(2009) Brides of year 2009

mashi_mashi

Twinfairy.

my bf dun mind. juz his parents lor. so hv to keep the stay as short as possible lor. no choice.

true that 7th mth all wedding related tings cannot do. so 2 choices either b4 7th mth do or after 7th mth then do.

my date still ok as is end of 8th mth.so i can give out my invitation at beginning of 8th mth.

those earlier de can consider give out invitation b4 7th mth n once 7th mth over, remind the guest n confirm their attendance again..

hmm. true once the wedding preparation is in process, no way to say no in proposal lor. but then at least at another point of view is tat the guy no need to be so stress out lor when come to tink of a plan. haha..

but tink i fortunate de. he still wan to propose n is tinkin abt it lor. making me feel pamper at a pt. haha..

no worries, ur "parents lunch" sure ok de. as long ur father never say dun like him. sure no prob..

jing85

Hi orist,

Welcome! I'm from Golden Horse(Yishun). Afterall, all the packages is almost the same. Maybe you can try to bargain more things like FOC ROM package and more poses. If you dun need your "chuan Tou" photo can request to change to something else too.. Can PM me if you want to know my package. Anyway my coordinator is Helen..

sparkless

the "parents lunch" is quite intimidating, even to me. hais! i was in a very messy r/s before i got my bf. thus, my parents are very wary and guarded now towards my bf. sometimes, i wonder if they are testing my bf to a point i feel sorry that my bf has to go thru so much for me.

i remembered when my best pal flew into singapore last year, she "interrogated" him so much that he just kept holding my hand so tight. i can feel his anxiety and i feel bad he has to go thru another round.

zerochristy

Twinfairy> I not worried la. Just have to make your preparation early can liao. If you all have wedding dinner on early Chinese 8th mth than your invites sent it out in the Chinese 6th mth last week so will not clash with the 7th mth. Ya 7th mth is mostly freeze. Some even PS also not done on 7th mth.

Oh my FH just ask me over dinner on 31st Dec 2007 which I also intended to do the same on that day. The both of us “Xin Lian Xin†hahahah. Just a normal question… over dinner. No flowers and no ring. But I know he also shy even he ask me that simple question. My FH is lucky that he dun need to tell my parents abt it. I told my mom and she told my dad la.

We did have a meet the parents lunch in Apr 08.. cause we dun want our parents to see each other only Rom day.

Not to worry sure you dad will be happy for you to be marry.

sparkless

christy - is good that both sets parent meet before your ROM. can manage both sets parents' expectations better. when's your ROM day? =D

wow, u gals are totally cool about the whole wedding preps. very good, i must learn from you all. stay cool! =D

verena

Mashi> thot i was the only one ard that bf hasn't proposed but we've already started wedding prep. Haha, even my date for wedding banquet booked already. Well, he did allude to me that he will propose within these few months and intend to make it a special surprise for me...=) looking fwd to it =)

So far gals on this thread have signed on with Bridal Room and White Link. I'm considering of visiting Bridal Veil, Sophia as well. Any comments on those 2?

Twinfairy> Me and BF also have same problem as you. Had been looking ard for resale flats for the past 3 months. Seemed that the valuation price kept going up. Shortlisted this flat that we liked, but still undecided if we should buy it at this current juncture since prices are at its peak and so much speculation that property will drop end of this year. Wonder how badly HDB prices will be affected by the economy?

Keke, I also haven't fixed the 'parents meeting' yet.

lalaa_27

hey Grace.. dats great! can meet up for lunch sometime den

wah Stella.. u celebrate ur bday for 3 days ah? hahaha

hmm venue.. r we all havin dinner together?

mrswang

I agree with mashi & christy. Just dun clash with the 7th mth can le. I heard that 8th mth onward is very good for wedding.

Sometime i wonder ar Wedding is just a one day thing yet need so long to prepare. hehe..

Seem like alot of u gal have not ROM yet. =)

mashi_mashi

Twinfairy,
can c tat ur BF really makes alot of effort to b wif u. muz cherish him hor... keke..

