(2009) Brides of year 2009

piggy! that's the date I chosing!!! Hahahaha 12 12 09! But why not good day for wedding? Mine is coz I got certain contraints

I have Rasa Sentosa's 2008 package but I think we'll be signing with M Hotel. But depends on the function room coz the banquet suite is out of our budget so hopefully the function room is not bad...*finger crossed

andrea, wow.. congrat to u! 12.12.09 is a very meaningful date for me but too bad i cant take it. really sad de.

M hotel is a very nice venue too. attend 1 wedding 7 Jul tis yr as sis too. very gd as the level only 1 ballroom there wit a personal makeup room for the bride. gd choice!

7th MONTH???

oh boy.

maybe we'll do solemnisation first then hold it on 200909. I don't know man!

Think his parents will definitely object.

hi grace
oh really ah... then maybe its the min tables require ba, cos we ask abt marriot and their min on weekend is 40 tables and each tables cost more than 1k.. so they offer us lunch package instead as we only need abt 20+ tables...and htb and me decided to jus look around and compare, its actually more of the min table requirements that made us look at lunch...for me i'm ok lunch or dinner, as long as within my means

hey gg,
just sent you the package. Sorry was out of town

hey sorry grace. I just got back to sg. I think it'll be marriott / four seasons / fullerton. I'll be doing my solemnisation on 1st Oct 08 either at fullerton or marriott. Quite pissed with the planner at marriott cos she actually overlooked my site inspection appointment! havent had the chance to check out the BS cos I just got back.

thanks piggy but that ballroom you talking about is the one that is called the Banquet suite and the one that is out of budget =P We're hoping that the function room is also nice =) Coz from the photos, I see quite nice =P

I joked with my hubby, he got no excuse to forget anniversary liao...haha

Where u considering leh?

oic...that's quite true lah...i tik first, u have to see if u fulfill their min. no. of tables required...then u see the table price...then decor and stuff...

i had that prob too initially...but it's over liao..

oh dear...dun let that get to u lah...although it would be upsetting at first...just tik abt the things that u have to do then it would be ok....just make sure they do nothing of that sort for ur AD lah...

anyway, if u got the dates, better book it fast lah...less than a year for that..

andrea, oic. no problem de. the manager is very friendly de. can talk to them wat u wan, they can try to suite ur requriement de.

ur anniversary also 12/12??

nw same same le, 1st is OCC but still waiting for other venue pkg. wanna go see RTC too, it seem quite nice place there. i like their room.

hahahaa no piggy, my anniversary is 29/12 =)

I now considering Novotel Clarke Quay

My friend who checked our M Hotel's function room said that it's P shape so I go down with my hubby and see. OCC is not bad...u looking at how many tables?

U not bad leh, actually go n see venues liao..I never go yet =P Prob going to wait for Jan before I go =P

Hi Cordie, I think a lot of pple are looking at wedding lunches nowadays. More economical and easier on the couple. Not so tired also. Because it's in the day..I think pple will drink less so there's another saver..hehe

Hi Grace, yah agreed. We have the same views. Wow, shanghai theme...nice nice! Will you be wearing a cheongsam for your ROM?

phaffia, i was just wondering if i shd wear for my ROM...cos the cheongsam i have is the long type and the super high slit...dunno if it's overdoing it or not...anyhow, i did tik of tailor-making a dress for the ROM...

u leh?? wat u wearing?

andrea, oic. is in the same mth le. so no problem de(tis is wat by bf told me lor).

M hotel their ballroom marching is in L shape de also. NCQ u can check out their grand ballroom, heard is very nice. i also hopping to go and take a look there.. hehhe..

my bf & i fall in love wit the ballroom in OCC. we are considering nw, hopping to get more places pkg as to compare 1st. hehe.. we are looking at 30 - 40 tables but if taking up OCC den gotta take 40 tables le.

yah man.. so far only marriott is availble for afternoon solemnization. Four seasons is only available at night but who does solemnization at night rite? the function room at four seasons is super pretty!! high floor and you can actually see the city skyline! have you booked for your AD? My AD date is not even settled!! *tearing hair out look*

Piggy, OCC is quite cool esp since there's 2 levels...M hotel the ballroom yeah is L shape but got pillar in a rather odd spot so need to play around with seating =)

The only prob I felt with OCC is that the service not very good. But then maybe it was coz my friend had 56 tables...if u know someone who's a member, got discount leh..so go search around =P

Grace, I am currently holding on to a ivory lace A-line dress. It's slightly below the knee but rather flattering. But this dress is not the confirmed piece cos will be gg back to my BS to check out the other available dresses then.

I personally like cheongsam very much hehe. I think it depends on the fabric and design of your cheongsam. If you have something which is made from a simple fabric it may not look so overwhelming. But perhaps a shorter one will look more girlish and casual.

