(2008) Brides of year 2008

waxie:
thanks for the info
Okie, confirm with my mum and sis, we gonna get the bengawan solo gift cards.

viv:
Yea, try to talk to your mum abt this... 60boxes is... erm... alot 0_0 Perhaps she said '16'?

All:
now only left 1 month to our AD eh, gotta curb the temptation!! But all the good food comes in now... durains, 7th month (praying food), mooncakes... geez

Ah Net> Wah, u 1 box take cab home, I bought 3 boxes but struggle to take bus home (saving for wedding lah), luckily got seats on the bus, if not die liao coz I stay in Hougang, quite a long journey from Tampiness.

Went to T&T printing last Sat....shitz.. heavy traffic jams coz went in quite late (around 4 plus), arrive city square around 6 plus... Chose our wedding card size (230x100)mm (When cards are close),quite ex leh..actually I act smart, went to choose to long card and colour printing:

RM350 for 200pcs with colour printing inside.
RM90 for 200pcs Gold colour Envelope
RM20 for Cover photos
RM20 for map
RM480 - Total
RM480/200pcs = RM2.40/2.37 ~ SGD1.00 Each

Coz intend to get the bridal shop photo (edited with design), so haven confirm the cover pics yet, dun know wan to go down one more time to submit the photos or by send email? Go down will be safer coz they will print the sample for your ref b4 they process with all the printing...but lazy leh....After printing, still have to go down one more time to collect...

Rach> Your design wedding card is the small one right? Coz I see your pricing are so much cheaper than mine...

Green < I oso into bubble tea... Love my passionfruit green tea with lotsa pearls...yummy... I have a cup almost everyday... die I'm sure going to put on weight...

Viv < WAH!!! 60 boxes??? better recount, if not waste money lei... my side only request 10 boxes....

Msbean < i not getting a VG...no more xtra $$ to spare liao.... haiz...

hi bluebananas,

it's way too ex. hotstamping shouldn't cost so much. Your banquet package usu includes free cards and 70% is the normal amount. Unless you ask for more than 70% of your confirmed tables, you shouldnt need to pay anything more for just cards alone.

Most hotels do not provide standard printing though, but that shouldn't cost more than $200.

I went to T-dragons and they have templates for chinese and english. chinese is standard and dun cost a cent more.

i'm the ultra frugal one so i only paid extra $8 for gold thread to tie my insert to my card. my hotel package includes 80% of invites for my confirmed guests and standard printing for inserts. If you want special insert papers (those translucent ones) and hotstamping, will cost more...

hotstamping refers to printing gold shiny text. yes, it is considered non-standard printing and will cost more, but can't be more than $1 for each card! i can't remember wat t-dragons quoted me but it's just a couple of cents per card to hotstamp.

Ivy>think its better for u to go down to see. When I printed, they didn't take care and there was a red splotch on my invite. Made FH v angry as we had pointed it out to them before when we inspected the samples and they promised it will be fixed.

Yo gers i am back,1 whole day PS so tiring,hope the pics turn out well.My PG quitting after my case and gog to join MyBridal Room, haiz my BS really in deep shit....Had my PS at KeppelMarina,HendersonWaves,HortPark then we are all very tired ,decided to end there.Wanna to go Labrado but din haizz....

nec/keer13: ger i try add u but cant,u add u ye?my id is huisingannette thx

Earthsea: are u soratian? just saw ur comment, just finshed my PS today,managed to take a few pics using our own cam hehe.shall upload soon

Pin&amp;jie/icic : Gers,hows ur honeymoon package like? i am still looking out for one from 21decto28dec. Wanna to have prehoney in sept when hubby go Seattle but i cant follow now so sad.

Lingling: Korea is having whta season in dec?is it winter?i am considering japan or korea too

ChristianTan: i gotta ur email but cant open dun know y.

R&amp;J... yea... I left my comments. Haven't had the time yet to go view them in detail tho but I think you both look so blissful!

Haiz... My manager went on leave the moment I returned to work last week and now MC 3 days. Sianz... own workload so much already still must act as the "little boss". Haiz...

