(2009/06) ROM in June 2009

haha... do u like Gerald's work more or ur PG's work more..? anyways, it is ur big day, so shud understand yah.. Gerald says he does more commercial photoshoots now, so his style is more stylo.. haha.. but i like his work and he is very responsible and professional.

feimei actually from jul rom thread.. :P

i was in park mall yesterday, hubby really like some of the lights but they are really expensive, like ard 1500 (and thats the current sale price!!)

oh and we prob gonna get serta mattress.. tried simmons and serta yesterday, think serta is more comfortable for us.. cheaper by abt 1k also.. really can get sheep but the man there says can exchange for other things.. haha...

Hmmm, I like Gerald's editing style I guess...brighter and yet cinematic... if u have seen my SG prewedding so far, they are quite dark ah... I wait till HB in gd mood then i discuss w him.. think he stress with all the $ leakages recently :p

wah.. i hope 1500 is for the whole hse lighting... and not for 1 light...

serta quite gd also ah... got bb sheep when i walk past shop yest

yeah lolol....i m back....very sorry...was quite busy last wk...soo abit slow on responding in this thread....hahahaha....finally Christy replied...tot she left us...

butters> relax...very fast ur 1st appt will come...dun worry~~~

blur_btb> Wowww....u seem very busy leh...like me...hahahaha....worried if my hse start reno, will be like u? run here n there.... -_-" soo ur hse shld be 90% done? yala...come to reno n AD...is like *donating* 3pkts of blood...hahahaha...got squeezed dry...but it's just that period....after everything....it's recovering period...dun worry....

Butters> Wah dun go to shopping ctr to buy lights hor the price alone will kill. Haha Try getting fm HDB area or Balestier lor.

FeiMei> No la I did not left you all... be bz with the house and moved into the house for a mth liao. Now hor go slight problem cause the house above me slam their door everytime and I got woken up a few times.. I wonder how long I going to tahan. If one day I got baby how ah... think the baby also will jump out of my tummy.

christy> choi...*touch wood* dun anyhow say those things...make a complain to police then make them standby, so they will see for themselves...my parents hse also...staying crazy ppl....every nite scream n shout...slam the door is small case horr...can quarral n shout like nobody biz...and normally wat time, u noe? after mid nite...thats la gi best lol....i always shout out from my windonw: i will call police if u continue...dan suddenly, it went quiet....hahahahaa....aiya..wat to do...resale flats sure to hv such a prob...hope my new home will not hv such prob...but my new place got one prob...too quiet along the corridor....i will need to go off work if i work early...ard 6am...i think will be very quiet....

Christy.. can you go up and tell them nicely or not... if they refuse to budge can go and complain... always start peaceful ah....

christy> Ummm~~if u alone @ home, find something to occupied urself....like watch dvd, online....or ask ur frenx come over ur hse then can chit-chat....

blur_btb> u r too kind....u cannot show them ur face....they will do it more purposely...must hide behind n do something, report to police is the best, if u go up n tok to them, they will ask u mind ur own biz....resale flats r like that, unlike new flats, all will be young couple...all educated one...so will not hv such thing happen....

Blur_btb> I dun think HDB and police will entertain such things. Cause now have mediation service for community matter.

If they are nice still okie just that worried they not nice nia. Last night hor I open my study room window big big and writing the forum at the same time. I was getting ready to shout at them... hahaha (evil I learnt fm FeiMei) but surprise hor no sound le last night and manage to get a night sleep.

Tonight I get ready again...

