(2008) Brides of year 2008

Hi mary, yeah..we had CQ as fotographer once. ^^

Fiona, dun stress over this. First get your BS to agree that if you use ur current EG as your PS you can still MTM another EG from them for your AD without cost. Changing BS will be too expensive if you are okie with everything else except your EG. Can use the money in other things too. ^^

Renting an EG will cost you about 100++ to 500++ depending on the age, style,the materials and the emboridery etc.

Another way is to buy from brides who had theirs MTM and to keep. They may offer you a cheaper price too, of course need to try and makesure it fits you.

nelle, take Vit C and B everyday, and drink at least 2L of water without caffine intake.

oh, can have another PS and dress yourself in Jap or Korean costumes? How much will that cost? Depending on the cost, maybe can go for it? Ha ha, i hope Robin won't kill me for encouraging you.

Not so simple to settle the cakes, cos they buying from HK, must decide on how many to get before they fly up. Don't know why they choose to go thru the hassle. I better see if I have any relatives.

Nelle>hope you recover soon.

providencia>cannot tell them don't need the cakes since you have no close relatives to give them to? Give you the $ better. Or channel the $ for the cakes into giving you a more ex si dian jin? :P

Mei: gosh we didnt write in to vivo for approval. Just take & luckily didnt stop by any1. Went sentosa also take sunset shots. We have tourist request to take photo with us, become part of ambassadors liao. Come on U look great also mah.

Koyoyo: agree with Mei, dun need 2 bring so many things. Just bring the essential items k liao. I realised that both FH & I dun have the time to use all the items brought. Keep yr bag as simple as possible.

Polar: I thot all packages have their unedited photos returned? U r really well controlled. I wish I could do so. Tmw is my turn to choose pics.

Hey gals, any1 getting own ampoule & false eyelashes for AD?

hi gals,if getting current EG for PS then MTM another one for AD will need to top up money so nw my laogong dun knoe wat i wan haha. EG i wan to go for mermaid gown for easy walk around but there got limited selection and i also scare tat MTM come out the end product not nice. Yesterday whole nite cannot sleep keep thinking wat i really wan cos if going for MTM then PS date must change liao to sep n must faster let them know.

LSnTYL, aiyah, they already told me that I won't be receiving any Si Dian Jin since I not teochew. Ha ha, a bit difficult to tell them to give me the money instead. Really ah.

hi mrs chiew,
am looking at Japan for honeymoon.... most prob is next yr cos fh wanna go see sakura.....

hi cheryl,
dun have leh... GHA only returned selected photos.... my fred de BS also only returned selected photos.... well, no $$ lah, got to control.... if not, really very X.....

mrs chiew,
heheheh....yah lor, bo bian, i dun wana regret later on....like after my selection den i topped up it's more ex :P i like my pics...not to d extent of love yet cos me no pretty :P

cheryl,
i duno leh...i wrote in but was given approval only 1 day b4 my PS so i decided to skip d place, which parts did u go to take? must b interesting too....i wana see ur pics too

ur BS returning u all d unselected photos foc? which BS u r wif? so gd one....mine only returned all if it exceeded $3K or at least $2.5K ba...how many pics did u take? how many locations n outfits?
im not getting my own ampoule n faske eyelashes, will leave it to my MUA cos it's her source of extra income ba, want her to do a better job so i juz pay more lor :P

Hi fionachua, maybe you can get the BS to do enhancement on the OTR EG? Sometimes a plain EG may turn out very pretty after adding on some crystals or flowers. This is the fastest way to get it done. If not, buy/rent another EG OTR
(1) http://bridalcloset.multiply.com/
(2) http://www.justgowns.biz/
(3) http://[email protected] (replace @ with a)
(4) http://quainarain.spaces.live.com
Having another BS is too much a hassle and costs a lot at this pt in time.

Hi providencia, do you have any senior who had taken care of you when you are younger? Maybe they can "represent" your parents? Can give the cakes to your bosses? As for the MMH, think I will wait till my HTB is earning 200Kp.a. then I can realise my dream... Seems so far...

Hi nelle, take care, the weather's not helping your recovery but must think positive. I have not been feeling well for weeks as well. Keep thinking I will get well soon and I am better already.

Hi Jac, the Ascott one seems like for those in the industry. I am a mid career person, so not applicable for me. Sigh...

Hi florabliss, no prob. I doubt ppl here remembers that you did that. Hahaha...

hi earthsea
you can wear the same WG for ROM & tea, then later for 1st march in.
for my experience is, its quite chaotic and make it easier for your helper if u wear the same gown.
my 2 cents.

providencia,
heheheh...mayb i shd treat myself to another round of PS....den tis time round my theme is international....wahahha, den i can take jap, korean , victorian n greek :P but hor, have to wait till end of d yr...den got enuff time to save more $ :P
juz tell them a figure for d boxes of cakes den u can distribute to ur colleagues/frens, juz to pls ur in-laws....

fionachua,
if dat's d case, no pt topping up extra $ for it....go to d boutiques to get urself sth for ur EG or even rent frm them....yah same here, i oso worried abt d MTM doesnt turn out nice but glad it's ok iat d end....is sep a bit rush for u?

providencia>only teochews can get si dian jin? I'm Hokkein but my in-laws are giving me that. Will be in the form of cash though as both my mom and FMIL agree that gold prices are too high now. :p

Cannot talk to the in-laws? I find it really strange to give cakes when they are no elders that you need to give them to. Waste of $ arh. Maybe I'm too practical bah... But if they insist on giving cakes, then ask for nominal number of cakes and distribute to your close friends?

