(2009/06) ROM in June 2009

Christy> My mom gd? She old school type la. Said married already must stay wif hubby. =( So now, we die die also must get the hse done before actual day lor since i hv no plans to stay wif in-laws. Wow..ur mattress very gd buy wor. My friend bought a simmons at abt 5k. When did u buy? Is the promotion still available? =)

And yes, i mean the bedframe and stuff etc. Tot hv to get matching one. If different color from wardrobe or dressing table werid or not?

Gals> will u all be getting a dressing table too? My room very small but my barongs alot such as accessories and face care pdts..if no dressing table duno put where lor..

Valerie> I buy at Robinson... you did not read my post ah... or too early liao.. still sleepy?? Hahaha. The promotion dun have liao.. but now got new promotion same mattress for 2599 plus now free upgrade to king size.

Wardrobe - Just get the nearest colour to match lor.. if not when you buy the bedframe take a pix and when reno you can match with the wardrobe laminate. Dressing table.. that old fashion le.. I dun even have that in my room.

My facecare I put in the wardrobe shalving 1 layer is my skincare and beauty product. There will be mirror at the swing door (inside facing) so I apply the prodcut stright from the wardrobe area.

Christy> Paiseh...really kinda sleepy. worked late last nite. Yup, i agree dressing table is old fashion le. =) Hmm..if part of wardrobe for skincare&beauty pdts duno enuff room for clothes I hv alot of clothes....

Oh the bedframe, what kind did u get? Am thinking of getting those wif storage below then can put things..but so far all those i saw quite ugly. I do like to platform bed..but not practical...haiz...

Christy> i dun think i can hv swing door for wardrobe..think no space to walk. Will hv sliding door instead. haha..

Butters> i can't post the name here, got error, if u don't mind, give me ur email, i will drop u the links via email.

Valerie> hahah its ok... how I wish I also dun need to be at work today too.. Our MBR wardrobe is only 3 panel.. 1 panel for my clothes and then follow by shalving & drawer panel than finally my hubby clothes panel.

We took wood bedframe... our house team is more to resort style.. no money got holiday so next time go home for holiday ... hahahah. Got a shop at AMK call S&C they sell furniture quite cheap if but mostly in picture they show you and see if you like than order la.

Sliding also can ma... your mirror is in a sliding panel (1 track) in the wardrobe itself.. than follow by the 2 sliding door (2 track).

valerie> no need a dressing table mah....u can have a floating shelf (like now in trend, those floating tv console)and a mirror, gao dim!

i dun plan to have any bedframe leh...thinking of making a platform n just dump one mattress, y u think not practical leh? convenient mah...

FeiMei> i have alot of barangs. Plan to dump all in the storage below the bed. I'm currently using this kinda bed at my own hse and i put bedsheets etc underneath. New hse will be super small. So wana make use of any space/storage availble lor. Ok..i know i very "auntie"...haha...

valerie> hahahaha...i also got tons of things in my current room...i even worse...alot of soft toys...dunnu how...my FH say: no..no..all not all to go new home... -_-" i must find a way to 'smuggle' there...hahaaha...very pity to throw away lol...i think with my this sentence, i will sound more like "auntie", right? :~(

FeiMei & Val> Hahah my new place no store room le.. I lagi more worst. The ex owner hack away the store room and built the wardrobe into it so it will not eat away the MBR and bedroom2 room space. I already think to put my hello kitty in the bb room.. Hahah

Feimei> Yup. I hv soft toys too. Dun care..hv to bring them with me to new hm. Told my htb liao...that me and soft toys come as a package. haha..

Christy> no store rm? abit werid. nvm le, ur bb'r rm can double as stroage rm for now. =)

Yup..so me now interested in furniture or anything that looks nice and can double as storage. That time, i saw a coffee table that looks really cool and can double as storage...but too bad itz kinda pricey..haiz...