My AD PG called us yesterday saying that our pics will be ready for viewing by this weekend! Hopefully everything turns out nice... Can't remember how many pics he's developing for us. But so far the softcopy is already 2.6 GB.

My MUA's gonna revamp her website too and she's gonna use our photos in her website then! Hee... So exciting...

bluebananas: you can still take the card FOC from your hotel.. just that you get other supplier to print the insert for you.. why not.. you don't need to get card outside one

Seriously If you got the ink and buy paper yourself.. you can even print yourself... Card and insert does not need to be from same supplier

Lynn: same! I only get the 70% card and insert FOC from hotel.. then the gold thread I paid 10cent each... that's all :P .... I need more cards for guest... but I never top up.. I DIY and print other set of cards :P

Save cost :P

Ivy,
better do ur cards soon and go down personally to make sure they get it right. Else no time to make changes liao.
Why you spend so much on the cards? Your hotel/ restaurant didnt give u any free cards?

The cakes are for the bride's side only? Then why my FMIL say they'll give us then we hv to return a few to them? Somemore my mum volunteer to buy herself lor... sians.. which means I hv to take time off to drive her to buy.

Jus curious if u gals have discussed abt the number of tables to request from yr FH side and amt of dowry....

Checking what is the normal rates like these days...care to share?

Actually my restaurant did provide the cards, but we don't like the design and because we think it was very special to incude our photos, that why we intend to do it at T&amp;T.

We thought it was quite cheap initially, but because we chose the more expensive cards and printing..that's why added up to this much...

hi girls, im kinda new here
n dont really understand bout ur topics
anyway, just want 2 share that our ROM n AD will be 27th of Oct 08 at SAF Yacht Club, engaged Bridal De Couture for our PG n VG + MUA
im Indonesian so im quite new with all this tea ceremony n all d chinese tradition.
mind 2 share with me ? n what is GDL ? i read about buying GDL? sorry im lost here

please please reply, need help a lot

thanks for your feedback girls!!!

I will call AWT up tomorrow and ask them again why so expensive~~~
bleargh.

Apparently it cost more for them to print extra on the front of the insert, and then yeah the hotstamping gold is more exp, and then im using the translucent paper also... maybe thts why its more exp? My other friend also recommends the focal-ad.com place. I will call them tmr! Thanks again!
))))

Porsche: My parents requested for 6 tables and 20 boxes of wedding cakes. Dowry is up to the guys side to give... My parents will keep abit and return the rest...

<font color="119911">all ladies...i asked my mum again to day.....she said she gt a lot of friends la, relatives la...i added, each family need 1 box only ma, i dun wanan waste so much $$$ on these lo, is she sure abt havin so many boxes....n i was like kinda wil get mad if there are leftovers....i might turn the tables upside down de ok... (i aint nice when i m angry n might turn into a GREEN HULK)..then she say, OK la, 50 boxes....liew....
ladies, i m terribly sianz...</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Mum said she will need to return abt 8-10 boxes of the cakes to my man's family....i duno la...is tht call GDL n Bride will return partial of the gifts, if returning thn i start to think gettin the cake vouchers instead, return 8-10 boxes NOBODY will eat at one shot de lo, siao de le...</font>

<font color="ff0000">so all ladies...most of ur requested amount of boxes of cakes at wat number,please lemme know???</font>

<font color="aa00aa">the cakes u r giving them to ONLY relatives ???wat abt friends?? or selected pple...hw to classify???</font>

<font color="119911"> i seriously dun wana waste this kind of $$$!</font>
<font color="ff0000">i m hokkien, n oni daughter among mum's 4 children, i gt 2 elder bros n 1 younger bro...does tt matter???</font>

hmm, I think it's really up to ur mum to ask for any number of cakes she wants leh. But just let her know it's senseless to spend unnecessary money lor. Like you say, $10 x 50 = $500. Even with good discount, it'll still cost $400 lor.

My mum only asked for abt 10 boxes for her siblings and maybe return only 2 boxes.

btw,
anyone wanna share how many tables ur mum requested and whether the pinjin amount is requested by ur mum or up to the groom to give? It's normal to hv both pinjin and tables right? Tables meaning mum will keep all the ang bao money fr those tables.
And usually how much are the pinjins? 3 figure, 4 figure or 5 figure... keke...

