(2009) Brides of year 2009

kitty_princess

Hi twinfairy!! I have not gotten my own place yet.. will move into my HTB's current home after AD for the time being..

congrats to u mashi! so nice to have ur own house..i have to wait for many years then can have a home of my own..

kitty_princess

ya.. have to be kiasu if not can't get what u want. hee.. esp for popular dates..

anyway who's having solemization on the same day? i will be doing that before my luncheon..

mashi_mashi

Meow,

although i hv selected my flat. but then the flats are still building.

hope can complete early then i can shift in on my AD.. but then ma.. tink in 2yrs time i shld b able to shift in liao.

haha...

cube_cube

catty, PR for beach rd n kitchener both dun have liao ah?

i tink m hotel is good leh....nett price and free flow beer.but go see see the HIA first,or call n ask whether date still open anot...

hmm...catty if you are risk taker, then can really be the first to book at all those new hotels that are starting in end 2008 or start 2009. T3 that one duno when finish leh....

ju_ed

Hi Meow,

I'm most probably having my solemnization on the same day too b4 my dinner
I'm not quite sure how the AD schedule will look like yet, but I figured I've got quite some time to work it out. hah.

chaos

hi Hui,
My PS would probably in Jan 09. I haven't ROM and will be doing it on the same day as my customary. I'm doing a yacht solemnization at one degree 15. Haven't finalised on the yacht though but will be done in the next couple of weeks. Hoping HDB will allow my request to defer submission of the ROM certificate as I'll be collecting my house key this weekend. The next task will be sourcing for wedding shoes. Any suggestion for the ladies here?

Happy to see so many of you gals here.

weddingll

Yes, if u are lunch, maybe can still take your time. But i think you can start sourcing now.

Anyway, welcome and happy searching!

starskyz

fatfat> you are bery detail loh, good good.. i believe ur wedding is going to be fanastic! kekeke..

janet/thebsea> my BS called me up for appointment next week liao leh.. 1st appointment.. tink supposed to go and try out some gowns and discuss on my mtm gowns..

fat_fat_79

Janet-> When do you think you wanted to schedule your PS?

thebsea-> Wow your PS so late?? Normally PS is schedule three months before AD. Your AD is 28 March right? Let say you do it on the 1st Jan. that mean that your BS will have only about 2 months to do your album and you have to keep in mind that Feb is a short month and plus CNY holiday. Your BS can make it meh? Your timeline is so tight that there is no room for mistake lo. You might wanna reconsider your PS date? I plan my PS early to avoid raining season and also I dont wanna rush my BS for the album. Say it in a bad way, if my BS did not do a good job, I still have time to ask them to redo. Just a cent of my thought!

Starskyz-> hahaha My HTB and I both are blur blur 1. If I dont write down all down, we might have problem recalling which vendor we have booked on our wedding day. hahahahahah

elstrial

grace: They actually helped me book Candy for my AD when I booked her for my ROM. So now confirmed my ROM and AD MUA is Candy.

thebsea

fatfat,

I salute you for the amount of effort and attention you put into this thread. U can still rem details about hotel banquets, my AD (which was mentioned so long back) and most imptly, you started this thread where we could all gather and share information together. Thumbs up to you!! U dun seem blur to me to all. In fact i think you are very detailed in ur planning, as what Starskyz mentioned.

Regarding my PS, actually i wanted it in nov/dec but then afraid of the rainy season (weather these few days are crazy!). If oct, then seem too early leh.. My BS also require 4-5 months for my gowns. So my PS PG suggested early Jan then PS, as nov/dec also peak season for him. Somehow seems like stuck in a tricky situation...

mango0977

hey hey elstrial! that means you are the other couple which Ann said has booked Candy on 27 Sep! so we are both using Candy on the same day! really qiao ah!

elstrial

grace: wah! didn't know that i was the other couple! hehe! really very qiao!

then what abt morning makeup? how is she gng to spilt herself?

huhu

hi eternal_mates,
thanks! somehow i feel surprising calm leh haha. more excited about the holiday trip to redang the week after haha.

hi chaos,
wah yatch rom must be real romantic
as for heels, i recently got a pair of heels at Anna Nucci (Far East plaza level 4) for my rom next week and i intend to wear back for PS and AD next year. Their heels quite nice and think they are popular with brides cos when i was there, there are like another 2 or 3 btb selecting. Prices is affordable too. Can go there take a look

mango0977

elstrial > wah i don know lei..Ann just said they will know how to arrange when the 2 couples let them know how their schedules gonna be like for the day...mine is a wedding luncheon so i think FH will come to fetch me early...cos time is tight for us...whats your dialect? cos usually teochew brides must have their makeup done v early!

janetwedding

starskys/fatfat,

My BS oso adv me to go for 1st fitting in June, but juz wonder is it too early, hehe.

