(2009/06) ROM in June 2009

bb_sotong: mine is Mr Yeo Woon Soo.. hes quite sought after in this forum... his response got lost leh.. so i spent 2 weeks waiting.. tsk tsk...

bb_sotong: then who are next on your list? my friend's JP is Mr Chan Kai Yau. Hear that he is very nice as well... can consider

blur_btb: i actually read some bad reviews actually abt him recently.. i guess we have to random email/sms the other JPs bah

hi gal,my rom will be on 1st of june..at raintree villa.veri excited about it.but still working on the deco.any idea how to deco to make the whole atmosphere more romantic?coz mine is at outdoor de

didi (eeyore1) : if you still interested in budget photographer, just pm me, i will let you liaise with my friend :-)

joyce chen, your rom's on my birthday! cute! get a tonne of flowers and stuff. sure to up the romance factor!

bb sotong, can try mr peter lee. he seems really nice!

cheenapork,thanx i sure to put mani flowers de..btw you got ani idea where to get nice guys vest ma?cant find ani nice one yet..haiz.

I'm collecting my keys for my punggol flat end of this year. My rom date on 14 June too, same as chocklate. Venue at Halia Restaurant, Botanic Gardens. =)

The thread has been quiet for a while... what are you gals up too? Busy with ROM preparations still or have moved on to actual day?

heh... me busy working on projects and prepping for exams. settled most of my ROM stuff. now left with flowers, his attire, and confirmation of guests

how's everyone else?

Hi gals, sorry need help again... I have booked only 2 tables for solemnisation at Clarke Quay Peony Jade... What is the procedure other than the ROM stipulated items?
Must have music and march in and sign in table still??
*panic*

Hi gals, sorry need help again... I have booked only 2 tables for solemnisation at Clarke Quay Peony Jade... What is the procedure other than the ROM stipulated items?
Must have music and march in and sign in table still??
*panic*

I'm busy sourcing for renovators to do some minor reno for our lovenest, looking ard for furnishing, wedding bands etc.

Have yet to settle on the ROM dress yet too.

Blur_btb: I think it depends on individual. I wanted a small march-in, but HTB says we hvg AD so don't need. For mine, I have a recep table outside the function room.

My ROM was just over end-Feb. I have a beautiful white short gown with tulle & sweet pink waist belt from Olive Suite to let go. Do let me know if you would like to have a look. Leave yr email and i will send the pics over. Tks.

Hi im here to join.. having rom in Sentosa on 13th Jun... also having a photographer to do a shoot for us to make into a book, so hope to catch a nice sunset..

Anyone has a good MUA to recommend pls? can email me at [email protected]? looking for nice natural makeup and flowers in hair

Hi all, I'm a newbie in thsi thread. My ROM will be on 20 June 09 at Amara Hotel. It will be a lunch buffet probably from 12 to 3 pm.
We have booked Mr. Chan as our JP and we have signed up bridal package cum ROM with Universal Bridal Studio at Toa Payoh Central.
Anyone getting cup cakes as wedding favors for your guests? I checked out few but quite expensive. It's about 4-5 bucks per piece. Any suggestions?

Hi welly, welcome in.

I ordered cupcakes for my favors... i used cups & cakes cos i am attracted by the looks of it.. otherwise if you want a cheaper alternative, take a look at sweetest moments... they are quite nice according to my colleagues cos i have ordered them some on my last day of work at my old co...

hi all. i'm oso a noob!
im getting rom on the 26th jun. jus wondering if it's ok to do my own makeup. am a makeup artist myself so feel weird to get other artist to work on my face. btw, is it necessary to get hand bouquet for rom?

Hi Blur,

Thanks for the info. It quote cheaper than others. May i know the cupcake topping is an icing one or creamy type?

hi nikki!

congrats! well if u can do it urself, might as well!

as for hand bouquet, it's a personal preference. not really a must to get, in my opinion. can opt for a wrist corsage if u feel clumsy holding a bouquet.

but heard it's not good to do own makeup le. so may jus get my fren to make me up instead.
think hand bouquet will look nicer in pics ya. haha. planned so last min, everything very rush.

hi welly, my ROM is on 20th jun too! i'm having it at Goodwood Park..

my favors is provided by the hotel but i'm getting an 8-inch cake for cake-cutting plus mini cakes for the guests... still trying to decide on the designs...

question - are you gers planning to receive guests b4 the solemnization or only appear during the march-in?

Hi Butters,

Yea..it is a hot date also 20062009.
i haven't think about how we going to march in and etc. But for sure, My htb and i will be in the hotel room early in the morning. My MUA will be there as well. I haven't discussed this with my htb yet. If march in will give a surprise to the guests, while receiving guests and follow by march in..seems like not so surprising and meaningful. Haha...what you all think?? Let's share....

