(2009) Brides of year 2009

desmondtan

Hi poseidon_gal,

my close friends all not very confident on stage.. so I was thinking of any wedding emcee to engage. hai.. another headache...

cyntwy

Hi Charmaine

I understand your point. I can do it 2 ways: 1 liaise with hotel's florist or 2 use my own florist and ask her to top up cos' after she's a friend.

pepsichua

hihi, my wedding date will be on 21/Nov but i still headache in searching the bridal shop... any good recommend ?

tks for help... appreciate it...

dizonne

MORNING ALL
wah aroh, neva kneel not counted...i will tell eva to make u do it again...hmmmm...mayb ate nxt gathering?? haha....jkjk...

btw, can anione rem e post abt e printing costs in jb??? i cant seem to find it leh...
TIA!!

octo

Good Morning!

Saggiegirl & Freegoer> I see i see. Got a clearer idea how the bs works. You two are really helpful.

Cherie> GDL is Xia Ping. Like what saggiegirl mentioned its presenting the gifts something like put deposit. Hee..

Tiqing is different, its like asking for the hands. If not wrong, I think for the olden days, as the bride and groom has never met before, they usually use a meipo who will intro alot of girls to the groom family. And from the pool of girls, they will match their birthdays etc and select 1. After which, they will send the meipo over to Ti Qing which is to notify the bride family of their intent. And of course the ladies family can reject the offer and also at the same time, there may be more than 1 male family that is doing it, meaning they received like 5 offers from different families.

I think most couples doesn't really practise this as most will just inform their parents on both side that they are getting married. Some will booked a table at a restaurant and invite both parents to lunch / dinner and announce their intention of getting married.

I think its better that you check with the elderly of both sides to see if they have any preferences. Like ours, they just tell us to do the modernized way as they are not really that traditional to follow everything which is good for us. Hee..

saggiegirl

shir> lol...apt description of "putting deposit"....

true true...last time olden days guys and gals dun meet at all and usually is the matchmaker doing the job and they will find guys/gals from similar family backgrounds....

ya lor...freegoer is better...just announce to his parents that he wants to get married....no dinner or anything :p

superfamous

des&jol, maybe can consider joe augustin? now that he's off morning show, i saw him advertising for emcees, not sure of his rates though, but can email to ask. i saw vernetta lopez hosting a friend's friend wedding too, but not sure if she was the friend or wedding planner so they got her..

any reccs for photographers? i've not found mine yet!! *stress* my budget's about $2.5-$3k (inclusive of albums & what nots)...

noknok

Morning all..

Gals... have you all started looking for shoes liao?? Got any recommendations?? Think need one at least for indoor photoshoot right??

And Aroh.. are you buying yours for photoshoot as well??

dizonne

hihi nok,
some of the BTBs recommend Anna Nucci, but Ive been there, n i find e designs more or less e same..Am at a loss myself too. Was wondering if I wanna custom make mi shoes...

saggiegirl

sobe> haha...ur FH respects yr parents by "asking" them for ur hand
hee hee...nice mah...

for us when we decide to get married, then freegoer proposed to me lor...then the first thing we book is our BS, then look for flat, register for ROM.....

zljoan

saggie> nice..especially since not very in his character. lol :p
speaking of flat, must you ROM before being able to apply for a flat? haha...i know it sounds strange asking at this point but we're actually renting a flat from a family member while we wait for our own...

krystal80

hi all, and welcome to all the newbies if i've not said hi yet =P

sobe, ur fh so sweet =)

my case similar to saggie, except tt my hubby didn't tell my mom when he was going to propose so when I showed her the ring, she "got upset" tt never ask her....*faint

noknok

Gal.. how much did u custom make ur shoes for.. I was thinking.. wear once only.. need such an expensive shoes ah?? some more gowns long one all cover up cannot see also..

zzzz

cos my bf only taller than me abit.. those outside with bling normally very high... so no choice... can wear again during wedding dinner or D & D i guess...

irritant

morning lovely angels...

for those GTBs who are not to gifted with height can try "walking tall" at raffles place with in-built additions to make you an inch or 2 taller without appearing so...the 'height increaser' is inside the shoe itself...

Think i will drop by there for a look before deciding...BS has adviced Eva to get at least 3.5-4inches heels so she will be very close to my height...

that place have ready made shoes as well as MTM...price should be 3 digits ba...

Another possible shop would be pedro...city link got 1...

