(2009) Brides of year 2009

keitsu

oh god.. i have been MIA for too long.. looks like you gals are all prepared... I haven't find my BS yet... *stress*

yah I also got the question about what else needs to be prepared... anybody has a check list or something? :p

sotong_gal

hi mashi mashi..
haha.. SWC - Sophia...
Yup.. PG comes with the package..
so now onli need to source for VG..
Hopefully can get one below $1.3k... Possible??

octo

Hi Jiaple,

Yes. My coordinator is Wendy.

Hee.. we got the wedding show perks also. We went for the Apr show, saw that they increased the pricing for Sep-Dec 09 in the booklet. Is your package based on that pricing?

Yah. I agree with you. Vanda's celling is really low. We loved the recept area outside the ballroom, the open-ness of the area which is something unique and different from other hotels.

We were told that there will be some piano playing in the evening. Nice ambience.

octo

Hi PL,

Did you attended the dinner at the Vanda ballroom or the grand ballroom?

How was the service and food? Any comments to share?

honeybunny

Hi Shir, yupz yupz.. i book based on the new pricing, better book first, if not price go up up up.. last year Dec07 my fren has wedding at Grand Ballroom, sunday rate only ard 928nett, now is over 1k liao.

Same like you, I love the recep area.. i think is's very nice and based on the feedback gathered from pple who have attended wedding, it increase my confidence, most comments that it is cosy & intimate. My dad told me guests dun really care abt high or low ceiling so long food & service is good. Well there are no perfect venue with the perfect package & prefect price (unless willing to fork out alot of $$$)

I attended wedding at grand ballroom before.. everything was good, both food & service.

strawberry2009

For PG and VG, $1.2k it's reali attractive as compare to others.

reallove

Hi gLaDz,

Yap, yap.. I sign up with two BS. We're a very photo couple....haha... The package we sign up to go Redang was at RM4300. It included 40 pictures in Album, trip to redang, accomodation, full board. Also all the standard frames, table top, also photoshoot in JB. The other BS in S'pore is Yvonne Creative.It's $5388. Have 35 Pics, ROM package, AD package, AD photo and videography.

Yen,

I'll be having my AD at the Siloso Ballroom at Rasa Sentosa and ROM at Gardenasia on 28 Sept 08. Howabout you? Have you got your house?

Chaos,

Must be really really romantic to have it on the yacht.... So envy... How much is the package and for how many people?

piggylover

hi shir, i went to vanda ballroom last week. Food was nice but it seem like lack of manpower there. My friend asking for drink to be refill many time but no one hav done it. In the end 1 guy from my table get the jug n do it himself...

I will take note when my own banquet, can prevent this from happening.

sansara

Yup, $1.2K good deal, hard to come by. i was watching one of the video clips. Quite well taken...

I am also looking at golden horse cos near my house. The scary thg abt BS is that there is alot of hidden charges.

jiajun

Hi Jayin,

I am okie too1. Actually, the triangular side is where they put the stage. I went to my friend's wedding there, actually i din even notice the triangle shape. Haha...

eternal_mates

Hi Yen, I have not book my BS yet. My dinner banquet will be at Grand Hyatt. How about you?

Hi Seoulover, welcome. When's your actual day in June 2009?

strawberry12

Hi realove,

My AD will be on 6th june 09. just got my flat at tanglin halt during the jan ballot 08.

Hi Chaos...

went to ritz and julia wedding news yday..my gf suggested that i took up JWN as their gowns are of more choice and nicer..no doubt ritz service is excellent bt their gowns very limited esp.. EG..

wah 1.2k is a gd price for pay for both. Will consider to take them if they are available..share ur pics wif us ya...
hi eternal mates,
mine will be at Carlton hotel..

fifteenmay

Hey Glamourous, saw that you did a review on Angel Chua's make up.
Do you have any photos?
How is she?