Starskyz, hv u cum out with any preference designs for your gown?

ju_ed

Hi grace or other teochew BTB,

Are you teochew?? i'm teochew, and after reading your posts, i'm a bit worried about not being able to get a MUA to squeeze me into his/her schedule. What time do u have to get out of the house?

kristle

my BS in JB and they told us to take in june! that was far far too early so i opt for july. aug is chinese ghost festival so nono. sep - dec i will be busy for my housing. so might as well do it early to avoid stress. everything squeeze in the later part of the year my guy pocket is going to burst!

catty08

Charmaine, we have to take 26 Dec because the master calculated according to our å…«å­— so we cannot change the date. Also my ILs very pantang, the more we cannot change the date.

I don't like Orchard Parade hotel, been there before for a wedding and don't like it. Grand Plaza Park Royal? I'm very confused on Park Royal's hotels. I'll need to check again.

cube cube, M hotel ah, we'll have to go down to check it out, still deciding.

I've asked HIA, they don't allow any tentative bookings as they'll be having their wedding show soon. They told me the booking will be on a first come first serve basis during the wedding show.

Hmm, what are the new hotels? I've enquired Pan Pac Orchard but their maximum table is only 12!

bonny

it's been such a long time since i visited this thread and wow..so nice to see so many june brides here...

congrats to all and happy planning!

pauliyanna

Hi all and Phaffia congrats! I just settled on a flat first appointment in July 08, pretty exciting, I can totally understand that feeling..wow! & I took yrs & mscupid idea & called up my consultant from volan again & yup before my 2nd fitting I'm going to sit her down to go thru the styles I like from the magazine and I hope there are better selections the next time. I jus got that nagging feeling that they just dont have that many gowns to show.. sigh.. i hope it meets my expectations this time. =)

emeraldbride

Catty, since u hv the min table, work on ur budget per table first then only narrow down those hotels..
we can provide u with alot of hotel names, but some of it could be beyond ur budget.. easier to shortlist liddat..
u can consider ncq? but i tink shuld be fully taken up alr..
let me know cos i hv a few hotel quotes that I can share wif u..

sansara

Hi Eternal_mates,

Can send me your fengshui master contacts? is he expensive?

Wah.. I can see most of the June bride are all very well prepared already. Well Done!

I hope to settle my Banquet n BS by the next few months...

Looking at Conrad... any comments?

eternal_mates

Chaos, ROM on a yacht sounds so unique and romantic!! Envy!!

Hui, haha... good good, keep it this way. Congrats!!

Wendy, must visit here more often ar. Any updates?

San, sure of course. Master Long's contact no is 64523048. Quite affordable at $80. I'm not sure about the food and service at Conrad. But I heard the ambience there is nice and the ballroom is grand looking. For weekends, min no of tables is 25, each table must be 12 seats.

tksl

hi catty! i'm a fellow 26th Dec BTB

maybe u can try Hilton?
Mandarin Oriental?
Marina Mandarin?

think their min tables for weekends is 30

if u want pillarless, how abt Merchant Court? Juz opposite of NCQ..

hope these helps.

catty08

Hi Suzanna! Thanks but we cannot meet the minimum requirement for the ballroom and their smaller rooms are too small (for Hilton). Our budget is less than $1K per table and MO and MM are out. Merchant Court has been booked. Guess there's not much choices left for us now.

taime81

Hi Catty did yr feng shui master give you any alternative date? Is HIA available if yes maybe you can confirm with them over the phone first so they block that day for you?

octo

Hi Catty,

Don't be vexed.. relax and enjoy.

These are some hotels that I just get it off my head. Have not been updating myself with the latest pricing after I got my venue.

Hope it helps.

1. Carlton Hotel
2. Hotel Rendezvous
3. Raffles the Plaza
4. Grand Mercury Roxy
5. Meritus Mandarin
6. Amara
7. M Hotel
8. Hilton
9. Orchard Hotel
10. Rasa Sentosa
11. Changi Village Hotel
12. Regent
13. Furama Citycentre
14. Quality Hotel
15. RELC Hotel

yew

Hi Twinfairy,
Yes we have the same wedding date. If i really change the BS then the package might change to take family photos or make over lor.

phaffia

Thanks gals for your well-wishings. Hehe. The open door ceremony yday was alright. One of our shortlisted IDs also came over to help us assess the flat to see if there's anything that we can salvage from the original decor.