<font color="ff0000">so all ladies...most of ur requested amount of boxes of cakes at wat number,please lemme know???</font>

<font color="aa00aa">the cakes u r giving them to ONLY relatives ???wat abt friends?? or selected pple...hw to classify???</font>

<font color="119911"> i seriously dun wana waste this kind of $$$!</font>
<font color="ff0000">i m hokkien, n oni daughter among mum's 4 children, i gt 2 elder bros n 1 younger bro...does tt matter???</font>

<font color="0000ff">my Parents requested for 10 tables lo, as so call PIN JIN....then all the HB will b under bride's side but i think we will dump all into 1 AB box la, dun wanna have 2 boxes on reception table, so Obvious, so care for what..most the AB will write the names de la....but those who wana giv $20 or lower....they wont write de lo, we lu-gi tts all..sianz...haaa....</font>

<font color="ff0000">As for the $$$ given frm Groom parents to Bride, i think depends ba, my parents din mention the amt....i guess 3-4 figure is ok ba, i think all shld understand we all NOT print $$$ de...dun demand so much lo...i think $888 seems OK le...i duno wat amt my worth gota b...anyway 10 tables already fairly ok...</font>

<font color="119911">yup, i also start to wonder y my mum needs so many cakes, 50 is still an alarming figure...i scare she wana anyhw giv the cakes, maybe to casual friends...sianz....i still gota try to psycho her to lower the amt...as i seriously dun wana splurge $$ any Old hw....</font>

Happiness> ooh.. $1299.. haha... my HB also...after he talked to the salesperson..when i ask him what was converse?
He'll summarise in just 1 sentence.. best rite???
haha...

YL> some not so close one never give loh.. hahaha..coz we didnt count ma.. just randomly ordered 60boxes.. haha...

yeah.. i was thinking if we are stil meeting up next monday man.. hehehe..

where's LE??

green> its at basement.. go down the escalator..Uturn to ur left..can see liaoz..

We try to chop the outside seats... can ti ta till we happy.. haha.

No need booking la.. i think if some of us can be there earlier would be good.. say 630pm?
The last time i was there... there were lesser crowd at 6plus...come 7plus. fully booked man....

The double yolk are ALREADY reduced sugar ones..

Hahaha...i've gained weight... think u all see me will realise.. became a fatty laioz...
the more i wanna lose...the more stress i become..the more i eat.. jialat..and totally no exercise!
duhz.. :P

msbean> why regret?? what happened at ur fren's wedding??

dor> which Isetan?? anyone??? we thinking of getting it during NAtas fair.... 1-3 Aug.. i'll be there on Friday..

Only the bride side will give out cakes.... but whatever they give u..need to return a few back...
even the sweets, and some funny stuffs... all need to return a portion.. to be polite...
even the pin jin also need to return some. cannot keep all..else look very greedy...

we requested for 7 tables (coz thats the amt of immediate relateives we have.. dad(10siblings) &amp; mum(6siblings) side..)
My Pin Jin mum told his mum any amt will do... just æ„æ€æ„æ€ will do.... MIL gave $2288... my mum returned $888...so she kept $1400...
And another AP for helping me to wash diapers while young..($68)... Another AP for comb hair...($28)

PJ really depends if ur mum asked for it.. my fren's mum asked for $5k...and poor groom gotta fork out $5k..and they didnt return any..
MMmm.. not nice la.. shows like very greedy like that...

Yup..normal to have both... but up to the parents to decide during meeting..

viv> think Bengawan would be a good choice.. mine was just so so in taste.. but the old folks really love the teochew 喜饼..
hehe..most commented its really very nice!

Hahaha... we had 20 boxes of cakes... 10boxes of teo chew...and 30 boxes of Hokkien 喜饼..
Also 60..and its not enough.. :P

We gave to relatives who came to my place.... a few of my neighbours... our own frens no need....
but if u want to also can...like coll u can bring some to office.. but not necesary de..

The rest all relatives when we went home to home distribute.. tiring man...
3 days of driving..my neck aches.. hahaha....

