(2009) Brides of year 2009

nok,
professional emcee i can help u to find..wats ur budget, n need wat language u require??

wat abt asking neighbours kids to help open door for your GTB? i tink most will be glad to help wor..aftr all got AP..keeke

kua, can ask ur BS to lend u ma...try calling them up..

dun stress, dun stress..we are here to help..

Hey gals, need help. What did your htb gives you during Guo Da Li? The food stuffs and roughly what the quantities. I know there must be oranges right and pig trotters right? What else har? Also how many cans and how many organes?

sun,
depends on ur parents leh..
hw mani they wan..if juz yi si yi si, aniting from 8 to 12 each will do ba...
bt if they wan giv relatives as well, then might need more le..
nw gd time to buy coz 7th mth..alot of supermarts got sale for trotters can..

bth u n lawrence wat dialect?

GDL tradition has to follow the bride's dialect hor.. jus a note

xka, Emcee need bilingual. I got a jm to be the english one, but was thinking if get pro then both also be pro. if not very weird. My neighbour only hv a dog n cat. the other one my husband dun like, can't help. you can't help me lah.. u're a girl leh.. some more the day before you'll be at the chalet preparing all ur stuff right.

Kua, I dun wan BS one.. not nice. Some more she insisted on me wearing. If dun hv then I jus wear my cheong sam as my tea dress.

my MIL asked for 12 oranges...2 cans of abelone (instead of trotters) and 2 bottles of red wine (instead of martell)..40 boxes of cakes then she returned 6 boxes...

mi teochew so we got the saseme and peanut bars...1kg each...we sent the 4 dian jin over as well...

then a AP with each gift of $18 then ping jin in another AP...

nok,
haha...is follow gal de meh?? i tot is bth..haha..
paiseh..mi GDL is simplified version..keekek..

means u need 1 or 2 emcee?? wat abt ur own frends?? nobody can help to be mandarin emcee??

u need e child to open door in the morning rite..which location? n hw cm u onli got 2 neighbours??

huh...u dun wan BS de?? then hw...u wan to go and buy meh..sure veri exp de..or u wan rent?? xplain to ur mum la..sae nw dun hav kua, hw she expect u to wear?? then dun care, juz wear cheongsam lor..haha

Sorry who is esther? Is it Gal?

Nice nice layout. I like.

Think if u see mine you would faint. Coz no matter how they do, i still think sth is missing so i gave up. 2 edits that is it. Going to see final product only 1 wk b4 wedding.

Got script for emcee? Headache. Im still frantically doing up my room. Furnitures coming in nxt sat.

Where gt time ??? Havent plan for my F&E honeymoon yet which is the day after my wedding.

I need to go SPA to destrees liao

boygal,
yup..esther is gal...

urs no need much layout oso nice de lor, coz e raw s nice enuff le...

u need script?? i got a few version..if u wan, i send to ur email..u can giv mi ur email?

Wah...F&E HM? to where? y dun ask ur htb to plan???

u still got time to go spa...i dun even hav time to watch tv..haha

xka, might as well email me the emcee script too..

My apartment there is either 1. rental tenant or 2. stay super long liao (more then 15 years) and all no more "kid".

My side emcee is my friend liao... she only wanna do the english one.. sigh..

my Xd is my english MC then eva's colleague is her chinese MC...

the boy to test our bed is eva's friend's 6 month old baby then to open door is her cousin's son...

we r letting our MCs decide the script themselves but we provided them with some samples...

right now just praying the album turn up ok...too late to change anything...

lucy my HM is in dec...so far only decided air tix...the rest wait till after wedding...hope dun hav anymore nitemares...

nok,

okie...i email u together with boygirl.

ur apartment is whe? if nt too far, i lend u mi 'kid'..hahaha..

get another frend frm ur side to do the mandarin one lor...cuts cost, and spare u e hassle of coordinating.

after gpong thru mi list,
i realised tat i hav actuali done most of the tings tat needs to be done..
bt duno y im still feeling veri uneasy...
like ive missed out smting, like alot of tings nt done yet leh...

aroh,
u koe im nt lor, bt rather than perfectionist, i tink im paranoia..haha
n guess wat??
my PG has plans for baby this year, and we werent informed.
I just saw from her company's blog...
so now, i duno if she can be there ma...
SHIT!!!

im so worried...coz after they post on the blog tat she has plans for bb, then no more news of her le..n tat post was posted early tis year leh...

bt if preggie, take pics, wun it be inconvenient for her?? also, im quite concern tat her skills mite be affected...

