(2009) Brides of year 2009

junel

hey hey.. me back from MC liao.. ladies dun be upset!! buck up.. me also having these thoughts too and dismiss it cos.. if we are able to handle this well, we would be able to handle other things that came by later!!
me just settled my invitation cards - > 200 pcs + icon + tying of gold string + gst= $117.35 another down on my list but need to get my cards from hotel soon!!

taime81

Both my in-law and my mum side bo chap.
I need to get everything myself.
My mum side, i buy already then claim back from her. Hubby side, hubby paying for everything, so no diff.
And no one telling us what to get for gdl and the tradition thingy. Tiring...

My hubby told his mum he gotten me the sdj. Mil say why so early buy. Fainted

taime81

Littlewomen > I got it at "hello Kitty" shop. I got an extra set for sales, you wanna? Cause i ks bought 2 set and hotel giving me 1 set, total i got 3 set.

junel

Charmaine -> if they bo chap then dun buy!! cos the more you follow through the traditionals the more you need to buy. i'm not moving until they tell me buy what. so if they no say i no buy but roast pig is a must cos i want to eat!! hahaha

junel

Can i check if the tea set can be brought from hubby side then to my side a not.. cos dun wan to waste money on 2 set lei... Charmaine the tea set you brought from where? if the pic that you are showing is selling for 19.90 that's cheap. the cheapest i can find is 24.

cheenapork

littlewoman> yeah i agree! feel much better these days, can log on and see what i've missed out when i see you girls charting your progress..

can gimme your email addresses? i'll add u guys on facebook

junel> you are most calm and cool haha. i settled the invite cards BUT the problem is in the distribution. all the cards i passed to my family are still sitting untouched in their baggie

charmaine> my MIL tells us exactly what we need but the irony is that we are paying for all this out of our own pocket, like SDJ. the bracelet for tea ceremony is a gift from her la. i asked hubbs why like that, hubbs says cos she needs to maintain "mian zi" and she's retired so not much money. but if like that then who maintain my bank account?

blurbaby

for my case, my mil is the "wana settle things fast like me"... which my mummy & hubby will just sit on things.. send them emails and ask them to get back.. no one reply and don't even know i sent them the email 2 weeks ago...

they really take their own sweet time!! I can't stand it, I can't stand people who is slow.

SDJ, mil had told hubby that we go and buy on our own first and she pay us back.. she is more up-to-date which she know if i don't like the item, i will put it aside without using it at all!

Eg. I prefer White Gold/Diamonds than Yellow Gold. But my mummy insist that since it's a gift, I shouldn't be telling her what I like or don't like.. that's the difference!

junel

cheenapork -> i would prefer to go with them to distribute the card -> firstly make sure they send it, 2ndly more sincerity, 3rdly get RSVP straight away

Junel: are u okay? feeling better mahz? U went phuket too? hehe.. did you take photos with the Elephants?

Charmaine: sure sure... haha.. How do i get it frm you? Can i chop it first?

cheenapork: my email is [email protected] Add me ya.. then we can talk and encourage one another.. stress stress..

cheenapork: for my case, my PILs bought the SDJ last nite, heard that it is not cheap.. Was feeling a little bad, but my HB told me that no choice de, coz my MIL insist to getting the whole set for me.. so I just keep quiet.. my MIL was telling my HB that she isn't sure if I might like it.. told my HB doesn't matter, more on the sincereity lor.. i will accept it..

babyfaery

Cheenapork: Thx! But wat if I am not a teochew? Then we give cakes??

Suzanna: Me oso teacher! Ur school in which area?? =)

Haha.. Now I dilemma... I got 2 GDL date, one is 21st Nov, another is 5th Dec.. My AD is 13th Dec.. Is 5th Dec too late? COs I heard frm my fren that on the day of GDL, muz give the xi bing to relatives together with the invitation card? If 5th then give too late? But my school got event on 21st Nov.. I need to take leave.. How? U guys think 5th Dec too late??

saggiegirl

cheenapork> haha same here
for my relatives de i almost wrote finish... hubby side dunnoe
pass to them is their "pa-sar" alrdy...

babyfaery> i think 21 Nov is a better date (my GDL on this date also)
coz u need ard 2 weeks to settle the last leg of wedding preps...

my mum also giving cakes together with cards... we only ask for 12 boxes of cakes...simple right

for SDJ, MIL bought for me early this year...i get to choose wat i want
... then for my mum, she asked me to buy a set that i like also

taime81

Junel > No $19.90, those gdl shop gave me in the package is those dragon and phonix type which i do not like. I pay $29.90 for the teaset which i thought very cheap liao, cause i saw in other shops selling $30-39.90. $24 is really cheap, where you saw it? My colleauge can save money bring 1 set but got to be really careful. No1 must remember to bring over. No2 must not break it loh. My grandma love roast pig too then she say must chop head and tail and return back. I ask her who chop. Then she say very ma fan, forget about it.

