(2008) Brides of year 2008

mei, i'm supposed to collect my CS this week.. will update again. btw, Hort Park was HOT!!haha...

yes Polar, i must also learn to control myself when selecting pix. i'd also rather go for nice honeymoon! ;p

Hi Adeline,

Because I'm not tall(1.52m) and flat chested, so I face the same problem with my gown, received same feedback from my designer and I agree with them. It does look nicer with the extras.

I brought my 4" shoe (with slightly raised platform from Guess). I dun mind wearing taller shoes if not for the fact that my husband is only 1.63m. Somehow,I just feel that I'll look nicer on the gowns if I'm taller.

got Mr Chia to be my JP. his reply to me was very fast, and very informative too. gonna arrange a date to meet up with him.
btw, can't seem to see his photo in the link u gave.

so many brides done with PS. so what's next on the list?

tinky n mei,
love both your PS pics. so nice...

sue,
i bought my bed from st louis. but haven't take a pic of my bed. forgotten. =)

uk,
guess you're quite done with your other prep. now planning for HM already. it seems like there's still so many things to plan. don't know where to start.

need some advise. what to do for gate crash if i dun want the usual stuff? like getting the groom to eat nasty stuff.. or force him to wear bikini or lingerie.. but if he just come n pick me also very boring. how? suggestions, ladies??

and where's lex? MIA for so long already..

For sharing just incase you ladies wanna go Jap http://www.primetravel.com.sg/default.asp
Hear lots of good comment

hmm yar lor lex how are u~~~ hope everything is fine

Adeline, hope you find a suitable shoe soon
If you really going to get the 4.5" heel shoe.. maybe do "practise" on it.. hee hee.. and do find more firm heels ba..(althought narrow might look nicer sometimes) hee hee still advise comfort come 1st... same go for the padded bra issue too.. look natural and confidence and you feel the best... if too much extra things that you not use to it.. you might somehow feel weird (coz u only wear that THAT day-not use to it) :P

Kel: hee hee yar most of the things are settle for me... at least is sourced or I got plan with it... just need to excute when time comes
Just to share below is my current tracking list ar---
http://uksportgal.multiply.com/journal/item/4

if u don't know where to start maybe just list it down 1st.. then rank it.. then one by one just settle at own leisure like that no rush no miss out items also

AIYO ME TOO!!! I hate those common sabo games.... no pole dance, no need suan tian ku la.. (no meaning to me ...), no wear lingerie with the bottom writing I LOVE U... use the butt to tell me love me!??!?! hahahahahah actually I find it funny also la huh.... and lastly.. if wanna sing to me.. pls sing TO ME not to the door la... hmm I rather he look into my eyes and sing le hahahahhaha nope?

hmm I dun know what my jiemei plan to do ... (already told them hope not to have those common games) but can't everything I plan right? coz by right the gate crash is jie mei fun time ma...

Some games that maybe slightly more different from original common game (alot copy from those varity show):
1) Do Yoga pose.. those difficult one..(print out pic ask them do)
2) blow line of candle behind a silk socking frame (face become distorted very funny)
3) pass seaweed sheet from one side to another with mouth at given limited time (if they did not pass requested no. of sheets they got to do forfite/pay!)
4) blow pin pong ball from bowl of flour at limited time OR cover a cherry with huge pile of fresh cream and use tounge to find the cherry out
5) can use Deal or no deal style game to choose the right key! (they got to bet with their choice.. instead if u pay the right) maybe 3 choice there, 1 with the key (or clue to get key to extend another set of game- can't let them get the key so easily by luck right) the rest with forite can be Angbao / physical game....
6) hmmm how about pick out some wedding related/ couple related words... then ask the brothers to act without speaking? the rest guess it.. and got min correct ans with certain time?
7) With limited tools/materials they got to make a card/sth on the spot as a gift to the bride hahaha Let their creative go wild (of coz give more funny material will be more fun)
8) Write a love contract but in all han yu ping yin with out which "sheng" or some dialect also can.. as long as they can read and get them read out loud..will end up v funny pronouce

hmmm that's all for now 1st.. hungry dinner time

Hi Meiling, I am in the banking industry. In order to jump into hospitality industry, I need qualifications. Well, there's still a long way to go. Providencia and your HTBs can still make their way to the private sector.

