(2009) Brides of year 2009

chubby_ting

Hi Shice,

I dont think OPH can hold up to 100tables... it is too small! Haha... their biggest ballroom is Antica Ballroom...

Hi Candice,

I am booking with FRR.

sweet_candice

Hi Shice, I feel that the OPH march in is too short. Maybe for the march in, page boy enter from left door, flower girl enter from right door, meet in the middle and match down, blowing bubbles. Then FH enters from left door again, strike a post and wait for me in the middle, and I will enter slowly from right door and hold his arm. Together we will match towards the stage.

Do you think it is too drama??

krystal80

Mine ah? I choosing 5th Dec coz my hubby wants year end wedding =P Coz our dating anniversary also year end..haha but too bad our anniversary not on a weekend else it'd be quite cool to have on same day (although tt means less pressies for me...haha)

Any preps done yet?

piggylover

wow.. me too plan Dec also cos of our anniversary. the date is on saturday but we not confirm yet, due to need a shifu advise b4 we commit le.

hopfully after we chk with him will get the date we wanna too. hehehe

im still in mid of gather n shortlist the dinner venue, PG, VG, BS n other wedding accessories nw. ppl say i too KS liao.. hahahaha. bo bian le. scare last min will pop out problem on AD.

wat abt u?

reinn

hi ladies..
any1 whether the tongshu for 2009 is out? i tot of going to ask for dates but i scare the dates r not out

piggylover

hi reinn,

the tongshu of 2009 will be out only after chinese 7th mth in 2008. there are 2 version, i think the taiwan version will be out 1st. but is quite different from the standard version which shifu will refer to.

if u r unable to wait for it, can get a shifu who is able to advise you matching AD base on u n ur parther ba zhi without waiting for the tongshu.

piggylover

hi reinn,

hmm... it will b safer to confirm the dinner venue at least 1yr in advance if u r worry. not much choices will be available if for 6mth preparation. if u r getting a wkend wedding.

krystal80

hi reinn and piggylover! =)

Wish I could help with the tongshu thing but i am super kantang so dunno anything about this kinda thing.

Piggylover, actually not really true. I was originally supposed to have my wedding this dec but had to postphone due to certain circumstances. I called hotels in July 07 to enquire for hotels (thinking that was early liao) To my shock, out of 10, probably 7 were already booked and just waiting for the couple to make deposit before can tell me if that date available or not..I was like "wow...and I tot I was KS =P"

I have a friend, she called in May 07 for Oct 08 slots at one hotel, all the weekend slots booked liao...

My preps mostly all done liao..haha since I tot I was having it this yr. My bridal studio is opened by my hubby's friend and hotel also more or less confirmed liao. Just waiting for some nitty gritty details to be out of the way and then can settle liaoz =P

ppl who never plan wedding dun realise how much work and time is involved...u actually very smart =P hee hee (coz I also think the same...haha)

If u all need help, just lemme know...
After all, did so much research liao might as well as share as much as I can =)

piggylover

hi andrea,

wow.. so ur AD is in year 2008? gd tat u hav all the arrangement ready. so no worry n jus b happy to wait for the day to arrive. hehe..

hmm.. dunno when the pkg will b out for 2009.

for me mayb too kanchong liao. even my boss say im KS le. hahaha.. but i dont care lar. as long as i hav done all my homework for my big day can already.

ther is an upcoming wedding show @ marina square next wkend. mayb will b dropping by to see their fashion show wedding gown, cos i intend to get MTM gown. hopfully will get more ideal abt it b4 i can provide my request to the BS.

krystal80

whoops, i mean tt my friend called in May 06 for Oct 07...hahahaha =P

My orginal Ad was supposed to be this Dec but I postphoned it to Dec 09 =)

yeah lor! this kinda thing really need to do a lot of research first...ppl say u ks nm, as long as on the day ur happy n everything goes smoothly...haha....

When going for fashion shows at hotels and all tt, be very careful not to be swayed by them..coz I had a friend who signed with them, later had HEAPS of probs, ended up forfeiting her deposit and signing elsewhere...so just to tell u all to be careful =)

Usually BS will discuss with u what design u like, what cut and styles suit u best and then come up with a design for u..but of coz yeah lah, u got to do ur homework =P

vanilla_cyndi

Can i just check with you all.... Does hotels organise wedding fair only once a year?

Cos i missed the wedding fair this year and if they only held once a year i won't be able to book my banquet during their fair.