Manage to list out the June 2009 ROM List

ROM List
Lin ¨C 4 June
Zongyu ¨C 5 June
Charis ¨C 5 June
Clara Tjin ¨C 6 June
Joanne ¨C 6 June
KK ¨C 6 June
Heartz ¨C 6 June
Happy Girl ¨C 7 June
JY Tan ¨C 7 June
Baobeilious ¨C 7 June
Sk80 ¨C 8 June
Didi ¨C 9 June
Celia ¨C 10 June
Cheenapork ¨C 10 June
Ernie80 ¨C 10 June
Joel Low ¨C 13 June
Esta ¨C 13 June
Pig Pin ¨C 14 June
E&T ¨C 14 June
Candy ¨C 14 June
Chocklate ¨C 14 June
Valerie ¨C 14 June
Suzanna ¨C 15 June
CluezC ¨C 20 June
Lew Welly ¨C 20 June
Butters ¨C 20 June
Soo Jia Hao ¨C 21 June
Blur btb ¨C 21 June
Xiaofeizhu83 ¨C 22 June
Wong Sally ¨C 26 June
Nikki Fu ¨C 26 June
Ice Baby ¨C 26 June
Blur-Gal ¨C 28 June
BB Sotong ¨C 28 June

Val> I prefer to have storeroom... but if dun have than dun buy so much things lor. No choice also. If you really keen in the storage bed can go to S&C at AMK.

Val>
Ya I ROMed last yr sept... wah now than I relised that its 9mths liao time flies man. AD is this yr Oct 09.. which is 4 mths time.

Christy> yeah..i understand. I like storerm too..Intend to put all e paperbags/palstic bags, vacuum cleaner and other barangs barangs inside. Can't u reconstruct again? =)

Val> Haha if reconstruct think will be extra cost.. so no choice just live with it and dun anyhow buy things lor... Haha.

We do not have wedding dinner... only picking up or bride till tea serving only.. simple and hope it stay this way.

Christy> Ic..initially, we also want to keep simple like u and spend more on reno instead. But not sure how to go abt planning it and because of parents and relatives objections and opinions etc...in the end still hv to hold banquet. Sianz...gona spend loads on banquet. We expecting abt 5-10K loss lor...heartpain....=(

Val> My parents is kinda ok.. just that my MIL she trying her luck to have wedding dinner... which is a no no with us. Every few months she try and try and my hubby deep deep down he reject and reject her plan. She even offer to pay for the dinner at one time but I really dun buy that. I rather she save the money and we have simple wedding... till there is a point that even my hubby's 2nd brother got to help us and say no dinner since we dun like and just invite little pple can liao.

I told my hubby that I think I am the only bride no wedding dinner.. I am fine with gatecrashing but with limit else no gatecrashing also can.. I can also do w/o jiemei. I am the bride which can go solo all the way.. hahah.

christy> U r not alone, gal!!! i also planned NOT to hold any dinner as well~~~Yeahh..yeah...we r in the same boat >.<
i even worse than u, i will plan to have BB, then i can escape from the dinner becos my MIL also keep 'hinting'...she say: no need to be grand, a few tables will do, simple one lol...but i tell my FH, even simple one will also cost as much as a few k, the $ can use for reno. he also agreed so, just have to c how lol...for the worse, just tea ceramony + buffet @ home...hahaha...maybe that's consider 'Cheap'

Valerie> maybe u can try 'Brighton'...there's one branch in Queentown...i went to look before, the price quite reasonable but not sure the quality...can bargain leh...sometimes they also advertise in newspaper

hi hi..

feimei> email add is [email protected]
thanks!! u very cute... must smuggle soft toys into new house..

christy> thanks for doing up the list.. my MIL also tried to tok us into a wedding banquet but we just said no..
initially didnt even wanna do the tea ceremony during our ROM day... but now conceded defeat cos dun wanna make the old folks too unhappy cos we didnt do a lot of traditional stuff.. :P
but i tink u damn cool lor... how to gatecrash without jiemei... haha..