Sheesh.....

XKA,
Hai, my parents say anything..they dun really follow the customs one.. I am cantonese n Law is Hannianese.

As for our emcees, both english and chinese emcess are my jiemeis. Like Aroh, we also do them do up the script themselves but of cos got provide them with samples.

Honeymoon wise, we gg F&E too but have finished booking all the required hotels and activites le.

But i still haven finished doing our photomontage yet! Cant seems to find the ideal program to do it leh. Which program you used to do the photomontage? Also, have yet to decide on our 2nd march in song also...Both our GDL and an chuang would be on the week before our AD. So everything quite rush too..

Album wise, we also give up liao...amended at least 3 times, but like wat Aroh said, something is missing..they just sent the layout for printing on Mon...so would only be getting back the album a few days before our AD bah..

Hee, we took leave yesterday and went for a couple spa..felt much more relax after that and today, totally no mood to work!!!

sun,
if lawrence family oso not pantang, then do a simplified one lor..like mi...

Boy Side
12 cans pig trotters
12 huge huge oranges
2 Btls red wine
16 boxes of cakes
Pin Jin

Gal Side
Return 6 orange, 6 trotter cans, 2 orange squash, 2 boxes of cakes n some of the pin jin
1 huge bunch of banana (red eye in hokkien)
bridal bedsheet
teapot
couple bowl, spoon n chopstick
bedside light(i didnt hav tis coz mi bed alreadi got 2 lites..)

Tis is all i have la...u can see wat items u need or dun need, n customise ur own list...

for montage, mi bf paid for a program tat he founf on9..bt he dun wan tell mi wat prog..he scare i tell everione..zzzz...

y u all giv up so fast de?? wah..mi n fifteenmay muz be tok gong lor...bth of us amended at least 5 times leh...kekeke...

so gd..i oso wan....
i alreadi no mood to work since 2 weeks ago...heng mi boss back for a week nia...
nxt weeek, all going dubai, then i alone in off again, can DIY mi stuffs..kekeke

andy> my email [email protected]

ask u all ah Pin Jin average gv how much de? im afraid in the end we the 1 paying

XKA, email me email me. My email is my FB email lor. Whahha

Im doing F&E to West Coast of States. So we are driving too. Faintz. Airtickets bought and hotels 75% booked. But i need to find the routes and plan the driving coz from SF to LV is FAR.

My mum told me to pack earlier otherwise imagin the horror when i go airport nxt day morning at 7am.

Andy and Sun, same problem like u all. Dont know what is wrong. Like very cramped like that for the layout. Then no more pages to add for my Album. Somehow dont have the feeling i want. Also dont know lah, just not right...

The Guo Da Li right....
The shop told me most significant is the bedside light and the teapot set.

The food items i same as XKA. If you havent order cakes can consider Pine Garden at Ang Mo Kio. Reviews thus far by relatives have been positive

We have ordered the cakes le. Will be getting the pig trotters as well. Cos last time my sis did have those can abalone and sharks fins..so not sure if there is a std items to follow or not.

abalone n shark fin is for cantonese if im nt wrong...
cantonese need the 'hai wei' some give mushrooms, oysters, etc as well..

For your reference: hammiebao~~~
someone posted before @ forum

3 months before wedding:
- Pre-wedding photoshoot album and design layout
- Order corsages, bridal bouquet and bridal car decorations
- Select wedding invitation card before sending for printing
- Collection of Wedding invitation cards
- Send sms to invite friends for wedding dinner
- Go for food-tasting and confirm menus
- Write ¡§thank you¡¨ speech for bride and groom

2 months before wedding:
- Book appointment for nail manicure/pedicure
- Email colleagues for invitation to wedding dinner
- Order wedding cakes for GDL
- Confirm all wedding decors, bouquet, centrepieces, etc
- Decide wedding favors
- Send email to PG & VG to discuss details on AD schedule
- Prepare for GDL / Betrothal Day
- Buy tea set
- Obtain floor plan from hotel
- Selection of menus for chinese, muslim and vegetarians