Most impt thing is you have to be comfortable with what you are wearing.

that's true lah phaffia...glad that u found sth u like...better see if there's other available dresses that u like and compare...

me too....it can be very distasteful but yet, it can also be classy...depends on how the design is like etc etc

as for me, actually i manage to get a cheongsam from penang...it's all black with lace...with high slits and full length...got it at a very good value...would definitely be using this CS for PS....just wondering if i shd use it for ROM as well...

true ah....try not to do solemnization at nite...so i guess only marriott fits wat u want...then just place deposit and book it
that way u have 1 less worry....

for us, we going to do our ROM on 13 Sept 2008 and just decided to use Club Chinois to do the ROM...

finally managed to convince my hb to take the date that i wanted...19 sept 2009...so we bringing my mum to check out the venue tml...once she sees it and if she likes it, we would pay the deposit and sign the contract...cos that place fits our criteria the best....

oh dear....gal one step at a time lah...wat do u need to do to confirm ur AD date?

after that, then u can do shortlisting of hotels...

andrea, thx for ur info. hmm.. M hotel got L shape march in but still look huge de. only thing i tik it stay alone in a quiet place as compare to those town hotel. u can go take alook with NCQ. im planning to go see also, alot of couple fall in love with the ballroom. so i am wondering hw nice it is myself. hehehe

OCC their service nt gd? i hav never attend wedding in their ballroom, only went 1 time to the chinese restaurant downstair. hopefully if i getting OCC, hav no problem on it. as i hate bad servie de.

i gt no frez member of OCC le. no golf player frez ard me. heheheh

Club Chinois does sound like a really nice place!
Wait for the FH's parents to confirm lor.... his daddy has got 'a few hundred' people he wanna invite. I almost fainted when I heard that considering the fact that we two probably have to cough up the money lol

oh dear, u poor gal...these days kept hearing ppl say that...i tik u both got to let them know ur budget constraints...and just pray tat they would understand cos i'm sure they wouldn't want u both to live ur new life in debts

Wah....sounds really nice leh Grace. Black with lace...*drool*...hehe

If you're holding a wedding dinner, I will definitely advise you to use it for the second march-in.

Hi Cordie, just out of curiosity, have you shortlisted any venues yet?

hehe...i did tik of that too...since it does look very classy...have to slim down more for that...

phaffia, with my ROM venue down, AD venue down, BS down...wat else i need to do? doesn't seem like much liao leh...

hi phaffia
u mean rom venue? i already confirmed my rom venue... now searching for AD venue... any recommendations?

wah grace
u very efficient leh... AD venue also confirmed...i only asking ard for prices...but seems like a lot of hotel dun have 09 prices ready yet...

Hi Jaq

My package is about 4000. Both my gowns are MTM. I remember my packages is included with a car and driver. Sorry for not able to let you know more as the contract is with my HTB and he out of town till next yrs. Dont really remember the details.

Are you intereted in My Bridal Room too?
I think if you got someone to intro you there, you may get more pics le. I was intro by my sis, so me and my sis both get more pics.

Hi Eileen

I booked on the last wedding fair so got quite a few more perks.

1) $1000 off the total bill with 25 confirmed tables.
2) 1 Free bottle of wine with every confirmed table

I think there is 1 or 2 more perks but I also dont remember as the contract is with my HTB. How is your package like?

hey fatfat79,
thanks alot for the info.
I managed to find the thread for MBR in here. Seems like most pple r very satisfied with their before n after service. I am interested, kinda my 1st choice for BS so far.
Hmmm maybe can quote some pple's names from here if I really sign up with them to get more perks.. =x

Do share the photos with me if u dun mind ya?

Hi Cordie, I meant both..hehe. Great to know that you've chosen your ROM venue. Recommendation-wise, it really depends on your needs and budget. Perhaps if you list your requirements, we can try to give you some suggestions?

Grace, yeah agree that cheongsam will look classy.

I would think that you have settled the basic yet major details of your AD. Now perhaps can try thinking about the less major details like for eg.
For ROM: PG, Ring pillow, signature pens etc
Pre-AD: PS (whether you wanna customise some scenes and/or engage a PG other than the ones from your BS)
For AD: PG, VG

Not sure whether these will fit into your needs. Hehe...but hope it helps!

hi all, im a 2009 bride as well....have already ROM this year in may but my AD will be in oct 2009.

Now thinking to have either wedding lunch or wedding dinner...

anyone can advice what is the pros and cons for both?

oh Ya hor, forgot that ur AD also abt same time as me..hahaha sorry..
tentatively mine also 03/2009 but have to confirm again after gg BOWS2008 n dropby MBR most prob during 1st wkend of JAN08

hi queen...it's me remember? initially, my date was Oct 2009 also but now, we confirmed it to be in Sept 2009 liao....

anyway, u have see wat's ur budget for the tables...wat u both prefer...but these days, it seems that lunch also quite ex...so if u take dinner, at least ur losses would be minimized cos for dinner, ppl tend to give more

Hi Jaq

Do call them before going over. They are always very busy. If you want, you can tell Annabell that Mary intro you, See if you get more perks or not. Anyway I also dont know if they still remember my name. hahahahahah

hi queen
agreed with grace... i also asking for both lunch and dinner packages then decide...

hi grace
may i know which hotel u sign up with for yr AD dinner?