hi rayrachael n waxie24,
i tried b4 leh..some settings nt right or wat..cos my comp crashed b4,and i comp idiot..n my cousin fixed it..then after tat cant see chinese words liao..i tried the auto select thingy..bt it din work..apparently it has no chinese wording option,so i tink might be the version or wat..

the rom collection cert thingy,my fren went on the thurs b4 the date they gave her,apparently juz go and collect on the thurs,they usually wun ask for much reasons. and she mentioned tat the person there told her can actually go on anyday if got reason,bt must call to arrange or wat...=p mayb if u all cant go on thurs b4,can call up n see hw?? i collected mine the other time,took abt 1 hr plus..hope it gives u all a good gauge in case u all wanna take leave=p

hmmm, i stil dun understand wat u all talkin abt leh, abt the rom thingy.
btw, hw come u all collected the rom cert liao? so fast? me blur blur leh.

ah net:
bocz my rom is not at ROM, i am holding it at the restaurant and so need to go collect the marriage certificate to bring to the restaurant so we can sign on it

hi ah net,
ops..i tink i confused u..after u efile, u will see that there is a different date u will be given to go down to rom office to confirm ur documents. Last time dun need tis step,however,maybe too many fake marriages or wat,they want us couples to go down to take vows and also confirm documents.

hrm,if we rom at registry of marriage office,then dun need to collect the cert on that day of verfication of cert, however if u rom "outside", then u will also collect the rom cert on tat particular day.

nt sure if tat helps=p

oh oh...haha. thanks jrgal, now i understand le. wah so troublesome one.... but takin of documents no need to be on the actual day right? cos if need, den it'll be very rushed.

spoiltbabe, i understand le. haha. thanks!

mrs kel,
thanks for ur compliments! i love ur PS pics too, n im sure each n every one of us will look beautiful in our PS pics

lex,
hehehe....u MIA le? long time nv see u online le....how have u been? how's wedding prep?

mrs chiew,
thanks for sharing d sabo games, u really have lotsa gd ideas
....bet our hubbies wont want to see tis thread here else they'll freak out n b runaway grooms :P

Erlina, looks like you had a nice weekend!
I love the colour of your EG.

Pin, the boots are nice, right?

Cynthia, my best friend (chief bridesmaid/helper) says I'll regret it if I don't wear all 4 gowns on AD. Anyway, she worked as a dresser during Singapore Fashion Festival so she said, don't worry changing clothes is fast
HTB also said go for it, so ok lah.

leely, so how did the photo selection go? From the preview, I'm sure you had a really hard time choosing!

Jac>> I didn't managed to take any video of the band. I should have loh.

nelle>> take care of yourself. hehehe... me oso down wif flu yesterday. And tdy still feeling groddy.

hi ah net,
actual day,both u n ur hubby,plus ur 2 witnesses muz bring down their ic for the solemniser to verify. the verification of documents will nt be on the actual day,usually abt 3wks b4..=p

In my case, after we successfully efile, we were given a date and time to go down with our documents (includes witnesses IC and original consent form from JP) for verification purposes. We will receive our cert on that day which we must bring along to our restaurant during our ROM ceremony. The date was 3 days before our ROM date. Hope this is clear enough, Net.

CYC and Anabella,
I am 1.52m and fiance is 1.71m. I do agree with the increased in height, it does look nicer. Just the hussle of getting another pair and the pain of spending more $$$$ again. My PS is on 7th Aug. Not much time left now.

Meilin,
Just went Essex walk just now and yes, you are right, I found the pair I like but guess what ? they don't have my size and it need customization and will cost me $800. I will shop again tomo and give myself till Thurs latest to confirm on the shoe. My fren, you do have expensive taste hor.
Such a beauty, am sure I will be dreaming of them tonite...

Mrs Chiew,
I was quite skeptical about the bra thing before I enter the shop but after the Sales inside The Lingerie Shop helped and showed me how to wear the bra that supposely will accentuate 'the assets'(hahahah...) it does make some difference, bought it and one item less on my mind now.

Tomo, quest for my glass slipper continue...

flora,
i didn't read your previous post properly....i took a couple of short recordings but think its not very clear as we were separated by the door. Did you deal with Compass before? I think their service is very good, very professional but we weren't too impressed with their band...for 3 sessions, feel that Erwin a bit gan cheong type and not as pro as the guy from Compass but their band is quite good. so we're going for 3 sessions
thanks for your recommendations!

