(2009) Brides of year 2009

tweetwee

Thanks Akino and Cube! I found the websites for Fotowerk and Simone but I cannot find any for Doven. May I know what is his studio name or any contact number? Argh Dec is 63days away and we have not done a thing about our photography yet!!! Kacheong liaoz

fifteenmay

sun tan, Hubby was drunk.had to drink alot of weird combos... : ) puked twice. me very sober : ) He passed out and i still had time to watch my express highlights and count money.ahhaha.. wah the sunday times article about the angbao amount abit too late for us..

andy_n_eva

ya man...i lose until wanna cry liaoz...i only got 12 tables on my side and almost 3 tables gave like $60 per person! i need $100 per person just to break even for banquet...

ppl should update themselves abt the market rate now...

blurbaby

omg... anyone had printed your inserts?? if print in Johor cheaper?? How is the quality?? But we will have to travel a few trips before getting the inserts rights??

I am still thinking of where to get it

xiu

ahblur> Printing in Johor is definately cheaper. I printed mine at nagamas printing. There is T&T printing company and nagamas at Citysquare. 100pcs of insert is only rm60.Subsequently with more copies, u will have more saving. Quality is gd n u get to choose the 'xi' & wedding couple cartoon icon'
Click the website for more details on inserts by nagamas
http://www.weddingcards2u.com/index.php?act=viewProd&productId=42
Actually, no need to make alot of trips, you can provide them with all the details on the spot & printing takes ard 1-2weeks. You can ask them to email you the draft before asking them to print the bulk quantity. Hope it helps!

dizonne

aroh,
tink mine lost e most de..haha..
for mine, about 60% of the guests gave $50 per pax..some didnt even give APs...
total in all, i lost 15k...sobsob...

alxhan

I'll be going for my photoshoot next week! Yay! Finally, any recommendations as to what to bring and where to go? As my photographer will only be back 2 days before my shoot, so i can only get to discuss with him the outdoor venue,anyone has any idea where to go? so that i can suggest to him

bliss_bb

ashley> Do rest well & sleep early the night before PS... Hubby was still doing hios stuff that day thus I didn't sleep well, slept ard 1.30am++ thus the next day my eyes were puffy and I was tired on that day for my PS.

andy_n_eva

well...i guess that's wat u expected right? due to the location and the buffet style dinner...

not sure my loss but i dun think will be $15k lar...

dizonne

aroh,
for some guests, we expected la...
bt not expected de is frends lor...most of them knew hw much we were paying...giv less still not too bad...but some frends didnt even give any APs...
in fact, one of his buddy told him tat he didnt have time to go to the bank and thus, cant giv AP..wah lao...i laff till i got tummyache when he told mi tat lor...
bt tats expected frm his bunch of frends ba, i guess...

wats worst is his aunt...his parents had a huge arguement with his aunt (the same one whose dotta got married in March)..coz his aunt kept commenting tat the food is cheap, wine is cheap, tis n tat. But apparently, her family ate the most oysters and drink the most wine..haha..

also, when her dotta got married, his parents gave her a 500 AP for 2 pax...but she onli gave him 250 for 4pax..so he was alreadi pissed to begin wif. furthermore, she kept implying tat my FIL bluff her abt hw much he spent on the dinner..even when i offered to show her the invoice...

the most ridiculous ting is tat our dinner was on sunday, and she called the family on tues to sae tat LOTS of people had diarhoea and food poisoning after eating our wedding dinner..And when we questioned her who the peepz are, she said her son...zzzz...didnt koe effects of food poisoning onli comes after 2 daes...haha..

aniwae, tat was wat i was busy wif last week..trying to appease everione..haha

fifteenmay

woW, XKA drama sia.. anyway its only one aunt right? definitely surely got ppl would say things wan la. just ignore them.
ya, i have friends who rsvp say coming somemore tell me wan to bring hubby and daughter, i reserved 3 seats for them and they din turn up!no word from them at all.
got one of my hubby's fren we cater vegetarian for him must pay extra,on the wedding day morning sent a message through facebook say cannot come! wah lau leh, who checks facebook on the morning of your wedding day?
i got frens who gave gifts for wedding dinner also.. haiz...
Btw,how do u calculate whether loss or profit? do u add all ang baos together (Tea ceremony etc) and then see if can cover? or is it just wedding banquet ang baos only?

nikiko

wow, Oct is coming soon!!! Some gals here are going to get married in few days time, so exciting!!!

I would like to congrats every Oct brides in advance! Hope all of us will have a smooth and successful and memorable wedding!!!