FeiMei> Alone at home still okie just that suddenly you sleeping than the door slam your heart also want to jump out and its a bit hard to get back to sleep again. If you get what I mean.

christy> i totally + truly understand how u feel...i currently living with such 'siao lang' in the same block....that's y i provide u with my solution. if i early shift...i need to wake up by 5am, so i need to K.O by 11pm (latest)....when i was soundly kunning....upstairs slam the door....shouting, like nobody biz...quarral....slamming door again...i think my side is more intensive than ur side....sooo i really buay tahan dan shout back horr....if not i can't even bother...little noise quarral still ok, i very qing cai one...but u know what normally wat timing? it's after mid nite...sometimes can even ard 1am+....dun u agree these ppl r crazy....they should go n live in their own island....S**T mann...i m those light sleeper, once wake up, difficult to get back to sleep....soo i can truly understand how u feel...

Chanced upon this thread and saw the interesting conversation that u gals had. =)
I had my ROM in Jun and renovation alomost done.
Just wondering how much u gals spent on renovation?

Aiyo... can investigate who stays upstairs first?? in case really got xiao lang... then dangerous.. last time my old place got lor.. really siao leh.. sent to IMH... he throw bicycle down fr 3rd floor...

My current neighbour downstairs also a bit off.. they on aircon i think about 5 deg lor... the coldness evaporating off my floorr... i have to mop in the morning can imagine??? sigh... but my mummy went down n explain to them.. then they no dare le...

Hi everyone! =)

Christy> can gif me ur curtain contact too? Thy will come all the way to s'ore to custome made for u ar? That is v gd service sia...

Butters> found ur mattress already? I'm lookin at simmons too...is slumber really gd? Hearly sealy is gd too.

Everyone> will be collecting my keys by end of this yr? Any idea what i can do or buy in the meantime? Look for an ID? Lightings? My hubby everything also up to me, said he has no taste but i tink mine not any better either...haha

FeiMei> *Boo Hoo* I think the both of us can hug and comfort each other. Haiz.. I really think this pple should be pull out of the house and get shot on their brain. Ya there is a few times thou not a lot I sound asleep liao then the door slam.. got woken up by the slam and it takes me some time to get back to sleep. Surprise le, yesterday also no sound le¡­ I told my hubby maybe they fight and kill each other upstair so no much noise liao. I also prepare myself to shout out of the window yesterday.. nothing happen.

Julia> My reno ah.. S$18k VO not discuss yet cause the contractor hor did not pre-inform us the cost and just do. So I told the contractor.. I will not agree to pay his price. VO is about S$1400+ and after I told him I dun agree to his price he add a additional of S$200+ on top of the S$1400+ so mad about this so we have been holding this VO since Mid July till now. Hahah. Dun care la we did not sign on the VO mah so we not on the loosing side.

Blur BTB> Har?? Throw bicycle out of the house wah the HDB can confiscate their house le... very dangerous case. Lucky did not throw bicycle in the house itself.. every now and than. Wah downstairs your house the neighbour is fm Poland ah¡­

Val> My curtain contact I put here la so everyone can contact LOL..

Curtain: Middle Curtain Design @ JB Taman Sentosa Malaysia. Look for Ms Janice Leong - http://curtain.my/ I paid RM3,000.00. I did the following:

Living Room (Full Lenght night curtain) 1 set
Study Area (Roller Blind Half Length require semi-seethru) 2 set - 1 for left & other for right side ... window too long
2 bedroom (Half lenght MORE blackout curtain - curtain is from ceiling to waist height)
MBR (Roller Blind Half length block out sun) 2 set - we got 2 window, 1 big and 1 small.

christy> yalor....recently my side also sort of quiet leh (dun break the 'tabo', if not tonight come back, i will die -_-!!! ) hAahhahahaha....

btw, wat is VO? is a must for all reno package?

val> finally u r back...long time no c u...u getting new flat or resale?

FeiMei> Variation Order... thats the things you add after you sign your reno package. And also things which is not inside ur quote lor.

Feimei> yup. getting a new flat at punggol, Coralinius. u moved into ur new flat already?

Christy> 18K quite reasonable. Yours is contractor or interior designer? How much is ur initial budget?

Christy> is the curtain shop at sentosa very ulu? If yes, i prefer her to come to s'pore then. Will there be any transport charges?

