(2009) Brides of year 2009

habe

haiz......i can't believe this is happening to me now. my bridal studio just decided to call it quits. my gowns albums everything with them.
wedding is in freaking 5 weeks.

vallous

haha too far for me...kites..i am bad at it. I think I am jinx. Each time i touch it , it will fall. My hubby will laugh and tells me not to touch it. haha. We once did kite flying at Marina South when we were dating. I remembered tat day cos its our first kiss. heehee.

mashi_mashi

bubbly19,

My co ordinator is shirlyn. keke.. dun knw u knw who is she or nt. She is a nice lady.
tink shld hv c her there when u go down.

hope i go there tat time got new gowns for me to select. keke....

noknok

elyse.. I thought you wanted urs to be with diamonds??

aroh.. I went back to teach PE.. haha.. then after that went back to see Principal for my sis. sigh..

livinginsg

Hi hpc! That was a close shave!;-) I really really cannot imagine losing my evening gown, or rather my HTB will not want to imagine that! hahaha, having to relive all the dress-trying moments....;-)

More updates from me:
1) Did the ROM e-filing
2) Meeting the JP who will marry us at Sentosa

Happy Valentine's day, girls!:)

glympse

hpc - so drama! vv happy for u that u found ur EG tho
can imagine how it would hv felt to lose it!

Btw, where did u go for ur photoshoot? and did u do ur indoor shots first then outdoor, or vice versa? My brother's gg to be our photographer, it's also his first time doing a real photoshoot, so we all a bit blur as to what's the best way to go abt it. I guess our main concern is tt it'll get hot outdoors in the afternoon. any thoughts/tips?

PK - hey! did u manage to figure out the notification thing to certify that u're single?

habe

yes! they ceasing operations tomorrow! we are suppose to be passed over to another studio but dunno what the terms are. And dunno how the new studio will treat all these "transferred brides"
Going down to discuss later. Not good thing at all to be happening at a date so close to the wedding!!! photo album all haven done. shite.

livinginsg

Hi Glympse! No, i have not!:) That notification thing is for the church wedding in August so i figure-let me put out the fire here first!;-)

My recollection from my PS. Hope it helps.:) My photoshoot started from indoors, so from the casual outfit and therefore least makeup> evening gown>wedding gown. And, do plan your outdoor locations in such a way that u are not exactly under the sun during the hottest part of the day. Will be so tough to look happy and romantic with the sun on your back! My photographer was able to pick an extremely shady area in Sentosa so we were somewhat spared from the heat. We started at 10am and ended at 5pm. And, we had only three locations i.e. the studio, clarke quay, sentosa (with a very short stop at my place).

When is your PS? When is your HTB joining you in SG?;-)

w33lp

I thought that it's reasonably-priced? Coz my best friend told me her Lee Hwa's wedding rings cost $3k, nearly $4k. So if Cartier only cost a bit over $4k, then it's not that ex right??? Right? Right?

noknok

eh.. our pair with 3 small diamonds and 1 other stone each cost total about S$2k for a pair leh.. I dunno about the rest. Mine on white gold too.. got it at eclarity.

w33lp

nok,
*tssk* I think the main local jewellery shops like Lee Hwa, Goldheart etc are slightly overpriced compared to the smaller shops like Eclarity.

mary_jane

Hi all.. I've not select my AD PG.. haha! We may just ask our friend http://www.weddingmomentsphotography.blogspot.com/ to help out since he's our ROM PG on 3 Mar. Need some advise from you gals:
1. We need to do minor reno works at my hubby's place (paint the house, renovate the common toilet and install aircon) and buy new furniture for our bedroom. Anyone of you have contractors to recommend?
2. Mattress: What do you call the type that when one person moves, the other person won't feel the movements? Is it pocketed spring? Brands like Simmons and Tempur are just sooo expensive.. What are your average budget for bedframe + mattress?

superfamous

mary_jane, maybe you can check out robinsons, they are currently having offer on their mattresses & absorbing gst on weekends.

we are getting the sealy premium edition (supposedly for their 150th anniversary), for king size, after rebate & discounts, slightly under $3k. for bedframe, we are budgetting about $1k, if lesser even better.

footprint

nice! :D

so now can get down to do your photo montage if you plan to have that..

I waiting to view the layout @ LaBelle nx week.
As well as to choose my wedding theme n favours from NCQ.

juski22

tq tq

these are the door gift for my ROM... it look me smetime to do..as always not enuff material if not i always buy the diff material..haha.. tat y nw u can see 2 diff door gift..

do u all thing i can use as my favour again for wedding diner?

w33lp

Why not? Most of your dinner guests won't be going for ROM right? Only a small no of ppl will be going for ROM right?