Let's be happy and look forward to our big day!! :D

andy_n_eva

i also dunno how to calculate...hahaha...some ppl give a huge AP in morning tea ceremoney which included for dinner as well...so how to calculate like that?

if based just on those collected during dinner...think i dun need to go honeymoon liaoz...

XKA, i guess ur FIL sort of met his match...hahaha...piss him off real gd...but i guess ur aunt also way stingy lar...

tell johnson's friend that u accept e-AP also...dun need go ATM...internet transfer can liaoz...save the paper too...

now i got 11 bottles of red wine left...thinking if wanna sell to the brides of the next couple of months...

dizonne

fifteenmay,

ya lor..i oso tot darn drama...but then its occasions like tis tat reali shows upbringing of a person lor...
most prob shes pissed tat we discovered her lie when she bluff us abt her dottas wedding dinner, so she wan take revenge lor...bt then reali wicked la...nt sae we go around spreading to other peepz that she lied abt her dottas dinner...haizz...

i oso got frend rsvp and last min didnt come, no msg, ntting lor..bt tis is part n parcel of wedding la...sure will hav peepz like tat de...

one of mi colleagues is the most unbelievable de..bring another guy along wifout informing, and onli gave 50bucks AP for 2 peepz..Felt so insulted by tat act..didnt koe mi food look like its onli worth 25 per pax....

i calculated all the APs i got lor...for mi, dinner paid by my FIL, so guys AP all go to him..I onli take AP for my side. But not alot oso...coz mi side only abt 40 pax...heng mi mum sae she dun wan any tables..if not, sure lose even more....

fifteenmay

ya we also dunno how to calculate so we just take the whole lump sum. luckily our church guests were very generous, covered our wedding dinner guests who gave gifts or din give aps.if used the lump sum as a whole, we didnt lose money. heng ar... Had quite a few ang paos that din have names also. got one 50 dollars wan. wah piah eh...
i also got a ex local boss, invite only her but she brought her daughter and only gave 88 for 2!!!!luckily we got extra seats..
ya its really during a wedding or a funeral that u can see who is your true friends and who doesnt give a damn

andy_n_eva

i got a long time friend who say she wan to do her assignment instead of coming to my wedding...sigh...maybe cos in a hurry i forgot to send her an invitation card then she pissed? but i did tell her many times abt it...just forget to send her the card ma...

15thMay, i guess lucky u got church to cover...i dun even wan to know how big the loss is...maybe sell the wine at $10 or $12 each...at least cover abit...

i got a muslim friend who attended...his seat plus his halal meal total is $200 liaoz...his AP $88...guess he also dunno how much is the market rate lar...but i'm grateful that he even make the effort to turn up even though it's Hari Raya...

dizonne

aroh,

not mi aunt...is John's aunt aka his mum's sis..hahhaa...i finallly understand y they can be siblings...coz all same pattern de...

his frend, hw i sae them...beta dun sae aniting..wait they duno sae wat again...

n hor, cant rem if i told u all tat his god sis, who was supposed to be one of my BMS, played mi out one week before the wedding..then on the night before the wedding, she said she wanna be involved in the gate crash..being alreadi pissed tat i was, i told her to forget e idea, as mi gals hav alreadi planned everiting le...n u guess wat? she bombed mi hp for the whole nite, and sent msgs scolding mi on the morning of my wedding..haha..wat a b@#$$h..

fifteenmay,
urs nt tat bad la..
heng we alreadi expected to lose, though nt tat much, if nt, surely faintz...

fifteenmay

ya. the world has all kinds of pple.
andy, ya if no church i think we would make a big big loss...most of our tables not full and we need ppl to cover the empty seats also. most ppl gave 100 but some still give 80 aiyo... where got hotel nowadays 80 wan?
Andy, XKA, got pics to share?

dizonne

fifteenmay,
juz uploaded some pics in FB..bt then its taken by my colleague and the restaurant manager. Will be meeting my PG and VG later tis week to collect mi photos and video..Both of them veri efficient...ALl ready within a week. kekeke..

andy_n_eva

80? have...those 30 year old ones along havelock road lor...not including GCW though...the rest are still around 800 per table even for weekends...

so far only got some pics taken by friend in FB...got to wait a while for PG and VG...PG is expected to be 2 more weeks and VG...i also dunno...hahaha...but i think 2 more weeks too...dun wanna rush them...let them do a gd job...

wan to see when we meet up lor...bring along express highlights and albums...hahaha...

