(2009) Brides of year 2009

Hi Cordie,
Yeah, agree with Grace. As long as you're happy with the arrangements, it doesn't matter how you do it.

i have the list of banquet pricelist for 2008/2009 if u want? email u tml...it's in my office comp

got my own budget spreadsheet GG_paradise...shd start liao lah....cos weddings dun happen in a day...u need to plan for that

cos my hb is m'sian...so haven't get PR yet...besides, my parents can house us so we dun really have urgency to find flat yet

cordie, i'm tiking of tailoring my ROM dress...then maybe can use it as a gown for PS also...since i'm not really hiring a PG for my ROM...

so phaffia, excited abt ur ROM?? so near liao...

hi grace
oh ok, i am not thinkg abt keeping the dress if i can rent cos its like one is not likely to recycle the same dress for other functions, so rent and wear once can liao...or if i sign up a BS get them to lend me 1 pc...

hi phaffia
my fren gettg married 1 day after u....

Mine AD in Mar 2009, thinking of ROM in Sep 2008 like Grace. But still have no further plans as yet. Dun know where to held our ROM because ours should be on a Sunday.

hi roy
me also rom sep 08...better find fast think ppl already start preparing liao...mine also falls on a sunday....

haiz...Roy, u same as me...i'm still tiking between Furama Waterfall Lounge at Furama Riverfront or Peony Jade...costs very high leh...

hey, if u intend to sign up with Furama Riverfront for your AD, u can always ask them to allow u to use Furama Waterfall Lounge for ur ROM also...that would be an added service from them...they r allowing me to do it there also

Hi Grace,
Yeah, I am half excited and nervous about my ROM. Hehe....sometimes I will even take out my rings to have a look and think about that day. *GRIN*

Hi Cordie,
I have the same thoughts as you hence will be getting my ROM dress from my BS. But I have not gotten my dress yet. Will be heading down to my BS to choose when my SO comes back on the 19th. A bit gan chiong about that part.

Hi Roy, welcome! Good luck in finding your ROM venue!

hi grace
hmmm its nice to have tailor made ah... one of a kind.. but i dun wan blow my budget so...

hi phaffia
my advice, if u have time do go down to the BS to 'book' a few pcs first b4 yr SO comes back, then u guys cango down tohether to see, its a just in case lah...unless u guys always have diff views on that, if not he will like wat u have chosen....

Cordie, hmmm we might be having our ROM on the same day.. haha.. but our date not confirm as yet.

Grace, actually we already signed with FRF for AD. Had asked about the ROM package too. But may seems boring if we held our AD and ROM at the same place. Peony Jade is another option for us too! The food got many good reviews.

cordie, no worries lah...i tik the tailor i'm going to get to make my ROM dress would probably charge me max S$200 at most...very very reasonable but yet nice...

Roy, i did tik abt that too...but then Furama Waterfall Lounge is pretty reowned for a nice ROM venue...anyhow, although Albert is offering to do ROM there with private room and a table for the same price as the dinner but using it for lunch....the exorbitant price wants me to look elsewhere...i mean, crazy lah...S$700 for lunch? not like the food is better than peony jade or sth...

however, peony jade's ROM package seems quite good also...
but since we want to make our ROM really private which is just between our immediate families, taking 2 tables might be too much if we want our own private room...so i'm not sure abt that as of yet...

hi andrea! long time didnt see u here. hehe.. hw r u? preparation still ok mah?

i had email u Long shifu contact already. let me knw if u hav any problem rec it okie?

Hi Piggy =)
Preps ok...just that been busy with other friends' weddings =)

My only headache now is finding a venue lor =P But ok lah...my hubby now gave me a more realistic budget for banquet =P hee hee

How's urs?

hi cordie, i have actually 'booked' one ROM dress at my BS already. But because I was told by my coordinator that the year end is a popular period for ROMs and weddings, a lot of their dresses are not available now. So I was invited to go back at around end Dec to take another look, which is just in time for my SO to go with me.

Hi Grace, $200 for an MTM ROM dress is really quite reasonable. Have you decided on your design yet?

hi phaffia
oic gd gd

hi grace..
true lah...agree with phaffia that 200 not too exp...but i signing bs also...so will get fr there ba...

phaffia, i just checked..apparently, the dress that i want to do is prob ard S$120 to S$150 only..cos it doesn't really have much beading n exquisite stuff....very very reasonable and she makes it in super quick time and not compromising the workmanship..more or less decided on my design liao...

cordie, u r rite lah...if u got BS liao, no point to tailor make and waste $$

andrea, hehhe.. u helping ur frez wedding. yr end alot of couple wedding.

dont worry abt ur venue le. hav u shortlist those ur prefer place yet?

i jus got my AD frm shifu, so waiting for HTB to tell my PIL abt our plan. heheh.. once got their acceptance den we will proceed to book the venue liao.

