(2008) Brides of year 2008

uk_fung

Honeymoon pic available la
http://uksportgal.multiply.com/

stay

hello ladies!! u gals are really active even on weekends! haven been able to log on at all coz weekends are just filled with getting last min stuff. seems like there are so many customs when it comes to GDL. even just teochew alone, so many different ways. just to share mine (which was like end Oct, so early lor): im teochew and HTB is hokkien. my MIL is really nice and dun want us to go thru too much trouble. so they prepared everything and we just return some of what they brought over. instead of having stuff like hard liquor and many other stuff which we may leave out, she just gave an additional ang bao which is a ALL-IN-ONE ang bao. but my mum just took out a bit for the confinement ang bao and return the rest. for bride's side, we just got the minimum stuff which u can get at the shop at people's park. its $38. i think rule of thumb is to ask both parties what they need. that one must give. anything else is just a bonus. that's how we did it. its much easier and more relaxed. some of ur mums or MILs may only want certain things which are impt to them. like all my MIL asked for was that my mum give me $10 ang bao before i leave home on AD. that signifies shi quan shi mei. as for the SDJ, i dun intend to wear it coz it doesnt match my cheongsam! heehee! my MIL¡¡din specify so i think its ok hor? :p i oso din bring over my dowry back to groom's place after the GDL. i think there are just too many customs, very hard to follow them all. so dun stress urself too much£¡
hope u gals are coping well still! rem to stay cheery!

Net >
You must learn to take things easier... Stress can make one's immune poorer. Try taking some multi-vits.

Fanny, Vivi, Happiness >
I'm thinking of watching Tropical Thunder later with bf today haha. I haven't catch James Bond yet.

Waixer>
SG Govt is smart, can earn extra for the door fees of casino. They claimed that this measure was to discourage Singaporeans from getting addicted to gambling LOL

Clare >
I dun swim so I dun see any need to shave down there yet hehe.

Lsn >
Glad that you enjoyed your BKK trip! I find the buffets cheap and nice there.

Gals> My MIL now says that she don't want to invite her side's relatives, so our tables turnout is reduced by 3 tables to be 17 now. Our ballroom needs minimum 21 tables leh. Hmm how how? My FH and I don't have many friends. I don't think my hotel will allow us to reduce the minimum tables for that ballroom.

happymrskoh

So many posts..!

I will be wearing the Kim my mum bought for me with my Kua when I return home on the AD. Although my MIL bought SDJ for me, I don't really like the design.. So, probably I'll just select a nicer piece to wear just to show my appreciation for her. She didn't specifically mention I got to wear too..Hee Hopefully, I won't look too 'traditional' with the Kim and Kua!

Counting down to 11 Nov now.. Gonna have a good rest tonight cos tomorrow don't know whether will be able to sleep due to over-excitement and some Jie-meis staying overnight at my place..

Hope everything will turn out fine on my AD and will share with all of you my experiences after my big day!

Take care everyone for now~!

simplejer

Jol askaAoiumi: Guest list n invites took alot of time..u r not kiasu..it helps u to spread out the timing for u to book the guests.

haha anyway i had done my diy bridemaid corsages..here is the pics..

820913.jpg

jolene428

yooooooz! so mrs koh's wedding is on tues???

wooooooo!!! jiayou jiayou!!! dont worry, u will look okay with the kim and kua coz i wore the whole set of my the SDJ with my Kua :p but then my SDJ is not pure gold :p Since my MIL is nt particular so she let me and my mum go and choose the SDJ then my HB paid first then claimed frm my MIL :p Hahaha so i get to choose the design i think least obiang ;P

Ya! Stay is right! Wats impt is to ask wat both side wants! She is so fortunate tt both sides are not particular abt the customs!! So can just do watever is agreed during the Ti2 Qing1! My problem is my mum is more traditional and all the more when my MIL is qingcai, my mum got wat she requested for

sylmc

Simplejer - spent this afternoon to finish writing all the invites. 1 task off the list. Now moving on to make placement list as well as photo montage.

