(2009/06) ROM in June 2009

butters> my MIL say @ least must buy me a pair of bangle...@ least....i was like ok lol...u buy but i choose the cheapest one...hahahaha...dun wan her to waste too much $$$....and when reached home, she showed me, actually she bot one necklace for me already... -_-!!! u c lah...she oso like us, noe how to 'smoke' ppl...hahahaha...anyway, already bot...i can say nothing... =P

now my hse in tamp...staying wif my dad n bro...my hubby is staying in the west - teban garden...
i hv to think of future if hv kids, who gg to look after for me...my mum not ard liao...soo hv to depend on ILs...no choice, hv to stay near them...@ least travel time will be saved....sometimes...such things hv to give n take lah...i told my aunties....i still staying in sg mah...hahahahaha...

feimei> wah from tamp to jurong west is a big change yah... but at least near ur ILs, like u say they can help with ur kids next time.. :D
still sg yah but like still seems so far for the older folks... :P

my hubby stays at ghim moh, i stay at pasir ris currently, so no biggie for me. quite big change for him though cos ghim moh is so convenient! but resale so much cheaper in pasir ris, so no choice..

butters> i also scare i can't get use to staying in west tat y now every wkend, try to stay over nite @ my hubby hse...get use to west area...hahahaha...@ least now i can recognise the drive route already....from my ILs hse to my new home...hahahahaha.....hv been driving around jurong area...all these times...

Fei Mei and Butters>>> Ya lah.. for me i dun really care about the gold or the value of it... rather i m looking for a gesture bah...no offer of any of that sort... when i revise my number of tables at AD from 5 to 6, still ask me why increase... we borrowed some $ fr them for the COV for flat and we pay back faithfully mth after mth also... so feel a bit sad fr the lack of even offering bah... will not ask if they are not doing well or what.. but they are quite well off themselves bah....

blur btb> relax~~Relax~~~come on..we r modern generation...dun take it to heart....maybe i mentioned 'too much'...very sorry to bring out ur 'unhappiness'.... -_-"

anyway...ur AD over? wheres ur love nest?

blur_btb> ya like feimei said, dun take it to heart... think too much abt it will make u angry and bitter for nothing, especially when you dun even care for gold!

i know its the gesture you r looking for but they did lend you money for the COV.. maybe their thinking is like ours? why waste the money buying something you wont wear...

take it easy k... m sure they make up for it in other ways yah...

butters> good one!!! hahaha....i dun realli noe how to say in words... =P

sooo excited...counting down to collect my keys in aug... {*.*}

feimei> so happy for u... u decided on a design for u new place oredi?

the seller's agent is co-broking with another agent (so complicated...) so they onli submitted the application for 1st appt today, so my hubby also trying to email them to get an earlier date.. now jz hv to wait for the news... *fingers crossed!!*

butters> Ummm~~i only go for kitchen n bathrooms renovate...others will just like painting n touch up here n there lol....

alamak....soo ma fan...but overall, ur agent shld be the one responsible for the cordination leh....u pay for his service n yet u hv to do the cordination work? -_-"

Butters> I hope so too... so far the feeling not very good bah.. I give up on them liao.. just do what I want lor...

Now planning for home reno which is headache also cos it seems that HDB has the internal upgrading HIP which might affect us. So a bit loss...

Have you gals tot about reno?

blur_btb> what is internal HIP? u bot resale like us? where is ur love nest? i will be taking keys next mth but shortly 7th mth come...soo i think will hv to wait till it over dan start on reno...but started to look ard for package already....i will only do kitchen n bathrooms...not over-haul...just change of cabinets, toilet bowls n sink bahhh....

wat abt u?

blur_btb> dun take things to heart lah.. must 'kan de kai'... if everything also take to heart then will be sad all the time.. plus will get into fights wif hubby also.. so jz let it go k..

me still waiting for the 1st appointment.. we planning to simple decor.. white minimalist..

Hey FeiMei and Butters>

I think i have gone past the bothering about her stage le...

both of you bought resale also rite.. i got a 3rm at Khatib mrt side.. its quite simple and well maintained but the kitchen cabinets are like old and outdated... toilets are weird colour too... so we finally got ID to do up these (comparing, contractors cost abt the same)... I do first if gd then i recommend the ID...

Mine is D'esprirt Feimei, and they give me about 16k (including tax) for overhaul of 2 toilets and 1 kitchen.. i guess the more you do, the cheaper...

Just lost for ideas on what to do with the living rm to make it cosy without false ceilings etc...

As for the HDB HIP, its like a home improvement programme, where residents can pay about 5-15% to get their toilets overhaul and grilles changed... i think we wun wait for it le... maybe up to 2-3 yrs.. our AD is next year....