1 month before wedding:
- Apply wedding leave with company
- GDL / Betrothal Day
- Check late invitation replies and finalise guest list
- Finalise guest list and start planning seating arrangement
- Collection of wedding albums, photos and table tops from bridal studio
- Terms of payments for banquet
- Arrangement for appointment to finalise details in hotel
- Confirm attendance (guaranteed and expected)
- Beverages arrangement (beer/liquor/stout)
- Duty free liquor
- Audio/visual arrangement

2 weeks before wedding:
- Confirm menu, wine, wedding favors, event related issue
- Finalise headcount and seating arrangements
- Prepare credit card limit and authorisation form
- Order lunch catering
- Have final dress fitting with shoes, accessories and lingerie
- Break in wedding shoes at home so that it won¡¦t pinch on wedding day
- Program for dinner and select songs to hotel
- Function sheet and table layout

1 week before wedding:
- Send reminder to guests for actual wedding dinner
- Gathering for all helpers to go through schedule and assign tasks
- Confirm lunch catering
- Change money for angbao and get ready for payment

2 days before wedding:
- Pick up gown and suit
- Confirm guaranteed attendance
- Final floor plan and table layout
- Brief parents on AD schedule and role
- Send reminders to helpers
- Give helpers schedule and table list
- Send reminder to MUA, JP, PG & VG

1 day before wedding:
- Have manicure and pedicure done
- Bridal car collection
- Flower collection
- Pack AD stuff according to time plan
- Check and prepare angbao again
- Prepare tea set
- Have enough sleep and wait for BIG DAY!

ya ya... suddenly everyone asking for FB email addresses... mine is [email protected]
can add me too if u wan....

anyone else doing anything special for the door gift ah.. i still cannot decide wat to get leh.. haiz..

Additional album add $850 wor. U say lah. U already told me i spent a lot on wedding album. Another $850 is like digging a deeper grave.

Whahahha. Thanks for the script XKA.

cher,
2-in-1 album means u will get 2 huge albums instead of 1, and the 2 albums are joined side by side..u get wat i mean??

hers is rather standard deal frm mi BS ba...bth mi n aroh top up abt 1.5k to get 60pics in a 32pg album..so hers xtra 30pics, so ard 2.8k lor..

Nikiko, mayb I will tryt o do one 1st to see the cost and time needed.

Vt, don't think so cos I did repeat the cost to her. And did ask her if there is any cheaper alternatives

Di gio is it? or la belle?

I remember seeing one very nice 2-in-1 album on display. With the couple whose outdoor shoot gt horse one. Very nice. Too bad, take liao.

How come so many of u gt the soft copy of the layout? My BS didnt give me wor. Even after i confirmed mine like 2 wks back.... Aiyo wat did i forget to bargrain again.

boygirl,
mine is Digio..

yaya..ta gal got married last aug if i didnt rem wrongly...i got my guest book through her recommendations..kekeke...

tink most of us are getting onli when we collect album leh....n my coordinator onli told mi when i asked her for it wor..
so u might wan to call ur BS and ask..mayb they are giving u??
bt then, there are some BS tat dun giv back soft copy de..J*zz dun even let their custs see soft copy lor..

actually for those BS which dun give back the soft copies, i think its very crap. The least is that they should give us back the soft copies for the photos which we chose. Cos we paid for these photos, so why they cant give us back...

Hi all! Wah...like time no come in like so happening! Been super busy manz! But happy tat I've settled most the the wedding stuffs. Met up with my hotel coordinator on Mon to finalise everything. Haiz, their wedding favours are soooo disappointing manz! Luckily they're flexible enuff to offset the estimated value of the favours, so tat we can source on our own.

mashi> Hey! base on your advice, I check with my hotel & they also allow me to go down earlier (approx 2 weeks) to try their sound system. Hehe..so now gota quickly compile the songs etc.

I also ordered my GDL cakes from Sweetest Moments, bght my AP box to DIY, settle my gowns & flowers, picking up my invitation cards over the weekend. Hmm....hope tat I dun miss out anything ba....

ohh...okok at least my BS gave me back the soft copies of the layout..cos amended a few times, so in the end they email me the soft copies to see at home.

cheer> Hmmm....I think I'll still love to come in & chat with you gals if this thread is still alive after our wedding! Haha...if not, we can all migrate to Motherhood forum lor.hehehehe