was tokking to my fren the other day.. i said wedding shud be abt the couple, she said wedding is abt the family behind the couple, if just abt the couple then things so much simpler.. but things shud be simple, rite.. if i'm the bride it shud be my day (ok if the groom wans to do certain things, ok lah.. :P) then shud follow my wishes, if other ppl wanna have opinions then they can hold their own wedding like that..

that day i was reading someone post, she getting a lot of headache cos she doesnt wan a gatecrash cos she doesnt wan her poor htb to suffer, she doesnt like the whole idea.. but her aunts and cousins kept pushing her.. i thot she very poor thing leh..

something so simple but made so complicated..

FeiMei> If you dun intend to have dinner better dun even accommodate for a few tables.. cause the few tables will also become a few + a few more.. it just kept on increasing. My mom actually wanted to have a sit down dinner with my family and his family which is abt 20 pax only.. but we decided not to still and also have plan to go out in the evening for night photo shot... my mom I think is quite ok with the idea cause I am daughter ma.. really not that important and moreover early this feb my younger brother got married with full course dinner in the intercon... so I kinda escape. LOL.

We also plan to have buffet lunch at IL home only... and my MIL still say not enough her list got 120+ pple and my hubby ask who she going to invite... even auntie's kids and their grandkid she want to invite so we told her.. MUST she??? Than we tell her just invite the auntie &amp; uncle nia.. if the kids want to follow its their business.. we cater to who we invite only. Really can go OMG le.

Butters> Hahah I told my hubby if his mom still carry on with the grand makan session I will become a "runaway bride" and he REALLY get my clear clear hint. I just cannot smile to pple I dun know I felt thats silly (personally) Hahah. We plan the AD w/o dinner but gave the old folks the GDL go-ahead which I felt thats pretty good liao.. else I also can go without it too.

No la I think you did not get my meaning.. I can do or do without the gatecrashing... but most likely is a no go gatecrashing for me. If that day I have jie mei I will get hubby to give AP to them nia.. the Jiemei only help me take my barang nia and gown lor.. If I can manage I married off with no jiemei...

Personally I think most couple now like to married in a simple manner.

Christy> Tink my MIL stll ok. Anyway, itz my htb who "liase" wif her all these while. My mom is the difficult one. We dun hv alot of relatives(thank God!!), my and htb altg abt 5 tables for relatives only...so not that bad. But my mom wana invite one of the auntie's MIL as well...had a row over this lor. We're already not invitg sis's in=laws liao, y invite aunt's inlaws rite? No doubt my mom loves me and wants the best for me but sometimes, really duno wat she is tinking de..haiz....

Gals> I really envied u all wor. Me and HTB cannot stand elders to be unhappy de. We want everybody, including ourselves (hopefully) to be happy on this special occassion...

Feimei> this "Brighton" sells furniture or mattress?

Gatecrashing> initially wana do w/o it de..coz i DUN LIKE the fuss etc. but htb seems really keen abt it...well...still considering lor

Christy> u r rite...stand firm on the stand will be the best. i think having the tea ceramony + buffet @ home will solve all prob. both me n my HTB also dun like smiling @ 'unknown' ppl throughout the dinner, like a clown like that (no hard feeling, this is my own tots, of cos those holding dinner, will leave a very good experience for themselves)

my rom will be exactly one month from today.

All the best to all ROM brides in Jun, be pretty on your big day!!! >.<

FeiMei> Yup...like a clown..haha. Congrats and all the best to u too. Though i hv banquet, i really wana do w/o march-in (or 1 at most) and no toasting etc....sure hope i can do this MY WAY this time. =)

Val> Its quite difficult to please everyone... there are bound to have pple with different view. Best is to go with what the both (hubby &amp; wife) like and min. damage.