Hoping to finish reno by Aug before the 7th mth and then I can go for photoshoot!

Hey FeiMei.. ya for overhauls including hacking n changing all the tiles... all of mine are those old school square white tiles... some are hollow and some have cracks.... I have compared 2 contractors vs ID.. about the same...

Ooh! i will go and try that out....

U koe.. after looking at my friends homes which are like all nicely done up, they look so cosy... but all abt 40K at least... scary...

Ya, I think after this will move in and stay... just wun zz on the bed before an chuang. tsk tsk

feimei>blur_btb> im planning to do mainly overhaul of the toilets, partial overhaul for kitchen and the rest of the house, setting budget at 30k.. dunno if can or not.. hvnt start getting quotations. trying not to have false ceilings but dunno where to put lights so will be bright enuff for the living room and dining area..

my hubby wans to set budget higher. but i insists on 30k cos know will go over one lor lata. then still need to buy furniture n stuff. *faint*

wat kind of mattress u all buying? was looking at simmons. so many types, see till giddy.. :P

Butters,I think can lah... how many rm?? I was told by my ID if 3rm overhaul, around 30K... so if yours is partial , then i think quite alrite...

We insisted on not having false ceiling.. imagine wiring spoil, then have to dismantle the house to change... We will just put hanging lights (probably energy saving bulbs) and then have other table or standing lights...

I count the money spent till v headache... too much! So save where possible...

For mattress.. i got mine during NOVA opening sale, so about 70% off.. I oe Simmons hor, at Trade Hub 21 @ Boon Lay Way got moving out sale, direct Factory prices... go chk out!

blur_btb> no worry, we can continue here if u gals dun mind or we start a new thread lol....

i viewed ur site...Woowww...very lovely....

btw, butters love nest is a EA...think 30k for her partial shld be enuff worrr....

so, when will the sales end? any idea? i oso thinking dunnu which brand of mattress to get...*headache*

hahaha... ya, only 3 of us but its ok.. will be here as long as u gers are..

thanks feimei, yup its EA, so hopefully enuff.. not changing anything drastic in living room, dining room or bedrooms. just re-paint and add a walk-in wardrobe, planning on using one of the rooms as walk-in wardrobe. :P

ur photos are lovely, blur_btb... think its really sweet to go bk places u dated for ur photos. i only recognise T3 from ur formal shots.. :P

i particularly like the casual shots tho...

ya, when sales end ah? actually now everywhere sale, see good buys for electrical items and furniture but got no place to keep if buy stuff now... *faint*

yalol....as long as this thread is 'alive', i will be here....no worries, butters!

wahhh...walk-in wardrobe... *envy* @.@ for mine, abit diff to hv but if have the $$$...do wonders also can, right? hahahahaha...but i will not waste the $$ lah... =P

yalol....everywhere sales....c till 'ma boh'...but so long as not very big item, still can 'dump' @ my hubby's place....hahahaha...anyway getting keys soon so his mama still ok for temp storage...kekekekeke.... :D

Hahaha... for the formal, we went to the airport, kallang leisure park, SAF Yacht club v far in the east...

I tot the photographer is good.. took too much photos until I sian to go and take the real PS... its prob gg to be next mth... and I m getting too fat to fit into anything le.. friends commenting abt my fat arms...

Anyway ya, my whole rm barely got place to walk le. I even got pots and pans on offer...

feimei> jz wanna put wardrobe in one of the common rooms, cos have 3 bedrooms wif jz the both of us living there, so can convert, dun think it will cost tt much money bah.. will see how the quotation goes. still hvnt met up with any contractors or IDs yet.. cos hubby been busy.

but also cant really buy anything yet cos dun really hv real concept of design for the flat, jz know that it'll be minimalist.. :P

blur_btb> but taking photos is so much fun! love the whole process of taking my PS photos, but i jz refused to top up so much for it, so a lot of photos didnt get bk..
but hubby promised next year for anniversary will go Bali to take photos (after recover from the flat reno..), saw this BS there has really gd photography!

was reading ur blog - Is a wedding blog all about happy stuff? - dun let the small little things bother u too much k.. maybe jz sit down and have a heart to heart wif him?

talk to him and mayb u'd understand y certain things seems minute to him but such a big deal to u... how important some things are to u in the whole marriage preparation process thingy..?

so envy u gers....hv PS...hai~~~i dun even dream of it...i so fat...wear wedding gown not nice (u can imagine a pig wear gown....hahahahaha)...soo i didn't even give PS a thot...anyway, not planned to hv any dinner...soo also saved up the $$ and throw everything in the hse....kekekekekeke....

