(2009/06) ROM in June 2009

Blur btb> Dun worry I also dun have march in and I have only 20 pax at ROM. The JP will ask us if everything ready and can start... than he will help to start the ROM event and ask to gether round.

ooh!! okie everyone... no march in then.. the poor JP.. got to double up as emcee as well... thats why i was wondering what to do w bouquet other than posing with them... sigh...

hey ladies... how's everyone doing?

it's 16 days away to my ROM... excited!! am trying to control my diet. feels abit tight around the tummy area.. hehe. am also doing more diy facials. haven't got the time to go to a proper beautician. just hope no sudden pimple outbreak... haha.

my rom date on 14 june at Halia Restaurant, Botanic Gardens. =) Any gd reno contacts to recommend since i'm collecting my keys since by end of this yr. Will be staying at Punggol. =)

Hi all, i just got my wedding bands, heels and guest book last weekend.

Now it's time to squeeze my brain juice to come out idea for my wedding scrapbook photo album. Anyone of you doing that?

Besides that, i need to deco one of the side wall also..it looks plain.

If any of you looking for wedding heels, you can visit Anna Nucci, their heels very nice but most of the designs do not have my size, so sad...

Valerie> I have sent you Reno contact.. both price are about the same. I cannot tell you how is the actual charges cause everyone's reno is different. For reno you got to get a few quote and compare. I only get 3 to compare and 2 are reasonable and 1 is "chopping" us our pocket so we drop them. Check your mail you have PM.

hey hey,

mine is abt 3weeks to go!!

i got my wedding bands last week too.. kept tying untying ribbon to get it jz nice.. fiance tot i gone mad..

did final fitting for my ROM dress from BS.. love it!

using same heels i got for my PS, brand Lucieno, they have pretty nice heels, abt 3inch high...

compiled a bunch of tunes to be played softly while guests have the food...also for march-in, after kiss-the-bride(if my JP remembers to say that) and cake cutting... since hotel providing sound system..

gonna do PS pics selection next week.. excited!!

but now got pimple brewing on forehead jz next to eyebrow... irritating...

welly > maybe ask hotel to provide a few easels (or some kind of stands), put ur scrapbook pictures on it instead of an album? then tie sash between the stands or decor with flowers?
then got album and decor for wall!

Yupp, mine in abt 3 wks time(14 June) too. Nervous as well. No march-in for me coz shy...=) Anyone renting a car on the day of rom? I hv to go the bridal shop in the morning for Makeup and such..am wondering wat mode of transport to go there and to the rom venue? Am tinkin of asking my bro-in-law to drive me there. Btw, do u gals plan to go to the rom venue with HTBs or meet him there instead?

Butters> my rom shoes is from Lucieno too. Bought at OG at $169 last wk. Abt 4 inch i think. Yup..their heels is nice and comfy too. =)

Christy> R'ced ur mail. Thanks lotza. TIme for me to get on wif the reno thingy soon. Headache....

pangel> are u doing it at the ROM place itself? was wondering y MUA dun go to ur venue to do ur makeup..

mine is at a hotel, getting a room for 2 nites so will be there oredi with htb...

y dun ur bro-in-law drive both of u there, then at least won't be so nervous cos ur htb will be with u mah...

Valerie> Its ok la... if you need other contact like where I buy light/fan/toilet item just PM me I sent you mine.

All> If you all need help in ROM, GDL & House Reno just PM me I pass you my contact :P I am not here often so PM is better

Butters> no, mine is at Halia Restaurant, Botanic Gardens. No dayroom over there to do makeup i think.

Christy> I need the contacts. Thanks. Btw, heard that the price of lightings and toilet items at jalan besar area is quite reasonable...U bought from there as well? =)

Butters> Hahah is like that one... but I make a mistake by not asking lower commission for the buyers agent. How I wish I give her lower commission...

Valerie> You need now or later the contact?? Lightings hor I buy near my place.. Jurong area.... than as for the bathroom item get from jalan besar.. think we spent S$3k+ on light+fan+bathroom item. Price a bit ex... We did not bargin much.. I think I also tired of running around.. if you want press and press for discount. But my furniture is bargain and bargain... so cover here and there lor LOL.

ernie> u wear ccontact? or too heaty? drink more water ya? jiayou, u'll be a preety bride on that special day, dun worry. =)

Christy> anytime, when u're free. Not urgent la. thanks. =) As for furnitute, i heard that sungei Kadut has quite a few wholesalers over there. Very reasonably priced. =)

christy> hmmm... must ask my fiance to ask for lower commission also... thot tt was fixed... :P cos he handling stuff on housing leh... how much lower can ask for u think?

pangel> heard halia is nice... some more can take nice pic ard the area...

Butters> Usually if you look for resale in the open market.. and you look for resale house in the internet/newspaper those are being put up by the sellers agent.

So that means you dun have agent right.. than if you want to buy the house.. the agent will tell you that you have to pay them a commission too. Usually is 1% of the purchase price of the house which incl the COV. You can opt to ask for 0.75% for the commission and remember to tell no gst.. some agent say their commission still have to add gst.

