(2009/06) ROM in June 2009

Ants ant ants on my desk in office!!! No food here leh. DUno where they come from..argh...

Wedding coming soon this sunday. Very tired this wk. Hope to get over this soon..=(

doubt can squeeze in any time slot to colour my hair this wk. So i guess i hv to make do with my existing fading coloured hair lor..haiz.

ya.. cant stand when see the ants. and if they are in my house i will definitely see them cos floor is white, kitchen top is white.. *faintz*

val> jz make a quick trip after work to the hair salon lor... or get MUA to do some hairstyles to camo fading color, not too bad lah.. dun worry too much abt it. dun think ppl will be noticing ur hair color.. :D

good luck again on sun.. show us pics k.. u too Thomas!

I'm new to singaporebrides and i'm kinda lost.. where shld i go to get more info on suggested venue to hold an outdoor ceremony?

Adela Sim> You can start fm here if you dun mind... first of all you need to get you dates frist then the bridal shop and the rest of the stuff fall in

The dates are available at swisshotel merchant court. Bt I'm not sure... ... I've read some reviews and it doesn't seem to be too positive.

But the setting of the venue is actually perfect!!

Adela> If you dun mind can tell us your AD & ROM dates so we can help tell you by when you should do what.

Let start off with dates:

AD - Actual date for wedding (tea-seving/picking up of bride/wedding dinner)

ROM - ROM date some pple like to have it 1 year apart so it depends on the couple

An chuang - Fix the bed / mattress about 2 days before your AD date

GDL - Guo Da Li date which is hub sent cakes and item to brides place... there is more stuff depend you which dialect this is done about 2-3 weeks before AD.

Bridal Shop Hunting: Shop about 3-5 the max not too much. Can go for wedding show have a look but do not sign on weeding fair go to the shop to look at the condition of the gowns.

Bridal Wedding Photoshot: 3mths before you AD.

I am with My Bridal Room if you need to look for me just look up for me at My Bridal Room thread or PM me... hardly come into this thread

hi Adela... first of all - Congrats!!

by outdoor at swisshotel, do u mean their pool area in can't remember which floor? :P

ya why dun u follow christy's suggestion n see how we can help... :D

Butters- yea it's the only by the pool.

Christy- thanks for your help. But we are planning to just have a ceremony here for my family and close friends and we will be moving back to London for the main celebration. My step-dad and HTB is white, and it doesn't matter to them if we have all the other auspicious dates and traditional stuff. So I'm guessing it's just the signing and the partying after that.

Adela> If you planning to have a small even can choose to have ROM & lunch or dinner buffet by the pool. Hotel give nice package as everything is set up for you
than your overseas guest can stay in the hotel itself too so no need to run about all the day
You save some time thou.

For ROM outfit, Hairdo & Make up these can be buy at most bridal shop "ROM Package" but just take note that some bridal shop do not offer hand flower.. if you need contact for the hand flower I can recommand you

Venue> If you like indoor with aircon you can book a small size ball room to cater to your small group of frnd & family members... + you can have a small march in.

ROM> You would need the date, venue, JP, 2 withness & couple details before you can e-file for your ROM. the earlist rom date is 21 days if i am not wrong.

If you need information do inform us we will help you around to our best

Wedding finally over!! Yay. Feeling great now..planning honeymoon nxt. =)

Adela> congrats. =) Do u hv any budget? How many pax are u inviting?

butters and all here: sorry for the late reply, been v busy after my wedding cos shifting stuff into my new hse...

leave ur emails here for those who wanna view my wedding album layout pics...I will approve u first before u can view cos I have set it to private mode

thomas> hey i wanna see.. i PMed u my email d.. :D

adela> i think the pool area at swisshotel is quite nice. it was one of the place i scouted for my ROM but could not agree on the menu pricing, tt was why went for goodwood park in the end...

so wat exactly do u plan to do? gv us a little detail so we cud advise better?

I actually have a few options going about maybe I can get some advice from you all,
1) ROM and garden party at my mom's followed by a catered buffet
(Garden area might be abit too small thou)

2) ROM at swissotel MC - I really like their theme. Setup and decorations are quite cute too, if you fancy light blue. (Very nice)

3) Any suggestions for outdoor marquee, and location?

*remember I'm marrying an ang moh so an outdoor thing would be preferred, coz all these people like the heat. Not like us singaporeans who like the cold

butters: dun mind can u pm me ur email again? realised u emailed me at my old acct which was hacked into and I have no more access to it. have already updated my latest email =)

Butters - sorry but not too keen in having it at a club..my htb thinks he's asian and surprisingly, he likes to make fun of ang mohs
.but I'm expecting about 60.