blur_btb> dun worry...just remind ur photographer, dun focus on ur arm area, dan those who c ur fotos, wun notice ur arm fat or slim lah....most impt...face pretty can liao....
i saw ur fotos...u look great!!! so dun worry~

so envy u gers....hv PS...hai~~~i dun even dream of it...i so fat...wear wedding gown not nice (u can imagine a pig wear gown....hahahahaha)...soo i didn't even give PS a thot...anyway, not planned to hv any dinner...soo also saved up the $$ and throw everything in the hse....kekekekekeke....

blur_btb> dun worry...just remind ur photographer, dun focus on ur arm area, dan those who c ur fotos, wun notice ur arm fat or slim lah....most impt...face pretty can liao....
i saw ur fotos...u look great!!! so dun worry~

feimei> no leh, initially i dun wanna to take PS one cos wanna save money but hubby wanted, which surprised me, so went ahead. was very fun!

i think if the photographer is good take photos sure nice one lor, its in the angle and the composition. plus BS has different types of gowns to fit different body types mah. anyways, brides are always beautiful!

im getting my ROM photos from my photographer tonite! woo hoo!

blur_btb> ya, agree with feimei, u look good, no worries lah..

Hi Feimei & Butters>

Aiyo, I agree that the bride usually look the best de... so might as well take some pic.. its once in a life time rite? I am taking mine in JB so that it is half the cost.. so must be very disciplined not to top up...

My MIL say that cannot dun take pic one... hahahaha

Anyway I have full trust in my BS's photoshop to make me look thinner! or just not to keep taking my arms

My SG PG was very inexperienced at that time but she has already got a good job done, so I think can de!

woo hoo.. jz got my ROM day photos from my PG!! will upload for u gers to see soon.. :P

blur_btb> ya photoshop is a great tool..

feimei> someone told slumberland mattress also quite good leh.. the more i hear, the more get confused! think gonna jz check out simmons n slumberland 1st...

Butters> I also want to see your pix :P Hahaha I did not went MIA I was reading the forum all along.

Mattress you got to sleep om it to feel the difference la. Serta I think got promotion 1999 for their mattress..

butters> thanks, Butters! there's alot of brand out there...u will get even more confused when u hear or see more....i also want to see ur fotos...email me?

christy> Serta is the sheep mattress, right? the sheep soo cute...hahaahhaaha...dunnu if buy the mattress, can free the sheep... =P

u hving ur AD this Oct, right?

feimei, christy> tot u gers disappear liao.. ya gotta go try out all the beds.

blur_btb> ya i think i saw the promo for the free sheep for serta also. :P

i juz got the the date from hdb for my 1st appointmet... its in NOV!! *faint* cos they say a lot of ppl buying now.. ah well... cant do anything abt it now..

so now can't buy anything during the last few days of the GSS, have to wait for post-christmas sale now.. haha..

oh and i uploaded my wedding photos in the link below. my pre-wedding photos are in the same site..

http://picasaweb.google.com/butterfin8ers/MyWedding?authkey=Gv1sRgCNDk29yfn5KQDg#

Woooww...butters, u really look beautiful...and so slim @.@ really look very gorgeous with that gown on...really suits u....haiz~~mine soo simple...hahahaha....realli...simple is the most beautiful....

Ohh...ur appt queued till Nov...now many ppl buying meh? i tot all went to buy private properties...hdb still soo busy meh....hahahaha
nvm la....@ least u got a date liao....@ least make use of this period, think of how to reno ur love nest...wat theme...wat color....so that once gotten ur keys...*chong ahhh*...can start work liao....

blur_btb> ur love nest done?

Wah Butters.. thanks for sharing the photos.. you look super slim sia... ya the gown really nice on you.. I cant carry off anything like that without exposing my big arms.... arggghhh

Whos your photographer? I like the way he/she edits....

Actually i like the way your wedding goes.. more intimate and get time to mingle with the guests... sigh.. why must mine be sit down chinese dinner....

FeiMei: My house reno starting today!!! Will keep posted via the reno blog... haha.. thenu gals can check it out if interested....

I just got back fr thailand.. the wedding favors, house stuff and invitation cards there are like so much cheaper than here!!!

heh... thanks gers for ur compliments..

ya i love my gown too, simple and elegant, but eventhough ROM i still wanted a long gown so i had it MTM from my bridal studio cos they didnt have what i wanted.

my PG's website is http://geraldphotography.blogspot.com/search?updated-min=2009-01-01T00%3A00%3A00-08%3A00&updated-max=2010-01-01T00%3A00%3A00-08%3A00&max-results=2

can give u his contact if u need. i really like the way he took the photos and he has very good after sales service too!

blur_btb> think u can still mingle wif ur guests if is sit down dinner but lesser time lah..

so u got ur stuff from Thailand? tts a great way to save $$$... :P

feimei> we oredi have ideas on what to do leh.. minimalist and white.. still hvnt called any ID or contractor yet.. :P
went to see blinds and some mattress at liang court cos we were ard there. the sales guy kept explaining a lot, think he jz wans us to put a deposit but it was the 1st mattress brand (called isaiah) we tried
and even with their king size mattress my hubby's feet was hanging on edge of bed... but his own king size bed is ok leh.. tot all mattress have same measurements..?

butters> Ummm~~i dunnu much about mattress leh...i just noe cannot be too soft becoz it will not be good to your bone...harder abit should be ok...anyway...i not particular @ these stuffs becos i only can sleep what is needed...i cannot sleep more...due to my work, either i wake up very early or i sleep very late...my hubby even steady....any bed to him...he can sleep soundly...hahahahaha....