Btw, your hotel doesn't provide free favors for your dinner? They should le!

irritant

juski...that's so sweet n cute!

2 moo moos...hahaha...both of u born in year of ox ar?

elyse, my wedding bands cost $1.2k for the pair from lee hwa...end of the day worth it or not is up to you de lar...if u really like it then it's worth it...

juski22

erm.. i oso dun no.. hotel did gv.. butter cake..haha.. juz tinking oni but... i tink in the end i wun do..coz i getting lazy liao.

2 moo moo coz it this year mah..haha. actuali wanted to find 1 monkey and 1 rat.. but smehw alot of shop dun sell it this way...

glympse

PK - hahaha gotcha
hope u manage to figure it out soon! Guess ROM shld be able to help u out I hope

Thanks for the tips re the photoshoot, they'll come in useful! Care to share the photos? Would love to see how they turned out!

My PS is on 2 April (avoided 1 April in case ppl thought we were playing a prank :p). HTB is coming to SG in late Mar, hopefully 1-2 wks earlier hehe. Looking fwd for him to be here lah
))

livinginsg

Hi Glympse, am excited for you! A close friend of mine (she is getting married in Aug) is going through the same thing. Her HTB is based in BJ while she is in KL and of course, having to plan a wedding amidst the missing-each-other agony.

if you could PM me your email, i can email the pictures. I still do not know how to post my pictures here + i am kinda shy to share my pictures on a forum.;-)

glympse

Hey PK, just sent u my email add

Haha yea, it's an experience planning a wedding separately, but gd thing is tt parents are vv supportive, good oppty to spend time w them too b4 i move overseas

sylmc

Habe - count your lucky stars! At least your BS is responsible to transfer you to another BS. There was a BS that ceased ops in IMM a few years ago and they did not informed the couples who signed up with them. Among them were couples who have did their PS but have not collected their album....

With your wedding 5 weeks away, you have to make sure the BS places you on 1st priority. Do hold them by the neck closely to ensure no hiccups. Best to settle all outstanding tasks ASAP liaoz. Good luck! You will have a happy wedding

noknok

We are close to settling our Honeymoon package le. Going Bali.. haha.. cut cost. Below a quotation that I got. What do you all think?? Going to take out diving and replace with cruise.

Bali Honeymoon - Based on 7 days trip

7 Days / 6 Nights Package. (21 September – 27 September 2009)

Day 1. Arrival at Bali (Denpasar) Airport.
v Meet & Greet
v Pick up transfer to your villa.
v A truly remarkable and feature temple, Tanah Lot is built on a stony narrow piece of terrain, which the high tides transform into an island, making right of entry from the land impossible. Here you can enjoy the most beautiful sunset view of Bali.
v Dinner at the local famous MADE WARONG. (Self paying) Popular dishes: Nasi Campur, Crabs in Balinese sauce, Soto Ayam, Melon Ribs, etc….
v Back to Villa.

Day 2. Island Tour (all meals inclusive)
v Breakfast at Villa.
v Depart from Villa at about 9.30am
v Art Market – In this art village we will visit the Batik painting; you can even request the artists to draw something you like on your newly bought T-shirts or garments. After that we would visit MAS where wood carving artists display their long hours beautifully carved works. Many tourists would pick up their favorite pieces to either display them in office or home.
v Kintamani - watch the beautiful Batur volcano and enjoy a local & international buffet lunch
v Coffee Plantation – Free sampling of Balinese coffee or a cup of ginger tea. You can also buy some of the Balinese coffee or local product for your friends & relatives back home.
v Tampaksiring -The legend of Tampaksiring and Tirta Empul, it’s about how Lord Indra defeat the evil King Mayadenawaruled who ruled over a vast area which included Bali . Mayadenawa possessed the spiritual power to transform himself into anything he desired. Unfortunately he misused his powers and became a cruel, black magician.
v BBQ Lobster set dinner at Jimbaran Beach. Jimbaran is directly south of the airport, on the way from Denpasar towards Nusa Dua. The village of Jimbaran is the narrow neck of the island of Bali , and thus it has two remarkably different beaches. On the west, Jimbaran Beach faces the Jimbaran Bay , recently lined by new luxurious resorts. On the east, the beach faces the body of water sheltered by Benoa Harbor.
v Back to Villa.