Grace, I have asked about FRF, they also have high tea or lunch buffet style. But you need to have 30 pax for around $1500. I dun think I wanna invite so many people. SO still quite lost where to held our ROM.. ha

Grace contact for MTM EG is really reasonable, can try.

Roy, u telling me...i also tik it's very ex...i asked Shining and she said she held hers in Acte Amour...just near ROM...but then, again 30...somemore, ours also weekend like urs...sianz...

i tik ah...after reading this thread ytd, i might just hold my ROM in Club Chinois...easier..not so ex also...cos Peony Jade also requires 20 ppl...i only want immediate family...prob abt 10 ppl only leh

http://www.singaporebrides.com/forumboard/messages/539/535961.html?1191985333

hi grace and roy
think u guys very lucky leh...me and htb end up with 50pax jus for rom...its the kind of invite this person cannot dun invite the other kind of invitation....

eh, u having AD also rite?? actually, ROM dun need to invite so many ppl lah....just invite the intimate relatives and those close frds enough liao lah...then on ur AD, just invite the whole gang of them....LOLLOL

Hi Grace, sounds like you've found yourself a very good seamstress...happy for you *thumbs up*
current rates for ROM dress is usually $250 onwards.

Hi Roy and Cordie, I will be inviting just close friends for my ROM. True enough, for some friends it's difficult to choose whom to invite so in the end, i ended up with my family members and jiemeis. Hehe...but it's really up to you and your SO who you'd like to invite...it's your ROM after all.

hehe...phaffia same thoughts...it's up to u who to invite...but if u r budgetted, i tik inviting them for AD is good enough lah...

my own opinion lah...

hi grace and phaffia
yah...thats y i tot do away with the dinner... but nvm lor...if htb wants a dinner then maybe have a simple one lah...truth is when it comes to wedding its not abt 2 ppl but also the family, some of the things u do is for other ppl de...thats wat i feel lah....

Hi Cordie, I would have liked to do away with the dinner if I can but I can't. I am the first in the family to get married. :P So yah, I have to agree that getting married usually involves 6 persons and not 2 only.

One of my jiemeis told me this before, that esp for parents, this may be the only time in which they can be really proud of us and 'show-off' a bit. But of course it must be within budget. It's not healthy to live beyond your means. Think most couples have similar problems when arranging their weddings. Just try your best...Cheer up gal!

Hi Grace & Roy, I have seen pple holding only one table for their solemnisation at Noble House (which is under the same Tung Lok group as Club Chinois). Food there is good. U might want to consider that as well. We'll be holding ours there. Hehe =)

heh heh yeha lor...coz I met them in the dec 07 forum since my original date was dec 8 07 =P so I helped all of them with their weddings =)

I've short-listed some venues but that's for now based on pricing n min tables...next year will go down to the venues with hubby to check them out n sign.

Urself?

hehe..u helpful ger le.

most of the venue pkg will b out soon already. tik by next mth will get it. which location u r looking into?

i will sign up as soon as HTB talk to his parent abt our planning. got alot of thing to thing and plan. hehhe.. busy but happy de lor. ;P

Cordie, I will only invite closest friends and relatives. Maybe the most 20 pax. I understand that sometimes quite difficult if we leave out some of our kakis. At first, me and WTB were also thinking of simple dinner. However, it gets not so simple along the way. Ended up became a "complicate" one.

Phaffia, thanks for your recommendation, will check that out. Actually, Club Chionis is one of our shortlisted place for AD but did not materalise.

piggy, heh heh...aiyah what to do?We ourselves are brides to be, we know the chaos and hassle that goes into planning so if can help I help lor =)

We looking at Rasa Sentosa, Chijmes, Traders, HIPV...

phaffia, r u just having the dinner there or r u asking them to help u set up solemnization table also?? if u did, r they helping u to decorate it?

cordie, i totally agree with phaffia...before, i really had that naive thinking that wedding is just 2 of us only...why bother wat ppl tik afterall, the $$ is from us...but then, we also realise that our wedding would be a matter of "face" to our parents...besides, both my hb and i are the eldest in our families...for my hb, it's still not so bad cos he's from penang and dun have much friends here and somemore, his younger bro alrd married...

but for me, i would be the first in my generation for my father's side to get married...somemore, i'm the eldest daughter in the family also...of cos have to give "face" to my family...dun make my parents the subject of talk for relatives and friends that my hb is trying to "wrap me in newspaper" by waiving the whole dinner...

but then again, wedding is a joyous occasion...allowing everyone to share ur joy is a good thing...however, like wat phaffia said, imptly, do a wedding within ur means...that's wat i'm doing also...come to tik of it, my hb and i really squeeze our wedding budget to the max...

