(2009) Brides of year 2009

cherie81

Charmaine> Thanks I manage to upload to youtube and is now in my FB

emeraldbride

i m back!!! Haha.. i took leave yesterday to run some errands.. return the gown, clean up the rented apartment.

26 Dec 09 started well! I woke up at 5am and got ready well by 8.30am.. my MUA did such a good job with my make up n hair. she onie took an hour..hehe. I still hv time to go ard the apartment having fun with my cousins n plotting some of the games.
Everything went according to schedule and by 1.30pm I was in the hotel room, putting my son to sleep and I doing some last minute table arrangement.
Our dinner started early as well, 8.15pm and end at 11pm so all the guests are not caught in the traffic. All commented the food was nice..
I m still trying to upload my video montage to FB but alr took 3 days still cannot upload..
it is 500MB leh.. how ah?
saggie, i was supposed to tapao the food back but the hotel folks forgot all abt it cos my hb was drunk n they gotta carry him back to our room. So in the midst of all the commotion, i forgot everything..hahaha.
May be it is a good thing, means i can go back n eat the food again. I missed most of the dishes cos they sent in the food at 1.30am and I alr very tired n my hb was lying in the toilet cos he was so drunk n i cant risk him pukin on the bed..haha

saggiegirl

emeraldbride> wah...ur hubby so drunk... for us, is MIL drunk (coz kenna sabo-ed by her colleagues lar)...then we are still sober and counting angpaos

emeraldbride: congrats...
Wow... poor thing.. so he slept in the toilet for the whole night? My HB was drunk for the bridal shower but noone gets drunk for the AD... I blocked away quite a lot for my HB too... he was having headache, not advisable for him to drink that much...

emeraldbride

3/4 of the night he was either in the toilet or near the toilet entrance, easier for him to rush to the toilet to vomit. Hahaha...
most of his brothers are drunk cos rarely get a chance to get together n drink! But this time round, he is much better, did not mix his drinks, so only kept to red wine the whole night.

saggie, we only counted our ang pows the next day after we checked out of hotel.. not anxious at all.. we made a loss of abt $2K so not that bad..

saggiegirl

emeraldbride> haha
...i see i see...for us we have 27 bottles remaining of red wine
.... guess that our guests are not "hiong" drinkers...which is good lar..coz many of them drive...we dun want them to risk kenna TP roadblock lor...

we breakeven for banquet as a lot of relatives gave really big angpaos...even for those colleagues who never come, also have angpaos...

emeraldbride

wah..u hv so many bottles of red wine remaining?? all in all we finish abt 30bottles of red/white wine and some hard liquor which hb brought from home (his private stash)..
alot of our guests dun drive, cos it is christmas time n orchard is so packed..so most of them took cab. easy oso.. all in the mood to drink!
I was oso quite tipsy cos i bottoms up a few times with friends

Same as saggiegirl: I have about 16 bottles left unopened. Have given my brothers and sisters each a bottle for appreciation of their help.

taime81

emeraldbride > I downgrade the video file and upload to youtube. Think easier. Wow u woke up so early. I slept @ 3am wokeup 7am. Eyes a bit sore but luckily not obvious on photo and video.

And everything went so smoothly. All my 25 tables are 90-95% occupied cause hubby and my jiemei did some last min arrangement. Comments on the food was very positive. A lot ppl came back told me the food is really nice. =)

The hotel got tapao all the food send to my hotel, nicely arrange. But was too tired to eat, such a waste.

We've fun have the banquet. The mc made my hubby sing on stage as surprize. And his colleague prepare some sabo games. The rest of the guest say my hubby very sporting and entertaining. Total we have 43 Bottles of red wine for my 25 tables. At the end of the banquet, we've 9 bottles left. But the brothers and us toast and drank all of the 9 bottles plus 2 more complementary bottles from the banquet manager. End up all of them are high, some are drunk. But we enjoyed the whole events.

I've got 2 night stay at hotel, so the 2nd day then count ang pow and deposited in bank. Hee...we actually make quite a bit from the banquet. lol. The hotel ppl is really nice to us, even invite us for a complimentary buffet dinner.

emeraldbride

charmaine..tat's good leh that u made a profit from ur dinner.
for my dinner..not all the tables very filled. Some onie 5ppl, some onie 8ppl so i onie lose $2K alr not bad..:p thanks for my relatives that gives quite a huge sum. 2 ppl alr can cover 2 table..
we onie got to stay in the hotel for 1 night..GWP is kinda strict on such things..no coming back for the extra table, no additional night stay etc

taime81

Yeah, we were quite lucky. But we also spend a lot of effort to do last min RSVP to ensure that the tables are not empty. Most of our friends and relatives give quite substantial amount.