Agree with Eunice that it looks very sweet. Its a pearl bracelet right? If so, it is an unique way to wear a wrist corsage as compared to the usual organiza ribbon that is commonly used to tie around the wrist

lost_in_space

Hey Gals, i'm Back~~~ :D haha.. everything went very smoothly~~ still in the hotel now.. :D extra night stay~~ hehehee... everything just finished in a day~~ going to miss it.. very touched when my hubby said his speech~~ i promise to take care, love you until the star of the heavens burns out~~ so sweet.. I think when i had my speech.. my mama cried a bit bit.. hubby told me her eyes were red.. good thing is on my wedding day.. my FIL strike 4D.. my mama said I brought luck to his family~

pinky81

I will be wearing everything (his mom's SDJ and my mom's jewellery with my Kua). The only thing I have to put aside is the earrings because I only have a pair of ear piercings. haha.

This is the reduce any conflict.. they will sure feel unhappy if I din wear what they give me.

HappyMrsKoh (happymrskoh): So sweet of your jiemeis to go over and accompany you overnight. =)

strawbsc

gals > I have posted my pics here liao..lol..but too much pics liao,haven't finish yet..lah..the superb service starts from the time u step out of the plane..really step out of the plane not airport not after immigration.At 1st we stepped out of the plane,my hubby was gonna start to curse when he saw a airport ground staff holding a board with his name on it!!He tot our luggage got lost manz..to our suprise it was bvlgari staff..took our passport,lead us thru' immgration,did my hb's visa and took our luggage for us! we didn't queue like the rest of the pple..wow..I was just dumbfound lah..

http://tw.myblog.yahoo.com/jw!feArTrKRGBYXUYc1JcUbmJS9u4o-/archive?l=f&id=28

yl> cool!!okiez..I will go ask my hubby next time..We are going to bkk in 2days time..very excited.Hows the weather??we aldy wrote down where we wan to eat and shop liao..lol..

green > tok to ur coordinator?see what she can do to help..discuss with her nicely?maybe a more expensive menu instead of the 21 tables??

eunicet

Hey girls, I was wondering if you all knew anything about wedding aisle runners...My florist wanted to include it as the main attraction for deco and was actually thinking it's very easy to get...A runner is just a long piece of cloth running from front to back on the aisle in a church wedding, and it's usually white, a bit shiny...Actually, can get at Arab Street right? You think I'll slip and fall on it?!

esther_c

hey girls,need some help here.my GDL this sat.i bought so many different angpaos until i got confused.may i ask for eg on AD when my lao gong bring the tray of 12 oranges and 2 angpaos, may i know what are the 2 ang paos he is supposed to bring?
also for GDL,what ang paos he bring?what im trying to say is like eg "to purchase land","diaper",etc.getting all jumbled up here already with what angpaos my laogong bring and my mother to return back etc.

any kind souls pls?

esther_c

to cassie: try lovedroplets.she's really good!check out her webby.

summer_ice:im having a problem with the allocation of guests too.now im facing some tables with 1 empty seat here and there,very frustrating!to the others that are confirmed,i have just sent out cards to them.how about u gers?suddenly the clock is ticking faster!

and to all:i havent been updating myself on the forum.amazing how this thread is running!

vivaliciousviv

~~strawclare
<font color="aa00aa">i saw the pix and services Bvlgari offered from the Airport til resort, it was purely LUXURY and so BLISSFUL!wow!! i can felt this is Simply PAMPER! =D i bet u n ur hubby muz b really enjoying it evry bit and wish the moment can linger longer...heee...w such great enjoyment and scenery...baby making should be... =D *wink wink* But for me ah, when my hubby n i went for those Massages, we will hit the sack real fast and no action done..LOL..BKK soon?? yes yes, thai massage is really good, u can really feel the sounds of them loosen the joints, etc. LOL, ENJoy babe...a few more days at BALI wor...going to JIMBARAN bay soon?</font>

~~green
<font color="119911">oh my god...y suddenly a reduce in number of tables??? tt time when drafting up the guestlist then hunt for Hotel shld roughly cfm the tables req'd ma...Alamak..tts v vexing...hmmm....u maybe try ask the coordinator what can she offer, i guess the certain number no of tables the hotel req'd is meant for rough gauge to break-even or some profit margin to host the whole event, this is really an Unexpected thing and thus need her urgent help...perhaps the main 2 tables can have better and more exp menu?? try to neg lo, bo bian...i will keep my fingers crossed for you...smooth wedding...when???</font>

~~green and fanny jo (happi_bride)
<font color="ff6000">i watched james Bond today but i felt...it's kinda lame and dun understand le...weird ending also...thus dont worth watching...</font>