I say they dun say i dun buy. End up say why we never buy. Rush us to buy last min i don't like.

cheenapork > You're not alone. My hubby also paying for everything cause his parent not working.

junel

littlewoman -> yup i did and i think our "little dumbo" very ke lian -> both of us were sitting on it... so very heavy!!
Babyfaery -> we have the same wedding date and my shifu also gave me 5 Dec as GDL.
i think for my cake i will give it together when we give the card.. dun think will be 5 Dec. we will give earlier...
or you can call them to verbally confirm that they are going then on 5 Dec then you send the xibing and the cards over lo...

saggiegirl

cheenapork> i do agree lor
haha... guys put on more weight coz they got nothing to worry :p ....hahahaha....

u can add me in FB [email protected]

the last time our parents sit down and discuss what to buy etc... we are not getting the dragon-phoenix candles coz very ma fan
.... so the rest mi buy alrdy...now sitting pretty at home

hmm... next next week meet up with evening helpers, and mth end go my bro place & visit my little nephew who is the car open boy & give him angpao to buy a nice outfit
and the little boy is very clever...he knows that he is very impt on my wedding day @_@

saggiegirl

we are not getting the roast pig coz very ma fan to cut & return...
instead we just ask for pig cans for GDL
then AD, my parents just give me an angpao for "bring-road-chicken" (supposedly to "fetch" the kids to my place) and "sugarcane" (coz my mama is hokkien, as hokkiens place very imptance in sugarcane)
simple hor~~

actually a lot of things we alrdy omitted coz modern times le... but then some we still remain lar

junel

Charmaine -> i think in bukit timah -> forgot the name of the shop le... so i better go and grab the set first.. hahaha.. i know your tong ku... but i will push to them saying they didn't say earlier when i ask them so to get them replace as ang bao lo.. hahaha... faint..
cheenapork -> we are on the same boat every thing we pay... hahaha

cheenapork

yoohoo i am back from lunch! hehe seems like no shortage of teachers here.. i am one also! in south zone

ahblur u can find me at [email protected]

about the open door fella i am thinking of getting my 20yo cousin.. no one younger liao hahaha all the cousins are old old plus nephews all really toddler age!

babyfaery> yeah give cakes! or can give combi of both cakes n xi bing. weddings are so pricey.. even without GDL items easily can reach 40K liao

babyfaery: 21 Nov is a good day.. my GDL is also on the same day.
For my case, my mum will be forwarding the invitation cards earlier than the GDL date..

Junel: mine is the big elephant.. quite cute lor.. I played with it after my shoot.. keke..

saggiegirl: I am meeting all my XDs and JMs on 6 Nov.. thereafter meeting my bestman and bridesmaid again on 8 Nov.. for their fitting..

cheenapork: early lunch? soo good.. I dun realli enjoy lunch now.. coz nothing much I can eat too.. everyday same old stuffs... not gonna to have salads, or soupy stuffs after my AD..

taime81

Junel > Remember to get those with tray. Cause i saw before the same design cheaper but without tray. Think $19.90 too at chinatown lvl 2 if not mistaken, facing og there.

My xi bing, i just giving bengawansolo cake card. Easier. LOL. It is easier to settle my mum cause she busy working.
Everything she also ask me settle and claim. But cannot claim too high, she will scream too. But pil is tough to say them.

Aiyo, now even the gift for tea ceremony i need to settle for her. What are both side gonna give? It is a tradition? Any webby i can refer or can some kind soul give me the list. =)

cheenapork

littlewoman> diet ah?? salads and soups? i was dieting awhile ago but this week hubbs keep complaining i am too skinny.. not that i am really skinny (100% weight for height) but he prefers the kind with big ass haha! so this week i go back to normal liao. lunch was fishball noodles, potato wedges and curry puff

not say early lunch la it's cos all the students went back liao so it's free&easy for us. shiok!!!!

blurbaby

cheenapork..

so early you had lunch?? my colleague just back from meeting.. just saw her finished Mac breakfast..i already think of lunch.. yet she say go for later lunch!!!

saggiegirl

littlewoman> haha...
good good
for me not many helpers lar...coz my side small...

me just had lunch... mix veg rice & barley
coz weather too hot le...

