(2009) Brides of year 2009

journey

freegoer> according to the saleperson when i went to select the SDJ, chain = 1 item and pendant = 1 item...

journey

ashley > i got mine just before the gold price went up. i also got those plain old fashion ones cos it won't go out of fashion ha ha ha...

Suzanna> as for my case, when choosing the SDJ, When my MIL say nice , i say not nice hahaha... then i continue to look at those i prefer .. heehee i so bad... but i guess i should get something i like... although i won't be wearing...

journey

littlewoman> i got SDJ and includes a ring from PH, with the "XI" on it. i confirm + Chop Chop, i won't be wearing, but it has the XI so i think it look nice as SDJ

greentwinkle, My mum brought me to buy also... she ask me to choose the one i like and she give me her budget too!
I simply love my mum! heehee

same here.. I only hear from my HB what my MIL gets.. didn't see it yet.. But I know what my mum gets for me.. she knows I dun usually like to wear gold, thus got me a diamond set instead... Can't wait for my AD, can wear them after that.. keke..

blurbaby

von...

i even bad... think mil know me well & she is a amiable person so she ask me to buy my sdj & she return the money to us..

for my mummy is different.. she insist that I shouldn't choose the jewellery as it's a gift from other which I won't get to choose the one I will be getting from my mummy...
at most I don't wear it.. which normally I do for the things she bought for me..

nikiko

4 days to my wedding!!! tmr I'll be going down ROM to collect marriage cert and documents then to bridal shop for my final fitting and collection of gowns and accessories! can't wait! :D

greentwinkle12

littlewoman> heh.. at least u got hear your hubby say.. my hubby also dunno what his mum buying. he say dun need ask, so will have surprise. Duhzz.. i also canot be bothered with all these liao.

Von > yea.. same sentiment! of cos our own mom are always the best! =)

Jaslyn: I probably will be giving S$28, but will be giving my brother and SIL a little more when he opens the car door / helping me as my emcee.

Greentwinkle: haha.. my MIL shows my HB what she buys and she asked if I like it.. My HB give a diplomatically correct ans.. keke..

Ahblur: I see.. I usually keep all the gold jewellery.. doesn't realli fancy gold as a matter of fact.

saggiegirl

Von> for me i give $18/$28 ba
as only hubby's sister & her hubby give me tea
hahaha.... officially the "da-sao" hahahha....

the rest my parents will take care of it
as we dun have many cousins in SG... if go back KL, we go bankrupt liao...

my MIL also know i dun wear gold lar... so she bought me the diamonds lor... then during CNY/functions can wear...
the bracelet is my fav piece...hee hee...

purple_rain

Me too! AD this sunday.... forever headache on the table arrangement... Isit just only me??

Evelyn, I also feel I'm not busy too... hehe... So scare I missed out somethin impt...

taime81

Suzanna > The one i bought i never took photo yet. Got it from malaysia parkson, under the brand tangsart too. RM10 but it is big, like ang pow box squarish one. I just saw this bride and groom one very nice. Actually RM10 for a nice box is pretty cheap cause DIY also not so cheap factoring the material cost. =).

Suzzana > Me have the same pin jin issue as you you too. Cause my hubby paying for it. Why your mum angry. I getting my sister to sound her out easier and also try to persuade her for lesser amt. LOL... We also hope to give 888. Whahaa...

My SDJ i choose myself. Got 2 set, one from hubby, one from mum. LOL. Mine is no pedent type, i choose modern design which i will wear. Both set consist of danging earring, bracelet, necklace & ring. My mum got a ring for my hubby for tea ceremony, Mil also got me a ring for tea ceremoney. Dad & godmum giving me gold necklace for tea ceremony (i choose the ring i like too). Mum like not giving me lol cause i chopped her sdj & she offer to give me king koil bed and slight reno for my wedding room.

alxhan

Haha!
I don't have any siblings except younger cousins. And all of them are going to be either the XDs or JMs and i have a total of 20 hence my angbao cant afford to big "fat" haha!