~~net
u went Paris liao??hws the trip?? stuff, shopping, romantic??LOL

~~Happiness&amp;Bliss
<font color="0000ff">hee...Ben stiller shows are really funny lo...LOL - next gotta b Magacasar -escape to africa, i think he still voice the Lion head...LOL...yup, sama sama, doing the Brazillian on monthly or a few weeks basis...heee....tt time before my actual day booked an apptmt on i think 7th Sep, so 9th b hairless, then honeymoon 11th Sep until can have great S** but....7th Morning, it came lo, so cancel the apptmt lo, haaa.....</font>

layling

Hi everyone, my wedding is on 29th, in 3 weeks!

Just something to do a poll on : How much are you guys planning to give the photographer, videographer and makeup artist in ang paos? WHen do I give that to them?

jo_vin

Jolene, icic.. But i think underneath my mattress, got holes leh. Cos the wooden planks of the bed is not a full wood board, but horizontal strips of wood. Aiya, dont know u utd or not. I'll c how then lor. C how to put. Headache...

Haha.. Not cool la. But dont know y also lor. But usually when i c show or c other ppl weddding, i cry very easily de. Dont know y my own one i ok. But very diff to say la. AD still not here yet. Haha.. Will see if i will cry or not. Skali i cry until xi li hua la.. Haha..

Ya, my hubby is a performer ma. So he's not afraid of the stage. So naturally he should be able to speak very well i guess..

Yup, cards all distributed le. No cakes for us. Cos my mum say no need leh.

Can i check with u, when does Mum need to give me the SDJ? During GDL ma? Then i bring over to groom's house? N wear it on the AD b4 returning to bride's house isit?

Then hor, because groom's side buy yellow gold for me. Can i dont wear on AD? Hehe.. cos doesnt match with the gown leh. When should i wear it actually?

jo_vin

Wah Lost! How was it? Fun?? So sweet ur hubby? Guess ur PIL sure dote on u liao! Tio 4d the moment u marry into their house!! Wah.. u really wang ur hubby lor!! So good!!

Btw, i forgot what's ur name in Multiply again? Hehe..

cassie02

Jol - u r not kiasu at all. Better start early than panic later esp Dec is a popular month for going away.

Meimei - thanks for the recommendation

Simplerjer - nice! did u make the rose ur self as well?

Eunice - Think must choose the material carefully if u r going to walk on it adn make sure they are secured properly else may have trip hazards.

lost_in_space

jovin.. my multiply username is komiki25.. it was very fun.. we tio tekan by my colleagues.. very memorable...

for the gold thing right.. what i did was to bring over the SDJ that my MIL gave me to their place on the wedding day when my hubby came and fetch me.. then changed at their place.. and wear the SDJ (MIL one).. then return back home and then during tea ceremony, my parents helped me to wear those gold they gave me..

jolene428

wow Lost!! so heng lehhh!! I also think ur inlaws sure love u like siao now ^^ so good! until now, my num hasnt opened.. before AD quite a few of our numbers opened but we dont have the buy 4D habit! Wasted alot of chances :p haha...they said within 1 mth after AD still gt chance to tio
Like my fren, hers is 1mth later then come out... and no one buying liao! pity...

so sweet lehh ur HB!!! My HB didnt said tt leh :p haha he go and thank both parents, esp his parents who worked hard all their lives... keke and his colleagues and frens.. then i thank my helpers, jiemeis and brothers... keke.. very simple speech coz we didnt prepared!! :p oops.. nw xiaokai knw the secret :p

jo_vin: ur HB a performer??!!! What he working as nw?? cool lehh... must upload the video of ur dance!!! So exciting!!!

jolene428

oh oh...

jo_vin: for me.. my HB gave the SDJ to my mum on my GDL, then my mum gave me the gold she gave me.. Then on my AD, my mum gave me the SDJ and i wore it back to my hse for tea ceremony for my KUA. then i totally nv show the gold she gave me. But she helped my HB wore a ring during tea ceremony. She said bride's mum must buy either gold necklace or gold ring for groom to signify - tao4 zhu4 the son in law forever... :p

my fren's HB got tis really THICK gold necklace from my fren's mum lor.. damn cool.. he still wears it everyday and we like to call him the ah leong :p hahaha..... but the groom actually can remove the gold after the AD.