Meiling,
ya, was busy with the bedsheets and quilt for 1 weekend....then the last weekend was busy with bands and dance schools...glad to say that we've decided on the band and signed up for dance lessons

Nelle, and Flora,
take care! rest more ya?

Ya Ritz is good but somehow during their presentation for the wedding reception when we went to meet them, the staff was a bit impersonal. But our experience with the staff at Ritz when we stayed there was excellent. I think besides, Ritz, Four Seasons and Shangri-La are other top hotels, esp Four Seasons.

Prov,
for john little, rem to join as member...its free membership..with this membership, you get additional 20% discount eg 20% +20%...quite good deal for the quilt...but couldn't find any nice bedsheets there....next time when our finances are not as tight, i'll prob buy the egyptian cotton or 800plus threadcount type...wahaha, thinking of it makes me happy :P

Jac, I've checked with Compass before. They were the official band that Regent uses. But they were too expensive and their band seems too formal for our banquet. I was the one who recommend 3sessions to you? Well, I was just sharing nice things with fellow brides.

Like you, I've also bought the quilt, bedsheets and pillows. Since they are cheap so grab 1st.

cyc,
Wow u got photo at st theresa? Did u manage to enter the church??

meiling,
U wanna smack my back side come over la.. maybe i can slim down that way ho ho..And u are wrong. I envy u all.. Not only u , plus tinky plus sue, cyc.. ps all done all look so mei mei

Cheryl
Hmmm will consider ur tip .. btw, i will be using the amupoloue the mjua provide i think it safer haha no one wanna offend the mua even though we know they earn at least $25 out from us... Have you post ur foto??

Adeline,
If u are really interested u can try leaping lizards. lot of gers here custom made from there.. however u should only do it bcos u wan to n not bcos ur bs ask u to.. u are the bride , the star so u dictate ur wish not the other way.. ok!! Be happy.. 4.5 is really high n tiring if u not a frequent high heel wearer.

Mrs kel
my best fren has the same prob so the way we tekkan the hb is simple.. First we place slip 10 clues aruond the whole flat at different floor.The hb need to do a simple 10 15 min racfe to find all the clue n take pict to prove he has been there. den he need to sing the fave song of the wife. lastly a declaration of love and answer some quize if he got it wrong we let him have herbal tea (ku) or honey drink... it overall a mild game but fun n meaningful to the wife

Earthsea> I had a bad day which I rather not talk about..
.. The photos were really nice.. But my hubby had to pay $2488 to get an additional album with topped-up photos.. I know he did it to cheer me up, but in my mind I still keep thinking it's not money well spent so I'm still quite unhappy over it.. Honestly I would still rather use that $$ to buy air tickets to Europe.. Sigh..

But nemmind lah.. I know I'll just forget everything and feel better a few days later.. Coz that's just me, super emo.. And my hubby was really trying to accomodate me and would rather just spend the $$ than to see me so unhappy, so I should be happy for his sake.. And hopefully when I get my albums, it will be nice enough to make me forgot all my unhappiness today..

jac,
where did ya sign up for dance lessons?
cool...

bedsheets:
check out robinsons...
plus they have free delivery if you spend over $150.
(and apparently can ask the sales staff there to give extra discount on top of the stated discount!!)
that time i went, i bought 2 quilt sets (300 and 500 tc respectively), 1 comforter, 1 pillow, 1 bolster all for below $500, cos of the discount on top of the discount!
so remember to ask ah!!!
;)

jac, 800+ tc sounds heavenly!!! esp when the sheets are cool w the aircon. :P

ah...i cant catch up to all the other posts above...so many!!

Hi Fiona,
I face the same prob as u. I still dun like my MTM EG. But consider the time n effort i spent on the bs. I dun wan to try new gown anymore.. so this is wat i will do since i got 2 EG tt nite i will not wear my MTM EG for 2nd march in just change to send off guest dress only.

