(2009) Brides of year 2009

Good Morning!

Saggiegirl> I got your mail. Thanks. I also think your gown sounds gorgeous and what more, they are new. So the bs will keep these selected gown for you until your wedding in Dec?

Sobe> I had some friends who previously considered T3 Crowne and dropped them. Mainly due to its location, pretty far and inaccessible for those w/o cars and also for those with cars, they need to pay for the carpark which is not cheap for few hrs parking. You might want to take note of these.

Clueless Oink> Hi, when is your day? You might want to send emails to those hotels that you are interested with to check for availability first.

Cherie> Think we will only be doing the GDL 2-3 weeks before the actual day as there will be cakes for friends and relatives. And my parents can confirm the rsvp during that time also. Hee..

shir> the gowns will be kept now for PS ... but they can still rent it out in the meantime ... if and only if they are within the unblocked period ...
typically 1 mth b4 and 1 mth after is blocked ... for washing and alteration.

cherie> hmm..we have fixed the GDL date on 21 Nov 09 (Sat) which happens to be the first day of yr-end sch holidays
.... mummy will buy those stuffs after mid-autumn festival which is on oct 3...so just enuff time to prepare.... then AD on 6 dec 09...

charmaine> ya lor...somemore my BS got a sign say no photo & video taking... :S then on monday when i do my gown fitting, the lady boss is around...so cannot lor... sigh...

but i m very happy that day coz the lady boss also helped me with the gowns and let me see the effect of the train on the floor...so pai seh lor...

shir> no worries
i can help u within my means lar... hmm...on monday when we finalise our gowns and suits, they will "reserve" them and send them for dry cleaning, then check all buttons, zips, hooks and "doll up" my gowns with the crystal pin-ons for my PS in mid-may... then after that they will "release" the gowns to other ppl for selection...but they will bear in mind that my final fitting is around late Nov (after my GDL) so meanwhile during late May - early Nov, ppl can choose the gowns but the BS will ensure that the dates dun clash

MORNING ALL!!!
haha..im so happy...i finally got my JP confirmed..Furthermore she's my 1st choice...haha...so glad she can help me...hehe....1 more thing off my list..haha...

Just wondering if any of you gals are doing your solemnization on the same day as your AD? Would it be wierd not to wear the wedding rings for the tea ceremony in the morning cos my solemnization is only in the evening. Any advice?

crazelil> i think shd be Ok to go without rings during the tea-ceremony in the morning
...if u prefer, u can wear ur proposal / couple ring

morning all!

congrats xka! u will holding ur ROM at ur banquet place? now juz waiting for 3 mths be4 to register online hehe...

thx gal...
yup...im having mi ROM at my dinner place....Now got to tink of my vows to him le...hmmm...duno hw to start...

initially was so worried tat she cant help mi..coz now is 6mths ahead..haha...but then she's reali kind n helpful...sounds friendly ova e pone...lucky i trusted my gut feel..haha...

sry..i abit hysterical todae...

XKA, cough syrup make u high?
how's ur cough?

congrats lar...told u dun worry liaoz...

eva's writing the vows...haha...so i guess ur vows will be different lor? not sure if i prefer same or different...

now waiting for 21 June so we can register online...

hi saggiegirl,
was thinking of wearing the proposal ring but means FH has no ring to wear... as for our couple rings, once he loses weight, he won't be able to wear it anymore. so worse case scenario is that he will not be wearing any rings for the tea ceremony which might seem odd. i'm hoping the relatives won't realise it and make noise abt it.

crazelil> i get your point
... it is usually like that de...gers will wear the proposal ring but guys will tend to go "ringless"
i think that is perfectly fine...

hehe still got abit of time away.. i feel time now is crawling... how u all fixed ur AD schedule and met up with ur xiong dis and jie meis?

hihi aroh,

no la, not the syrup....im hysterical coz the jp called me ma...coz intitially she sae got another btb...n i was planning for e worst lor..then she called mi,tell mi can..then i veri happi lor..wahahaha....

thx...tink im becoming paranoid le la...haha...

our vows will be diff...coz i told him i wan him to write wat he wanna promise from e bottom of his heart...i dun wan him to juz read wateva i write for him...defeats e purpose of writing our vows...at least, tats my perception & preference la....no offense to anyone hor....

haha..21 June...like so far awae....keke..we beta remind each other...wait we forget..haha....

now im trying to concentrate on getting my renos done and moving in....haizz...

trying to research on gdl procedures in the meantime, and decide on bridal party atttire, and AD schedule n roles, and oso my florist...