Anyone custom made their bedframe here? Am tinking of custom made my bedframe as i want those with storage...any lobang?

valerie> i think can custom made bedframe but is going to be very expensive... I just read about some fengshui and the master suggest not to put things under the bed or use it for storage purpose leh... as not good for our QI or smething...

christy> actually quite serious. he not throwing in his house, he threw it downstairs from his 3rd floor corridor..and its an open pavement down there.. he cld have killed smeone...

Everyone> i tink i no need overhaul since flat is new. will do the kitchen, living room, mbr and guest room. Is 20K enuff? Initail set on 30K, but my fren said too ex le....

blur btb> did a major overhaul for my house as it's quite old.

For those who will be doing reno, in the meantime maybe can go source for furniture first, but do not buy yet.

Remember to measure every corner of your house before buying anything!

val> no lah....i got resale flat, 2nd appt next tue, meaning will take keys lol....n dun think will start reno immediately lol....after 7th mths bahhh....

Julia> my hse will come only end of this yr. So better not to buy furniture first lor. I look at household items instead then. =)

Feimei> Congrats. u muz b excited. Hv u found ur ID or contractor yet?

Val> Mine is contractor but I wound not recommend to him thou his workmanship is good cause everytime he got is own reason to say and its quite difficult to over thrown his reason… if you get what I mean. I can recommend you another ID who I felt would be better than my contractor.. and the price is the same.. if you need the contact I can sent you. Our initial budget is 10k nia but did not know that reno is so ex lor.

Curtain shop in Taman Sentosa not ulu la if you know JB well… do you know where is Plaza Palangi in JB? Its just further down nia. No transportation, installation charges at all. Quotation is free one so no obligation.

If you need bedframe no need custom made there is a shop call S&C they have storage bedframe if you custom made will ex de lor.

Fengshui Master ah… its up to you one la… Hehe my dad is FS Master. Hahaha so I can just ask him to pop by.. invite him come still have not come… maybe he know I not paying so dun come. hahaha

Blur_BTB> Wah liao he power le… must be really SIAO one.

wah... so much movements in jz a few days tt i was gone..

christy> feimei> blur_btb> ur neighbours really weird leh.. mad ppl.. shout at them yes but dun go confront them k, christy, dun know wat mad ppl will do.. a lot of ppl unstable nowadays..

blur_btb> shudn't someone call the police on the guy if he threw tt off the flat?

valerie> thanks.. added u in FB.. how many rooms is ur flat? i also wanted make storage bed or maybe platform for bed then storage on the platform ard the bed area.. does tt make sense? :P

my hubby planning to hire FS master leh.. planning to go tmr to chk out place n see wat the guy says 1st b4 decide on wat to do with our flat wor.. didnt know he was so superstitious.. haha..

oh as i was telling feimei, there's gonna be a furniture fair in sept, so if not in a rush can wait til sept.. a cab driver told me.. haha.. some cab drivers really a source of info. :P

and my hubby today put a deposit for a serta mattress.. they can hold the mattress til next year apparently.. the guy also gv him a few freebies..

can i ask, how much is average price for a dining table that is ard 180cm in length? sit abt 6 ppl...

Ya... the man mad was arrested and put into IMH, then a year later he is out again.. so he is like a walking time bomb lor... his brother also siao de.. so theres this time i accidentally got into lift w him, i was really scared!!!

If you gals want to get FS master, do so before you start reno.. just let him know what you intend to do with the space and get him to advise. I didnt look for one... cos I think too much hassle. if he ask me to shift doors n knock walls, I be very stressed...

Butters> Dining table can vary a lot in terms of quality. I got mine from NOVA... extendable.. haha.. 499 the whole set...