And both my hubby and my void deck got funeral on going over the weekend, our families was saying that we are super heng, never clashes with them. And i'm so glad i got a extra room for his brothers (2 x queen bed) cause i expect them to be drunk too.

emeraldbride

wah seh..super angry with GWP!!! totally F*** Up..
remember i say i got one empty table and i wanted to go back at a later date to eat n they dun hv such policy..so decided we will tapao the food back including the soup.
On saturday..we decided that we will only tapao certain food and not everything..so the rest will distribute to other tables. During briefing my hb told the banquet manager to distribute food to table with 11pax but the banquet manager told him no need cos the chef will normally cook slightly more so those 11pax per table will definitely hv enuf to eat. So fine...
but on saturday itself my hb was so drunk and I was busy tending my son, i totally forgot abt the empty table n the food. i only called them up on monday and todae the hotel coordinator told me that they distributed the food to other tables as per agreed with my hb which obviously isnt the story.
the coord gave me the reason that they are helping me to save $$$ by not charging extra for the 1 pax n we hv quite a number of table with 11pax. but my banquet onie 17table lor.. table with 11pax as far as i can remember is onie 4!! is it considered alot??
my take is that they forgot to tapao for me that night and they dun want us to go back n eat so they gave me this reason..stooopid coordinator!

taime81

emaraldbride > My hotel also cannot allow us to go eat on another day if table no open and we didn't hit min. And they will charge us for 11pax, every pax, we will need to topup $88.80 cause the hotel coordinator will arrange for bigger table and more food. But my family think that is not so true but sometimes really bo bian.

4 tables with 11 pax considering quite a lot bah to yr hotel, initially i only plan 2 tables with 11 pax but cause last min cancellation, i got only 1 table with 11 pax.

In fact, my family complain VIP tables got missing wedding favour. I feedback to the banquet manager and he pass me a bag of wedding favour his staff collected from reserve table for my family memebers. Maybe you can ask them to give you some form of compensation? Maybe a buffet dinner for you and yr hubby at their restuarant or what. They should be able to do that. In fact, my coordinator very nice, ask me drop by another day, just give her a call, she will sign another buffet dinner for us.

emeraldbride

charmaine, the prob is i alr know the table is empty few days in advance hence given them notice alr..
sigh..since it is alr over, no point crying over spilt milk! I m juz complaining cos I felt I did a good job in all the seating allocation..and I really wanted everything to be perfect!

cherie81

Hiaz, there is always some very disappointing things that happen on that day. I invite a friend to my wedding and he didnt turn up. I didnt confront him and found out in FB that he went fishing that day.

Another JM of mine blame me that I didnt go airport to pick them up or send them. I think only those who got marry b4 know how busy it is, be it b4 or after the wedding. Lucky my other JMs all understand me. And is really hard to please everyone. And there is so many parts that can be improve.

But I keep on telling myself since it over then dont go think about it.

tksl

hey girls.. i think most of us are done with the wedding.. so congrats again!

emerald> never mind la.. at least its over right? not any major screw ups.. so ok la.

my wedding last sat ended well.. last mninute cannot find the button to my skirt.. so the can can was seen thru out.. my hubby couldn't pop the champagne.. so it was... quite lame. haha..

aniwae, im in the midst of my honeymoon @ hokkaido.

have fun in ur marriage life.. and maybe we'll meet again at mother's forum? hee...

cluelessoink

Hey suzanna, I am in hokkaido too. :D

like you girls, I am glad it's over. Fun but had a lot of behind the scene nightmare to deal with from the hotel, ranging from wrong check in info, slow service and wrong deco!!!!!

hai! but well it is over and done with.

to all, enjoy your marriage life :D

alxhan

Hmm... i guess... some friends are simply not appreciative of us when we took the effort to invite them for our dinner. I have a few friends who didn't turn up without any word. Not even a sms to inform us. Leaving me with 2 tables with 3 guests only. And the worse is my table is around 1.5k each and lost 13k in total, what to do. 1 of my friend is even worse, claims that her marriage is on rocks and she can't bring herself to come to my wedding ( she only told me like a week after my wedding, she went mia on that day) but, realised that she attended another friend's wedding which is like 2 weeks after mine. Well~~~ i figured that it might be some lame excuse she came up with.

I guess... its just part of a wedding, for us to know who are the suckers and who are the better friends. =p

Suzanna,
Haha, my hubby couldn't pop the champagne as well. Took us like erms, quite awhile to get it open. Haha! Well... at least now we know we are not the only ones.

emeraldbride

enuf of the not so happy part but let's go into the happier note..haha. I really enjoyed the AD compared to pre-wedding prep. Maybe cos on AD, i m totally relaxed and leave everything to hb while he is the one that look so stress up!! Hahaha.. i keep telling him, now u understand what i went through earlier. u shuld be lucky i finish doing everything properly n what u need to do is juz to make sure it goes according to the paper..yet he kept 'shit here shit there..'

gals, enjoy ur honeymoon ok!!