Elstrial,
Is candy candy low? I've seen quite a few good reviews on her.

chaos

Hi Ling, I will check it out and share with you gals here. While reading the other forum on wedding shoes, some suggested city plaze near paya lebar MRT and Katong Mall. So in case you gals interested can check it out there as well.

Hi reallove, my yacht solemnization is for 40pax total but i think i can only invite about 36 pax after considering the yacht captain, crew and waiters.

The total cost is about 5.5K for a sailing yacht from 5 to 7pm, including F&D, floral decor. I'm sailing from one degree 15 at sentosa clove as i'm having dinner for my friends and colleagues at onedegree15 after the soleminzation.

I'm also having high tea for relatives on the next day at Rasa sentosa pavaillion room. Cos I wanted the sea view scenery as that's the theme of the wedding.

catty08

Thanks cube cube and Junel!

I'll be going down ParkRoyal on Beach Road this week to have a look.
We're fixed on 26 Dec 09 for our AD so really hope to find our choice venue soon.

mashi_mashi

hi sotong_gal,

confirm can. got afew tat is below 1.3K.
Like miraage, wowmedia etc.
n dun forget freelancers also. but then it still depends on ur requirements. but if u ask me who is gd, frankly speaking i also nt sure. as i haven view any of their works yet. haha

do look ard n c the comments on the forum. sure can get wat u like...

mashi_mashi

hi jiaple n eevee,

welcome to this thread... congrats... so settle ur stuff liao or juz beginnin to search for ur stuff... like venue, BS, PG, VG etc...

thread finally comes alive... haha..

Fish n PL,

LT will b bk in action on Mon... haha..
tink she will b sneezing away since so many of us missing her n tinking n toking abt her here..

haha

eevee

Piggylover >> my AD is on 21 Nov 09

mashi_mashi >> I have only just booked my BS - Julia Wedding News. Now finalizing my venue which is Furama City Centre ... PG wise most probably asking a fren who does freelance.

Anyone booked Furama City Centre for their AD?

honeybunny

Hi Mashi Mashi.. yeah. nice to see all u here. when & where is your AD? Mine in Dec 09, have booked venue already. rest of things I will only settle next year

mashi_mashi

eevee... oh...
nope. i bk mine at furama riverfront. haha

Jiaple,
mine is 16 oct 2009. keke..
FRF is the venue...
oic. but wat i heard fr frens tat if u wan to hv ur choice of PG n VG on ur AD, better bk early. becoz nw alot ppl start to bk for next yr. some is to sercure the price tis yr as the prices sure will increase by next yr....

which day of dec is ur AD?

glamourous2309

Hi Fifteenmay,

I reckon you try and experience the MUA individually as makeup is like a form of "art", very subjective from gals to gals too. Some prefer particular way of application.

Check this out:
http://www.singaporebrides.com/forumboard/messages/1/664776.html?1211801981

For myself, Angel will not be my AD MUA. However, she may be one of MUA for my wedding entourage.
I've tried her the other time solely bcoz I'm sourcing for good MUA (and a Team) for my bridesmaids, Sisters and Sisters-in-Laws makeup. I have about 10pax to go for that. So probably minimum need 3-4 extra MUA (excluding my own MUA) for AD for them.

honeybunny

Hi Mashi Mashi, me actualy date is Wed, 23 Dec (eve of Xmas eve.. haha). I attended a wedding at FRF.. nice place, the ballroom i went to was big & pillarless.

Usually to book PG & VG, how much deposit is needed? I scare book so early, later they close shop hw? (dun mean to be paranoid lah.. cos some of the PG & VG, even good ones are small setup as well).

Any recommendations? Do we usually meet them to
see portfolio prior to confirming?

Read that you have just selected your flat? Which project is that?