Btw, we only ask for 20boxes of cakes from the groom side..the rest my parents paid..thats $400++.
20x$7 = $140 + some cloth and plate etc.. it was about $197++...
also got those funny stuffs... like 冰糖.. etc..and é¢çº¿...
we returned 2 boxes of cakes to him..and mum gave them extra teo chew and hokkien 喜饼 also.. just for them to eat...

waxie> Bengawan Solo voucher can be used to redeem ANYTHING in the shop... i worked there for a few years during sch hols.. so i know..

Hahhaha.. i was from a normal sales assist.to a supervisor..and to think i was just 17years old then!!
I wonder now how they trust me to do closing and to count all the day's earnings and lock in the safe man...
I really wont trust a 17 years old now to do it... hahaha...
and there's this tradition in BS...that the lower staffs need to address the superiors as "Mdm" and can u imagine the aunties in their 40s-60s calling me "Mdm"?
Duhz... i always tell them to call me by my name. but if get caught by other manager will be scolded de...
hahahhaha....so funny now to think abt it.. hehe...

I still love retail and sales...

Ivy> huh?? why so ex?? Mmm.. i didnt pay RM$20 for the cover photo.. u used a lot of photo?? u seen mine at multiply rite??
I didnt pay extra leh.. and didnt pay for map too... Mmmm. i think i was more fortunate.. who u laise with??
Mine was Shirley.. Hmmm....
We printed 400...each piece is S$0.39 plus envelope is about S$0.49.. the more u print the cheaper it is la...
But i guess if u print in spore..even more ex... urs is open and close.. mine is just front and back.... A5 size...

Urs is considered A4 liaoz... so double the cost..

Its same size as yours.. just that mine is front and back.. no open n close... urs open up is A4 size liaoz... mine can print 2 one a piece..
yours is just one in a piece..

You can email them. but why u go down before deciding on ur photos? should have decide first..else waste a trip..
but if u are not printing that many...ask them if u can collect on the day itself....
go early in the morning..10am..collect at 6pm...
email them and see if possible..
you can catch a movie at the 5th level in the meantime..

cheaper.. its Cathay. but dun expect as good quality la..

We watched "Wanted" there..

Happines> i love champagne grape red tea.. hahaha...

bluebananas,
i agree wif lynn n mrs chiew....perhaps u shd chk out d cost outside n compare to see if u still wana print there....hotstamping is not exactly dat ex cos i used it, it's juz $80 for d metal plate which u get to keep n den $0.35 per pc....i DIY print my ROM invites :P

porsche,
well, basically i'll b giving my mum 5-6 tables n 38 boxes of cakes wif 38 cans of pig trotters/roast pork :P dowry is up to my fh's side but it shd b a 4-digit amt ba, my mum will keep some of return d rest

hi angeline kusuma,
hi there...welcome to d oct 2008 btb thread!
i'll update ur details in d table

Whoaaa...I had a suspicion that though I haven't been receiving updates in my email, that this forum is still super alive and kicking! And I am right!!

Anyways, our discussion is back to honeymoons! Hmmm...Again, my question: Tour package or not?? I feel it's more hassle free for tour packages but do you think they are too packed? What do you look out for in tour packages?

P.S. I've also added people to Multiply! Yay!

Jac, yeah yeah, wave wave

Ha ha, all these babies talk can be a bit stressful, but age is catching up, must plan in advance.

Next time i plan a trip to Taiwan, I must ask u all for tips, since some of you have been there so many times, i've only been to Taipei once. That place is so big, still got central and north side haven't explore yet.

providencia,
yah yah, we r fellow comrades....hehehe, thru sg forum i even got to know a btb who's born on d same day n yr wif me n getting married in oct....it's really v nice

i actually didnt think of giving birth to a bb at tis moment, perhaps in another 2-3 yrs' time but think it's better to do more homewk...juz like our wedding, have to prepare in advanced :P

jac,
yah, same here...ppl expect me to have a bb after my AD cos im not getting any younger le so they r q surprised dat i wana push back my family plans....
i agree dat regardless of where u go, u gotta b more careful n b on ur guard everytime....smtimes it's not due to others but ur own carelessness :P
oh, my colour for d bridesmaid is white....they wear watever they feel comfy ba :P
i went to d wat temple nite mkt n hua xi jie nite mkt....apart frm shilin, duno where's shida though :P