my MIL gave me gold bracelet on my AD during tea ceremony and wear on the spot for me. Oso signify the same thg.. to lock me to the hse forever :p Hers v interesting.. is 2 on each hands.. i think i look funni :p

But i am very touched coz...i thought my MIL didnt have anything for me and just angbao.. so when she gave it to me, i was touched, surprised and so Happy!!! not coz of the gold but the gesture :D

So i wore the SDJ and the bracelet my MIL gave me back to my hse for tea ceremony. Actually not obiang coz the KUA to red and colourful so watever u wear on u, not obvious other than the earrings :p

jolene428

but actually i got 1 qns leh..

i got a fren after her wedding, she still wears her bracelet.. duno is SDJ or the one her MIL gave her..

anyone heard if it is a must mah? ehhhh i go ask my fren oso see wat she said.. smthg new to me too...

dodolet

simpleger! looks nice dear... How did u diy the flower so nicely.. It does not come out tat nice for me. >.<

I have given part 1 of my invites to my friends and teammates, next will be those that I have to mail and lastly the relatives... I am hoping to complete giving out by end Nov. Darn biz these few days running here and there....

Anyway, on a good note.. I have my album in my room already.. *YEAH*. Gowns and appointment dates all settled..

Eunice, is the runners to be on the floor or at the side.. I am blur.... Anyway for me I am only keeping the deco simple enough to stay within my budget.. ^^;;

Oh oh.. Both moms gowns are settled.. That I am so thankful for.. I din know moms can be so picky.. LOL...

Jol, darn. u are always fast gal.. ^^.. Did you get ur album already? I got mine on friday.

stay

morning gals!
HappyMrsKoh : so excited for u!!! all the best to ur big day tmr! u probably wun be able to log on today but do know that we are all wishing the best for u!

Lost: congrats for having a smooth-sailing (and VERY lucky) AD! ur PILs will lurrvvveeee u even more! guess u can change ur nick now! heehee... no longer have to be lost in space!

Lay Ling: hey! my AD's on 29th too! the gals were sharing that they gave $28-$58 for the ang baos to MUA, PG,VG etc. i wondering how much to pay coz all my MUA, PGs ( i have 2) and VGs (2 oso) are already so expensive!

jo_vin : I know wat u mean about the holes... how about using scotch tape? or string? something just to secure it? my mattress is more than 7kg! dunno how to lift up and place underneath the bed. my MIL just said yesterday that we shdnt meet. so have to do everything 2 days before. hope can collect the gowns by then.
jo_vin : how is ur MIL like? better sound her out if she is expecting u to wear. else she might be searching for it on the AD. rem, try to avoid any (unpleasant) surprises for anyone. good luck to u! hope she doesnt expect u to wear. heehee!

simplejer

Hi Eunic &amp; Jol

Thanks.I will take another pic when its worn.My AD is nearer n nearer liao..Kan chong.Now my invites almost send out all liao.

Now the headache is the seating arrangement cos my dinner will be at Grand Shanghai and the layout is not like hotel layout - rectangle.

Meimei: i also face the same problem with u.donno who to place in the slot for a table of 9.wat i scare is that when i have 10 tables of 9ppl,i can save 1 table $$ le..if realli cant must move yr frens ard.they will be more understanding..

u can check out the this thread which might help u in yr GDL http://www.singaporebrides.com/forumboard/messages/3/765723.html?1225812719

Eunic: for wedding aisle runners,is nice to have 1 in chruch..if u really like it n scare tt u trip, y not u go shoe cobble n do anti-slip on the sole?

Cassie: ya the roses n the bead bracelets all are diy by me.took me at least a day to complete(i'm slow)..haha =)

simplejer

Hi Sotonglet

I learn the trick fr youtube..for ribbon roses u need to use thread n needle to sew 'stem'..so that it will stay in place..other materials like staple or tape doesnt make the roses stay at its place..

jolene428

layling: keke think we discussed abt tis before liao :p

nvm, can say again... i think the rate is between $18-$68 for PG.VG and MUA...

it depends on a few thgs:
- is ur parents and inlaws oso giving them angbao? if they are giving $18-$28 then u can give them maybe $28-38 lor.. if they are nt giving.. then u give $38-$50 lor..

- whether u like their job done.. wat u can also do is.. give 1 small one in the morning before they start work. Then if whole day u happy w their svc..nite time before they start work give another one...

