(2009) Brides of year 2009

littlewoman> I didn't know that we have to seek approval for song compilation! If we were to have a band playing the songs that we choose, do we still have to get the approval? Thanks for the info! More headache now...

littlewoman: my banquet package is kinda standard. It should be similar to most hotels. ie. with one free night stay, waiver of cockage for wine, liquors, one free barrel of beer, one bottle of wine per confirmed table..

ONE thing different i think would be this hotel only give 10% of total confirmed guests complimentary parking. Very little right! We negotiate till end still cannot get more.. Other couples who signed up this place also try to neg, but also cannot.

i would be writing to my coordinator on the songs issue and also my seating arrangement.. gonna ask if they can squeeze 11 pax for 2-3 tables..

My TW BS helps us with the sequence of pics.. basically is the seq of the actual pics taken.. then they did 1st draft of layout, we are allow to change or design then send back to them they will do second round.. all thru email.. no face to face.. cos they in Taiwan, we in SG.. haa

Realli? Ling, your AD is on 6 Dec as well mahz? haha.. Realli a concidence.. same hotel and same coordinator..

Crazelil: Gal, I am not too sure on bands as I checked on the extraction of songs the previous time. But from what I am aware, if you are hiring a band, they probably might have pre-register some usual songs.. and thus, for those songs, no further approval is necessary.. It is better to call up the IP office in SG to check/confirm on this matter. But don't reveal who you are; just do a general enquiry kinda of thingy..

littlewoman, hehehehee , just had my PS 2 days ago thus yet go for photo selectio . Will try to bargain more with BS but I will ask my hubby to do it on my behalf ..

akino> I hope I dun top up that much cos later pocket burn a big hole

Greentwinkle: I can understand how it feels. Did they explain why? Perhaps it is due to a few wedding functions on the same night? Hilton gave me 25% complimentary tickets initally, but we managed to bargrain and negotiate till they increase the % for us.. Else, I think it will also be a headache for me, most of my bosses drive... One of the disadv is they do not provide waiver for all my wine.. Thus, I decide to get 85% of my wine from the hotel itself... I am more kiasu; probably also as I am not having a lot of tables, it makes things easier for me ba.. kinda of finalise my seating arrangment le, but not the songs issue.. That is also my headache..

haha.. I like Taiwan style of PS.. My photographer was an ex Taiwan Photographer too and I like the way he shoots.. would you be sharing your photos?

Ling: Haha.. how many poses do you have in your package? Yes, negotiate to get a better price.. Try to cut the price, at the same time, get more stuffs out of it. I managed to get my BS to sponsor me another 80 "Thank-you" cards.

littlewoman> Thanks so much! Will do just that!

By the way, is anybody going to do the ROM registering? Does the quota affect marriages that are doing the solemnisation outside?

Crazelil: No problem, I was taught by my associates to do that too.. keke.. They told me, nv let them know who u are.. keke..

Are you doing your ROM on the same day as your AD? Hmm.. I did my ROM at Fairmount Hotel 2 yrs back. I don't remember paying any prices, just gave the hongbao to the JP (if i remember correctly, there is a difference of voluntary JP and otherwise), they have a certain standard rates, like S$28 - S$48 as stated in ROM website but I think the amt shld be based on your choice; as I kinda of changed my ROM venue and the time at the last minute, I gave $50 for my case..

littlewoman> Yep mine is on the same day as my AD. I was wondering if I have to wait beside my PC at midnite to register cos I heard there is a quota for the number of couples to be registered. But my solemnization is outside so do I still have to rush to register?

Oh.. i see.. bu hao yi shi.. keke..
Nope gal.. We can start to register 3 months before the ROM date, they will inform you to collect your ROM Cert prior to the date, but have you confirm everything with your JP?

Haha it's my choice of words :p
Glad to hear there is no quota at least I don't need to keep awake by the PC! Got my JP already but worried that he might have forgotten about us. Was thinking of dropping him a msg after we have filed.

Still have alot of things pending for the wedding... photo album layout, invitation cards, flower deco, songs selection, etc... getting stressed out now!

Crazelil: Sorry, did i ask when is your AD?

It is better to do that gal.. have you met up with your JP? I remember that we did have our 1st meeting with our JP for him to sign some docs before the filing of marriage.. Thereafter, I reminded my JP 1.5 months before my ROM and did the same thing again 1 week before the date..
Perhaps I am more kiasu lor.. keke..

It is better to settle one by one..
1) For wedding cards: Have you collect your wedding cards? Have you completed your guests' list?
2) Flowers: What kinda of flowers are you thinking of? Check with your BS if there is extra charges if you are catering to a special flowers that might require special importing etc.
3) Have you contacted the band for your AD? Liaise with them on the songs and preferably check if they are able to provide the additional services to liaise with the IP SIN office...

Oh ya, rope in your FTB in a way... it will make the planning much easier. Personal experience: My HB is better with planning for logistics etc, hence, he took charge of the guests' list, the seating arrangment, while I took charge of the gowns' designs, the flowers I am looking at, the montage photos etc..