Anyway my wedding date falls on 03 Jan 2009.

reinn

oh ladies..
actualli i plan to get my AD in dec 2009. i roughli kw which BS i wan is just headache the tongshu is not out yet dun kw shld i consult the shifu first?

piggylover

hi andrea,

thx alot. hahaha.. ya lor. gotta b careful of the hotel poloso. hehehe

so which hotel hav u decide for ur dinner venue?

piggylover

hi reinn,

oya... the tongshu will nt b out so soon till next yr.

for me i may tik tat it maybe too late to make arrangement for planning. now aday gotta plan at least 1 year in advance or even earlier. as wat andrea told us abt her frez enquire in May07 for Oct08, most of the hotel or restaurant was booked. wkend is a very popular timing as it is convenience for the couple n all their guest to attend.

do discuss wit ur partner if ur require to wait for the tongshu or consult a shifu. if u nd any help. i can recommend u 1 which i will be heading early next yr. tis shifu can quote afew AD w/o waiting for the tongshu.

krystal80

I am considering Merchant Court coz the co-ordinator that I used for my ROM went to Merchant Court =) plus it's more convenient for my guests after my church wedding to go there...

Urself?

reinn, which BS u planning to use?

piggylover

i will be having my solemnisation on my AD. Planning to have it either in the bride room or a small function room before dinner start. gotta discuss after the venue hav been confirm.

piggylover

yes, very excited. evendun it is 2yrs ahead from nw. jus worry abt our AD & dinner venue. hopfully is the date which we wanted.

hmm.. tentative our 1st choice is OCC. but will compare more places to see their pkg offer too.

krystal80

I'm attending a wedding dinner there this Nov =P
Will let u know how it turns out..hee hee...

Usually once settled the date, venue and bridal studios, can slack a bit liao...haha

Hihi all 03 Jan 09 Brides to be!
I'm also having my AD on 03 Jan 09

wow seems like lotsa couples getting married on 03 Jan 09! looks like it's a 'hot' date hehehe

piggylover

wow.. you are attending the wedding there? okok.. thanks alot!

tis few days looking through different website for the PG and VG. hahaha.. comparing afew now.

chubby_ting

Hahahaha wow so many 03 Jan 09 brides!!! Actually me also that date 1 but my mum say 16 Jan beta 4 me...

Vanilla, I also same as you lo.. I scared later miss this yr wedding show then next yr would b too late liao.. So I sign up during their this yr wedding show then can get more perks! Haha... Kiasu abit is gd! whaha.. which hotel you shortlisted? If their wedding show just finished maybe can ask if you can still get the same perks.... try try ah no harm ma...I think I heard some hotels do twice per yr... but the thing is now Oct liao... Next one sure is next yr one ah! If you reli wan the venue then book 1st ma...

vanilla_cyndi

Hi Shining Hoshi

I've shortlisted fullerton but their wedding show over liao. If i wait for their next year wedding show, i'm worried will be too late. And they are very slow in replying emails.

I think i should call them directly.

vanilla_cyndi

I've just called Fullerton Hotel (Since they are so slow in replying emails) and they told me that the bookings for 2009 wedding banquet will only be open first quarter of 2008 which is around march/april. And their wedding fair will be around that period.

Does most of the hotels started so late?

My wedding is 03 Jan 2009, am so worried that i won't be able to get a slot in my dream hotel.

shice

woah.. seems like 3 Jan quite popular.. think most pple dun like to hold it too near CNY, that's why less of late Jan BTB..

Vanilla, if u're worried, why dun you highlight to your wedding coordinator from Fullerton and state that you wan to reserve that date. Write in black and white if possible. Coz i know some coordinators kok up within themselves and let go of the date to another couple.

yingz

Hi Vanilla & gerbera_gal,
Hi five.. we're all 3 Jan 09 brides...
I wanted mine to be end of next yr actually, but my bf's grandpa passed away last yr, therefore had to postpone to Jan 09...
Being kiasu, i chose the earliest date...=)

chubby_ting

Hi All!!!!!