But... always a but... Hahaha if you say the whole group of pple want gatecrashing and to laugh at your hubby I dun think I want that to happen at all. In this case its not a matter of pleasing everyone liao... is making your hubby a laughing stock and be the talk of the town.

My hubby seems ok with gatecrashing but I think I will have a no go cause he is the one driving and I dun want him to be real dead by noon time.. PIL at west and my parents at east.

FeiMei> Haha no had feelings of coz.. I wanted to say that too of being a clown on AD but pause on the word.

Val> Do a simple one lor.. 1st march in (and the only one) than toast at the stage lor... no need to go round the ballroom.

Christy> Both parents are ok with/without gatecrashing. Said decision up to us here. But my htb HIMSELF is keen wif it leh...HE said shld b fun..durh..

Yup. i also tink the same. One and only march-in and Thatz it le. But i dun like toasting...so most prob do w/o it. may go round to take photos though...u mean when u take photos from table to table need toasting too?

Val> There are 2 type of toasting... one is at the stage with your family members on the stage too and toast to the whole ballroom.

Some pple go round frm table to table to toast too after they do the toasting fm the stage part. But this is opt.

Gals> Hv u gals buy the curtains yet? Or custom made? Most of my frens custom made theirs....and they are really quite nice. But i kinda taken aback at the price...abt 2-3k...

val> i think the price is ard there if u custom made. i rem i watched some variety show on ch U, they got go round finding those cheap stuffs and they came to amk (industrial), there got a few shop who custom make curtains, the price range quite reasonable, not so ex...but forgot near which side...if u have the time...u can trying finding, anyway, the shops there r categorise, shld be easy to find...

not intend to use curtain leh...shld be using blind....from ikea, already check the price, quite ok...

FeiMei> ic...i think abt it too. Use blind also gd...cheaper rite? How much is it? Nice or not? Haven been to ikea for very long le...u intend to use blind for the whole hse?

haha... runaway bride.. me n my htb not even doin GDL.. :P good thing MIL hvnt harped on that yet..

ROM is 16days from now....

FeiMei &amp; Val> My bro have a Ikea roller blind not really good cause the side of the roller blind the thread came out and its like every now and than you got to trim it.

Butters> Hahah good dun mention it if can.

Butters> lucky u!!=)...no need to do GDL. My mom said hv to buy the "lantern" or else my MIL will be "angry" nxt time. Dun really understand wat she was saying...but we will go and buy lor if that's wat she wants. I understand there are those 1-stop wedding shops ard that sell those stuff as a package...will go there and c when the date draws near...=)

christy> thanks for ur advice, ger!!!
in that case...really have to check out for curtains lol -_-"

Butters> have been rushing on something during the nite, have not drop u email on the ID....will try to send to u over the wkend....very sorry for the delay!!!

FeiMei> I did some research.. and came to know that there is a couple team who do curtain. The do not have office or shop cause they operate at home. Call Mr Chew @ 9653 4689... just to let everyone know I have no relationship with this Uncle and also have not use their service yet. Pple comment that uncle is a bit blur on phone but in person quite good.

christy> ya definitely wont mention it... but gd thing is when MIL and aunt wanted the tea ceremony, they offered to take care of everything, which means they buy the teapot sets and watever else that comes with it...

feimei> sure its ok.. do it when u free.. i hvnt even got a flat yet.. :P

htb looking for EA in pasir ris currently but I am wondering wat to do with all the space since its just the 2 of us...until baby comes but still hv a lot of room lor.. trying to tok him into looking at 5 roomers... think 5 rooms in pasir ris is still q spacious..n cost 30-40k cheaper..
he listens to me but can still see that he has his heart set on EA.. hmmmm...

Butters> if u intend to have more kids, then shld be ok to hv EA lol...most impt both of u r happi with ur love nest... =.=

anyway, EA and 5rooms shld not be too much diff....the few sq feet, can't really c...is the price that u can c the diff...hahahahaha....