(2009) Brides of year 2009

piggylover

Charmaine,yes! heard from my mum it is tradition for bride parent to get ring for groom de. my FMIL bot for me gold necklace, bracelet n pendants. earlier already got 1 set of in white gold (w/o bracelet), so ended buying more den only bracelet...

Shir, i will b having my ROM before my banquet start at 6.45pm. i will chg again when come to 1st march-in. AD WG already choose with EG during my PS wit my BS, so nw i settle wit my ROM gown n my mum outfit. left both my in-law outfit n htb MTM pant.

hav u choose ur card design from ur hotel yet? i went over to OCC to pick up the sample, decided n email them the qty i nd. the printing company which i had engang is in JB, think the price they quoted me is very low as compare to sin but only trouble gotta bring n collect. All my cards are wit them nw, they will help me paste my insert into the cards. so i nd not fold n tie the insert myself. =)

cherie81

Shir> the safe one that i choose is pink and blue like that. She told me got new batch coming in in nov for evening gown. So the evening gown also chop for me first then decide in nov.

mjfan

Can I check with y'all, getting the bride's parents are suppose to get a ring for the groom for which aspect of the chinese custom? As a present during the tea serving ceremony? Does it replace the ang pow given to the couple?

babylina

Shir> yalor.. still got quite abit not yet buy..

Saggiegal> i wanted to go tat shop.. but super pack.. so jus settle with another one lor..

cheenapork

shir> talking about the pork cans and the roast piglet, that day we were in the car.. then i told my mummy hey the roast pig is given to signify that i am a virgin.. no one said anything then my mum said ok i think no need liao it's super WAHAHA

oops is it a MUST for bride's parents to get gold ring for groom? i'm teochew and my hubbs is hokkien. also, do we have to bao angpow for the oldies when we serve them tea?? according to the wise woman who is my ah ma, she says no need.. in fact it's them who is giving us angpow. but i feel paiseh make them come down then just eat one buffet lunch.

saggiegirl

Angelina> i see i see...

dunnoe coz last time my sis got married ....my parents gave my bro in law an angpao ...
anyway my parents are not well-to-do (both alrdy retired due to old age)...so i ask them to give a small angpao can liao... then not many come for buffet coz our side only 30 pax...and not all 30 pax will come for buffet...

cheenapork

saggiegirl> yeah the angpow options seems more practical cos my husband also don't wear jewellery. ask him wear wedding band like want him to cut off an arm like that. thanks for the suggestion!

blurbaby

cheenapork..

we are sama-sama!!! Teochew brides... what time u need to left home??

garfield,

u had a mixture of wedding favours??

i think we got to keep within our budget... if cannot afford.. then no point doing that.. if give more also burn own pocket..

cluelessoink

Hi All, been a while since I check this thread. How's everyone's prep coming along.....

I feel like time is running out... argh...

ahBlur, I am Teochew bride... i leaving home abt 830am.

Garfield, your wedding favor is very cute.

cheenapork

yo ahblur and clueless oink

yeah me teochew bride also! tradition and custom dictates we should leave the bride's place before sunrise but my FIL says that he won't make auspicious time so early.. all the better cos i wanna sleep in hahaha.

saggiegirl

cheenapork> haha
nowadays freegoer seldom wear ring liao...coz he getting fatter .... i tink i have over-fed him...

garfield> nice wedding favours

for me i need to leave hse by 8am..and reach by 8.45am ... although me not a teochew bride...but this is the auspicious timing as selected by the master...

babyfaery

Hey gals.. Do u all now when must we get the "xi bing" for bride's side? Issit together with the GDL or can be earlier? Any recommendations for the "xi bing"? Usually is cake or those "biscuit"?? =)

cheenapork

yay everyone come to work liao right?? i think i start the earliest *yawn*

saggiegirl> hahaha i think my hubbs is the worst. in a matter of half a year put on 13kg... it's a big difference sometimes i think he is pregnant

babyfaery> for the teochew brides actually got this specific xi bing. it's like a tau sar piah. but veli pricey leh, one piece can be about 3bucks i heard. you can get it from tong heng at jurong point. traditional xi bing which is very yummy too! think should be with GDL but then u can do things your way also hehe

emeraldbride

juz collected the invitation cards from GWP yesterday!! Now hv to find printer to print.. :p

anyone got recommendation on 'xi bing' other than the one at Jurong Point? Very far leh for me..staying at one end of SG travelling to JP for that..

My auspicious hr is 7am - 1pm so decided that the timing will be abt 8.30am (so that i can wake up ltr)..hehehe

octo

Good Morning!