Ok Florabliss
Will jot the date down in my organiser and ask again haha so excited about ur gown after all the discussion

Providencia,
"Koyoyo, wet wipes, oil blotters, evian (or some other brand) facial spray, loose powder and lipstick, i think. "
u mean use oil blotter den add on w facial spray follow by loose powder for touch up???Not really good at makeup.. care to offer some instruction how n sequence to use the stuff u suggest??

hihi dear brides & grooms (any here?)-to be..

any good videographer and love story montage companies to recommend?

hope to hear frm ya =)

adeline,
since ur PS is in aug, den u shd have d time to shop for another pair of shoes elsewhere, even customisation at LL only cost me $300, furthermore im sure essex walk will have new stock by den....a couple of mths back, i was wondering to customise den i decided to hold on n left my name n contact no wif d salesperson in case new stock of dat design arrived as she was not sure when, she called 2 weeks later to tell dat there's stock for dat design n i hurried down to close d transaction :P btw, i dun think it's worth it to customise d shoes for $800 when u can easily get 2 pairs frm there :P gd luck for ur glass slipper quest n hope u'll find ur ideal pair soon

koyoyo,
come come...i smack u....u har, dun worry de, u r a natural beauty....n pls.....u r alrdy v slim le, if u r fat den i shd hide in 1 corner n weep le
im sure ur PS photos will turn out mei mei too....tis is d least of ur worry cos im sure u have complete trust in ur PG n MUA cos u have an eye for details unlike me

mary poppins,
i really envy u....at least u have a plan n goal for urself...until now i do not have wat i have in mind, mayb have been wking at d same place since i graduate n nv had a chance to take a break to think of wat i really wana do....perhaps will seriously have a tot after my AD if i really need a job change :P

jac,
wah....u signed up for d dance lessons for ur AD? wat kind of dance? ballroom? u intend to dance ur way in during d 1st march in or 2nd march in? it's such a COOL idea....guz many brides r thinking of d same thing here, including nec n sotonglet....u gals r so talented

congrats on confirming ur band! 1 more thing down ur list....

florabliss,
in case u didnt get my offline msg....need to chk wif u on a song called "perfect", do u know who sang tis song n do u happened to have tis song? i intend to add tis song to my wedding song list :P

hi leely
at least u know that ur hubby is real sweet, some guys could have just insist not to pay for it - cos they do not appreciate photos as much as we girls do.

i will have a hard time changing cos mine is a wedding lunch, schedule very pack liao. for dinner, yes - will have more time than me. i might custom make a cheong sum for my SIL wedding.

MeiLing, u crack me up, so funny, u think my PIL owe a diamond mine in Africa, where to find truckload of diamonds, maybe diamond dust lah.. lol.

Mary, I'll let my HTB make his own career choices, I'll just quietly support at the side (sound like perfect wife yeah??!! ha ha), as long as we are both happy.

Jac, must join member ah, where to get the forms? I'm Robinson card member, does that count?

koyoyo, i'm no expert, but what i usually do is to blot off excess oil from face (i'm a Saudi oil field), spray facial water (dap dry if need to), then loose powder for touch up, reapply lipstick if needed. Wet wipes to get rid of the sweat and dirt on the body. Bring Q-tips and small bottle of moisturiser in case any waterproof make up smudges.

hi everyone. i m back here again :P

aiyo koyoyo, u will be one great beauty ok, dun worry. mei is going to smack you i will run after you with the cane ah! ... relax and i am very sure yours will be a beautiful PS!

adeline, oo yours is at sheraton, my fren will be holding hers at the same place too but in November.

mei, your pics all mei mei... so you have one thg down liao .. no need to worry about PS anymore hehe

polar , how was your ps selection? good?

koyoyo>> you so cute. Looks like you are more excited about my EG than myself.

meiling>> Have not login to MSN since Sat, so din get your msg. Not sure if Sara Evan's "Perfect" is the song you are looking for. Do you know some part of the lyrics? If you have, let me know so tat I can confirm which song is it.

I saw a huge pile of books and notes on my table this morning. Think it's my boss who left it there. Hinting me to to take up another course soon. Sigh...

sue,
hehehehe...no lah, my PS pics juz so-so only as compared to u gals....but im sure tinkybell n haze ones will b lotsa nicer than mine
now there r other things to worry abt...:P
polar is v controlled in her selection, only topped up only 9 pics....

providencia,
hehehee.....aiyo, at least u still have got diamond dust, i think i only got dust particles leh....only can wait long long....

florabliss,
heheheh....sorry, cos smtimes i dun rcv offline msges though my frens said dat they sent me sth :P juz chk wif u....cos i got a emi's version but it's live....so cannot use, it sounds like dat in d chorus: "i dun want half-hearted affairs, i need smone who really cares, life is too short to play silly games, i've promised myself i wont' do dat again.....it's gotta b perfect, it's gotta b worth it, too many ppl take 2nd best but i wont take anything less...."
wah ur boss so nice wor, always want u to upgrade urself, it's really v nice of ur boss cos not many bosses give dat kind of opprtunity to their subordinates