Christy,

My FH n me got the idea to get married by next yr. so we did discuss then after tat inform our parents on our decision lor. n both family support. juz go ahead wif our plans lor. haha..

Verena,

u nt the only one. no worries. although we started preparation b4 the proposal, we are lucky tat our bf will take the effort to do the propose. haha...

my mum met his parents when we went to get date fr the shifu. so still ok. haha.. juz hope tat all will progress smoothly. haha...

heard that sophia nt bad. tink fren got use them. do go dwn to c u like the gowns n service or nt. all ppl got different expectations. haha..

mrswang,
ya. tink quite a no. of us wan to plan ROM n AD at the same day. haha

but nw, my plan change. ROM in Jun. AD in Oct. keke.separate out. But ROM is for immediate family n close frens...

zerochristy

Twinfairy> My ROM 28th Sept 2008

Verena> My Bro got his BS from Sophia and I know its expensive. Hmmm... there is a thread form Sophia you can have a look. I read that Sophia when it comes to Photo selection the BS want the couple to select within 1day... heard that some couple got stay pass mid-night that kind.

mashi_mashi

Christy,

agree. sophia is more to high end.
but then photo selection is normally done within a day mah.fr my understanding lar...

u BS allow u to use few days time to select ur photo ar??
say pass midnite.. abit kua zhang on tat. keke..

mrswang

twinfairy,if i know early! i wont get my flat so early. alot of my fren say is exp for a 4rm new flats. but location is really very good! bo bian le now. buy liao.. hehe..

anyone know this BS call santiago(dunno spelling correct) isit close down or they have move out le. last time was located at bugis junction?

zerochristy

Mashi> My BS I heard some girls cannot finish selecting the Photo the come back the next day.
I will ask for you all again okie?

Ya I read from the Sophia Thread that some select way pass midnight....

Peareys> Will sent you aft my com got fix this weekend.

mrswang> Its santiago located at Tanjong Pagar... I been to Santiago but in the end choose My Bridal Room. Of coz something made me change my mind la.. cannot say here... I can PM or email you why.

mashi_mashi

mrswang,

where is ur flat? when u get it? if u say urs ex, mine also very ex mah. haha...

Christy,

hmm. mayb ba. unless u got alot of photos lor. then can possible cannot finish choosing. heng my PG is focus on the quality nt quatity. haha...

so i still nt so worried. kaka...

verena

Whoa...u gals are really fast with replies. I'm going Marina Sq for dinner with bf later. Gonna check out the BS there, Bliss and Bridal Zone.

sparkless

Christy - u mean you are not having wedding banquet? keke, then will be same as me although we may differ from our original plan, still enquiring all possible venues.

mrswang and mashi - nowadays no cheap housing. no bother what people said, as long as both happy with the purchase why bother. realised that no matter what you do, people will still have negative comments.

we are having everything on the same day to cut cost. also partly because i feel that the idea of ROM first then customary a bit "dangling in the air" unless they are just a few months apart. then there will be the confusion which date is the actual anniversary. haha... but all these are just my own opinions : )

mrswang

Christy, then u having buffet or?

Mashi, mine is at bungkok. i get my key during jan. hdb resale it during june last year. This are all pple give up wan. one of my fren get from there only at 180+k for level 8. but he apply it 3yrs ago BTO. mine level 9 already 200+k. *faint* so much diff lor.

Urs at where? how much u purchase?

Verena, i use bliss for my ROM but din continue with them cos i dun like their gown. so just use up my dep for my rom service. you can go see see lor. =) But they are very pushy.

mrswang

twinfairy, true too. sure got positive n negative comments. just tat my xin li bu ping hen. hehe.. but they say my location very good so worth it. sort of make me balance. heez.

aggiegal

Wah, just 3 days and I am so behind le... Sigh. am busy with last min preparation for a HK trip over this weekend. Later got to pack, tmr fly after work. Aiyoh-ar...