FeiMei> Sorry for the MIA again. Hahhaa Buy mattress can ask for the sheep.. my brother ask to throw in 1 pair. Now the Serta got baby sheap le but blue in colour :P Yes yes my AD is in Oct its 2 mths away....

Butters> Hahhaa did not totally MIA la. I got sometimes come in and read.. than some times got forget haha old liao. Haiz.

Just saw your pic nice
and mei mei.

Blur btb> You also in RT?? I also park at RT leh. Hahaha

All> Hahah I think I am the casual bride who want no dinner and no gate crashing LOL... I want a sweet and simple day. Told my hubby can do w/o sister & brother too which I dun mind.

Mattress> Mattress can customer made one... I know simmons do that. Cause was at Robinson Bed Shop and I overheard one customer MTM.

Curtains> I just went to JB and make my cutains. RM3000 for the whole house. If need contact can PM me. The shop can get someone to your house and quote you with material sample.

christy> jz curious, how wud someone custom make a mattress ah? like make it softer, make it harder, make it longer, tt kind? but the salesguy was also saying if make bed longer can but if the bed frame breaks (for some reason..) then will be very hard to find another frame, then hv to custom make frame again..

does ur curtain shop do vertical blinds also? hubby prefer to get vertical blinds wor.. tt shop at liang court i went to does some american brand.. very nice but also very expensive! *faint*

Butters> I know can make longer... not sure on the softer part. But how you are going to buy bed frame le.. got to special make le. I dun think worth it.

Hahah of coz ex cause got brand ma. The curtain shop I went do all sort of curtain le. If you dun mind w/o brand but nice and cheap you can go for it. I find Singapore the curtain very ex. I was quoted SGD2100 for the whole house.

christy> of course dun mind no brand.. as long as cheap! :P

can pass me ur contact pls... but not really in a hurry cos hdb 1st appt in a couple of months...

Butters> Hahaha I thought you go for brand. Ok I PM you liao.

Usually the curtain is the last to go up they take 1 week to produce the curtains but fm today onwards till Sunday they are having exhibition so will have to wait next week for my curtain. Excited abt it Hahaha.

christy> watever give u that impression? :P

oh where are they having the exhibition? in s'pore or in JB?

thanks for the contact. got it oredi.. :D

Butters> Hahhaha maybe you say you go liang court and want vertical blinds... :P LOL

They having exhibition in JB if I am not wrong quite near to the city square area. You can all their shop and ask for the direction if you want to visit them. Heard that the exhibition have furniture fm KL too.

ok thanks.. we were ard that area mah, so jz pop in to liang court to see wats new there then saw the blinds shop...

but too lazy to go to JB right now. plus we dun drive. maybe after we get our keys then give them a buzz.. which wud prob be nearer to end of the year..

ya lor.. actually i jumped ship to feimei's jul rom thread cos so little movement in this thread.. haha..

Hi gals, i m back!!!

In the midst of getting all the light switches and lights for kitchen n loos finalised...

I am thinking of just buying energy saving bulbs for the toilets...

hi hi..

welcome back.. where did you get ur lights from?

i saw this mag where they put track lights for the dining area (so dun hv to put false ceilings?).. wonder if that wud use a lot of energy?

oh like i told christy, i jumped ship to feimei's jul rom thread cos not much movement here... wud u like to join me to jump ship? or wud u rather stay here? i'll keep u company :P

oh and i like reading ur blog... :D

Halo...

I was on my way to Balestier to look for lights and then saw my ID in a kopitiam.. so we went over to ask him to recommend. He recommended Light & Light (Opposite the SPC station). We went in to buy some switches but din have much variety of lights, so din get any... If you light crystal stuff, there are a lot there...

Track lights sounds good but i worry about the heat though.... so prob get 1 hanging one abve the dining table and another normal one near the sink...

Jul rom got what?? How come Feimei jump to JUL?

Been v busy.. the blog not much upkeeping.. tsk tsk.. Gerald sent me the quote already.. v tempted to take.. but I wun koe what to tell my existing PG.... *headache*