(2009) Brides of year 2009

freegoer> I went to Chinatown, saw those 'xi' red packet... very traditional and plain with just the 'xi' but I saw some people using very nice and cute ones, wondering where they get those.

I think usually it is a selection of 3 locations for outdoors plus 1 indoor one. Happy to see everyone planning so much for their wedding. I am having tea ceremony on the 12th nov 09 and banquet on the 22nd nov 09 at grand shanghai =) think it will be good to compile guest list soon so it be easier to eatimate the no. of tables you will need esp those from your parents' side.

poseidon_gal,

Im also from NTU EEE 2007 convocate batch!!
btw, the new NTU art building got the slope grass roof similar to marina barrage... tink quite gd for photoshoot too

anticipate> u r really lucky. I start sourcing for Hotel last Oct. Those hotels tt i prefer are all fully book. I think I did check with raffles hotel at that time but it was not available anymore. In the end, I am left with Orchard Hotel and Concorde (Le Meridien previously). Bcose ballroom 3 was already taken up for Orchard Hotel, I cant have the whole ballroom. So in the end, I choose Concorde.
Late Feb, I call up some hotels again, thinking maybe some couple will give up the venue bcose of recession. But the hotels i call told me so far there is no cancellation and bcose the couple already sign the contract for 26 Dec, they wont even want to put me on the waiting list. Basically once the contract is sign, the couple is liable even if they want to cancel the wedding. So in the end, i sort of give up and stick to Concorde.

BTW, anyone thinking of engaging professional MC? or live band? I thinking of some entertainment during the wedding but my friends was saying if too entertaining, will turn up like D&D instead of my wedding. hahaha.

For red packet, there is a pushcart along the chinese temple in Chinatown. They sell those not so traditional kind. Cute picture on the red packet.

i donated abt $70 lar...but got back half when i won ibet for one of the Q numbers...1548 i think...hahaha...i said it's easier to win 4D than get a house with that Q number...it came true...hahaha...

Hi all Dec BTB, nice to meet all of you here. I am also a Dec BTB.
Wondering whether anyone have any AD PG to recommend? I have a low budget, preferably $1K. Think the most I can stretch is $1.2k... having a hard time finding one.

anticipate: I yet to choose the venues for phototaking. But heard the PG n the BS there will suggest also..but will do some homework before going there n also get opinions from the JWN manager who is a taiwanese lor. Nice food ah..nt really..last year I went there on package tour, nt tat nice..haha.
for wedding shoes, depends on ur budget..leaping lizard n anna n*cci r the common ones..vivi also not bad..
xi red pkt can go chinatown or those shops tat selling these particularly..I might go JB holiday plaza to buy coz there got 1 shop specialise in all these stuff.

zinnia: issit..hmmm maybe she low profile bah. taiwan fun but $$ lor..hehee ..go for the experience.

Hi ladies!

yeah.. get lots of rest for the wedding eventS this weekend.. quite a number of you..

Lovie Dovie, I agree that must have time to mingle around with the guests.. So i decided to appear once the cocktail starts.. haha..

piglit21: I went around 5pm, weather was nice and windy, sky is still bright and sun not too shinning (which means I don't have to squint my eyes), so I guess thats a pretty good time.

bingo> ya, we were really lucky. They have signed the contract already but something happened so that cancelled. Then so happen, I emailed the hotel 1 week later. But at least you managed to finalise on the venue. That's like the most headache thing... before you can settle that, you can't do anything.

I'm thinking of the live band too but spending too much money now so that would be the least important on my list...
You might want to check with your hotel to see if they have any contacts, and then research on those contacts.
You can play romantic love songs mah... then wouldn't be like D&D. Some don't play throughout the dinner, just 2 or 3 sets of 45 min - i think.

bluesky> I do have a contact, wanted to sign up with him at first but now it's included in my BS. But I think you have to check them out individual and see if you like their style of photo-taking. The guy that I mentioned is Tom Shen Studio. His package is within your budget.