PS i'm not sure if getting the shoes yet leh...BS can provide white ones for indoor shoot but i might get a pair of off-whites to match the suit if required...maybe wait for Eva to choose her gowns b4 i decide...

dizonne

gal,
hw much u spent? got pic to share? are custom made shoes nicer than e normal ones?? coz i find e ready-made ones all more or less e same leh...n if special abit, usuali cost at least 100plus, which i tink is abt e same as a custom made rite??
i wan a nice nice shoe, coz mi AD gown is most probably short....

dizonne

aroh,
mi bf alreadi bought a pair of shoes at walking tall...tink cost about 150 lor....not tat expensive la...normal i would sae...GTBs can go lk c lk c....keke....

ay??? BS got provide shoes meh??? how u koe???

saggiegirl

sobe> hmmmm....no lar...we apply for flat (resale though coz no luck in new flats)...then within 3 months must ROM lor...but i tink can defer lar if u want yr ROM + AD on the same day...but must write letter and talk to HDB lor...

andrea> ur mom v cute leh...ask u why never ask her.... :p hahahaha.....

zerochristy

All> Hi long time did not come in here liao...

Des&jol> I have a frnd who is a singer... he also can do emcee.... heard that he do wedding singing last time... you interested??

zzzz

er i spend 190... er i didnt take :x but i can take if u wanna see... i very fussy one... outside one i like this dun like that... den height cannot :x so aiyah juz make and dun need to bother... it depends on how much bling u want lor... but one thing is definitely more comfortable cos u need to go for fitting too...

i got ask my bf to do the shoes but he said he going to wear once only... mine at least can wear for event... so i made mine instead...

noknok

Gal.. how long do they take to make the shoes??

Anyone going Rasal Workshop?? Thinking of catering from them for church reception.

dizonne

gal,
can take show me ma??
i keen to make...bt muz secretly..cant tell him..haha....

oooooh...mi bf veri vain de...he sae he wan be "white house prince" tat dae...so muz wear all white n nice nice..haha..

irritant

BS will provide white shoes for indoor shoot as white shoes not common and not many ppl will wear after the PS...but outdoors will have to be your own...so if u wan to wear white shoes for outdoor shoot get your own...

i wun wan to buy white shoes also...Eva say like sch shoes...hahaha...so maybe off-white at most...or light brown if going with a cream colored suit...

irritant

Rasal...i dun mind...looking for caterers for both house on that day during tea ceremony anyway...not for church...dunno if they do that kind...

dizonne

aroh,
resel specialise in fusion food....if both side family can accept, then can lor, bt then their price abit on e high side leh...u sure u wanna spend on tat???

y dun get e normal caterer??

noknok

I think rasal do those normal catering..

I think sometimes is the food ba... nv try rasal before.. wanna go try.. We most prob going for the 6-8.30pm slot. But their workshop not cheap leh... $40 bucks

irritant

think abt it lar...i wanted to get botak jones initially...hahaha...but not cheap though...n very western...not sure if parents can accept

so kinda dropped the idea...$40...hhhmmm...can go hotel's wedding fair liaoz...

shu22

Hi Jun, i am also with Printemps.. can i have cherry website or contact#? also looking for MUA... Thanks...

my details:

AD: 7th June 09
Bridal Studio: Printemps (JB)
Pre-Wedding PS: Printemps (JB)
AD PG + VG: Simon
Venue: Carlton Hotel
Wedding Bands: SK Jewellery

zzzz

okok i go back and take... mine took some time cos i went juz be4 cny and they close for a few days during cny... i heard is 1 mth...

saggiegirl

freegoer> u also never ask my mummy mah :p hahahaha.... but nowadays my mummy keep cooking good food for me to eat...fish, chicken, veggie, soup...

alicialxq

akino > Thanks for your intro.. we have meet up with Doven from dk Photography yest evening. Feel quite comfortable with them and htb decided to confirm their PG & VG. Htb quite like their work and e price is indeed fit under our budget.. tks again :p

All > Got any good freelance mua to intro.. can emails me at : [email protected]

regards

krystal80

saggie and freegoer, we did tell our parents tt we plan to get married, but just tt my hubby never tell my mom when he was going to pop the qn...hahaha...

desjo_11

To all the poor dil, preserve!
seriously, I cant imagine everyday after a long tiring day at work..go back to a house that lived with in-laws... sad

Mrs Ang,
Dun let ur mil to ruin ur r/s with ur hb..maybe like grace, she goes back niang jia over wkend..cut down seeing them for 7D

cosyouaremygal,
I tink ur hubby is a filial son..he wants to tk care his parents..

no matter hw gd in-laws r, i feel that living together will have conflicts & may ruin the r/s..

w33lp

Hi everybody!

Sorry that I have been MIA almost the whole week. Busy at work...

There are way too many posts liao, so I'm lazy to read all. What did I miss? LOL

Next Fri's gathering still on?

lalaa_27

wah Xka still high from yest ah.. lol
by the way dun think can bring ur jars next fri leh.. cos il be goin for course to siglap n i dun wanna be carryin it ard :p
il pass it to u next next meet-up

irritant

elyse, u missed too much for us to tell u le...take ur time n read ba...hahaha...

of cos the meet up still on...finally 2nd meet after so long...