(2009) Brides of year 2009

p00h

my GDL is 2 weeks b4 AD, and i am inviting my relatives over to my hse, for mini celebration.. so my parents no need go round distributing all cards..

journey

Hi gals. any list to share?? i dun know wat i have not do

Pearlypearl > I visited Javsy 2 months ago, service so-so, hubby dun really like the guy serving us, kinda of attitude at times. in the end i went to YiTai Hotstamping for printing of inserts.

Kit> for my case, My in-law will be paying for the 8 tables given to my parent and we will be paying for the rest of the tables. My mum should be taking the angpow of the 8 tables too. i guess it's a token from my in-law to my parents

alxhan

Do you all have a suggested list of duties for the JMs and XDs, i totally have no idea what to get them to help. >.<

Von: the draft list might includes:
1) Finalisation of guestlist
2) Finalisation of the album layout/selection of photos
3) confirmation of gowns
4) stuffs for GDL
5) Finalisation of AD program
6) Finalisation of gowns etc..

journey

Ashley, i think i have a list from my friend. Do let me dig that out.

Littlewoman, Thanks Thanks, i have completed non of the above . *faint*

Von: Will you be having OTR gowns or MTM gowns? Have you printed your wedding cards/inserts? THese 2 are more impt.. from what I see.. Next, hv you completed your PS?

journey

littlewoman > my WG is OTR , inserts printed, PS completed but haven see my pictures. i guess i need to call to rush them...

jojy

Mine also 1 week b4 AD... tt the date given by the geomancy

Btw, is it a need to compile 40 songs? It nv came across my mind? haha...

Von: Yah, it is better to check with your BS.. I have rushed to view my photos on 17 Aug and viewing my album layout for the next 2 weeks.. Next will be the guestlist, left parents' list to confirm mahz?

haha.. U off work at 6:00 PM? same here.. can't wait to go off too.. ")Let us know if you had topped up for any additionals tomorrow ba..

juski22

happy to hear that!

I collected my album... but sad... 1 of the album cover metal piece came off (they used dbl tape to tape oni)and they have spelling mistake on the words...haiz.....

journey

littlewoman, me too... now i regret topping up so much... my heartache everytime i see my pics.

saw my photos for my PS 2. pic not bad...

pearlypearl

Von> Ya!! I have read many reviews complaining about the guy's bad service ley! Can you tell me more?

So you went YiTai to print the inserts and you have to fork out money for ta rightt? Cos if we use the printer from the Hotel, we are given 70% of the confirmed guests right?

pearlypearl

Btw, here's my checklist:

Things to do in Oct:
WG and EG fitting
Bridesmaid dresses
Food tasting (26/10 or 5/11)
Florists for banquet (end Oct)
Order Invite cards (24/10)
Mum's rental dress (11/10)
"si dian jing" (end Oct)

Things to do in Nov:
WG and EG fitting
Bridesmaid dresses
Trial Makeup
Order wedding cakes
Q&amp;A script for emcees
Send out invitation cards (early Nov)
Confirm guest list and seating arrangement
"guo da li" and "an chuang" items
Ang pao boxes and wrist corsages
Meet up with Hotel to discuss details
Embossed car plate

Things to do in Dec:
"Guo da li" (6/12)
"An chuang" (21/12) *to check date again*
Collect gowns and kua

Did I miss out anything???

saggiegirl

for me here is the "aga-aga" listing...

Done:
- photoshoot, photo selection, layout confirmation
- food tasting &amp; confirmation of menu
- selection of wedding favours
- confirmation of wedding deco in ballroom (for VIP &amp; guest tables, reception)
- DIY angpao box (freegoer did it!!)
- selection of guest book fr hotel &amp; BS
- confirmation of gowns
- selected AD bouquet, AD car deco (we will be taking car from BS)
- collected wedding cards &amp; inserts
- bought simple guest pens
- AD time plan/schedule
- English &amp; chinese emcee script
- TQ speech (english &amp; chinese)

To be done:
- wedding album collection
- my papa jacket fitting
- my mama's outfit buying
- final fitting (2 weeks bef AD), collection of gowns &amp; suits (3 days bef AD)
- buy GDL items on 3/10
- prepare for GDL on 21/11
- An chuang on 1/12
- select wedding songs &amp; revert to hotel
- Montage, slide show to be done by 30/11
- invites to be sent out (mid-Oct all the way till end Nov)
- book buffet at mama place (for AD tea ceremony)
- meet up with emcees, helpers (morning &amp; night) for outfit buying &amp; duty allocation - sometime end Oct/mid Nov
- confirmation of MUA, PG, VG timings for AD (morning &amp; night)

saggiegirl

Renne> u can try those tiong bahru roast pig or zhu jiang roast pig

for my parents, they did not request for that as we dun have much relatives (my mum side) on AD.. so just keep the ceremony simple

poseidon_gal

super tired... been sleeping ard 5~6 every night..trying to finalize things... anyone bought rose petals or those popper for march in? go where buy those rose petals?