Hi Grace, no wonder u nv reply in the oct thread haha...

yah 1 of my concern is the $$ another is the timing....cos my mum would wan me to return to her place for the tea session...

so after dat then go to hotel dunno will too rush mah....

phaffia, i dunno if i want to hire pro ROM PG...i mean, i can always use my AD PG for that...yeah, kinda confirmed him liao...but to be further confirmed cos we really want to see him and works in person first....

hehe...even AD PG, bridal bouquet, car decor, corsages, ring pillow for ROM, ang bao box...alrd confirmed liao....

cordie, my hotel is Furama Riverfront...anyway ah, looks like for the 2009 prices, if u really want totally accessible like in town area or sth, very hard to find cheaper than S$1k nett per table unless u r trying for restaurant...for restaurant, some do also have 1 nite stay at some hotel also...but do understand that for restaurant, u have to pay for the dinner on the very nite of ur wedding...where if some guests who go back late might be able to view, to me...i dun find that nice...

queen, the thing is, i have been to weddings where these are possible but it would be super rushed esp if u doing ur solemnization in the same day...let's put it this way...a normal wedding day would look like this:

- gatecrashing ceremony
- lunch
- tea ceremony at your parents' place
- rest
- tea ceremony at your hb's parents' place
- going to your new place (if u have ur flat done up by then)
- proceed to hotel and do makeup for wedding couple
- rehearsal
- wedding dinner

can't imagine how ppl can even manage to take pics also...*faintz*

u can also do it such that ROM is an intimate affair within ur family..so at least u get that "item" out of the way for your AD...not so stressed

hi piggy, sorry forgot to reply =P

I just found out someone booked for 12 12 09 at Novotel Clarke Quay liao! Hahaha...so looks like we both cannot have. =P But I checked with my hubby and he's ok with the alternative date I gave him. Now to see the other venues and quickly decide. I damn scared liao...*bite nails

I think my friend had bad service coz she had like 50 over tables so too many ppl then kinda tight spaces then not enuff staff...=)

hi andrea, hehehe.. it okay le.

oop.. tat ger who had book NCQ is my another thread online buddy le. she jus went to place deposit on last sat only. whahha.. me too super scare as under tat thread, more den 75% had already confirm their venue for 2009 & their latest who had book will be NCQ on 12.12.09 de. better for u to start shortlist those venue nw.

im gg down to NCQ & FRF tis coming sat to see & discuss their pkg offer. waiting OCC to arrange for a meet up too. just got RTC pkg too, still deciding to go down look at their pkg nw.

do u mean OCC? 50 tables there shd b quite ok rite? shd'nt b too clamp de. cos there can put up to 120 tables. im looking at 40 table nw, but still in mid of consideration aft comparing with those hotel pkg.

Sorry gals. Been really bz at work recently. So I might not be here often.

Hi Cordie, based on 2008/2009 pricings, these following hotels may fall within your budget and accessibility requirement:
1) Amara
2) Merchant Court
3) Grand Plaza Park Royal

Grace did make a point with the pricing cos some hotels may not have fixed their prices yet. Even if it falls within budget. the accessibility might not be so good. So you may have to check with the hotels to check. Hope this helps a bit.

Hi Grace, wah...so fast...confirmed AD PG liao! Hehe Good for you. I have not confirmed mine yet. Still waiting for SO to come back first.

mic!! *waves frantically* welcome welcome

hehe...phaffia, i tik i do all these liao....nothing much to do alrd...so maybe i just concentrate on other things like losing weight and looking fit and trim for the upcoming wedding....abt 1-2 yrs to get ready...by then, got no excuse to look fat ah...hehe

Hey grace !

You still got 1 to 2 years.. i only got 6months...
lol 2009 feb is only like 1 year away.. and need to make sure wifey gets the gowns she likes to fit in and have a demon figure.. i estimate i only have 6 months to give her crash course weight loss.. lol

WAHAHA...demon figure loh...ur wife size is wat type one? the curvaeous type or wat? if so, just make sure got all the curves can liao lah....then the curves got no fats can liao loh...WAHAHA

i also dunno... i know she now bigger size than last time when we pak tor. wahahahah... so now must go back to last time pattern..

sigh.. i always get blamed... husband job is sometimes shitjob..

lol..

Grace, my ROM is over already so no scared....I asking NCQ for their lunch package....see the timing how. If can make it probably go for lunch....but lunch cannot show the gatecrash video liao...hahah

else my hubby was saying stick to original plan go for dinner.

ha ha i tot i very KS liao....AD in oct 2009 and most of the stuffs i confirmed already....cos my reno will clashed with my wedding preparations...so must plan ahead.

Hi dreamz81, if I want to split AD customary and dinner, must the dinner date a good date as well? Or any day convenient will do? Many thanks.