Hi earthsea

The boots are really nice.. I have a hard time choosing. My HTB encouraged me to get 2 since I can't decide on which color to get. But of course ended up I still get a black one. Cos' seldom wear... save space...

oh dear, my wedding is just next week.. just had a small arguement with my HB over the schedule part, but finally settled that.. hopefully i will not hear any more changes from his mum..

my parents had a small arguement yesterday too.. over the table arrangement part.. but think we got to listen to my dad lor.. but it's my dad's fault of over inviting his friends.. ai yo.. after discussion with my HB, we are going to opne one more table, so that means I'm going to have 49 tables now.. cos his mum also over invite her friends.. so to please both parents, we are going to open one more table.. hopefully that will really be enough.. I've settled the table arrangement part for our own friends.. most of them had already RSVP.. now need to chase some others.. but gald everything run as planned.. i'm going to choose my tea dress and collect all the photo stuff this coming Sat.. excited leh..

hi bubbly,
thanks for ur compliments! hope my selected ones will b better than wat u gals saw :P u got any sample pics to show us?
i havent seen d layout yet, i think i'll to wait for another 2 weeks' time ba....hope they'll call me faster :P

have not gt the soft copies from BS. Will post when i gt it.okie hehe
i didnt gt back all poses that we took coz din topped up alot. So they only returnin the soft copies of the selected poses for my big album. haiz.

Calvin> he's the JP for Toby & Chloie's ROM, Alex & Adeline's ROM, & i think also for Jason and Yvonne..

You gotta watch the slideshow to catch his pictures!

Ah Net> of coz la.. u need to go and collect ur ROM certs ma.. else who collect for you? Need to sompa and make some declaration by raising ur right hand too..

The date to collect is allocated to you... its usually about 3 days before ur actual ROM.. once u ROM, you'll see the date given to you on the screen..

And Ladies. rem to write the venue the way u want it to appear on ur cert when u efile..
Eg. If you are doing it at Merchant Court.... key in
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore....

If u type in the address.. the address will appear on ur cert too... duhz!! Very ugly...

Only those yet to efile can still have chance to do it right...else a reprint costs $15.. we spent the money to change it.. coz the alignment also out.. its auto align by the computer.. so the person also cant help us to do it right..

>

hee, i remembered, Rach. :p Was 'arguing' with FH about it. He wanted to put the full address cos that's wad the instructions say but I told him not nice. Then we took a while to think if put 'Peony Jade' nicer or 'Peony Jade Restaurant, Clarke Quay'.

bubbly,
wah....really looking forward to see ur pics, i'll b bringing my unedited softcopies back to my PG as he promised to help me edit :P

below is a list of things to bring for outdoor photoshooting...
did i missed out anything else?
pls advise. Thx

1) Toothbrush, dental floss (use it after eating lunch)
2) Straw for bride
3) Insect repellent
4) Slippers or normal heels
5) Cotton bud to remove mascara stains below eyes
6) Umbrella
7) Mirror
8) Water
9) Wet tissues & Tissue papers
10) Facial Blotters
11) Own makeup set
12) Extra accesoories if u want (earrings, necklaces, scarfs)
13) Spray on mist for face
14) Mini Fans
15) A few long sleeves for groom
16) Button down shirt for changing after make up

YL> haha..
Coz it was:

Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore Poolside Upper Deck 20
Merchant Road Singapore XXXXX

Its supposed to be:
Coz it was:
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore
Poolside Upper Deck
20 Merchant Road Singapore XXXXX

Sigh.. become Upper Deck 20.. as if many Upper Deck like that... then the officer was saying.. just put hotel more class.. no need so much details.. hehe.. so we reprinted with:

Swissotel Merchant Court Sinapore..

Heee.. more class..and no regrets.. Hubby dun wan me to nag at it for the rest of our lives... we walk in and out and cannot decide loh.. and later went to change Hubby's name to include his Christian name into NRIC>.then went back to take the cert again..we rushed all over man... went to see lawyer.. get deed poll done.. spend alot of just the names on the cert.. haha...

So what did you put?