Christy - do u happen to know who I'd be able to look for at swissotel MC? Or can I trouble you to send me the poolside setup IF you have? Don't worry about it, if you don't have it or if it's too much of a hassle.

Thanks butters. This link just made my decision abit more firm on their venue. Btw. May I just ask what is the main reason why chinese people don't get married during the ghost festival?

I've more or less have becomed abit westernised, my dad died when I was very little and my mum remarried an irish. So kinda grew up from a very different kinda asian culture and I'm very oblivious to such superstitious believes.

We are actually planning to hold the celebration back in london in august, where the weather is great, and I think that's when it is right?

butters: got it, will add u tonite =)

adela: pure superstition only, actually nothing wrong with getting married during ghost mth as long as u get a good date. however most ppl will shun away from this mth so as not to incur their elders'/parents' displeasure.

as long as u are happy, just go ahead =)

thomas> ok thanks.

adela> ya agree wif thomas.. its jz chinese superstitions.. so if u have none of them and none of ur elders have any opposition then there's no prob.

jz do watever makes u guys happy. u r the ones getting married anyways..

Hi all, I've placed my deposit for the ceremony at swissotel MC. the co-ordinator sent me some pictures of the poolside setup. It's very pretty. So anyone who is intending to hold it there, I'd be glad to share the pictures. Now I just need to pray for good weather.

Was ironing my hubby's shirt last nite...duno y still not straight aft ironing. And i did it like 2-3 times.. Hv no prob with my own clothes so far. And his shirt is cotton, same as mine...werid hor? Is it necessary to use starch then?

Any suggestion? =)

Ya...i tried that too. I'm using philips steam iron. Can straighten abit only. After awhile, go back to original state liao. Like that might as well dun iron.

thanks anyway. =)

thomas> sorry for the late reply. yes can see the photos.. gorgeous!! :D

val> hv u tried jz spraying water instead just using the steam function? then press the iron down hard while ironing.. even 100% cottons react differently on diff shirts.. i hate ironing.. especially hubby's work pants cos need tt stupid line on the pants.. *faintz*

Hello.... so long did not come into this thread.

How is everyone doing? In order to keep us connected... (in case we start going missing) please add me in your FB account, my email is [email protected]

Butters & Val> You are in my contact list already. Any idea feimei have FB?? If she have care to add her to me?? or is she in my list already... heheheh I very blur dun know who is who sometimes :P

Thomas> If you want to add me also can too

heh.. me doin ok.. jz started on my display cabinet now. shud be done in 2 more days. how r u doin?

dun tink feimei has FB acc leh..

oh also attempting to make babies.. haha

Butters> Good to know you are doing good :P Aiya must tell feimei to create one account for FB la... if not I dun k now I talking to who le :P

Oh good to hear that... join the SG Motherhood Forum le.. hahahah.

still trying leh.. only started trying in feb.. no luck yet.. how abt u?

u in SG motherhood forum now ah? need to get tips from there i tink...

Butters> Hahaha I have been int SG Motherhood (SMH) before my AD le Hahahah

Hmmm I think stress also play a part when you want kids
maybe need to relex abit

ya lah, relax... timing also must be good.. its always ppl who wans babies hv to try harder n ppl who wasnt planning jz have them...

u trying too? join SMH even b4 ur AD.. heh... which thread u normally in?

I go all around lor... TTCer in 2010 the most and TTCer kopichat... but the kopichat all preggy so you feel outcase most of the time. The other thread so little pple in it.

So I most of the time i do reading nia

butters: its ok haha...u are a gorgeous babe too!

my wife also hates ironing my workpants hahahaha....the pleats are tricky lol.

christy: just saw ur msg cos just came back from HM hahahaha...okok will add u tonite...

wah so many of u trying for plan bb ah...kekeke. me also trying with wifey

Thomas> Adding you liao can let me see your wedding photo LOL.. Thanks wor!!

People married is ready for family life liao ma of coz want to have bb lor... else married for what right??? LOL

chris: haha think u can see now..let me know if u can't yeah?

some ppl dun like bb...not all ba I guess. otherwise u wun see sg's birth rate so pathetic also.

thomas/butters: Yup...hate ironing the workpants too. that one i anyhow iron....haha.

Butters> yup, will try spraying the water nxt time instead of steam. Din know like tat hv diff.

All> Gd luck in baby making ya. Hope to hear gd news fr u all soon. =)