oh dear...so sorry to hear that GG_paradise, of cos that is more impt than anything else now...hope that ur family is there for each other...
u need anyone to tok to..u can email me...

honestly, i forgot to email u guys abt the pricelist...will do it now...so just check ur emails...

hi grace..
i use to be like u..thinkg that its btwn 2 of us,and all that stuff and end up unhappy with htb... but now, i must agree that its sometimes 'face'cos htb is the eldest in the family and also the eldest grandson fr his dad's side, so we compromise have a dinner and within our means...(hope their relatives dun compare cos his younger bro who's gettg married in dec 08, earlier than us, is havg his dinner at Hyatt @$1200/table)

*faintz* i totally understand how u feel...but dun tik abt that lah...if ppl ask then just say that it's good that we r not just giving tea reception and go for honeymoon lah...alrd going to have dinner in hotel is ex lah....but then, if anyone else offers to pay some, then different thing lah...but of cos u know...they won't help rite?

anyhow, always keep in mind that for them, it's just the one day affair...for u guys, it's going to be the start of ur new life together...besides, i'm sure u both dun want to start a new life together in debts....u know wat i mean rite?

Hi fatfat79,
I also booked Holiday Inn Park View as my Hotel on 15 Mar 09. Keke... I'll be gg to HIPV this sun to pay deposit. Just wondering What was your package like? Thks!!

Hi Grace, I agree with you that it's just a one day affair and the life that you'll be spending together afterwards will be more impt. Debts are nothing to be joked about.

With regards to my ROM, they will give me a simple setup with rose petals. (I've only seen it when they set it up for another couple.) It's no worries for us since we've wanted something simple.

Hi Cordie, there's always room for comparison but just keep your chin up. You can't really please everyone. The impt thing is you have to be happy. For myself, my father had wanted something grander for my wedding dinner but we settled for something lesser than his expectations. I know it may be a little 'unfilial' to him since it's the first in our family (both paternal and maternal) but we really had to keep it within our means.

hi grace and phaffia...
yah lor...initially i told htb we not havg dinner unless they sponsoring...hahaha..which really they wont...anyway we might look at lunch now...cos more affordable for us...and i like the fact tat the day can end earlier...and yah...no debts, and must have some spare cash after wedding....

Hi Grace,
Glad to see u here also wor!!! haha.. We all belongs to Sept 09 brides.

Wah, suddenly saw this title, then seems quite a number of brides plan AD in Sept 09 le wor..But dont u agree, most of the hotel increase their wedding packge higher and higher till almost/more than 1K per table wor...Aiyo...fainted lei!!! Imagine if we hold about 30-35 tables, it will cost us 35K wor!!!!!!!!!! Why the hotel is able to increase till such a high rate?

andrea, ya lor. helping each & other is gd de. cos we will soon experience it soon. hehhe

Rasa setosa is nice venue. saw a couple AD there very nice. they had their solemnisation in the evening outdoor next to the beach. got a diff feel den other venue. hav u got those pkg which u r looking into?

me too start to stress up on the date too. hehe.. got our AD on 26 Dec 07. my date is quite late de, saw most of the couple planning Sep09. wat abt u?

hopefully HTB will faster tell his parent abt our planning soon. if nt i will continue to fan already..

pringirl, hav u went to the shifu to get ur date? dec09 actually im planning for 12 Dec 09, as tis is my anniversary wit my HTB. but too bad tat is nt a gd day for wedding.. so sad lor..

phaffia, looks like we both tik very similarly..i'm very happy when u mentioned abt ur simple ROM setting....that way, i dun have to go get someone to do up the place for us...afterall, it's only for that few mins...the vows r so much more impt to us than all of that...besides, for me since i'm going to choose Club Chinois, their shanghai theme setting is good enough for me liao...

hehe...cordie, that's being very smart
but i tell u my alarming discovery ok...when i checked and realised that most places' charges for lunch is not much difference from the dinner prices, both my hb and i decided to take dinner instead...not for the sake of earning $$ from the dinner...but more for the sake of getting back more $$ to cover our expenses for the tables...seems to be more practical for us...

i mean, of cos it's definitely up to u both...cos wedding dinner does incur quite a bit with the hidden costs like printing of cards, carpark coupons, wines...

fish!! *waves*

haiz, totally agree with u that Sept 09 got a lot of brides...i tik it's cos sept represents 09 also mah...then in cantonese, 999 is long life mah...

anyway ah, i just discovered that the date i choose is super good date...it's the 1st day of the 8th lunar month...i tik we going to place deposit with FRF by end Dec...worried that ppl would take the date

agree with u on the exorbitant costs...crazy rite?? i tik the only ppl who gained out of this is the vendors like the banquet hotel etc etc