Hi Eveee, saw that you are with JWN, which is one of my shortlisted BS.. care to share some details?

fifteenmay

Hi Glamourous,
Yes i am thinking of doing the trial to gauge for myself. Must we book them before we get the trial? what if i dun like the make up? i can just pay for the trial and find another right?

mashi_mashi

hi jiaple,
oh. 23dec. keke. haha. wkday ar. seldom ppl take wkday liao...

ya. tink the one u go will b the one tat i b using. haha...

hmm depends lor. some is 1-300 ba. depends on the services u wan n the whole cost. u need to check wif them. if u really scare then wait til next yr then bk. as urs is wkday, shld b ok ba..

me haven go mit them. so no comments on it yet. normally ppl will go mit them to tok to them n c their portfolio b4 confirming them. to c whether u can click wif them n like their style or nt...

oh. me selection is under Jan balloting. got dover flat. but flat nt ready...

honeybunny

Hi Mashi Mashi, lucky you.,, Dover is good location. For me.. I chose weekday so it's cheaper, my wedding not big ard, 26 tables, of immediate relative and close friends so keeping my fingers cross.

One good thing is that is during school holidays, so parents dun have to pick their kids up from school ect then come.

Hi Yen, welcome..

piggylover

mashi, ya lor. hahha.. haiz.. tml mon liao. sian sian. wkend always pass so fast...

eevee, wow.. nov is 1 mth ahead of mine. hehe... confirm ur BS le, so hav u shortlist any venue yet?

Jiaple, PG & VG u can shortlist 1st den enquire their pkg offer. if it is under ur requirement, u can meet up with them to see their work den discuss more like their pkg, more perk, discount, timing, deposit. normally ppl book early is wat mashi mention as to secure ur pkg price n can get more choices of popular de.

hi yen! welcome joining 2009 BTB!!

poseidon_gal

i havent search for BS yet..hee although i got a few choices in mind liao.. will settle my dinner venue 1st..

for 3rd oct alot of places taken liao.. think because that day is mooncake festival + sat so it is quite a hot date..

below are some of the hotels i called and taken on 3rd oct for wedding dinner : M hotel, HIPV, Furama River front, GPPH, Novotel, swissotel merchant court

I made tentative bookings with Rasa, Furama City Centre and Amara.. still looking around..hee any more recommandation?

poseidon_gal

i havent search for BS yet..hee although i got a few choices in mind liao.. will settle my dinner venue 1st..

for 3rd oct alot of places taken liao.. think because that day is mooncake festival + sat so it is quite a hot date..

below are some of the hotels i called and taken on 3rd oct for wedding dinner : M hotel, HIPV, Furama River front, GPPH, Novotel, swissotel merchant court

I made tentative bookings with Rasa, Furama City Centre and Amara.. still looking around..hee any more recommandation?

mashi_mashi

Jiaple,

Ok lar there. nt say very convenient. haha...
still nt the best location. haha...

oic. sch holidays.. mayb better abit lor. haha..
true tat wkdays is cheaper..

although mine is fri, the venue i bk say still counted wkday. so quite ok...

PL,
ya lor. tomolo start work liao. but ok lar. tomolo can tok to u, LT n grace liao. finally.
haha

mashi_mashi

wow. tat day really so hot ar. haha..
then u hv to buck up in ur searching liao...

hmm. wat are the tings tat u looking at when searchin venue? n hw many tables u looking at?

c whether we knw any place tat suits u or nt..
haha

mrs_kan

Hi Everyone!

I am also a Oct 09 BTB. Should be signing up with GPPH..I am actually choosing a weekday, hopefully the turnout will be good.

sparkless

Hi Piggylover,

yup, we are not doing any banquet. Just a church wedding and reception. that's it.

How is everyone's preparation coming along? I have only been asking for pricing on pre-wedding and wedding photography. Have not been to any bridal shop yet. Any good recommendations?

eevee

hi all, I'm also still sourcing around for venues ...

Actually I'm contemplating Furama City Centre but min of 30 tables required. Am looking around for venues which probably required lesser min tables.

Any good venues to recommend?