(2009) Brides of year 2009

dizonne

lawery,
e wine is okie de ma?? coz i dun drink wine, so i duno hw to judge wor...
n i need bth red n white wines...will be serving oysters, scallops, mussels, slipper lobsters, salmon, veggie, rice, sausages, beef and lamb carving n i cant rem le....
e wine able to match wif all these??

nok,
thx..haha..i oso praying tat it wun rain...
n hor, my Empress Dowager sae usuali malays fasting mth, will rain n rain..then once puasa, will no more rain...hopefully shes rite for once..hahaha

noknok

xka,

whether wine is ok or not very much depends on personal preference one. One bottle of wine maybe ok for me but it may not taste ok for you. Cos some like it more dry, some like it more sweet. Cannot cater to everyone's preference one. So to me, it doesn't really matter what they serve, dun hv to worry so much on wine

If you all happen to have extra after the wedding let me know, I may buy from you all to drink on my own.. haha

dizonne

nok,
i koe wat u mean, bt i believe there muz b some reason for e price diff in wines rite...
too bad i dun drink wine..if nt, wun be so lost le..
mi frend recommend tis south african brand, bt too bad out of stock for e moment..so bo bianzz...
haizz...

noknok

Cheap wine doesn't mean bad wine ah.. I usually buy the lower range wine from DFS. There's a specific brand one that I like. Unless your guests are mostly people who appreciate wine, I dun see the point of getting too good ones especially when there's a wide variety of people. My MIL asked us to bring hard liquor there loh.. we were like.. who in this era still drink hard liquor. Free flow of wine still want hard liquor, it jus shows the preference is different. Unless you know all your guests, I dun think you should be bothered by it so much

lilstarzpebblez

seriously its tough trying to catch up with the discussions here as there are so many posts a day!
am glad that everyone is working things out so fast and efficient..unlike me! i have yet to choose my gowns as they are all MTM and have yet to go for food tasting,yet to choose/print cards, yet to go for PS etc... so many things still undone! :S

does anyone have any website/post that they refer to for the traditions to follow during GDL and AD? cause both our parents are not familiar with the traditions and now i'm seriously blur with all those ang bao for sugar cane,chicken etc! didnt know that we were supposed to do all that and prepare ang baos for these!
Hope to find some help here!
thanks in advance!

akino

haiz... the angbao for chicken ang sugar cane only applies to me la... mother in law requested during ti qin. my hb and his mother came to my house to ti qin. and we requested our GDL items. things that need to exchange. request for angbaos...

so when ur hb and in laws meet up with ur family. you need to list them down. so during GDL, when they come to ur house, you need to pass it to them.

traditions you have to follow what ur in law says.

saggiegirl

Erin> i tink there is a webbie: www.goldenhappiness.com.sg
take a look

dun worry too much
food tasting can be done at most 1 mth before AD, but for cards (esp if u have overseas guests), it will be better to do them early...

we just collected our cards, and now collating rsvp...then planning to do the cards over the hari raya holiday at our new hse...

last time what i did was my parents discuss abt GDL things etc, i like the secretary lor...took a pen, notepad and write down everything they say ....
my MIL and my mum are quite OK... still have some "rules" to follow..but of coz much more modernised than older times ;)

Wah.. seems so many things?

For my case, there was a family discussion with both sides of the parents.. As we usually celebrate Mothers' and Fathers' days together they are rather familiar with one another.. Both sides parents agree to go simple and easy, thus, not much to prepare on my side... My mum only request for 8 cans of pig trotters, 8 cakes and some sweets.. while my MIL request for us to return it with a pant for my HB..

rene3

Felicia, same here. Gg for a short trip after 3rd day of wedding.
Cos my mum insisted that the 3rd day need to go back to have dinner.

Vt, where did u sent ur church invites for printing?
I'm also looking for one. Haven't print my mass booklets

greentwinkle12

for me, my mum says still early.. She havent even give me guest list.. Though i already planning nw..
For cakes, we gonna opt for the vouchers kind, from polar or bangawan solo.. Easier..
Can buy from all outlets anytime.

fifteenmay

oops. lalaa, never read properly..hahaha
good luck in getting it done this week.
Yes, its sept and i am still pigging out! no more time to lose weight liao! sob sob..
what should we be doing now?

dash80

I also booked my honeymoon during NATAS, going Europe..

Get to fly A380 there...

I'll be covering France, Italy and Switzerland..

mrswong

Stacey> Mayb u can go for a short trip like Batam/Bali/Thailand/Msia if u are on budget or dun hv much leave...or even a resort hotel stay so u dun feel so sad..

reine

So nice, all planning for honeymoon.
Can I check with you guys if your hotel allows food tasting during wkends??

akino

we are getting the traditional wedding cake. "si sei bing" i also dunno where to buy from. but not so soon ba. maybe order beginning of nov. mid nov is the GDL. MIL looking for good dates now lo...

cheer7

oh... so many of u gg europe.. me gg bali for a short getaway
plan to go hokkado next yr to c flowers...

hope all of us wil enjoy our trip!