Mashi> I heard Eclarity is good. At least it is still nice that you get to shop around for ur PR with ur FH, yet you wudn't know what he will be getting for you. It's going to be a nice surprise leh. ^^

How come ur FH is staying over you place? Is it becos his workplace is nearer to ur home? Is ur FH's family difficult to go along with? But I think I won't take for granted that nice parents dun mean that you will live along well with them. Even when my parents-i-l are nice, my HB prefers to get our own place, even though I don't mind staying with them. I love elderly ppl. Haha!

But luckily for me, my HB has overseas posting, so we can take our own time to choose a flat of suitable pricing. Where is ur flat?

I suppose that with my 30 Oct, I dun have to worry about giving invitation cards in 7th mth, phew!

Christy> I had 318 pics to choose my miserable 38 pics. It din help that a very large no. of them are very nice. But becos my HB said cannot blow budget, so we really have to harden our resolve and kept to the stated no. We went 3 times, 1st time to just look through all pics (as well as showed my mum), 2nd time to shortlist the pics, and the 3rd time to confirm all the pics. But in the end, we still added another 8 more cos the moods, the expressions are really different. I dun think I can go on till midnight, I think we will find all pics ugly, cos to tired and frustrated. Haha!

My HB and I know each other for more than decade and have dated 9 years. Many ppl find that it's funny that our parents had not met each other before all these years. Hehe! & we decided to let them meet up just once before our ROM in Mar'08 so that it's not so weird when they met up again on our ROM day. Haha! Since then till now, they have not met anymore. Think may wait till our AD ?!? Wah, like very long =P

Twinfairy> I think it's only reasonable that ur family and best pal are so worried for you and only want you to be happy. Glad that your FH despite being stressed and scared, he pushed on beyond their questioning and emerged as a winner. This can easily show how much he loves you. Kudos to him!

Verena> How's your find on Bliss and Bridal Zone? If your FH has proposed to you, must share or? Always find it romantic to learn how guys propose. I think SG guys are not that bad, at least our guys. At least they are willing to propose, and not with the "It's time to get a flat liaoz" *Faintz*

Mrswang> I also heard mixed comments about ur area but mainly to the good side ;) Don't worry. Most impt is that it is accessible by your standard and size is ok with you. I think I am the only one who ROMed le, am I? Oh well...

zerochristy

Hi girls, about the selecting of photos aft photoshot my BS allow us to do the selection of photo 2 or 3 days also can.

Twinfairy> Ya I not having wedding dinner. FIL wants it that way and also our intention also.

Mrswang> Yes we will be having buffet at home so guest/relative can at least eat something.

mrswang

Hi aggiegal,

Wow.. so shoick can go for holiday. Enjoy ya! My fren just came back n tell me damn good area for shopping ;)

I'm also ROMed le. but 2yrs ago. =)You just rom. Congrats!

So where u intend to chose ur flat? btw anyone staying in e east?

verena

Guess what everyone. Suppose to go MS for dinner. In the end, didn't have dinner but signed up with Whitelink BS on the spot! Michelle's service was good and her package she gave was very attractive. Haha, and this is the 1st and only BS i've visited with BF. Am I too rash in my decision? Somehow I feel that I may have missed out the fun of BS-shopping.

concert

Hmm..esther, update me if the food is nice there. Abit worried on the food.. cos some frens feedback last time MM food not so nice.. but I read from forum that recently it has improved.

I signed up with My Dream Wedding, its a new shop at Tras Street (tg pagar)... its based in HK, u know like Julia Wedding News (which is based in Taiwan). So will be going to HK for shoots... their main office is there .. =P

mashi_mashi

mrswang,

my bestie also stay at buangkok tat side. haha..

i got mine at dover 300+k. ex hor. only 9th level. haha.. but tat blk got 40level..