My AD is on the 5th Dec. Hvn't met up with the JP yet, we did the signing of the forms through fax and post. I think I should learn from you and keep reminding him!

Going through the list of outstanding items with my HTB this weekend. Luckily he has been looking at the songs selection and the seating arrangements while I was away for work. If not I think I might be pulling my hairs out by now! :p

Thanks so much for your advice!

Littlewoman> A bit confused here... Need approval from relevant authorities to play songs during the wedding dinner?? What if we compile them ourselves and play the CD?

wow today everyone weekend mood. So active here.

This weekend need to plan the design of our wedding card and confirm some dish for our food tasting. Lucky ROM le else more busy.

Crazelil: High five.. we have the same wedding date.. where are you holding it?
You should.. Just send him gentle and yet polite reminders.. haha.. the most, he find you a little naggy? aiyo.. dun pull hairs.. let me know if you need any further stuffs.. we can share our info..

Yvonne: A total compilation requires the extraction from CDs, regardless if it is from original Cds or downloads versions. DL versions are infringment in a way, thus, it shldn't be done in the first place.
Any extractions from originals are considered ... thus, approval is still required unless you pre-register them with the IP office, which some hotels and BS are doing / done it.

Cherie: Eat more eat more.. to make up for your AD, as brides usually wun get to eat..

anyone go NATAS help me find out Hertz or other car rental offer can pls? need to be able to let me pick up from manchester airport then return somewhere in london...thanks!!!

Now I got a new problem. My regular hair stylist got sick and he wont we back at least for the next 6 mth. Now need to hunt for a hair stylist b4 the wedding. Any recommendation?

hey cherie, how much are u prepared to spend and what area are u staying in? Coz the current stylist I have is the only one that I've stayed with for more than 2 times (She's been cutting my hair for over 2 years now)

Can reccomend u to try if u like

I have one hairdresser (family-run style) one to recommend you @ Bugis.

May look like some old-fashioned salon, but its pretty good. cheap also la.

my perm turned out not bad..

Cherie: do you want to cut hair or ? Coz I have a usual hairstylist at my neighbourhood whom I can recommend you.. Personally, I think I like the way he cuts my hair.. But if you are doing colours, you might want to consider Jean Yip at Bugis?

Ling: Oh.. how much did you pay for it? Hehe.. There is a high chance that you might top up..

littlewoman> how much is cutting and dying in jean yip? my MUA told me to layer my hair 10 days b4 AD. i tot of dying at the same time too.

i like my valentine by martina mcbride. and cannon in D piano version but dunno is it suitable for march in.

for montage is i finally found someone and tong hua.

Oh.. I suggest that you might want to consider treatment too, coz dying will affect hair quality and it might look a bit dry.... the last time I did was about S$200 plus; it should be about S$38 for cutting, and about S$100 plus for dying hair.
Gal, what is the theme for your AD?

i'm very unhappy with my mother in law. she always says i wont give you si dian jin as we are hokkien, we dont practice that, and i didnt give your husband's da sao so i wont give it to you too.
after finish our ti qin session that time now say wanna add new things. so total we need to give 2 angbaos to them, 1 for two chicken and two sugar cane, another ADD for 2 pairs of shoes for them. then still tell me to tell my mother to bao ang bao for my hb when GDL because he bringing those heavy things to my house. i was like WTH? he is suppose to bring it to my house what. still must give angbao because he bring to my house?
she always says i wont give you that we wont do this as we are hokkien. then my mother how? my mother hakka, cannot compromise meh? my parents are divorced and i love them dearly, i wanna put in my wedding invitation as MR Lim **** and MdM HO **** only daughter bla bla bla.. then she said nobody do this way de. only can put 1 name. i really so upset and really feel like crying.

hi akino, dun cry ya... everything will be okie. ** hug hug**

Can understand how u feel. Have a good talk with ur hubby & see how can it be solve. Dun care so much abt ur MIL. wedding coming soon and there alot more to think abt eg. banquet RSVP, ur wedding gowns etc..

akino: Dun cry dun cry..!! *hugs*.. Like wat Ling say, have a good discussion with your HB.. Hmm.. May I ask if your in-laws are forking out any monies for the wedding? Else, the main options still lies between your HB and you.. If you MIL mentioned that they dun give si tian jin coz they dun practise that, your HB can do that on their behalf.. just a way of respect given to your parents. Moroever, you are the one who will be writing the wedding cards, hence you may choose the address term as you like, of course, don't do such things openly, in such ways, you may avoid conflicts and also make everyone happy..
We are here ya.. dun be too stress kk..
Btw, gal.. just for clarification, we do have to give Hongbaos for GDL.. it is for auspicious reasons for the groom and the in-laws.. hongbaos are a common practice for Wedding.