fifteenmay

wow! my one have to wait til after honeymoon luckily my uncle took quite abit of photos. uploading into fb too.
ok i go see see your facebook : )

superfamous

the jiemeis will keep the AP.. i have 5 'official' jie meis and a few others who r there just to join in the fun. i think my hubby limit is $688 or $888. still need to bao 1 more AP for the jiemeis? i thought the gate crashing will be theirs?

brothers - he has not told me but also depends on how much they will be helping out on that day. we have quite a number doubling up as emcee, ushers, etc. i think drivers will give extra too..

my mum has told me she will be giving the jiemeis and xiongdis AP too. not sure about his side.

would like to ask, my bridal shop package is giving me 8 corsages only (2 for groom day and night. 6 for parents night coz i do not have a church wedding). is it necessary to get corsages for the xiongdi and jiemei in the morning?

Woah... have not seen this thread for 3 weeks and find myself super lagged behind. Have yet to send my wedding invites for print (actually have not even collected) and super panicky. All of you seem to have done so. Stressing me out big time! Hope the printing of wedding invite won't take too long!

strawberrie1983

not superfamous! : I got corsages for my jiemeis in the morning..they will be re-suing during the dinner time as well..the corsage that BS provide is oni for parents..those that pin to their jacket..

sun_tan

Woah, we just finished counting the ang bao. Started doing it since 6pm and we did for abt half hr in the afternoon before we left for the bridal to return the gowns. Hee, we managed to breakeven and earn a bit...

superfamous

yeah that's what the florist told me too.. not sure if its necessary for the jiemeis and xiongdis in the morning..

the florist actually told me not to reuse, coz he said it will not last. that's why he's giving 2 to the groom - one for morning, one for night..

rene3

The ang bao for the gatecrash, the jiemeis will take all.
Gatecrash=$100+ to $200(2 to 3 bridesmaids).
When Jiemeis and brothers come to my house, my mum will give them ard $12.
When they go to my htb's house, they will receive ang bao again from my MIL.
For MUA,PG,VG, each $12 too. But will not be giving banquet planner, cos this is her job mah so won't be giving.
I'm considered one of the eldest in my dad's family so need to give all my cousins ang bao. Same for my htb's side.
Still got to give kids that open the car door, granny and aunts that did not married.
So many ang baos to give. I need to pray to strike toto liao. $$$ keep going out from our accounts.

babyfaery

Pearlypearl: Wah... $120 is out of my budget..Hmm..think I just have to standardized the colour instead...

Like a lot of things to do.. I juz received samples of my invitation cards.. My dad say the black one is nice.. Issit okie for the invitation cards to be black?

precious_11

hi peeps..

am getting worried looking at all your msgs...think i shall mentally prepare my deficit to be a bigger amt liaos... somemore yesterday's newspapers understate my hotel by so much... sians..

Anyway..need a huge favour from you folks.. does anyone have a thank you speech to share?? can send to [email protected] pls?? need it by tomorrow afternoon if there are any kind soul who sees this msg early enough...

thanks in advance...

pearlypearl

Babyfaery> Initially I wanted to rent dresses for them, but the rental service at Bridal Closet (operates from home at Punggol) do not have the colour of the dresses I want.. i.e. fuschia pink. So in the end I opted for MTM dresses...

You might want to consider Bridal Closet for bridesmaid dresses if they suits you and your bridesmaids
http://bridalcloset.multiply.com/

alxhan

Oh ya ladies, i've got another question. Did you ladies go for some full body scrub or full arms and legs waxing before your big day or photoshoot?

I am contemplating if i shld go for full arms and legs waxing. Actually i just have some very very fine hair on both legs and arms, so not sure if its a good idea to start waxing. Will it show in the photos?

zerochristy

Counting down I am 5 days away Yeah!!! Huiling and MrsWong you also got to start counting down with me.. Hahah. Hope you all are all set for your AD

zzzz

i havent seen so much cash on my hand before hehe... we count all the money for tea ceremony and banquet cos relatives dun give again during dinner... we managed to earn quite a bit... shocked cos we gave 5 tables to my mother...

darkchocolate

woo!! sun, that is good!! can earn abit.. hahaha..

we received 1 big angpao $1000 during my buffet lunch... e rest average $40.

for tea ceremony.. all AP from his relatives $6-$10 nia..

dizonne

gal & Suntan,
wah!!..u 2 so lucky..stil managed to earn...
gd for u..now can spend more on HM le..kekeke

darkchoco,
did u break even for your buffet lunch??