Morning ladies..

Von: did you top up further for your PS 2?

For my case:
a) Dad and FIL's suit fitting
b) My Mum's gown/cheongsum
c) AN CHuang
d) selection of tea dress/final fitting
e) buying GDL items
f) photos montages
g) gathering with all bros and JMs
h) album layout confirmation
i) hair treatment
j) finalisation of the guests' list

jemalene

Hi Saggiegal &amp; pearlypearl, thanks you !
so far, i only managed to get the contacts for tiong bahru roast pig. I hope to get a few more contacts to compare the $$$.

Saggie>cannt find contact of zhu jiang on line wor

Renne: my mum used to order roost pig from Sembawang.. Let me check with her on the contacts..

Von: dun be heartache le.. photos are memories, and we can pass on to our children/grandchildren to let them know how we used to look etc..

saggiegirl

Renne> there is one zhu jiang roast pig outlet at chong pang (coz freegoer's mama usually order her roast pig for prayers) ... it is at chong pang market...
near to blk 102 (the famous toto outlet)...

roast pig price: small 1 $168... medium $228 onwards... big $338 onwards if i rem correctly

bliss_bb

hhumm... as we don't have any relatives, my mummy didn't request for any tables.

She said leave it to the guy side whatever they give for GDL as hubby and I are bearing all the wedding costs and she didn't want us to be burden with those financial stuff..

She just wants to see me &amp; hb happily married and that the best she can ask for = )

So i just asked for 2 boxes of cakes, 2 bottles of red wine, 2 cans of pig trotters thou my family dun eat pork, Pin Jin (depend on guy's side). SDJ was bought by PIL during May 09 thus nothing much.

For my GDL, we will give red packets for PIL &amp; his grandmother (to buy shoes), for hubby to buy shirt and pant, 2 bottles of orange syrup, a pair of table lamps.

saggiegirl

Von> we also top up a lot of photos... 22 photos to 89 photos...
but it is a nice thing to have
and remind ourselves that we are once young &amp; pretty/handsome

Saggiegirl: I think that is the one..

Ling: Agree with what you said; think our parents jus want to see us being happily married.. the rest are in a way jus a "custom".

Ling: from what I understand, bride's side has to be the one getting the bedsheet.. Not sure if that is the case though.. My HB and I will be getting the bedsheet ourselves.

pearlypearl

Renne> My HB do not have the contacts as his parents will order from the stall at market at Jurong East...

Ling> Yes, the bedsheet will be given to the groom's side... The mother of the bride is supposed to purchase these (dowry) items.. but if u are buying them yourself, you can "claim" it from your mum thereafter.

sun_tan

We went to collect the gowns and album yesterday too. And guess what. There are scratches on the album. Was really pissed with them, but come to think of it, its a blessing in disguise. Cos they will lend us this "spolied" album first for our AD, then after tat will replace a new one for us. Thus we wont need to worry that the album would be spoiled by our guest.

juski,
Ya, i think that you should demand a new one. You paid for a good album and not something that is to be stick on by double side tape or spelling mistake.

cube_cube

morning ladies

went down to tdragon yest, and it was so packed..anyway, i've orderes the inserts of 230 pcs, and 2 logos. Total cost is slightly >$200. **faintz** And still need to purchase my venue's map during collection of inserts .. sianz...so ex

octo

Ling> Same for me, my mum also mentioned that she will get those bed stuff. By the way, you only ask for 2 quantities each for the GDL, do you need to give back to the guy side? For my mum, she said need to give back some to the guy side, that's why she asked for slightly more to 'cater' for the returns. You might want to check out if you need to give back.

bliss_bb

cube cube> I was there ard 6pm to buy gold string to tie insert to the wedding cards. Were u there ard that time? Saw 2 couples, one of them outside waiting to choose the template and another one inside the shop to confirm the template and names to be written

pearlypearl

ya, what are the items to return to the groom's side?? I only rem vividly that my mum say the dragon &amp; phoenix candles, the bride side will keep one set or wat... something like tat??

octo

Im not very sure also. Hasn't go through the list from my mum. Vividly recall that she mentioned, she will return those oranges, cakes, pork cans, phoenix candles.... my bil told me, last time he gave 2 bottles of wine and his inlaws return 2 bottles of orange juices.