Welly,

Ya my bridal coordinator told me it's a hot date too..

one of the girls from the forum told me that since during the buffet might not have time to take pix and mingle with the guests, so might as well let them see your pretty face during their arrival..can take more pix that way too..

but then like you say, won't be a surprise anymore..

so i was thinking that i'll receive guests in a simple short dress then change into my long gown for the march-in... cos i have a wedding gown from my bridal studio (very simple one though...) so can have 2 diff outfits!!

cos i'm just doing ROM, no dinner banquet.. You?

zerochristy> nice to see you here too!

ya need lots of advice as i try to figure out and plan the small details...

so what you think of my guest greeting/march-in change of dress thingy? can change 2 dress.. hiao mah...

how is your planning for your AD?

Butters> so good to have two outfits, for your case...i like your idea. But I only have one outfit, if giving surprise also weird as I'm not big artist...lolx...
I think we will just mingle around before the solemnization ba. Maybe after the solemnization we will be going somewhere else to take photos. My wedding dinner will be next year..AD haven't fixed yet. How about you?

Blur> Thanks for the info

Butters> Hahaha If you like just do it its one in a life time. I had only one short dress and I am lazy to change. It really depends on yourself.

Tomorrow is my Guo Da Li haha kinda excited for myself thou.. but I think my mom is more excited that me call me few days ago to remind me to go home early and wait for the roasted pig to come from the groom side :P

AD ah.. I actually done all my planning liao and I dun have wedding dinner so not much to do too

welly> I'm not having wedding dinner. just doin tis ROM, so will be only time to hiao...

zerochristy> how was ur Guo Da Li? if you r not having a dinner, then wat is there to plan? sorry, me n hubby not very traditional... know nuts about all traditions... so not doing the guo da li thingy n stuff... so far his parents n mine have not made any noise abt it yet...

Butters> Haha to me if fun but to hubby is mafan.. hahah and not to mention tired too cause he stay at west and my parents at east :P

Oh I plan like when to collect wedding album cause have to ask my ID to drill hole at the wall for us, final fitting, look for car deco design & hand flower design, AD timeline.

I plan my wedding thingy early cause our house is going for reno soon so we can put our minds on the house lor.

I have doing my rom in Jun 09 too.

Any suggestions for a march in song which is not too lovey dovey? Thanks!

zerochristy> u got ur place oredi? we are looking at flats now... cos most of the stuff for upcoming ROM almost done. just collected our wedding bands jz now..

anyways, fiance planning stuff on house, trying to get resale and prob in punggol.. mayb can ask u for advise when finally get our flat and need to reno... so many things to decide on...

Blur btb> but can still use the bouquet for photo taking... use as prop...

ahh im here to join.. mine is 13th Jun. only like 3 weeks to go.

my solemnisation will be at sentosa siloso beach resort, by the poolside. The people at the resort are wonderful, took care of every detail for me so far.. thank goodness for the planner cos of my crazy work schedule.. im surfing the forum now cos im on mc!

Will it be weird if there is no march in? I dunno how the ceremony will go. i find it v weird if my dad walks me down the aisle when its not a church..

Esta > so u plan to walk in with your hubby?

Tink shud just do watever u feel will be more meaningful to urself and ur hubby.. after all u will only do this once..

Butters> My fiance and i also looking for resale flat preferably Punggol or Sengkang. When is your ROM, is it very soon? We got our BE queue no. at 4000 plus while the flats available only 400 plus..

I still finding idea for deco as the deco provided by the hotel is quite plain. Anyone has any idea or picture to share?

Between what you gals usually engrave on the wedding band? Chinese name?

welly> my ROM same date as yours lor.. 20062009 :P

just went for viewing for a few EA.. prices still quite high ya... fiance prefers EA cos he has a lot of stuff so wan bigger space but thinking mayb shud chk out 5roomers..

my hotel also providing jz basic decor... u can try looking at marthastewartweddings.com, can get a lot of ideas from there.. do you have some sort of a theme oredi? color n stuff?

we just engraved our ROM date, names n infinity sign.. tink saw somehere a couple engraved 'put it back on' on their wedding bands... cute..

Butters> Yes we got the keys to our house 1 mths ago and now applying for reno permit liao. Sure I dun mind sharing my reno contacts with you. I did read up at Renotalk I mainly got for service first than price... hahaha. Like we buy our house lights & fan yesterday in 1 shop and did not go around the island... i personally felt that going around finding cheaper price is also the same (time spent, transport charges, ERP)

Actually gals, I also duno how to start the ceremony without a march-in leh.. but i have only got 18 guests.. so a bit confused also.... hmmm