My furniture, in order not to get bad pieces from any one store, I got about 1-2 piece from each place...

sofa + shoe rack = Furniture Warehouse
Bedroom set + coffee table = Novena Furnishing
dining set + mattress = Nova

Still pending TV console, bookshelf.. possibly get from IKEA... Then I arrange all to deliver on same day when HB is off and I am jobless.. hahaha

Valerie> I am not sure exactly what storage under bed affects... I am trying to get my poor memory mummy to recall where she saw that from... How about storage bed from Systemind? Can store at the edges...

valerie> actually ikea has bed frames with storage boxes.. maybe can chk tt out?

blur_btb> thinking of chkg out the table from ikea also.. hehe.. hv their catalogue in my hands right now..

Wowww~~~all the thread soo long ahhh.... @o@

val> Ummm~~~not very excited lah...hahahahaha...becoz once got keys...Wowww...alot of things need to plan...do...and the BIG project will be....washing the whole house.... -_-!!!
urs is a 4 or 5rooms? u frenx is right, 30k too much ler....i m squeezing through 5k for kitchen n 2bathrooms...of cos, i not gg to relay the flr n walls lol....sooo hope can squeeze through....but will not save on cabinets lol becos i will be cooking...soo all these must be done...i dun wan headach in future....

All> Ikea 2010 catalog is out....saw a few things to buy but still considering becos my hubby sure oppose becos he always think Ikea things not durable...small things can buy but not those big stuffs.... -_-"

i also planning to hv platform for Master room, so i will only buy one mattress n throw on top...no need buy bedframe....hahahahahaha...change bedsheet also easy ya.... =P

Christy> sure, can send me the ID contact? Thx. =)No, not familiar wif JB at all. Mayb i can ask my fren to go wif me. Wow, ur dad a FS master. V convenient sia. Where is his place? Hv website? If we eventually decide to consult a Master, mayb can go to him. =)

Butters> thanks, will check out the bed frame at ikea. are u goin to custom made ur bedframe too? I still deciding, mayb willcheck out the price first. If really too ex, then i can forget it liao. ikea has nice dining table and coffee table. I intend to get my coffee table fr there.
Also, can check out silver river furnitutre at paya lebar area for their dining sets. Quite nice. =)

Blur btb> ur area really scary sia. Any nearby policepost there? muz be v careful wor. yup, am tinkin of storing at the edges too. =)

Feimei> yup i understand. washing up the hse is really not my forte. Mine is a 4room flat. The area super small lor, only 91. that's y i need lotza lotza storage....

Butters> I think for Ikea, the most not worthwhile thing is probably the sofa followed by wardrobe bah... seems to be quite expensive also...

Feimei> I beg to differ about Ikea stuff leh... cos my current place, I have been using almost all IKEA furniture for 6 years.. all in gd condition except for the sofa which is less lasting cos of the fabric material...

In fact, looking at some of the experiences by friends and other forumners, I doubt quality of some good wood products.. Compressed chipboards from IKEA may not last as long but at least the wood has been so thoroughly processed no weird living things can multiply inside...

For platform rite.. it is good to have for now lah.. if you are planning to have bb, consider the height of your bed okie.. too low later v hard to stand up and bend down...

valerie> used to it le.. hahaha... old areas are like this.. the other day loansharks came to spray paint and use chain to lock up my old place (now subrented to tenant) cos our neighbour borrowed fr loanshark...

Wah you all can chat le¡­ Hhaaha

Butters> No la I also scared to go upstair alone later got mad pple how.. and kana hack by kitchen knives how. My god. Now stress year ma no job no money so pple get mad easily.

Make platform is expensive le. Than if next time move house hor also cannot move the platform.. so felt its quite a waste of money. Storage bed still better can move it out of the house next time
I am not very superstitious la but want to know anything to avoid or bad¡­ my hubby dun believe on the FS thingy but marry a FSM daughter¡­ Hahaha. I can say I believe in a bit here and there¡­ I go to church with my hubby too.

The dining table which we are looking at with chairs (bench & chairs mix) hor about 1.2k no discount. We are more into wood furniture so a bit ex lor.