Jaq> I'm going to leave it to them and choose from the 'designated' route cos I know nothing about Taiwan. So better stick to their plan. hehe... I'm just worried that it's too hot in June. My HTB cannot stand hot weather man, he's like a polar bear! LOL

All> thanks for the tip on red packet, I think I have to go back Chinatown again. I've only saw one shop at 'Hong Lim' and the stuffs are a little dusty... haiz... btw, which part of chinatown are you all referring to? It's a little big to explore. :p

bluesky: when's ur AD? I can recommend you my PG and fotowerke.

anticipate: hehe u can do some research also n see what the PG say. Ya..June can be quite hot.

So have all of u got ur wedding bands?
My HTB say wait till GSS but not sure if the price will really be cheaper.
Going for my PS next wk. So excited. Anyone has any checklist of wat to bring?

Hi Princess,

Yea fb can only upload 60 pics per album. Only thing u can do if u wanna upload more than 60 pics is to create more than 1 album. Just name them xxx album/part 1, xxx album/part 2, and so on..

Irene,
Yup. bought my wedding bands. nw waiting to take only as I sent bk for resize. haha...

GSS- mayb will lor. keke...
I buy so early becoz of PS. wan to bring my rings to shoot also. haha...

wow. next wk PS ar. fast fast...

Ur BS never provide u the checklist of wat to bring ar?

My BS gave me a list of dos n donts n also wat to bring..

basically, shld bring the following.

1. ur props , rings (if hv)
2. bride shoes
3. groom shoes (white (if got wear white suit)n black)
4. shirts ( to match the bride gowns) my BS advise us to bring 3 to match different gowns.
5. comapact make up, blotters, tissue (for outdoor) as MUA nt following.
6. ur casual outfits (if u hv lar)
7. slippers
8. water. (outdoor) in case thristy lar.
tink abt like tat ba..

Guess these are the basic items we need to bring along.

Felicia - I'll go tell my hubby what your hubby say.. hahaha...

Mashi - Singapore is indeed small... However, it's really good to have all of you in here to share ideas and give pointers...

iris,
yup. basic. but my co ordinator tell me if on AD, my HTB nt wearing white suit, then no need to buy white shoes. they will lend us for PS. haha... save $$... keke..

tink main prob is wat props u goin to bring for PS... any gals here bringing any props there??

still tinking wan to bring flower petals there or nt. lol...

always gd to hv ppl of same topic to chat n exchange ideas. haha...

Hi W&L, im using mojoideas, u can google their website to check on their past projects. They're good and i'm impressed with their presentation.

Aside to this, btb, any suggestion on banquets, cos i cant decide to get novotel or hipv.

Novotel, free flow beer, one bottle of wine per confirmed table, additional night's stay in bridal suite and 50% off room service. DINNER only at 688 nett (Usual 768) 70% free carpark, tats all i remember.

HIPV, $1000 bill discount, 1 free table worth $818, free flow beer, one bottle of wine per confirmed table, 80% parking, 70% cards including printing, $80credit for room service, 1bridalsuite, 818nett, Plus point* they're goin to renovate the whole hotel n done by Sept when my AD is in NOV.

Hi everybody!

Good morning!!!

xka,
Sorry to hear about the previous houseowner. He sucks! And also your htb's bros coming over all the time... In my opinion, you must put your foot down and start restricting them. You don't want to keep coming even after your wedding right?

gal,
Glad to hear that your photoshoot went well. When can you see your photos?

Hi Eureka, dun have to bring alot of things. I brought a pair of heels, a pair of flats, short umbrella, tissue and water with me. Didn't use the umbrella at all. As for ur hubby, just the shoes. If u guys have props and stuff i.e. wedding bears, rings etc... do bring them if u want to.

Most importantly, Remember to eat a good breakfast. I didn't get to eat lunch during PS... only ate a sandwich around 3pm. Haha its a fun but tiring day! Enjoy ur PS! =)

Oh,, my hubby will not be wearing white suit on AD.. juz for PS. But I insist him to buy a pair of white shoes. Dun want him to wear those provided by BS :P

We will be buying another suit for AD coz what the BS is providing is really pathetic for groom. Cannot only bride pretty, groom must oso look good

aroh,
Which one would you choose?