- if u wan cut cost, i thk min give $18-$28 is gd enough

for me, i think the MUA v good.. i gave her one in the morning then nite time, coz need to pay for jiemeis+mothers so i asked her keep the change lah instead of give her exact amt.

my PG is okay lor, so i gave one only :p and i have 2 frens who do PGs for us and 1 fren for VG.. tis 3 we give them more
Coz frens mah and they dun let us pay thm for the service. So bao a bigger angbao to them.

jolene428

PG and VG when u get the pictures and video u can give another angbao if u are happy with the products...

for me, when i get my pictures, i thk i will give my PG another angbao lor.. depending on the quality of the work.

VG oso coz he paid the tapes for us and i thk he doing editing for us oso and he is a fren lor! This one must bao big big... coz pro VG is $1000 min i thk..

jolene428

oh ya, are u all sending Thank you cards to all the bridal, hotel MUA and PG? keke i almost forgot i need to send.. 1 wk liao , wil go send soon ^^

esther_c

ok gers,sorry again..just to confirm LI RU is Nappy money and the 2 Angpaos involved on GDL are just LI RU and PIN JIN?

esther_c

sontonglet:how is ur album?i haven seen my softcopies.album will be ready in early dec only.are u gers displaying pix other than albums?any suggestions?

oh by the way here's the link to lovedropets's blog aka Jac in case u are interested.http://moks0002.multiply.com/photos/album/2/Hand_Bouquets_more_m
Jac has a budget selection section.

i tot of DIY my corsages but end up decided too time consuming for me.

by the way gers,where is ur venue?

lilacbliss07

hi gals im back le.. keke.. yeah everything went smoothly from the morn till the nite.. had so much fun and it was just like wat i imagined... keke... only tin is my makeup at nite took too long so did not have time to mingle ard during cocktail session.. so din have time to tok to some longtime frens... =(

bt still happy le.. so many pple turned up to witness our happiness.. keke.. during morn also very touched coz before leaving the house.. sort of like saying goodbye... den parents gave us advice and both my pa and i cried.. and hubby assured my parents dat he will take good care of me.. sob sob feel like crying again..

ok so morn is really very rush and hectic.. nite time is just relax and be pretty.. keke... so happy...

lilacbliss07

hw's ur wedding?? their service is fantastic.. when we checked in.. they immediately noe our names and bring us to the room personally.. upgraded our room to president suite.. gave us complimentary chocolates and fruits..

banquet wise very good coordination and well planned... so happy.. keke...

luckiechako

hi babes.....

Finally got over my GDL!!!! Yahoooo!!!!! Well, glad everything turn out great &amp; well....

Thanx babes for all the advices &amp; encouragements!!!!

jolene428

hey hi Lost and Jane!!!!!!!!

Congrats that everythg was great!!!

^^ wow.. presidential suite wor!!! must be very big and nice!!! heehee... roll here and roll there :p

keke yeahhh!! wedding day actually is quite fun de lor so the BTBs, just enjoy urself on ur AD!!!

Lost: u so cute, at hotel must make full use :p hehehe..dont neglect ur HB :p

kellyduffy

hello all babes,

i will be on leave starting tmr.. take a break away from work to start preparing for the actual day..

yup, wedding is this coming Saturday.. very fast.. very excited and nervous too..

still got a few banquet details not yet work out..projector la, seating and guest list. i need to touch up and complete the ang pow boxes also.. i also dun noe if i wan rose petals thrown at rom or at first march in.. haha..

jolene: i think i will get ready thank you cards to send too.. if i rem... hee..

jane and lost: so happy you gals had a fanastic wedding day.. going on honeymoon soon?

jolene428

wow! tis wk got a few brides hor?!!

hee.. v fast everyone's wedding over liao then we can have a gathering!!! ^^

good good, kelly these few days u just rest lor
go massage, go walk walk and sleep more!!!

guestlist think at lastmin still gt change de so dont get too upset over it ^^

projector u got the rental lobang? u wan i can pass u the number $80 a day for 3000 lumis projector.. delivered to the hotel and setup nicely for u
So nice rite?

jolene428

ohh ya i realised i got tailor contacts oso
my mother tailor made her gowns and last time i used to use a tailor for my dance performance costumes oso ^^ kinda of late for the BTBs nw but if u got frens who wan tailor contacts, can pass ya ^^