Stacey: agree wif mrswong, u may wan plan to go somewhere near or book a hotel stay.. jus to relax wif ur hubby cos prior to our weddin, we r all busy n 'bad' temper @ times wif our htb... so make use of this time to relax n enjoy..

reine: my food tastin s on wkday onli n exclude public holiday n eve

noknok

Start smsing / calling everyone on your guestlist and find a way to stop someone from saying, "Sorry, I can't make it"

rierie

yea, charlene..i'm abt the same as princess. we just do the planning and stuff like that. didn't buy anything..only collected things tat we paid before 7th mth

tanp

my folk still can't decide on the menu~~~ *shake head*
Simply can't *make up* the dish from their name~~

My food tasting is about 1mths before my AD 17/11..

lawery

XKA,

I supposed Nok has helped me answer most of the que you asked.
Wine is something diff unlike other beverages.
Its depends very much on own personal taste bud prefrences.
So far feedback from ppl I know in F&B industry said not bad for wine at this price range.
But again, one man's meat can be another's poison.

Honestly, I feel that you should decide on ur budget per btl and then proceed to look for wine which is on that range.
If not you are just searching aimlessly.

lawery

BTW, if u wanna try this wine...
You can always buy 1-2 btl to try from my outlet at retail price...

We are selling at 40odds++ for this wine...
Then again, I can give u staff discount at 20% off..
=P

dizonne

lawery,
i alreadi decided my budget le, bt there are so mani wines tat falls within mi bydget, so i abit lost..hahaha...

hmm...no point asking mi to try e wine coz i dun take wines..hahaha
duno wats e diff oso...

verena

Eggy> Initially I thot of going T&T in JB to print but the quotation they sent me for my church invite is actually the same price as printing in S'pore. The cost savings will only be for the inserts and will amount to only $30-40. So my HTB and I thot that rather than spend extra time travelling to and fro, we'll just print in S'pore instead. I sent my invites + inserts for printing at Tommyprints at Novena Sq 2.

cheer> i'm going to Bali post wedding too (before my 'real' honeymoon in Dec)! Where are u staying? =)

noknok

Wow.. lawery.. $40+ wine selling at 15/16 bucks??? Can I tonbang someone to buy jus a few bottles?? hee.. Ok, I'm an alcoholic. :p

junel

Cherie >> Pine Garden is nice but you get voucher or cakes from them?? Will using photo printer very slow?? thought of it but my one is hp.. printing quite slow.. then we forgo it..

greentwinkle >> polar has voucher?? how much is that?? normal cake right??

dizonne

nok,
no need tompang la..I shld be getting a dozen frm lawery if mi frend cant find mi any wines...then if got xcess i sell u at cost lor..kekeke

greentwinkle12

Junel> not sure of price leh. Me havent check. can be used to exchange cakes or other polar stuff. just like bengawan solo.. prima deli also have..

Cherie> pine garden is nice. me stay near the shop only.. have thought of getting from them, but mum prefer vouchers.. if get voucher from them then relatives have to go all the way to AMK to redeem.. not convenient. If getting cakes, then can go there, cos their cakes are nice!

I am thinking of getting a mini 3-tier wedding cake from pine garden, for guests who came for tea ceremony at my house.

dizonne

nok,
i already hav a 30l barrel of beer for them le...
bf's relatives dun drink wine de, onli our frends n my relatives...oso, will tell frends to drink beer first then wine....
furthermore, theres reali alot of food...
u tink it will be enuff???

Good Morning Gals...

Wow.. Me so envy to see most of U had booked for the Honeymoon =)

Hokkaido!! My Dream Place... I won't be going anywhere until I save enuff.. wahahahaha.....

noknok

actually I dun think it's enough if your friends and bf's relative all take alcohol.

30L barrel is only 90 glasses. usually when I go dinner, I see people who drink beer, they won't stop at one glass one.

Usually people who take wine won't take beer one, it's not very good to mix the two different type of alcohol. When I attend a wedding dinner, usually I take abt 3-4 glasses ba (not very sure cos they always refill before it's empty)

That's my point of view, have to ask others for theirs.

junel

greentwinkle, you stay in AMK ar... my HTB also stayed near there lei.. if you need some cakes for praying or for GDl then can get from pine lo...
You all send out RSVP liao ar?? do we send out so early?? scare they later forget...

saggiegirl

for me, as my SG side is relatively small, my mum requested for 20 boxes of cakes from my MIL (and she will return 8 boxes during GDL)... so effectively she take only 12 boxes
similar thing for the pig cans

for the tea ceremony buffet, my bro will be getting his buffet contact, so i let him handle

Junel> it is not early...now is like 3 months away ...and wedding cards need time to collate and mail/send over

lalaa_27

haha Noknok.. i thot u wer the one last time who showed us the website abt how many calories alcohol has!
anyway my gym instructor was sayin that to stay young can take 1 glass of red wine everyday.. (only 1 glass!) hehe

noknok

haha.. u all say wanna slim down ma... so let you all know the calorie content loh.. Sometimes I wonder how to drink one glass of red wine per day when it all comes in bottles..

junel

ooo... my guest list not out yet lei...

how do you all let your guest knoe?? sms or email or in person??

sms for friends and relative..
email to office ppl.. how about upper management? do you email or in person?

Same for me.. My mum requested 18 boxes of the cakes.. According to her, we don't have to give it to all relatives.. probably jus pass it to those closer ones.. and my mum told me to get it from this traditional store in old sembawang road? My mum also has her usual buffet contacts.. Thus, i am quite glad that I don't have to source for so many things.. else, realli headache for me..

Junel: haha.. it is not early le.. I got back all my confirmations and RSVP as early as late June this yr and yet, there are about 6 people who told me that they wun be able to make it in this month.. Should start early so that you can do the consolidation early as well.