Thanks meiling and bluebananas...

payment wise, who is keeping the red packets for the female tables? Assuming there is more than 6 tables of guests, who is paying the additional tables?

hi ladies, good morning to all..its about 4 more months to your big day!

i have added sherli80, lovecoffee &amp; btcher..
my nick at multiply is rockenton

anyway..just to hard sell a little bit, I am planning out first outing in sept 12 (tentatively). most likely will be Fridays. i hope to please as much people as possible. if you have suggestions on where and when to meet, I welcome them.

by this time, you should have contacts on your wedding cards? They should be printed by September and distribute by early November.

Hi icicdiamond

My package is S$3138+$610 for 12 days. leaving on the 14 Dec and return on the 25 Dec if my exension is not approve by SQ. =(

If u interested, call them up and enquire on the price cos' I know the price will probably be about $200 more during Natas especially my dep date is going to be a confirmed date soon. U can look for Danial Wong from HQ. He is very friendly and not hard sell.

Hi Nec, I did my DISC profiling during my marriage preparation programme with Touch Community.

Hi Eunice

Not all the tour package are hectic. In fact most of our friends who have been to F&amp;E self-drive holidays discourage us. Cos' the driver (usually the guy) would not have much fun. Unless u decided to stay only in 1 or 2 cities then is fine. Do let the travel agency know that u r on honeymoon and let them recommend u the suitable itinerary. Eg. for my 14 Dec USA trip, there are actually more than 2 itineraries, 1 is rest and relax hence will be staying 1 night in Grand Canyon to enjoy the sunrise. Another one is for fun and adventure hence u have another day in Las V. I heard there was another which is for pple who dun wan to visit any theme parks at all. So is really depending on ur needs and expectations.

When meeting ur travel agent, it's better to ask them to explain and introduce the itinerary to u. Thereafter, u ask them about the time allocated for each places of interests especially those u are more interested in. Eg: 1 of the route in my itinerary is about 8hrs long which I am quite turn off when i first read abt it. However, my TA informed me that during this 8hrs journey, almost everyone 1-2hrs we will be visiting a place of interests, factory outlet, having meals, toilet breaks or so. Hence the whole journey turn out to be interesting instead. Definitely not like the route between Singapore and KL... hehehe...

porsche,
no prob....my suggestion is dat u give ur mum cash upfront during GDL for d # of tables u r gona give n den on ur AD all d APs will go to both of u....it's neater i think :P

providencia>hee, next time u go Taiwan, must visit chingjing in central Taiwan. V nice. Got Europe feel.

My FMIL wants me to start trying a few months after marriage. She say FH and I not young le.

rach , I want a VG ma , so now regert nvr take one must go find one .

My mother take 25box of cake 10pcs in one box type , 6 tables and pin jin is on my bf to decide .

pin&amp;jie: Your trip sounds like it'll be much fun!!
Hope you get to go to Taipei also!
And thanks for sharing more about tour packages...I have always been wondering...But not going to go for honeymoon so early, so have not done much research also...

Hi xiaojan,
I planning to go europe for honeymoon also. thinking of switzerland and france. going to natas to check out the package and bargains this weekend.

Hi nlimm,
You went to keppel marina for PS? need to pay to take PS there? me interested to go there for PS also but heard from a friend that it is not allowed. How to get permission to take PS there? sorry for the many qns. :p

Hi keer13,
Thanks for adding me!

viv:
my mum requested only 16boxes, and its for relatives only, we are not giving friends. I dun think it matters if you are the youngest or eldest bah. And to 'return' the xi bing, 2boxes is sufficient, no need to give 8-10boxes.

dor:
i am not sure of the pinjin eh... my mum said juz a token can liao. For the BQ she will return all the angpao to us.

msbean:
perhaps can ask friends to help out? My friend got her galfriend to film on her AD and it was pretty good! Not blair witch project type of filming :P We also no budget liao so VG trying to find friends to do it. My fh will diy montage

Dor>I'm not sure but I think for the GDL, groom's side will always give a bit more for the bride's side to return so it looks better. Machiam not selling the bride.