EOS 40D I 18-55mm - $1,599.00
EOS 40D II 17-85mm - $2,140.00
EOS 40D DLK 18-55mm / 55-250mm - $1,799.00

EOS 450D I 18-55mm - $1,160.00
EOS 450D II 18-200mm - $1,799.00
EOS 450D Special kit 17-85mm - $1,699.00

hi all.... read abt the life band part... my fren hired a 3 piece band for wedding for 2k.. hmm .. nto too bad i tink.. play jazz ..

xka,
Morning!!!

BS is doing touch up and layout now. Told me they'll take 2 months. After that, we have to go down and approve the layout & everything before they print on the album.

I'm considering buying all the softcopies. We have 265 photos! =p

4R - RM900
8R - RM1800

Worth it bor?

Iris
Oh. y lei? BS shoes nt nice ar? keke...
but if only for PS wear n normal times no wear then abit waste lor. keke..

Wat ur BS providing for the groom?
mine at least something. the suit for groom got designs de. so nt bad..

hi iris, wow guy dun wear white shoes lor... i dun tnk my husband will wear white suit too on ad. by e way iris, wer is ur new hse ? my husband got fren who take the same area as us...

mine i hvn go choose yet.. so duno wat they will provide for my husband... hahaha my husband only wan me mei mei and happy on my ad ...

elyse, buy body alone. online alot of ppl selling the 18-55 very cheap...personally i would go for 450D or 50D...40D old model already...

start with 18-55...when u know wat u wan more then u can decide which lens to buy...

felicia,
White suit got 1 bad ting. abit transparent. keke..
so if take off the jacket, might b able to c the inner wear lor. so normally guys dun wan to take white color. haha...

Anticipate: I roughly know which part of chinatown bingo refering to.. maybe later i help you go take a look.. haha.. i am working at the chinese temple shop houses area.. jus walk downstairs only..

Jaq: can go for a PS cum honeymoon.. so nice

xka,
Then you think I should get it? Hehehe... But I feel that 8R is not worth it, so probably getting 4R. =p

aroh,
Which website do you buy yours from? I didn't ask for the price of 50D. Maybe later I'll go and ask. These prices are from Cathay Photo. Heard from my friend that John 3:16 is better, so I'm going there to ask as well.

So you feel that I do not need to get the 17-85 la. Ok, at least that's one thing decided.

Btw, 450D is coming out with a newer version, 500D end of next month.

xka,
Huh? I was talking about soft copies all along. All 265 photos - soft copies and raw in 4R size will cost me RM900...

since u really begineer...i guess go for 450D ba...there are some extra features that 50D offers but maybe u dun need it...dun need care abt 500D if u need a camera soon. anyway just launched model usually cost quite high...

go for the most basic lens 1st...learn wat u need the buy...u will end up with lens that cost more than the camera...even the flash is half the price of the camera...

i usually get from MS color in AMK...ask for florence...she's very nice and give u gd price... Cathay's price usually higher...u can try Alan Photo at Sim Lim but they not very friendly...just do biz that's all...

elyse, give u in soft copy where got size one? u mean they purposely downsize it to 4R from 8R to sell u cheaper? so silly...just get 4R lar...dun think u will develop into prints bigger than 4R anyway...

anticipate> u can go to the chinatown complex where u can go book ur honeymoon :-p there is a "store" tat sells books beside the counter got wedding angpows ...

Hey Zinnia, My AD is oso on 13th Dec!! Heez..Swissotel Stamford was one of my choice too! I went down in Aug loh..haha..but later I decided on Swissotel Merchant Court..=) Have u chosen ur BS le ma?? =) Excited? Have u start preparing??? Me slacking.. :p

aroh,
So go for 450D and get the lens online? Any website to recommend?

Yeap, they resize the soft copies accordingly. I also find it shocking but I guess they want to give us more price choices ba... I'm thinking of printing photobooks with the soft copies I get, if I get la.

xka,
Hehehe. No wonder u asked me if I'm getting soft copies. Yeap, they resize their soft copies according to these 2 sizes.