Our seller agent also ask but we tell her to waive it off and we pay 1%.... haiz should have ask for 0.75%.

Actually doing the resale process not difficult.. I know cause have been thru and I check this before the seller agent submit the doc for us and there is time I have to tell her what is wrong.

Butthers> thanks. =) the place is definitely nice. But not so sure abt the food since we only tried the softshell crab over there once. But the reviews seems ok. Hope everything goes well. =)

Butters & Christy> so u gals will be staying at punggol too? =)

My ROM will be on 26th, nothing fancy but will be wearing gown as I'm not sure whether I get to have my AD.

Anyway buying a house soon too... Cheers...

thanks valerie... it's more of the outer eyelids being red n puffy. confirmed with the doctor that it's not my contacts. suspect it's the dry and dusty air. alot of reno and construction works going on at my workplace and near my home too.

christy> thanks.. she must not b a very gd agent if she needs her client to tell her something is wrong.. *faint* htb is the one talking to agents, i jz follow to view the place.. hopefully can find something we like soon..

pangel> was initially looking at punggol but the flats are too small, so now looking at pasir ris..

icygal> i'm wearing a gown too, simple one, got it MTM from my BS.. not hvg AD too...

Valerie> I have PM you what you want :P Check your email.

Butters> Ya lor so I personally feel she do not deserve the 1% commission I would actually give her 0.25% cause her job is so easy and I also can do myself.. if it is not because that I dun have Property Agent Lic... I would do it myself.

If you can hor you can try getting your friend who are also house agent then get them to do the paper work for you than tell them you pay them 0.5% of commission than you save some money on the commission part. But also remember to ask your sellers agent if they co-broke (meaning that you have a agent of your own too)

FeiMei> Mine is not whole house reno... we did not do hacking of wall and flooring. Elect we do quite abit cause we redo the fales ceiling at the living & dinning area but our tear down is alot cause the ex owner do lots of feature wall and we dun like.

I just started my reno on monday and they did tearing and hacking of 1 toilet in 3days... 4th day which is yesterday.. my bathroom tiles are 80% up and elect is place in line.. today is 5th day.. so quite fast le.. Hahah.

christy> thanks for sharing. i also not gg to do the whole hse becos for resale, they usually charge more becos they will said u have alot of things to remove lah...this n that >.<

i intend to do kitchen (most impt) and two toilets...the corning for living rm still in good condition, so only painting lol...hope to spend as little as possible becos still need to buy furniture n electric appliances lol... -_-"

really not an easy job, esp the money needed...so when ur hse ready, u will move in? u holding customery?

FeiMei> Hahah say only not doing the whole house but later you will find that once you tear down this it will affect that than the cost kept going up.. at first we thought 10k for the reno who knows now is 18k and this few days we add a bit here and there so can you imagine???

I did not do the kitchen... cause will not be cooking much but we tear down a tall cabinet to place the fridge there than notice the wall tiles is in 2 different the ex owner only do partial wall tiles only :P Yacks.

Our furniture and house fixture like fan, lights &amp; bathroom item is already S$9500 and we only buy furniture like sofa, sofacover, bed, bedframe, magazine rack, tv console, tv.

Ya its not a easy job coming to reno cause some time no money but want to do nice nice than hubby and wife will argue or got disagreement lor.

Yes will move in once house ready and will be having customery in oct 09

christy> u r absolutely rite mann~~~not like kids time, when we play 'jia jia jiu'...everything is $$ now...

yalol....more arguement and quarrals...hai~~i oways the loser...my htb very gd in debeting... -_-"

i also thinking to cap @ 10k...seem like u exceeded alot...ur 18k inclusive of funiture?

FeiMei> Heheh I more lucky mu hubby very sayang me so most of the time he will take my view :P

The 18k is the reno only.. which incl of elect works like laying of wire is S$1700... carpentry like wardrobe is S$1600 for the MBR. Mostly the elect and carpentry is the most ex.

christy> so if co-broke means only need to pay 1 side agent fees only? so many terms in all these property stuff..

but 18k for for basic reno is q ok, rite? gd thing u dun need to redo the flooring.. tt wud prob cost a bomb ya... *faint*

my htb likes white minimal n clean concept.. so m pretty ok with watever designs he hv in mind..

only need to decide on which brands of electrical items to buy? to me a $300plus washing machine is ok but he was looking at some which costs like $800-$900...he say its more eco-friendly... *faint*

Any good JP to recommend? i m serching to book JP on my ROM leh, some of them already have appointment on the day...

Butters> I think if co-broke is only pay your agent only. Cannot be pay both side that co-broke for what right?? Hahha ya you learnt all this when you start getting your house.. same as me lor.

18K is a bit ex for us cause we rae really broke after dumping the 5% to the HDB :P Its like staring all over again lor. Ya luck thing we do not need to do the flooring of the house.. not mentioning the MBR bathroom... we redo everything.

Your hubby eco-friendly guy ah.. hahah than ask him to wash with his hands lor LOL more eco-friendly.

christy> u paid 5% for ur love nest? u did not get the hdb loan? u using bank loan?

butters> 18k is abit ex lol, i go through alot of those interior designer web site, 18k++ will include flooring as well lol...so pls compare a few before u decide.

i not intend to do any flooring, so hope 10k+ can be done with the reno.