Suz, i m alr in motherhood forum! :p but definitely not trying for 2nd one so soon..

saggiegirl

emeraldbride> haha
... ya lor...that day me most relaxing coz got MUA and helpers to help me...hubby and parents are busy with last min attendance issues etc...

now starting to miss Korean weather...crisp..cold.. and not so humid like Singapore!!....

me also just signed up for motherhood forum using the same nick!

saggiegirl

akino> where got time to made in korea ?? :p

everyday in the trip wake up at 6am (korean time..which is SG time is 5am!),..and then sleep at 11.30pm (korean time)...coz repacking luggage, count pocket money, pack shopping loot...

junel

if made in korea, then your children will name MIK. If he ask why, then tell him,cos you are Made In Korea.. hahaha

emeraldbride

saggie, i understand the part whr u say hv to pack unpack pack n unpack.. my parents were like tat too when they go holiday. That's y i always opted for free & easy..hehehe.
my son was MIB (made in bangkok) cos both myself n hb felt so bored in BKK..haha so spend most of our time lazing by the pool, sleeping etc. That's wat we call HOLIDAY!

junel

Kath - Me too.. i like free and easy.. i did that for my honeymoon in phuket... Booked first 2 days in Mercure then when we reached there we went around searching for other hotels.. managed to book one hotel - suite with jacuzzi bathtub enough to accomodate 2 person at $270 but we only stayed for 1 day!! then we choose another budget hotel hahaha... that hotel like chalet.. hahaha

emeraldbride

junel, places like phuket etc is okay..but mabbe korea/japan is abit difficult because of the language barrier n if we dun understand their language, hard to navigate ard unless we are like amazing race couple...:p

taime81

saggie > You so fast reg on motherhood forum. LOL.

Cherie > I'll be pissed too if my frd go fishing and never turn up. But quite a couple of my close childhood frd didn't came due to other commitment but they let me know in advance.

Suzanna > I think my can can is too long too. Lol. Keep stepping on my can can. Almost trip when i climbing stair to stage.

Suzanna & Ashley > My hubby spend a while to pop the champange too. He claim his is making it difficult. But the hotel ppl did teach him twice how to pop. Eventually he manage to do it.

emeraldbride > Hubby and me like holiday which are super packed. Wahaha...he still thinking what to do at europe at night cause most shop close quite early... we went taiwan in f&e in sep, shop till late night, slept @ min 3-4am kind.

Will be away for the next 14 days. Flying to europe tom night.

lalaa_27

Sun_tan me goin Europe lor.. lookin forward

so how r all the preggie ladies doin?

Andy.. welcome back! great dat u enjoyed ur trip! must haf been very cold rite..

Wishing everyone a Happy New Year!!

bluerosie

hello all~~
happy 2010~~~
all of us MRS in 2010 liaoz..kekekee..
1st NYE as husband n wife

me so sad ah..hubby say no $ no honeymoon

tksl

saggie> I also got downgraded mah. my reporting officer changed for 2010 den i never attend the meeting with him, coz i thought no meeting. sure black mark liao.

i prefer free and easy den tour groups leh. hubby and I doing F& E in Hokkaido now. hmm, sure got cock ups here and there.. but i think overall its ok. at least im still alive on the 4th day.

emerald> u shd try for another one.. den we all can meet again mah..

jaq> tell ur hubby where you wanna go for honeymoon.. den ask him to start saving $ for it! dun sad okie?

charmaine> enjoy ur honeymoon! do lotsa shopping!

Happy new year to all!

saggiegirl

Jaq> never mind lar... save $$ for a real big big honeymoon round the world!!

Suzanna> sian lor... aiya v jialat lor...

happy to all Grooms & Brides!!

akino

Happy new year Ladies!

hehe ya phuket really fun, we wet for jet ski and stuff. but we made the wrong decision that time, we stayed 2 days in phi phi.... SIANZ really nothing to do. nothing at all. other than snokling.

then honeymoon, followed tour, so as what saggie said. pack unpack pack unpack tiring.

so are you all planning for baby already? or wait?

jenshines

Hihi Garfield,

Just want to remind you that Jan 2011 might still be considered Tiger Year for days before the Chinese New Year, so if your wife wants to avoid a Tiger baby, maybe plan after April 2010

Jennifer > Ok, noted ... thanks for your concern.
Hai~
Keep being advised by the elders that is it not easy to get conceived as age catches up, LOL.
"It's not when we want it, but whether can we get it or not".

felifeli

cheer, ya i heard that too... study stress work stress aiyo... trying to keep my self relax and will have bb in tummy soon...

hi babes... hws every thing ???

jascmy, hw any gd news 4 us ???

octo

Hihi All,

HAPPY NEW YEAR!!

We're back from our honeymoon. Its freezing cold in Hokkaido, snowing everyday... we're kinda of happy to be back home.

Spent both our xmas and new year eve on the plane. The flight crew did the countdown with us. Hee.. overall, its a wonderful trip with good food, nice hotel rooms, friendly tour mates and helpful tour guide. Hee.. and of course, caring hb. We had a great time there. And we bought loads of snacks back from Jap too. Hee.. so fattening.

Now the draggy part is to unpack the luggage, alot of washing and drying to be done.

I read that most of you had a great time at your weddings. That's great! Hee..

My hb's back to work today. Me going back tomorrow. Really don't feel like going back after this long break. Hee..

Its a free day to myself today, thought of planning a home-cooked dinner for hb tonight. Will be going to supermart later, do you all cook daily?