LW> My hotel providing foc 1 bottle per table. I think we only have around 22 tables. So I get another 12 bottles on top of the hotel's foc one. Meaning around 1.5bottles per table, should be enough? My hotel package got free corkage, so we don't have extra cost of opening the bottles.

ahBlur> For us, the 10 pax food tasting, just our immediate families already filled the table. So we not getting other family members.
Piggylover> Wow.. that means you settled all your gowns. that's great! My hotel accordinator snail-mailed us the 2 sample cards for us to pick. We still haven't collect the cards from the hotel. Most probably print in singapore cause think not much saving to go JB as we only have around 160-180 cards to print.

Cherie> Pink & blue sounds good. So you going for another round of fitting in Nov? Your bs is really good, still entertain you for another round of fitting. Hee..

Angelina> At least you bought some already, just need to complete the list with several items more. We still haven't start the list.

Saggiegal> I see I see. I think I'll check with my mum and inlaws if there's any custom about it. If no custom, then no need, otherwise I scare wait we didnt buy and my in-laws are upset over it.

Cheenapork> Yah Yah.. the pork represent that. Hee.. Especially for the Cantonese, only those ladies that are 'pure pure' can request for suckling pig. If the groom come without suckling pig on wedding day, then the neighbour will gossip about the bride. Hee.. those olden days..

Garfield> I like the shotglass. The couple cartoon very cute. But think we probably will stick to the hotel ones, cause we lazy to source and do the logistics thingy on that day. Hee..

Cluelessoink> Yah.. I also think time is running out, especially for the card. Must faster print first, I am quite worried that my cards are not out before my wedding day. Heehee..

blurbaby

cheenapork.. not really.. i actually starts at 8am... but traffic jam!!!

I will be collecting the invite cards on Thur when i'm there for food tasting!!

cheenapork: haha.. u are getting roost pig arh? For my case, my mum requested for cans of pig trotters.

Garfield: That's cute.. where did you get those? How much?

Babyfaery: usually, the cakes are exchanged on the GDL day..

Shir: It realli depends, coz first, not all will be drinking, 2nd, are they driving? I have standby about 3 - 4 bottles for some tables, as they are rather good drinkers and usually, one can complete about 1/2 bottle for wedding banquets.

Jaq: I see.. Hmm.. how do you find the unedited photos?
Need any further amendments?

tksl

hey, i think im the latest to go to work. im still at home! hahahha! still nua-ing..

im going JB over the weekend! any cheap wedding things to buy over there?

Nikiko - Yes, I did the Thank-You Speech. My hubby not good in expressing in words so he juz a few lines... then I said all.. heheheh... I done up the Thank-You Speech both in English & Mandrain... Had my script in hand.. Was prepared for this so still Ok for me =)

Suzanna: u arh.. haha.. make me so envying you lor.. haha.. which part of JB? I went Holiday plaza last Sun.. saw a very cute tea set, RM 69.90.. not sure if it is cheap or more ex?

bliss_bb

Garfield> I like ur Hp wedding fav = )

As for the tea ceremony, my mummy be giving hubby a gold ring.. hubby told me that he dun need another ring as he wearing our wedding ring. I tried to ask her to give her AB which is more practical but according to her it seem to be the traditional custom and morever gold ring more worth it.

bluerosie

littlewoman: ya need some little edits lor..but both of us nt interested..hahaha...coz end up in storeroom de...most impt is the experience I guess..

I also teochew bride but long shifu give us 7-11am to do the customary so not too bad tho I still have to wake up b4 sunrise..haha

bluerosie

littlewoman: issit the shop at level 1 Holiday Plaza..sell those wedding customary sets kind..the shop quite ex leh the stuff I feel..the 1 at chinatown cheaper..can get 1 teaset at $19.90.

Ling: I heard from my mum that she will be doing that too.. Think it is a custom ba? though I think my HB wun be wearing another ring too.
My album layout was not bad, some need some further editing and it will be done, thus, going down again this coming Friday.. keke.. btw, how is urs? Is everything settled?

