpod rite? i'm graceakaclouds from flowerpod...
ooh...u r getting ur engagement ring liao...hehe...not too early lah...i also got my engagement ring liao...yeah, u have to start to plan early to get the good and cheaper deals...if not, u'll have to pay much more...

Yups...haha..we manage to get free wine per table.. after we checked wif her, she calculate calculate and agree immediately...haha...'HENG ya'...the rest we didnt ask much le coz they give us all we wana le...
yea...count down together we we shall remind each other for our preparation status...

Hi rennae wow so many 16 Jan 2009 BTB ah... haha... i tink close to 6 of us liao ah... including those who we have not met b4 or didnt come into the thread....

Congrats to all!

thx fish!! my email is [email protected]. Depixel is quite cheap i think.. but my bf don't like.. actually the one both of us like is Jonathan from ExpressivelyJoho.. but the price is very steep.. another is Secret Haven, quite a new company and quite affordable too..but seems nobody in the forum tried before.. we luv the portfolios in his website..very nice..

hi grace!! yup i'm the same cat from flowerpod haa.. yup looking around for the rings.. we went lee hwa and it's so exp..doubled the price for the same thing.. should be getting the one from Love and Co hee.. :P i luv shopping for rings..hee.. hope my SO can get for me soon..

Hi fatfat79
Seems like there r a lot of things to do n prepare. i wonder how much i need to save up for a wedding. u calculated u will spend ard how much? can share wif me? if nt enough how? sigh.
By the way, u said u going for gown selection in june? that means u going to chose OTR gown, if dont have u like one then mtm?

Hi Angline

I have budget about 35K incl dinner. Will give you the breakdown thru msn. I think you should do list down your budget and work within your limits. If you still worry that you have not enough cash, you can try talk to you HTB lo.

My BS package is MTM for both gown. In June, I will try to see if I can get anything OTR. If not, the BS will MTM the gown for me lo. That will take about 3 months to do. By then its September liao. So my BS say June will be a good time.

yup, fish....let's count down together...so i'll update your details in the other thread ok?
count down count down...now, i'm busy with my ROM stuff...guess i'll only do up my AD stuff in 2009 itself...other than that, taking PS this sept also...

kitty, nice to see u here also...*hugs* must agree that expressivelyjoho's pics r good...even edmund leong though ex, is extremely good as well...

hmm...can still look ard as long as ur ROM is not here yet...or u doing ur ROM on the same day as ur AD?? for us, we got my diamond ring from soo kee...it's quite nice and GIA certified as well...had sale then...whooppee!! spend lesser $$..

ultimately, it's impt to like wat u have...so scout ard all u can...look for nice designs...u have nice stuff for lower prices...it doesn't mean it's cheap...it's just spreading ur budget for other more stuff

very new here. Had jus confirm my AD would be on 25th Oct 09. Seems like its a hot date
Is it too earlier to go and view BS and Hotel now? I am afraid of being classified as being kiasu....

yah grace, that's very early for PS.. must be looking foward right..hee.. i think visiting BS and taking PS is the best part hee.. i really have to visit amanda lee one of these days.. can't wait to feel the gowns haa..

our ROM is together on the same day..so i guess we have plenty of time to source..
we were also looking at weddings bands at Love and Co that day too..very nice..lots of designs to choose from..

oh ya people... there's one thing i wanna check... what's the market rate now for photographer and videographer?

hehe...fish and kitty, my BS is in penang mah...of cos have to do early just in case...besides, we dun go there every mth or sth...

yeah...i guess i might be going for my PS after my ROM...initially, wanted to do it just before...but i tik it's too rushed liao lah...

oohh...Amanda Lee...super nice...even Michelle Lee Huimin's very good as well...do check that out as well...

wow u gals r fast in deciding hotel! i haven.. u all r stressing me lei..
going to see dates this fri.. then prob making trip down to grand cop...

fish > how the deal like for le meridien?? can send me the infor? thanks

I insisted that I want a honeymoon after the wedding. Coz seem alot of my friends who didn't go for honeymoon after the wedding and end up no more honeymoon - either back to busy work hectics or get preggie haha. So better do it before it is gone. The feeling won't be the same if it is done later.

hi everybody. I'm also a Dec '09 BTB. Currently thinking of holding AD on 12/12 coz its my proposal anniversary as well. hee.. btw, anyone heard/taking up Jazreel BS and holding AD at Carlton.. thinking of signing the packages with them.. juz wanna see if anyone heard anything regarding them..

hi shir, already sent to u. do chk n let me knw if u hav any problem receiving it okie?

hi suzanna, 12/12 is ur anniversary? hehe.. me too same same. wanna get mine AD on 12/12 de, but dont suit me n bf so given up le.

hav u ask for their pkg yet for both BS & venue u r referring to?

hi hi.. i haven't even seen the shifu to check the date.. actually i not pangdang one. but MIL is.. so i also scared cannot get that date leh..

ya. checked Jazreel liao.. went to the booth at Bugis today. good deal la.. but FH ask me not to commit so fast.. but.. they show in the Banyan tree villa.. so very tempting leh..

we're gonna call up Carlton Hotel this weekend.. so hopefully can get the pricelist as well..

P.S: 12/12 not my anniversary. juz the date he proposed.. and easy to remember also..

u confirmed ur BS and venue already? i keep thinking i very kiasu lo..

Flyingpig I agree with u. Must go somewhere aft wedding la.. or else alot of unforeseen stuffs will come in then u cant go liao... then u would miss it... its a pity to miss it....

Blinko, I think your question will depend on what kind of style u r looking for. There are cheap ones (ard 1k) and there are ex one (up to 2k). Depending on your requirement....