Charmaine: are u refering to the jewelleries for the tea ceremony or? Gal, your tea set comes with tray?

cheenapork: yes yes.. very boring.. I eat till also no appetite lor.. can't wait for Thursday, at least can take fish bee hoon soup, as I am going yoga, hence, allow myself to take heavier meals.

nikiko

pekochan81/iris, I also prepared my thank you speech liao coz my hubby also not good in expressing in words and I'm afraid he don't do it so I gotta prepare myself, in case. I actually thought of doing it myself then just let him end it by saying thank you and some few words he wants but I scare guest will feel weird coz normally is done by groom but I am bride then if I do it will ppl think I am overriding the groom?

I still thought of doing the english version then my hubby do the mandarin version coz my mandarin not powerful than him but he like shows no interest in my plan. sigh...

cheenapork

littlewoman> u aiming to lose how much weight for wedding? i was trying to go back to maybe about 50kg.. dropped a couple of kilos to about 53 now. but hubbs already complaining so maybe forget it la.

taime81

Littlewoman > Yes i'm referring to the jewelleries for tea ceremony. Do you have any idea? Gold prices going up so i wanna get it asap.

Yeah, my tea set comes with matching tray identical to photo. Those without tray are cheaper, the chinatown shop ask me go pasa malam get white tray myself but i'm worry cannot find just nice size how man. And matching nicer.

I tried to do yoga last friday. Leg still aching till now. LOL. Wat you eating? I haven't start my diet. Sun mil cook laksa. Yummy...it is though to be on diet at her place.

saggiegirl

littlewoman> hmm... i work in RP... so our lunch is staggered as accordingly to work exigencies
today i have class so my lunch time is earlier

cheenapork: I am at 50kg now.. going to go down to about 47-47.5kg for my AD.. 3 more kg to go down.. almost fainting le...

Charmaine: My mum will be getting a ring for my HB while I heard that my MIL getting a bracelet for me.. u did yoga too? which gym u go to? haha.. I went for my lessons on Sat.. haha.. going again tmr night..
Laksa? wow.. my fav...!!!

cheenapork

charmaine> my mother cooked laksa on sunday too! it was irresistible! ended up eating two big bowls for lunch, then one more bowl for tea break. sigh. BYE DIET!!!!

for tea ceremony my PILs will display SDJ and they will give me the gold bangles. they also helped my grandma-in-law buy a gold bracelet, for tea ceremony too.

my own mother says she needs to give me some gold items during tea ceremony, but i don't think she's buying. she's taking out from her own gold collection.

everytime i do yoga i inevitably end up sleeping.. sometimes long after people start going out of the room.

cheenapork: my grandma-in-law is giving hongbao while my own grandma is giving me a gold bracelet.. my mum is giving me a diamond bracelet, as she said giving me gold also not much use.. coz I seldom wear gold, prefer white gold or diamonds.. keke

Realli, I fell asleep too.. but the class is standard timing, thus, I will sure get up when it ended.. else, the instructor will wakes me up.. keke..

cheenapork: ur weight is also okay!!.. coz my waist is a little big for my WG and EG.. thus gotta to go down further. Haha.. I also noti, purposely make it smaller to challenge myself.. like my HB says, itchy backside lor..

cheenapork

littlewoman> wow u really disciplined!! i am impressed! in fact after first fitting i got so much fatter that when i went for fitting before PS the cheongsam was super tight and got unsightly bulges haha! but what to do.. really can't bear to say no to food.

cheenapork: same here.. my EG was a little tight when I had my fitting 1 week before my PS.. slim down during that 1 week and managed to hit 48kg for my PS.. eat a lot of buffet after PS.. now sliming back lor..

saggiegirl

me teaching web & new media comms
new module and a lot of things to learn

currently i am ard 47-48 ba...so dunnoe need to grow/slim down

cheenapork

littlewoman> you have just given me determination and motivation to work towards losing that last 3kg before AD!! but today's diet is over liao... please keep me motivated for tomorrow!

junel

nope... hahaha... maybe not eating too many buffets will do.. me very over size so me dun care... now weight come down next time will increase more.. that happen for my PS... so no more dieting.. just maintain will do.. me no discipline no motivation and very rebellious hahaha... the more ppl ask me dun eat i will eat more.. got pyschological problem hahaha...