I have to agree with jaimegal and pauliyanna that it's all v exciting to have your own nest and finally getting things in place. Hehe..

misscupid11, your turn's next! Can try to flip through some of the home decor magazines to have a feel of what you like for your new home. It'll be easier to make decisions next time since you will roughly have an idea of what you like.

phaffia

Hiya Ashley, Casey has been having quite good reviews on this forum, and I've seen his works before. They do look quite good. If there's anything that you're uncomfortable with, must convey to him. Communication is v important. Don't worry, I think you're in safe hands.

Hello moonfairy! Welcome! Hope you find a wedding gown style that you like. Maybe can try flipping through wedding magazines to have a feel of what you like, then convey your preferences to Casey. Good luck!

Hey Pauliyanna, happy to hear that. Hope you can get your dream gown during your next fitting. Good luck ok! Hehe
When will your next fitting be?

journey

Catty,
Si Chuan Dou Hua resturant can hold 30 tables max. but provided u wan a resturant style.
I wanted to hold my banquet there, but i have 32 table, so i have go give it a miss.
the night view is wonderful. i fallen in love with it from the first time i got there

Perhaps u try Hotel Rendezvous, they have quite nice ballroom and resonable price.
or The Legends Fort Canning Park. they have both outdoor Grand Marquee and indoor, air-conditioned Legends Ballroom.
The food are nice nice, i had my ROM there in Jan. Relatives love the food.

icecreamscoop

Hey mscupid,
For my AD, I'm looking at The Legends @ Fort Canning. Currently made a tentative booking, haven't confirmed and pay deposit.

I'm still waiting for someone to transfer my Z Weddings package. Hmm, meanwhile, as my fiance is overseas, I can't do much too..=( Days are counting down.....

Hey gals, btw, i'm having an appointment with HDB in june for the April balloting:
Balloted Queue Number : A1907
Selection Date : 17 Jun 08
Selection Time : 08:30 AM
I've looked at the flats availability, they said it's all been taken up. STrange...not sure should i go for the appointment anot...

mango0977

ju_ed > yes, it is about 4am for teochews as grace lourdes mentioned...cos my future MIL is teochew and her niece woke up at 3am+ to do makeup!

elstrial > cos we are doing wedding luncheon, i think FH said likely come pick me up early...like 7 or 730? so maybe MUA got to come ard 6 to do for me...but not decided yet, now just planning...hehe...if you are not that early, maybe Candy can be at your place around 730? which area u staying at? me bukit panjang...hope your place not too far away! then she can reach faster

mscupid11

Hey Angel, i just saw the HDB page. Only 5-rm at Jurong West is still available, so depends if u wan this location..

Phaffia, i cant wait!! hehe.. do share ur reno progress with me k.. Will meet up with my shortlisted contractors after i got my keys. Coz i wana let my FSM view my hse first before deciding on the final layout.

Pauli, glad that u spoke with ur coord. Actually u just need a rough idea what cuttings u want, e.g. mermaid cut, bustier, halter, etc. Then ask ur coord, to bring out watever they have for that cutting.. usually they will show u the latest collection, but perhaps some gowns in the prev collection is nice too.. so just ask to try more.. Dun worry, the 2nd fitting will be a better one!

mscupid11

Upz..

Carlyn: AD-07/02
Mscupid11: AD-12/02; Venue-Swissotel Merchant Court; BS-Golden Horse Award
Mawie: AD-14/02; Venue:Club Chinois; BS-Flamingo Bridal
Joyce: AD-14/02; Venue-Le Meridien; BS-Bridal Concept
Pinkjolli: AD-14/02; Venue: Noble House; BS-Golden Hourse Award
Jaimegal: AD-15/02; Venue-Carlton; BS-Golden Horse Award
Moonfairy: AD-15/02; BS-Digio
Frennie: AD-18/02; Venue-TBA; BS-Golden Horse Award
Yan: AD-21/02; Venue-Marina Mandarin; BS-Digio
Pauliyanna: AD-21/02; Venue: Peony Jade (23/02); BS: Volan Couture
Joess: AD-21/02; Venue - Singapore Expo; BS-Bridal Zone
Ah Ying: AD-27/02; Venue- Legends @ Fort
Canning; BS- Thomson Bridal
Kelly: AD-27/02; BS-French Bridal
Phaffia: AD-28/02; Venue-Swissotel Merchant Court; BS-Digio
Noti: AD-28/02; BS- Bliss Bridal
1199: AD-28/02; Venue- M Hotel; BS- Julia Wedding News
Angel: AD-28/02; BS- Z-wed (Looking to sell)
Ashley Ng: AD-28/02; Venue- Mt Faber Safra Club; BS-Digio