Everyone> how much do u all tink is appropriate for reno? Mine is a premium flat. So flooring and toilet no need to do. But need to buy toilet items such as basin etc. Am thinking of doing built-in wardrobe, console, kitchen etc..is 15k enuff? Or too much? Hmm....

valerie> i have seen alot of package that those shop posted in the web, their range is more than 15k woorrr....but of cos, all these stuffs is always open for neg. now market not good, they will rather to reduce than to lost one customer, right? now is buyer market....hahahahaha >.<

if you say flooring no need to do, shld save abit lol becos i also dun intend to do flooring but i will focus on kitchen and two toilets. i hope i can squeeze within 10k lol....

feimei> can you share with me with ID you checked out that are good? really need to start compiling list now...

christy> yeah rite.. wait long long for him to wash with his hands... :P

FeiMei> Yes we paid 5% to HDB we are on bank loan. So now already super broke :P

Butters> It depends on what you are doing and using what material. Some ID will say package incl of flooring works but what kind of tiles they give you and are the tiles design outdated?? If you dun like in the end than later they come out story say "oh dun like no problem just choose the one you like and top up lor" LL le like that. Just remember that what the ID wrote in their quote everyword you read carefully. Wah you so late not sleep yet ah??? OMG become panda eye lor...

Valerie> Aiyo we make you kan chong ah :P Hahah We spent the following:
Bathroom Item: S$1650.00
Built in wardrobe: S$1600.00
TV Console: S$550.00 (Buy from IFC) Make is about S$1000.00 not worth it :P
Did not do kitchen.

FeiMei> icic...hope i can get gd rates. Btw, my fren told me that if my budget abt 15K for reno, then i hv to tell ID that my budget ard 10-12K so that the ID won't exceed too much...do u gals do that too?

Christy> Yup...getting kancheong now. =) Coz will only get my keys in 4th qrter this yr. Not sure exactly WHEN but definitely between sept-dec09. And we hv to get the flat reno done before my AD in March 2010....very rush but no choice bcoz mom wants me to move out aft my AD. haha...

valerie> really quite rushing for u...but shld be able to meet your dateline lah...urs is a brand new flat? have floor plan already? if have, dan can look c look c for ID already lol, so that can arga arga ur budget...ur frenx r rite, cannot tell ID how much you can go, tell them the min....so that when they add this n that, you will have some allowance to buffer...like that dan u will not exceed your budget lol... >.<

Christy> Wow...can understand paying out that amount...sort of heart pain also... =P
i *pray* very hard for my hdb loan, so that i no need to go through bank loan...

FeiMei> Hope so lor. If not, i hv to stay wif my in-laws for a while. =( Yup..brand new flat at Pungol. Hv floor plan already. We will look c look c aft our rom this month. =) Hv to look ard for furniture, electrical appliances etc..

christy> ok thanks.. will read all fine prints carefully.. ya i always slp very late.. hopefully the day b4 my ROM can slp early.. if not panda eyes, no matter how good my MUA is also no use.. :P

feimei> thanks for doing up the list..

think its so exciting to c how ur very own place will turn out ya...

Gals> u all buy the mattress yet? Any brand to recommend? Like all very ex leh... =( Btw, ususlly bed and wardrobe all comes tgt rite? Custom made by contractor or buy from retail better? Estimate how much is the total cost huh?

Valerie> If yours is a new house than very easy.. the ID/Contractor just need your floor plan to do out the quote. We are different ours is resale and some part of the house we are still keeping (eg. kitchen/service balcony/common toilet/2 other bedroom) only some small things we touch up or redo. So we need the keys first and bring ID/contractor into the house and view and point out the area we are retaining. If you got floor plan now..you can get quote liao. Wah haha you mom is good ask you to move out.. Hahah. I move out before I turn 21 and my parents totally are mad at me thou they never say anything... but its my choice so cannot complaint.

FeiMei> Ya lor cause we did not know the 5% until the sellers agent tell us we got to prepare the 5% cash to HDB LL really. Thinking that 5% is actually for the reno funds. But we are lucky that we do not need to get loan till now for the reno.

Butters> Ya must read carfully on the ID quote.. cause I found out my contractor.. mistake. He put overlay first than hack tiles.. do not match right?? so point that out to him and got it changed.

Valerie> Mattress we get from Robinson at Centerpoint its a Simmons... got it at a steal S$1999 with 2 pillow and a mattress protector. The tag of the mattress is 3999 we got it first at S$2499 than paid everything.. robinson policy is if between the delivery date if the same mattress price is lower than what you buy than they will refund you the difference so finally we paid 1999 a queen size.

What you mean bed and wardrobe.. you mean done by your ID?? ID price for carpentry are ex.. get it outside those furniture shop. We got our bedframe outside at I think 500+ only aft discount.

If you want you can buy first and get the shop to hold for you till end of the year for you if you not afraid the shop close down (choy)... just place a deposit dun pay in full. Now the GSS can save a bit.