Mi list like nevaending de leh...so envy u all..

wat is ur dialect xka? me also need to find... im hokkien... my bf ask me wat color codes for his xiong di on that day lol... i havent done my tea dress also... many thing not done

Gal, i fixed my schedule liaoz...checked with my master abt timings then came up with it...

need to reach eva place by 7am...i usually put my WTB's name cos some of the forum ppl met her already...fyi la...

our XD n JM quite settled and we roughly told them the plans le...but we will have a birthday cum briefing chalet in aug to let them meet up and give a final briefing...

crazelil> no worries
are u expecting a lot of "older generation" relatives..? but i think hor~~ those older folks nowadays also not really follow traditions due to changing times and modernizing everything.....

he is hakka... but he is catholic dun follow one so his parents let my parents decide on wat we want... so they will follow our dialect...

check with u, raine. normally who'll be going for the food tasting beside the wedding couple? both family members?
last sat, i went to choose my wedding cards. tmr can see the draft.

crazelil> from what i've seen in my cousins' weddings, no matter what you do, it'll surely cause some "talking". :s don't worry...it's fine, quite common not to wear wedding rings if your customary is before solemnisation..

*sigh* for me, I think I have to do solemnisation before customary cos elders prefer it that way...

ya lor...aiya...what we plan is up to our timing mah...especially my auspicious hour is between 6am-9am... must reach hubby place b4 9am... :S haizzzz... but i ROMed in june 08... so settled off 1 thing lor...

i only heard here and there like need the pig... wines... oranges... but there is a shop in far east that sells those wedding stuff.... they got stick a list of wat is required for GDL...

I went to view Carlton, the bad ting is they r having constructions due to expansion

Seeing Furama riverfront tonite, Sheraton tmr, Megu on Sun...
Conrad is pretty ex for the poolside. They even charge for every AV system you need *faint*
FS didnt get back to me...

From what i know, this are the things to prepare..

Grooms side to prepare:
Ang Bao for Bride's mum(Nappy AngBao)
Ang Bao for Bride's parents (PIN JIN)
12 oranges (or any even no)
2 bottles of liquor
2 pairs of Dragon / Pheonix Candles
12 boxes of wedding cakes (or any even no, depends on no of relatives to giv to )
12 cans Pig Trotters (or any even no)
2 gold bangle (for mi, i chose 2 gold-pcs)
rice candies (or duno hw mani type of seeds)

Bride's side to prepare:
Return part of Pinjin
Angpows for future in laws to buy shoe
Towels for grooms family
2btls of orange squash(to replace liquor)
Return 2 phoenix candles
Banana
red dates

Some people include the downry during GDL oso, so depends on hw u want it done.

Bride's downry:
tea set
beddings like sheets, blankets, etc
×ÓËïͰ- baby bathtub, potty, face washbasin, in red and with wedding designs,
toothpaste and toothbrushes, tumblers, mirror, comb
sewing basket with even numbered rolls of colourful thread, needles, pincushion, scissors, and sewing wax with auspicious words on it
new clothing in a suitcase for the bride
two pairs bedroom slippers
gold jewellery from the bride¡¯s parents or owned by the bride (sometimes this is only brought over on wedding day).

All items to be tied with red string or stick with e red XI word...