Ikea thing not lasting de leh. Better dun waste money than later have to buy furniture again.

FeiMei> Redo the kitchen will cost S$3k for the carpentry le.. My MBR hor I redo everything is about S$2.5k.

Ikea 201 catalog is out?? On have to check my mailbox liao Hahaha. I like seeing Ikea catalog but dun buy their stuff much cause dun last.

Val> No need sent you contact I post here la so everyone can note down if they want. Look for Colin of Renozone 97609962. He is the boss of Renozone¡­ and next time I have chance to do my kitchen I will look for him this time round. PS: I have not reno my kitchen yet¡­ no money but still new. :P Remember to ask him to take care of your job cause he is boss mah and can say more.

Oh ya can ask you frnd go with you else you ask the curtain shop pple to go to your house la. Ya good that my dad is FSM but he have not visit my house le¡­

My dad shop is Fulu Geomancy Center,496A Sims Avenue (2nd Floor)
(Between Lor 33 and Lor 35) Singapore 387564 http://www.orientalfortune21.com/en_US/index.jsp

i was looking thru the ikea catalogue for the dining table actually..

page 88 on the catalogue, Stornas series table, clear lacquered solid pine, seats 6-10ppl (extendable), $799.. wat u guys thinks?

butters> the dining table is simple and nice. Will look great with a vase of fresh flowers. =) Looks big though...if can fit into ur hse shld b ok. My hse already v small so i will b getting 4 seater dining set.

val> yayaya...my area oso only 92...not big oso...but good oso...wun tend to buy more things...hahahaha....will stop me from buying things...

blur_btb> u r right mann...! depend on the things that u wan to buy fr ikea lol...or we dun even tok abt Ikea stuffs lah...abit unfair...kekekeke....we tok in general, how long u expect ur furniture or stuff to last? 10yrs or 20yrs? in such living standard, things can last for 3yr the max. u shld be luffing liao lol....dun expect beyond that lol....if u really paid for quality, then of coz lah, it will last...nowadays, everyone wans cheap n good....where to find??? haiZzzz~~~

christy> the ID u intro, good anot? cheap? (hahahaa...i m one of those who wan cheap but good stuffs...hahahaha) =P i know carpentary work cannot save one...esp kitchen stuffs...that's y even choosen good material, need to pay more, i oso got no choice lor....... -_-!!!

christy> thanks for ur contacts(FS & Reno).=)

All> I'm tinking not to spend too much on kitchen since we dun cook. Am tinking of getting the "flat surface plate", which is often used typically for steamboat, instead of stove actually. Wat do u tink?

So if christy's budget for kitchen is 3k. Then mayb 2k will suffice for mine...haha

FemMei> same same. i want cheap and gd too. Our banquet gona bleed us dry and i hope to cut down on other expenses..=)Jus went to the website of the ID intro by Christy. Design quite impressive leh but not much info though.

Link: http://www.renozone.com.sg

FeiMei> A few of the BTB in my bridal shop use him I seen some of the pics can accept. If you all not sure can ask the ID to bring you all to a flat for viewing on workmanship. Try telling Colin that Christine at Bukit Panjang intro de but I did not took his offer. I think he should remember me

Val> No problem

All> Good news the curtain pple call will install curtain this sat. Excited le. Hahaha

Christy> Careful with wood furniture.. My friend got a dining table from a famous brand and very expensive.. inside got termites!!