Aggiegal,
ya. at least got some surprise lor. haha..

oh becoz my FH side no room available for us. so decided to stay over at my side as my place got rooms available. anyway, his workplace is also very near my hm. haha...
his family ok de. can get along. but then since no space so hv to stay at my side. but will try to keep the stay short lor. in case his parents dun like. haha..

Verena,

Welcome to join me at whitelink. mayb we might mit each other at the BS. haha...
got a thread under whitelink. can go there to take alook. haha...

actually it depends de lor. if u feel its gd then juz go ahead lor. can i knw ur package is hw much?? but i knw for sure tat michelle will nt b ur co ordinator as she is the sales person stationed in MS. m i rite?

u're most welcome ladies!

hey chuababy, I havent had time to go down to BV. Think the earliest I can go down is mid Aug. kinda busy now. What's holding u back? I tot u wld have signed with them already! hee!

verena

mashi> i took the 3988 package. was told that becos suntec having the roadshow, so it's nett and $300 voucher off either to offset the package or use for more photos.

should i go know the kaki bukit office to look and try on the gowns since I haven't seen their full collection. Though was being a bit impulsive when signing up with them on the spot.

mashi_mashi

Verena,

oh. 3988 de. tat means u able to select their exclusive range le lor. haha... their exclusive range is equal to mtm de. alot of beadings n very nice..

i tink wait til nearer date then go n hv a look. heard got new gowns coming in soon.

my sis also whitelink bride. she also never see the gowns then she sign liao. so far she also very happy wif their service and gowns.

i went dwn wif my sis to c the gowns b4... really nice lor. since u choose them liao. have trust in them lor.

but if u really feel nt safe, then make an appt to go dwn to the HQ to have a look lor. but since we will b take PS early next yr, there will still b gowns coming in...

jayin_fairyland

Oh Kodomo, i went into My Dream Wedding with my fren on one occasion. Their albums are nicely presented.. =) Okie after attending my fren's wedding in dec den i feedback to u.. wahaha. I just signed with mojoideas for their AD PG & VG.

verena

mashi> me feel a bit 'short-changed' if never go try try the gowns, even before PS next year. Haha. Do u noe if they'll entertain me if I just walk in, say on a weekday afternoon, to try on some gowns?

weddingday

Hi Meiting,

I haven even decide on PS date lei, the person nv tell me must decide so early, but me and my HB want to go for PS mid Nov, cos we want to take it nearer to our AD so that the difference won't be too big,

So i go fitting beginning of Sep still ok hor, i hope so, u already confirm with them ur PS date liao ah? u choose which MUA & Photographer?

aggiegal

Christy> Just saw ur WB, it's called a channel eternity ring right? Ur FH's WB really compatible with ur ring. & the ring box... swee arh...

I thot normally BS will allow couples to choose ur pics as and when, need not to restrict to within 1 day?

I wish my parents can just accept not having banquet. Then don't have to waste $. But if having banquet, I also hope the venue is nice, on top of good food, dun wan to comprise the standard of overall outlook. So expensive... Am I too greedy?...

Mashi> Dover is considered quite good area right? That's y the ex price I believe.

Verena> If you are going on weekday aftn, the BS should be quite free and can help you with the gowns. But I believe it will be better if you can get an appt so as to avoid clash with other brides' appt or affect ur impression of them when they can't serve you well as you come in w/o appt.

Mrswang> Oh I see. Is there a reason why you decided to have AD next year when u have rom-ed 2 years ago? Like waiting for the suitable place to buy?

My HB is starting to clear his leave and he wanted to spend some time together before he goes oversea. & we can get cheap rates for air tics, so am just taking it as a short getaway. Everything is just so spontaneous, that we intend to do some planning of iteniary on the plane itself.

But I believe we will have fun, thank you arh.

My HB prefers places like Serangoon, Toa Payoh, AMK, Bishan. I tell you, can wait long long liao lor.

peareys

My gosh...u gers can really chat....haha juz half a day missing and it's alrdy one page long...