I have just secured a place @ FRF!!! Haha vanilla you r expensive bride man... Fullerton leh... hehe ex wor... Ya lo I think not much Jan 09 bride especially my date... ppl don wan near CNY.... Sigh... Haha... Mine is a week b4 CNY.. thinking got any nice deco to do up for ballroom ma got CNY feeling haha...

reinn

hi andrea
i tinking i will take amanda lee weddings. actualli i went to c her be4 and i try on her gown be4. i tink tt she is not those pushy type and i realli like her creative

hihi gals! yay! so happy to see so many of us AD on the same date hehe...

actually my AD is supposed to be earlier. Went to see geomancer for date, and he gave 2 dates. The earlier date is in Oct 2008, supposedly an 'auspicious date' but when i call up the hotels to ask for that Oct date, most of the hotel already fully booked for wedding dinner on that date.

so in the end decide to ROM in Oct 08 first instead then hold the chinese customary 2.5mths later which falls on 03 Jan 09. Was thinking not bad leh, cos 03 Jan is a Saturday just after New Year's day so many ppl still holiday mood... just hope my guest don't go for long weekend holiday during that time.

hi Shining Hoshi
Where's FRF? (sorry not very good with abbreviations)

ahh such a pity, otherwise you could have join us getting 'off the shelf' on 03 Jan hehe... But i'm sure your mom definitely picked the best date for you! maybe you can suggest to the banquet coordinator if they can do up any special CNY deco for you since it's so near CNY.

hi Vanilla!
Fullerton is a nice choice. Are you thinking of the grand ballroom or the Straits room? The Straits room is really gorgeous! Personally i prefer Straits than their ballroom haha. But it doesn't accomodate alot of tables, max 12 i think. i'm thinking of holding my ROM solemnisation in the Straitsroom.

You may try calling fullerton cos they are quite popular. But strangely I could never get through to them on the phone. On the contrary, I emailed them and they did reply me rather promptly.

hi Shice
Wow! you confirmed your AD venue so fast. i did enquire abt GCW too, but they told me 03 Jan 09 has already been confirmed and booked sometime back. hehe so it was u

I went for a site visit at GCW last week. I like the reception area of the grand ballroom... very neat and posh looking!

hi Yingz! *high^5* back haha...
sorry to hear abt your bf's grandpa. yours is no choice but have to postpone... mine is postpone since can't get the right venue i want.

so where are you thinking of holding your banquet? started on your wedding preps? so many things to plan and book... my pocket starting to burn hole liao...with all the deposits coming up... haha

vanilla_cyndi

Hi gerbera gal

I've only seen the grand ballroom and wanted to make appointment to see all their ballrooms.

But when i call them this morning, they told me i can only make booking around first quarter of next year which i think is not possible cos i don't think hotels open for bookings so late.

I will try calling them a month later which will be 1st NOV.

Hi shining hoshi

My husband and i dun really earn alot but we will save as much as we can to have our wedding there cos i really love that hotel. And he already promised me to held it there and no where else. *** Hope he keep his promise ***

shice

gerbera, haha.. I booked in June this yr.. worried that we couldn't get the date and hotel we wanted.

Now it's the BS part that i'm gg to get worried.. coz quite slack.. thinking can start searching in march.. heh..

How come so many interested in Fullerton? Their price quite ex leh.. and also.. grand ballroom is at the bottom level.. must take note of the stairs, coz i think someone highlighted that it's not easy to walk down in wedding gown, esp when u have a long trail..

chubby_ting

I think Fullerton is a nice place & I am sure their Bridal suite is great & posh also!

Every girl have their dream.. but be realsitic so that we wont end up in debts.

I am having AD @ Furama Riverfront...

krystal80

hi reinn, oh cool! My friend is using her also and I got a chance to talk to Amanda too...she's really nice and friendly =) Ur in good hands....

Did u go to the Cantonment or Delfi branch?

yingz

Gerbera, FRF stands for Furama Riverfront...
I plan to hold my dinner @ NCQ (Novotel Clarke Quay)... My pocket oso burning big hole le.. =) So far only got my BS confirmed... Its Seletar BW... As for PG & VG, they'll be brothers from my church..=)

yingz

Shining Hoshi... U've made a gd choice man.. I've heard bout the great ballroom that they haf, with high ceilings & 3 chandeliers somemore !! GD Choice !! But food wise, the comments i heard was'nt so great, but u may find it otherwise..=)
So u've placed ur deposit arady ..??

melissa020302

Do you have any idea where we can book local photographers and beauticians to follow you to another country for wedding? My Finance is korean. We would like to have our wedding in korea even though we are going to stay permanently in Singapore. I ever seen some wedding photos taken in korea, kind of too traditional and old fashions. I prefer local ones.

Rgds
Melissa

melissa020302

Do you have any idea where we can book local photographers and beauticians to follow you to another country for wedding? My Finance is korean. We would like to have our wedding in korea even though we are going to stay permanently in Singapore. I ever seen some wedding photos taken in korea, kind of too traditional and old fashions. I prefer local ones.

Rgds
Melissa