For pinjin, my mom say up to my FMIL to decide. As long as amount is decent is ok. My mom asking for 4 tables but as FH and I are paying for the banquet, she's giving us all the angbaos we collect.

Rach>LE is short for Le Cafe. A bakery near Peace center. Their pineapple tarts are v nice.

hee, my mom say the angbao to wash my diapers and the pinjin is the same. :p Now I really wonder how much pinjin I'm getting. Wonder what I'm worth to them. :p

Viv>afaik, the cakes my mom request is only for relatives + some for praying purposes. I donno how many cakes my mom asked. I asked her yest, she said forgot le after she told my FMIL. :p

Ask you gals. During GDL, I am not supposed to come out of the room right? Then after that go and distribute cards and cakes, can I go along?

FH is oso thinking of borrowing a vid-cam and asking one of his brothers to film. We see how. think its not essential but a nice to have.

so excited to see ur photos s'rene!! remember to upload for us to take a look..

nowadays PG used digital camera, so they just take and take, in the end, so many photos for us to choose.. headache.. i don't want to bother abt that now.. wait and see bah..

we are going US West coast for HM after wedding.. initially was also considering between US and Hokkaido with extension at Tokyo, but Cha* Br* cant promise that we can deviate and not confirm the ski resort is open for ski activities (for 3rd week of Nov). so we decide on booking US pkg ..

Brenda: we booked with SA Tours on sunday @ suntec. 11D pkg. date to travel is 22/11

viv> my mom request 20 boxes of "xi bing", me actually asked how much "xi bing" my FH's mom wan, we'll get 26 boxes in total, mom keep 20 and 4 to be returned to guy's side, 2 boxes for me n Hb to bring to office to give out.. for me, "xi bing" = relatives, cake voucher = mom's friends..
u can suggest her to get vouchers lor.. incase if the qty is too much.. u r family can keep for future use..ppl can redeem the cake when they wanna eat (fresher also).. imagine going ard with 40-50 boxes of cake to distribute.. very tiring..

yl> for the Le hor.. my sister checked.. she say u can call them to make reservation, then go n collect.. shldnt be a problem..

my mom never request for tables yet (at this moment).. she say pinjin up to guy's side to decide the amt..
my dad sponsor and we bought a viewcam.. we asked one of the brothers with the video taking.. haha..

Linda

You can check out bridal closet at ,http://bridalcloset.multiply.com/. Elsie, the boss, does rental for bridal accessories (tiara, necklaces, earrings etc) and she has a wide range of bridal accessories.

I rent my AD KUA from her, reasonable price and nice emboidery.

However, she is currently in US shopping for bridal gowns, you can email her if you are interested. Can drop by her place to view the accessories when she returns in August.

Hi Meiling, may i knw whr are u gg to buy the 38 cans of pig trotters? My mum suggested raw pig trotter bought from the mkt instead leh...

msbean> oh. u can try injack Studio.. quite not bad u know..n cheap..

spoiltbabe>dangerous to get fren to film..unless that fren is pro or has learnt before.. dun wan it to become blair witch...
its ur AD.. once in a lifetime man.. i rather spend on it.. hhehee..

YL> ermm..wash diapers is separate AP>.when we went to that shop in JB..where u bought the bedside lamps..they have all the different AP..
the wash diapers has a AP on its own..

crown> huh??? not supposed to come out meh??? i was out the whole time... wait for him to come..and we were talking...and then till he left...
why cannot come out? haha....
Can go la... i was there all along..driving my parents ard man....

All> the tables my mum requested..she'll keep the APs... even though we are paying for the tables ourselves...
And my parents invited another 13 tables worth of relatives and frens..so my parents will pay for those tables..and keep those APs..
So my parent's side.. they keep all APs..and will pay us back 13 tables worth of money....
the rest of the tables..we get to keep all APs..coz we paying for all... and HB's parents will not keep anything...
yup..

oh... i mean my mom never ask for no. of tables (as pinjin)..

i counted the max no. of relatives i need to invite n book my venue.. i only inform her where n how many tables after i confirmed..