If want to know reason why, can read here http://www.chinese-wedding-guide.com/chinese-dowry.html

gal,
dun go to far east...sure veri expensive de...
hmm..which area do u stay??

actuali,i was wondering if we could get discounts if we buy in bulk....haha..since we all will be doing our GDL around e same time ma..haha...

chinatown i know have also...should be cheaper...

there's one shop at people's park food ctr 2nd floor that's under the company of the master that checked my dates...think i can get some discounts...but that place look very commericalised so i guess wun be cheap also...

pig i'm getting from Ubi...anyone wants a mass order? hahaha...

ay....ur mum need giv her sidianjin and roast pig lor...e rest is abt e same de...then they dun ask for rice candies, red dates or bananas...
n her parents will giv her longfeng bangles lor....

e rest is more or less abt e same la....tink muz go those shop n ask lor if u reali wan e authentic ones...

can help u all to ask...coz e famous cheow keok is near mi hse..haha....

pig u got lobang ma?? i might hav leh...coz mi grandma used to order roast ducks, and chickens from the factories direct....

i koe of minah at bukit timah shopping centre and cheok keow at jurong west....i will go there to ask abt e tings to prepare lor...n hor, dun get e package...its much more espensive then if u buy separately....

help me ask lar...at least have the authentic list...then MIL can add or minus things as she like...

my mum giving her purple gold set to replace the 4dianjin then i think her mum giving her diamond set to replace the bangles...

then okie lor...

okie...i write down..in case i forget..haha...
btw, anione ordering traditional cakes as wedding cakes???coz i wan order from gin thye..e one at sembawang..near mi mum house...if hav, mayb we can builk purchase oso...haha...save $$...btw, gin thye can lend u e baskets for GDL if u order from them...

roast pig i get from ubi the industrial area...it's direct from factory...last yr one of my friends got from there the skin is well roasted...that time CNY got the duck from there very cheap one...$18 for 1 duck. some more near my place...easier to collect...

if u all wan should be able to order together...but how long in advance to order i dunno le...most prob early aug will go to check it out...should be collect on the day before?

saggiegirl> Yep got quite a few from my FH's side... hopfully it's like what you mentioned that they dun follow traditions.

sobe> really? then i guess i just have to be prepared for the "talking"!

initially was thinking that i might have do change my schedule around to do the solemnisation before customary. but thanks to the both of u, i think i shall just go ahead and stick to my original plans!
really appreciate your comments!

oh...traditional cakes i was thinking of ordering from beach road...can lend the basket too...

"si tai" i think the shop name...just across from golden mile one...

but this one better check with both parents...my parents basically just say do wat the ILs ask...lol...

crazelil> no worries
hee hee... it is your wedding (together with yr FH) so just do yr part and plan accordingly...we cannot "please" everybody, but as long as it is within yr means and it is not too outrageous, i think that is fine...

wah i see all of u like struggling wif so many stuff for GDL.. n u all check wif parents n do.. i wonder next time wen ur kids get married, who will they check wif.. lol

lalaa,
wan check wif parents oso cant..coz they sae they duno..haha....

tink nxt time i will ask mi kids to check wif those GDL shops ba....or if they dun mind, then we do awae wif it lor..haha....

u going to do the GDL in aug? we thinking of doing it be4 the chinese 7th mth... dunno when it starts... how much is the pig from ubi?

nope gal...
e pig for cantonese is to be given when e bride returns to her house to serve tea...
signifies tat bride was a virgin when she went ova...coz alreadi 'dong fang' ma...
if no ear n tail, then means is not virgin lor...

tats e traditional meaning la...

in a way it's kinda sad...chinese traditions dying...but i rather do away also as it's quite troublesome..just ang bao...settled! ahahaha...but i understand the gd intentions of the elders lar...

personal opinion...i would still have some traditional stuff like tea ceremony as i think that's important to be 'accepted' into the family but do away with others...

this is my 1000th post!!! ahahha...

i'm doing GDL on Nat day weekend...7th lunar month starts on 20 Aug...we also doing before 7th lunar month mar...so checked the date already...this year got extra 5th month...

pig from ubi i haven check the price...maybe i check then let u all know...can check with them how long in advance to order also...

XKA, the beach road one is supposed to be traditional teochew style...so may not suit ur FFIL...i tried some of their cakes but taste is a very personal thing and what i like may not suit his taste...

hi yip,

yes, both our immediate families went for the food tasting - we had 9 in total for the 10 person dinner, but that's fine.

Sze Thye Cake Shop
2 Beach Road #01-4795
Tel: 6337 7010 HP: 9658 1286

u call them n ask i think easier...hee...

XKA, u joined the forum in May I joined in Oct leh...not fair...