Day 3. Relaxing Day.
v Enjoy a relaxing day at your villa (lunch not include)
v After Lunch pamper yourself to a all time popular “Stone Massage”(2 hours)
v Dinner at Atmosphere, Kuta (not include)
v Back to Villa

Day 4. White Water Rafting
v Breakfast at Villa.
v Depart at 9.00am for Bali’s most adventurous White water rafting.
For this event you need not bring towel, but you are required to bring a set of clothes for changing after the rafting. Enjoy one of the best watering rafting in the world, with mighty nature. You will experience unforeseen thrill and excitement when cleaving rapids and rocks while your guide will complete your journey through this natural virgin forest. There is no worry for this event as you will be well taken care off by our professional and very experience guides that guarantee your safety with a lot of fun throughout the trip.
v Lunch will be served at the end of your journey. (included)
v UBUD, visit the old palace of Balinese concubine. A traditional market is located just across the road, this is where you can work on your bargaining skill for souvenirs that catches your attention.
v Dinner at Kuta (not included)
v Back to Villa.

Day 5. Beaches Day.
v Breakfast at the Villa.
v Diving @ Padang Bali(2 dive) incl. equipments, soft drinks, lunch box & dive guide
v Pamper yourself with Balinese Traditional Massage
Today, lunch (not included) you might like to try the most famous Sop Butut (ox’s tail soup). Dinner(not included), we recommend a small but fresh sushi restaurant. (very reasonable price)

Day 6. Relaxing & Shopping Day
v Have a relaxing morning
v Lunch at Kuta area (not include)
v Shopping in Kuta & Legian
Enjoy the most popular Traditional Ritual SPA of Bali (2 Hours)
v Live seafood dinner in one of the very popular seafood restaurant (not include)
v Back to Villa

Day 7 Check out, Home Sweet Home
v Check out from Villa
v Transfer to airport
v Home Sweet Home

PACKAGE WITH THE FOLLOWING HOTELS:

The Beverly Hills , Villa www.balibeverlyhills.com (Market rate: US$3,300)

(6 nights, 1 bedroom villa with private pool) US$2,280 / couple

Above package rate include:

1. 7 days private transport with driver (8-10 hours/day)

2. A two hours Traditional Ritual Spa Treatment.

3. 2 Hours Stone Massage

4. 2 Hours Traditional Massage

5. 6 night’s accommodation.

6. White Water Rafting.

7. 2 Dive @ Padang Bali , include equipments, soft drinks, lunch box and dive guide.

8. 2 Lunch (1 at Kintamani, 1 after Rafting)

9. 1 BBQ Lobster set dinner at Jimbaran

10. All rates are inclusive of tax.

11. All entrance fee & parking.

Above rate not include airfare, guide fee, driver’s tipping.

verena

mary jane> it's pocketed spring mattress, whereby each coil is individualised and so when the other person moves, the rest of the springs are not affected. I got the Lotus Richmond king-size + storage bed for 4.3k

w33lp

aroh,
Hehe, HTB thinks it's worth it so I'm fine la. Anyway, he's the CFO not me. =p

juski,
Unless u really want to make the extra effort and money and time to do the favors, if not, just use the hotel's la...

nok,
Your package seems very expensive for Bali... If you take a airfare + hotel package from local travel agency then rent a driver (to drive u around everyday) when you get there, it should be much cheaper.

irritant

nok, personal opinion...kinda ex...when i went 2 months back the driver from the hotel cost around S$100 for 12 hours...include car, driver and petrol...

airfare not in also...not cheap to fly SQ. unless u fly jetstar? lol...ur price in USD leh...i would think it's not cheap lar...but considered cheaper than flying to UK liaoz...

noknok

hmmm I thought the price was ok... cos I'm looking for villa with private pool... But then I nv been there before... so also dunno the price.

all the activities and spas are in leh.. what's the average price then?? with 3 spa sessions??

I checked. SQ abt $450 incl tax per pax, Lion air about $250 incl tax per pax.

noknok

If I take out the diving it will be USD$400 off the package price. Then I was thinking of adding a full day cruise that includes banana boat, water slide, snokelling etc. that's 2 x USD$65.

irritant

nok....dun take lion...hahahaha...i rather pay more for SQ...even jetstar is better...

i guess the bulk of the cost is for the villa with pte pool...diving is ex too...

h2hm2m

Nok, there are alot of nice spas all over the island and a 3hrs spa session which includes scrub and massage costs ard $10usd. At least that's what our regular charge us when we r there.

Perhaps u can go to any agent and ask them to quote u a free n easy 7D6N package with airfare n accom at the same pl. Then go there and book ur own activities. Activites like sight-seeing and water rafting can be booked there with local agents,and perhaps u can bargain w them too.

Wun it be nicer if ur plan ur own itinerary when ur there?

w33lp

nok,
Are u sure diving is US$400 at Bali? That's like Maldives' price leh... If you go for local dive shop, I think it should be much much cheaper.