Hi Akino, cheer up. =)
My mil is not forking a single cent for wedding.
Hubby say he will get me the si dian jin. Hubby also hokkien. I told him must have, he say he will do on his family behalf. My parent also divoiced but i've never thought of what to write on the card. Is it usually put dad's name only? If that is the case, just put dad's name loh, i'm sure mum won't mind. =)

Akino> u must cheer up!!
every couple got its own problems.. for mine.. my hubby got alot of sisters.. and he is the only son.. although we are paying for our own wedding.. they got alot of comments one.. everything also wan to put their comments in.. even down to the pic to chose for my bedroom.. i also cry many times... but luckily my hubby is ard to cheer me up n make our stand to them..

so im sure ur hubby will get u the si dian jin...

Marriage is always not 2 person.. its between 2 families...

thanks everyone... maybe i wanted too much for the wedding. now i just want to keep it simple. my ma wanted roasted pork. but i told her its too expensive because his mother already retire.

littlewoman> nope they are not forking out for banquet. hb and me share.precisly they are not forking out and still dont wanna give si dian jin! no roasted pork no si dian jin.... very niao!

Charmaine> i think usually put the parent that you are staying with. but i want to put both.but not MR and MRS, it individual

Akino, you may ask the person who is in charge of printing your card.

Actually, according to custom, Hokkien dun practise si dian jin but then now most dialets start to have it, perhap ur hubby can buy one piece of jewellery for you.

AS for ur mum, maybe get a small roast pig.

littlewoman> As for me, we need to give angbao to his parents and grandma. My mummy need to give my hubby for him to buy shirt and pant.

<font color="aa00aa">Hi Akino, do not be sad and stress up. I also have the same feeling some time ago then 1 day I just cried it out and I feel so much better.

Angelina is correct. Marriage is not just 2 ppl, it's about 2 families so sometimes try to compromise. Coz there's still a long way ahead.

Are you a teochew? Actually, only cantonese have roasted pig. For me, I'm a teochew and suppose to be only canned pig trotters but since Hb is cantonese, we will order roasted pig.

Wow! There are really alot of 06 Dec brides. I'm one of them too. :D</font>

Same here, My HB and I are sharing the costs for our AD, taking in a more postive way, we have the most say in the planning etc right?
Moreover, we can choose the theme, songs, etc accordingly to our likings?
Moroever, Akino: dun get roost pig, you can subsitute it with those cans of pig trotters? I heard that roost pig is a symbol for the bride's parents that they are marrying their daughters, hence, those cans can equally have the same meaning..

Also, try not to put HB in a difficult positions... marriage is just the start to entering into another family..

Ling: same here. My mum has to give hongbao for my HB to buy pants.. and accordingly to hokkien, I heard from my mum that my HB has to give hongbao to my younger bro to buy a pair of new clothings for the actual day.

akino, dun be upset.. you are not alone in this, you have your hubby to help you thru all this.

for our case, things that my MIL don't approve but I want, my hubby will speak to her when he is at home. I think its good so that we can minimise conflict with her.

akino, try asking ur hubby to speak to her. afterall, a wedding is a happy event, dun make urself upset over this. cheer up girl!

Hi Akino,

There are many ways to go about the card writing. Think like ling mentioned, do check with the card printer on the norm of printing first. Because some time the stuff that we wanted are actually not correct/ improper. If the card printer think its alright for your way, then print the card in 2 batches. 1 batch for your hb's side, according to your mil's style. 1 batch for your friends &amp; relatives side, your style. But of course, don't show them to your mil. hee..

And for the 4 dian jin and roast pig, if your mil doesn't want to give, so be it. Both of you can make up for it, just get your own 4 dian jin and order a roast pig for your mum. No point insisting that your mil should get it when she obviously doesn't want to and making yourself upset. And if by getting the roast pig yourself can make your mum happy, why not, right?

To me, wedding is just a one day event and the 1st day of your marriage. Don't ruin your relationships with your in-laws even before the 1st day. There's still a long way to go for your marriage.

Wishing you strength and luck.

winny> my mum is a hakka, hakka and cantonese are quite simillar.

yes i believe my hb will help me thru.
my mother also buying a pants for my husband. do you all know whats the reason behind it?

thanks everyone for giving me strenght.

good idea shir abt having 2 sets of style for different sides = )

yup akino, do consider that and dun be too upset as you must maintain your beauty rest for the coming big day k

Akino> Glad to hear that you are feeling better.. *Hug hug*.. I think it's impt that your HTB and you are communicating, .. Smile k.. Must be a pretty pretty bride

Littlewoman> Thanks for the advice.. Will check with the country club for the approval / registration..

I think only Cantonese practise the "buying pant"? My MIL is a Cantonese, I heard that it means good luck esp in the groom's career? Of coz I wun mind about that upon hearing it? keke.. I think my mum might have some lobangs.. Will check with her and get back to you soon..

Thanks dzxz.

Ha...finally got my PS album and invitation cards are ready for collection. But now 7th mth..cannot do anything...can't prepare the invitation cards and can't hang up our portrait