Freegoer, yea, gold is exp very exp it was 53/g for 916 and 57/g for 999. Aiyo, my MIL mentioned that with the budget she gave me is double of what she gave my SIL 4 years ago but what she got is double to size of mine. ZZZ!

bibikoh

thanks peaberry.

purple rain --> not busy is good, means you've planned everything well! dont worry just relax on ur big day ! haha

yoyoyeo

Folding of the wedding cards very tiring...my card has 4 folds, 1 gold string to tie, and also insert to fold. Phew. has been doing over the past few weekends and still not done...MIL folded her own and also tired out by it...

Any recommendations where to get ang bao box that is not expensive and pretty?

saggiegirl

littlewoman> yupz
i choose the pieces myself

yoyo> ya lor... for my side, i done liao...just waiting to insert the names
for hubby side, he will be doing... i leave it to him, & his parents to it

ahsley> hahahaha... ya lor gold v expensive...

taime81

littlewomen > My mum is very busy, always ask me go buy ourselves and claim back. =)

Yoyo > My card got 2 fold with insert. Like tough to fold nicerly. Any top to fold without inside winkled like that.

Yoyo> For ang pow box you can try centuary squre lovely land, lvl 3 i think, they got sell aeiou gift box, appx $10 only. Not too bad.
http://www.aeiou.com.my/product/boxes/storage/index.html
Another place which i saw got sell nice square box is at amk hub & ion, forgotten what is the shop name.

Not sure if I am getting another ang bao box.. Think my parents will be keeping the red packets themselves ba.. my HB and I are only handling those cards for our friends and colleagues, leave the rest for our parents to handle it.

Charmaine: I usually do my shopping with my parents on Sun.. Bought quite a lot yesterday, rather heartpain over the set of pajamas; cost me about S$69.90.

shepherdee

Long time didnt come in to chat with u all!

Wah I very angry leh..just got to know that my company is no longer giving marriage leave to us!(used to have 5 days entitlement)
And there is no announcement on it, then I went to MOM website to check and this is what the MOM wrote:

“Marriage, paternity and compassionate leave entitlement

There is no statutory entitlement to such leave under the Employment Act. The entitlement to such leave therefore depends on what is in the employment contract or agreed mutually between employer and employee."

So there’s like nothing I can do abt it! Just LL! Super regret changing job man!

saggiegirl

shep> i see i see... for myself, i work in public service, only 3 days of Marriage leave ...
so i will be taking it straight after my annual leave to rest at home after our tour

dun be angry ok
3 days is also very little @__@ ...

Jaq: Ya lor.. what do you have in mind initally?

Saggiegirl: I bought it at Metros.. silk.. I like the material a lot.. but prefer the nightgowns instead.. but mum says noone wear nightgown for "shang tou"...

shep: I only have 1 day.. not much different from you too.. Dun be upset k..

shepherdee

3 days also better than nothing at all...
i wonder if i can go and approach the management and see if they can do something abt it, but also dunno where to start, cos the management structure very wide! really angry man!

shepherdee

plus the fact that i only have 14 days of Annual leave in this new company!

I used to have 20 days in my previous company! so really really super not enough!

saggiegirl

littlewoman> i see i see... haha... for me is cute cute nightie
... mama is Ok lar... just that it must be new lor... even the underwear must be new...haha...

Jaq: I see.. For my case, no lor.. coz I spent more for my XDs and JMs..

Saggiegirl: Yes yes.. the undergarments mus be new too.. haha.. I only came to know this yesterday while shopping.. "Shu bian" buy too.. keke..

pebblydiamonds

Hi ladies can i check with u all, what time ur MUA comes in the morning, and what time is considered earlier than the usual then have to pay early charges?
also, what time does ur PG & VG come??
then what about bridal car? need to factor in time for then to tie the car ribbons right?

i realise i need to pay for so many items of early charges lor...

pebblydiamonds

emeraldbride: ya we were told 3 consecutive nights, from the even of AD onwards. then both bride and groom also all new. all utensils, towels etc also.