Christy>> Take your time no hurry. (^_^)

mrswang>> That bugis bridal shop is so-so only, my bestie took it with them 2 yrs ago,
beside the so-called display gowns infront of the shop is nice...those inside the shops are quite limited and outdated.

mashi>> You ballot under the jan'08??

Aggie>> Actually they have toa payoh central area for ballot tis yr i think, did u try??
Seriously there's too many "fake" house applicants around in the past that takes up those "real" applicants
chance of having a gd area.Luckily the HDB come up with a new rule recently to stop those ppl from doing so.

zerochristy

Mrswang> Hehehe We are lucky that we dun have WB cause my younger will be having WB before me so I kana like can skip. My FH is the youngest son so his other brother also got WB b4 so he also can skip. Good Right???!!!

Aggiegal>
I know my ring is a channel ring… not too sure on the eternity part but lots of the forum girls say it’s a eternity so I guess so ba. My FH’s WB is a plane one on diamonds… guys dun like bling bling. Nice hor the ring box… it comes along when you buy the wedding band at love & co.

Hmmm that’s a case with Sophia le… which I read it from their thread.

No la you not greedy… everyone have different thinking when it comes to wedding arrangements I want mine to be simple and nice but not tired and fussy.

Peareys> I email you liao the calendar and my Wedding band pic.

sparkless

there's a lot of postings to catch up leh in one night... =D

mrswang - i went to buangkok area once to view the new condo there. Is your flat very near to the NEL station? There are amenities around so i think it is worth to buy there. And the best thing is you can clear your housing loan easily.

christy - eternity ring? Can I have a look? I am really into all these eternity rings nowadays, just can't get enough of these bling bling. can show me your rings' picture? Email me? [email protected]

verena - wow! a change of plan and you ended up booking your BS. Congrats! = D

mashi - don't know whether Oct balloting still has dover. the flats are really building up very fast, so don't worry. My guess is by end 2009, the flats will be ready.

aggiegal - I have been trying to plan an overseas trip for end July, but wasn't successful. In any case, enjoy yourself and have a good trip! =D

peareys - *gulps* actually i also heard negative comments about them (santiago). hmmm... then seems like their negativity is not an one-time off thingy.

mashi_mashi

Verena,
Aggiegal is rite. u might wan to call them up b4 u goin down to view the gowns. like tat they can serve u better. as their might b some brides there trying the gowns n they might b busy wif them...

Actually go there to view also gd. then u can also knw who is ur co ordinator. next time u can find the person directly to make appt lor. keke...

Suggest u go on mon -Wed as most gowns returning on these few days. then thurs onwards, gowns are being loan out for wedding.. my tinking lor. keke

Aggiegal,
Ya. dover counted nt bad area. nt really due to its convenient. tink is due to tat there are quite a no. of gd schs ard the area. alot ppl tell us tat its gd for our kids. so sure if sell got value...

Peareys,
Ya. Got mine in the Jan balloting. was aiming tanglin halt. but then when my q no reach, can only select dover liao. haha

happy_ting

hi princess

if u wan to MTM your gown, then sept might be a bit late? cos SB told me it will take 2 months to MTM a gown, then u still need to go for fitting for your gown... make some changes here and there or alteration..i think you should go in august instead. take a look at their OTR gowns first, then decide if you want to MTM or not.

yes i confimed my PS date already, in mid october. my mua is helen and photographer i chose ah tao (based on good comments from SB thread)

raywen

lala & grace -> me me me!!! work ard tanjong pagar but mine is at dbs tower.. so halfway in.. haha.. like that since im in middle, if meet for lunch, u all can pop over liao. As usual, Im lazy la... LOL

and yea 8th august sounds good. Go whr? Harry's at esplanade ah? Grace-> ur hotmail i added u for msn leh

mashi_mashi

Twinfairy,

I tink even Oct balloting still hv Dover also not for chinese to select.

tat time after i selected, i got go bk to check the availabilty. flats left mainly for malays n other ethnic. Chinese no chance liao...

but i believe oct balloting will hv alot of areas wif gd location also. as it is a combination...