Feimei> Haha..i dun mind.. if the IKEA stuff can last for 5 yrs, good enough le... I can change and revamp again! Unfortunately my bookcases are still as good as new... I prob buy the same for my new flat...

val> that is called Induction cooker, not cheap oso leh....

christy> hahaha...dun get me wrong, i not doubting the ID workmanship, just that if i pay cheap, i can't expect their workmanship tip-top, right? i oways agree with: "wat u get, is wat u pay for"......

butters> i m considering the chair bench leh....haahahaha...where u can sit against the wall...tot of doing build-in, again, afraid too ex....ytd went to ikea for dinner, happen to c it...i saw the catalog online, it's in there, forgot which page...build-in will not be able to bring with u if u move hse, this one is movable one....hahahahahaa....

ok gers, i jz got bk from ikea, because the table is extendable, can see the 'line' in the middle so dun really like it actually.. :P hubby likes their Torsby table, tempered glass and chrome-plated steel, $299, think tt's pretty ok.. saw something similar at OM at liang court, but its laminate top, a little bit more sturdy than ikea i think but for $1500.. heh..

christy> the reason why always look at stuff at shopping malls is cos we dun drive so we jz go window shopping ard malls to look ard.. unless someone gives us a direct add of where to look for stuff, then we take a cab there.. :P
oh take photos for us to see ur new curtains k.. so excited for u!! how come ur father dun come to see the FS in ur place for u? sorry i kaypoh-ing..

val> ya dun think induction cooker is cheap. also tt time when was enquiring abt stoves, the lady said tt if use all induction is not good cos power might trip or something like tt, so if really must use induction, shud mix with the normal stove.. maybe u cud go confirm with them.. i went to some kitchen/bathroom shop in balestier..

also, chk with the FS master jz now, he said its ok to have storage under bed if u slp in air-con room, something abt room ventilated with air-con.. can ask christy to confirm with her father.. :P

feimei> ya i also considering to put bench leh.. 2 dining chairs and the bench.. :D ya i also looking for cheap and good stuff but like u say, u get what u pay for.. but i agree kitchen shud do properly, and also toilets..

valerie> hey jz saw ur photos in FB, very nice. u seem so happy, smilling in almost every photo i see. ur hubby is a lucky man! :D

Blur BTB> Ya I heard on the termites on wood furniture before. I also quite worried at first but after purchasing our first wood furniture we find its still ok no termites *Touch Wood*

FeiMei> No la I understand.. even I pay I want good workmanship¡­ I heard from the ex brides they claim no problem with Renozone¡¯s work and they both (2 ex brides) have worked with Colin.

Butters> Oh I see¡­ usually for furniture you can go to Sungei Kadut they have lots of furniture shop there and the price is cheaper. Eg. The Natural Living furniture shop there is cheaper than the other branch. Hahah ya ya will take photo cause hubby is out of town he also excited and he want me to mail the photos to him too
My dad busy ma so did not come to my place lor some more my parents stay with my bro at the east Simei than come to my place at Bt Panjang a bit far too. He say will come this sat to look see¡­ cfm with him last night. Hahahaha.

Val> Hahah no need to check with my dad on the bed thingy I read some geomancy reference too saying that bed need some ventilation¡­ I give example¡­ if you have a double decker bed they say the one sleeping below is no good wor it¡¯s the ¡°qi¡± flowing in the room. My mom also told me before that bed dun push to the side of the wall.. meaning that one person must be able to get down from the left or the right side of the bed. She mention that if ones bed is push against to the wall hor than the persons will get very peck-chat one aka temper no good¡±. No mirror facing the bed also one thing¡­ bed better dun face the bed room door directly but can be opp. direction wonder if you get what I mean.

Christy> gd gd. so excited for u. Muz show us pic of curtains ya. i went to a frens's hse for hse warming few mths back. Her curtains v nice with two layers (one layer used sheer material). Not cheap, price ard 2500 for whole hse. Her curtains are the type that must use hooks. And according to her, curtains using hooks look better. But i
find hooks v mafan leh...

Feimei> induction cooker not cheap ar? Ok, will check out price and compare. thanks thanks. =)Ya, i also want the bench too, wif storage underneath. haha..

Butters> thanks. I agree wif u, mu hubby v lucky. heh. Wah...the dining table at liang court v ex wor. u might as well buy from celine.

Gals> thanks for the advice on the bed thingy. Will definitely get a storage bed..=)