Jaq: hah.. agreed, esp if unedited, some can't be put in the "open" on our AD too.. kekek.. isit? Luckily i didn't get it in JB.. Will proceed to Chinatown this coming Sunday ba..

tksl

i thought of going city square leh. haha.. dun need to envy me.. the "arrows" i get make me feel more like an admin stuff den a teacher loh. that's why i dread heading out of my hse.. but i need to go soon la.. haha, books are waiting for me to mark. trying to finish my compo marking

im going to see my layout this evening! i secretly hope they print some words wrongly, coz my hubby's colleague, also from the same BS, had their date printed wrongly.. den they got a free blown up pic of their choice. not bad mah..

cheenapork

of course gold ring more worth it.. gold prices are soaring and soaring man! my MIL got me all yellow gold for the SDJ and the gifts. i guess i will be keeping all of it in the cupboard next time.

littlewoman> my horrible mother already said if it's meant for pure virgins then my hubbs no need give me liao.. i was like -_- where got mother like that one!

saggiegirl> we are comparable.. for hubbs' 13kg weight gain, i put on 3.5kg haha!

cheenapork

suzanna> u are a teacher too!! hahaha i was wondering how many dec BTB would be teachers.. the BS and banquet ppl always tell me June and December brides are always teachers. no other timings to get married!

tksl

cheenapork> ur mummy so funny one..

hmm, my MIL at first say exchange all GDL items for ang pows, den my mummy not happy.. so my mummy gave me list of items to buy.. my MIL say why so troublesome.. now going to buy liao. she buy and nag at the same time. really tabuleh tahan lo. den hor, now my MIL only going to buy the items, no ang pow for my side and no SDJ for me.. i scared later my mummy unhappy. why a wedding muz be so ma fan one ah? make everybody unhappy, including the married couple.

tksl

cheenapork> ya lo. we only got 2 choices.. june and dec.. i told my principal i wanted to apply for marriage leave that will hit into next yr's term 1.. he asked why i cannot get married in nov, like him? coz he and his wife( also teacher) got married in nov.. (wah lao, almost fainted!)
my reply to him was: but my husband is not a teacher..

den i think now kena targetted by him. hahahaha..

Suzanna: A lot of unhappiness might arise.. Like me, cried the whole of yesterday, too much arguments etc.. Now rather settled, my MIL told me that she already got the SDJ and some of the GDL items.. now left my side, pushing my parents to buy the items soon.

tksl

littlewoman, nope. in floating session. sama-sama like afternoon.. but earlier den afternoon teachers.. end same like as afternoon teachers..

cheenapork

no lar my mother no faith in me.. but i told her i inherit all her genes so become like that!!

yeah wedding can be quite a headache.. my PILs are the kan chiong type, wanna settle the GDL items and the pin li so they actually drew up the items we will need to get, like cakes and pork cans. but my very easygoing and laid back parents are taking their own sweet time with the list anf finalizing numbers etc. makes me feel paiseh to go back to hubbs place and tell my PILs that my parents haven't finalize the list yet

in fact with such different backgrounds and expectations, i find that weddings are quite ma fan. in fact hubbs and i have never been so stressed. this is why i think weddings are more for the old folks. don't worry, it'll all be over sooner than we know!

tksl

cheenapork> ya lo. i totally agree with you.

its no longer only the married couple's wedding. its a family affair, and having to liase with both families is soo tough. my hubby a little bo chup, so im feeling the stress.

my hubby and i were talking, and we really regretted holding a wedding banquet. we should have juz ROM-ed and honeymoon-ed.. save $, save time and minus all the stress..

can't wait for the wedding to be over.. the only thing im looking forward to is my honeymoon. nothing else..

Yes yes.. I agreed!!!! I told my HB that I can't sense the joy of being a bride.. even asked him if we can cancel the whole wedding.

cheenapork

hahaha littlewoman and suzanna i think we are all in the same boat.. even mid Oct now i think we haven't finalized a lot of the details. GDL etc i am leaving it to the parents and the PILs to settle. but even things like guestlist, schedule, even small things like the corsage all haven't even do yet.. jiemei and brothers car also haven't settle. seriously is a big headache!

greentwinkle12

me too!
in addition to GDL, corsages, guestlist, AD schedules.. i still got wedding inserts havent print. going to do it next monday..

Just received 3 big parcels from taipei yesterday.. all the albums, posters, framed up portraits finally arrived.

At least it is a support group for us here.. the checklist getting longer and longer.. I am realli so stress... at times, wonder why I am holding this dinner thingy.

taime81

littlewoman > I think the shops in jb shopping mall is expensive. I saw in webby for jb wedding shop tea set is RM69.90 too. More expensive than singapore. I bought mine @ $29.90. Matching to my bowl set. But basic ones starting from $19.90. Cause got vg & pg, so i prefer to get nicer ones. =)

1222891.jpg

1222892.jpg

Btw, any idea what mother-in-law suppose to give for tea ceremony?

I was surfing and found this site quite useful. =)
http://www.chinese-wedding-guide.com/tea-ceremony.html

cheenapork

yeah thankfully i found this place where everyone is stressing over the same stuff hehe..

charmaine> my MIL has bought a pair of gold bangles which she will present to me during tea ceremony.