Mei: wow so many questns. Inside & outside mall. sky terrace also have. No lah..where gt so gd return all unselcted. Just asking lah, curious. Hmm ard 3-4 locatns, 5 outfits.

Polar: Japan is my 1st choice but 2 exp liao. Intend 2 go new zealand. Muz wait AD over then start planning.

Mrs Chiew: u start planning for honeymn? Share with us any tips & things to look out for HM package.

fionachua, i agree with MeiLing, if you can get an EG OTR elsewhere, then it'll solve your problem, but if really can't find one and PS can't wait till Sept, I think I'll prob decide on getting a MTM.

Mary, don't have any seniors, think very strange to give cakes to bosses or friends
Wow, ur hubby got potential to earn >200k pa, you can stay home and be tai tai already. Don't need to study liao.

MeiLing, u very cute, always got so many ideas.

LSnTYL, I also hokkien, not too sure abt traditions though, doesn't matter to me if i don't get Si Dian Jin, treat me well can already.
Yes yes, I'll attempt to talk to them, haven't really discuss in depth yet.

cheryl,
aiyo, if i know no need permit den i'll go to vivo straight le....so sad, i hear dat d sky terrace is beautiful....my fh loves it but too bad, no time to take there
wah i look forward to see ur pics too....when can u view?

hi providencia,meiling,mary poppins, Thanks for ur advise i just thinking maybe this is the solution to solve it maybe i try see can get the OTR EG elsewhere or ask the bridal shop can MTM i chose the previous EG the top but bottom make it mermaid gown. Sep is not rush for me cos my AD in dec.

providencia>good luck. Ya, they treat you well is the most impt. If cannot get along with the in-laws will have a lot of headaches.

Fiona>good luck with your EG.

lsntyl,
im a hokkien n i got my sdj too....cos my mil is a teochew, juz a small token lah, but i got my fh to pay for my destinee pendant :P

mary poppins,
wah ur hubby can earn $200K p.a....wah, if only my hubby can earn $100K p.a den i happy le....but only in my dreams :P i wana b a tai tai too :P

providencia,
hehehe...well in order to pls ur in-laws den have to do watever they say lor, everything oso say yes yes lor....
anyway im sure ur hubby n ur in-laws dotes on u alot...having a gd hubby n in-laws is alrdy better than having mountains of ckaes n si dian jin :P

fionachua,
no prob....dun headache n cant slp over it, hope u'll resolve tis issue fast so u wont trouble over it
must remember to stay an open n happy mind so dat u can b a beautiful bride

Fiona, ask if got new stock coming in or not ah... or ask pple from other bs if they see any of that style. Mermaid cuts are getting more common, maybe the new stocks may have them.

prov, can check with other hokkien pple to see if there is any thing needed for GDL.

Mei, do ur 1st ani foto shoot lah. This time all the international costumes and those wedding dresses you din get to wear, can be done here and will be more memorable, like 1 year after series. Then may be can do for every year or so, to see the progression. ^^

I am a cantonese, and we need the LFJ. Nuwai i wanna wear tat, so we settle for SDJ, or maybe only 1 necklace which i really like.

FH said we should be more practical, so he said diamond is not worth the amount paid for, so he said he will use the same amount that we set aside for a diamond ring and buy a gold account (an account to buy gold in weight)in a bank under my name. >.<.

tmw..actually 2day but FH nt free. So I go my facial instead to clean my face thoroughly. Time to do my regular triming of my hair also. My hair grows kind of fast so every 3 mths muz trim lor. Im looking 4ward for the outcome of the PS pics, dun knw nice mah?? Muz discuss with FH 1st on the no. of topup photos bfe choosing the pics. Im worried me cannot resist temptatn if all the pics r turn out well.

e cakes pics r soo temptin! =p

mi efile liao! they gave me the timing to verfify documents is at 8.30am... faintz! soo early... dun like to take AM leave leh... must go bac to work realli veri sian... hehe...
time flies... only < 2 months, which means only 1 month plus to do majority of the stuff... coz 7th month cannot do much...

had mi PS last week... tirin leh... but quite fun =p

Hee Hee everyone so happy about the PS GOOD!! all happy brides! I think in 1-2mths time will start seeing all the layout and album hee hee

My MUA package is with everything so if need to use she will just apply...

PolarWhite: Yeah Jap is good... that's my shortlisted place too... Japan/ Europe ... coz last year Dec we went Jap and enjoy so much.. my hubby like wanna go again .... but thinking we just went not so long ago.. maybe should go other place 1st... so still looking ard...

Jap is good you planning to go for tour or plan yourself F&amp;E? Just sth to share 1st... Prime tour is very very good for Japan tour.. althought I din join(coz last year went very last min so is F&amp;E for me) but I do have alot of ppl good feedback on them...

Which part of Japan u planning to go? See Sakura maybe u will be going to Kyoto? Mt. Fuji!....Do book early coz Japanese ppl they do travel to see sakura too... so is consider peak in Japan... alot of times hotels are fully booked....

Cheryl: ya I starting to plan for HM coz I thinking to go End Oct after my wedding... got to start see see look look already... as I dun know if I want to do F&amp;E or tour... if can will want to book early :P and need time to do "background research" too hee hee not v good with the geo.. need to see where is where.. hahahhaha Din even know France and spain is tha big untill I see the map hahahahhaha sua ku....
If I have good info I will share.. at the moment still looking ard... do you all have anything to share? like which tour agency good to go Europe?

LSnTYL, overall, they are nice to me, so ok lor. My HTB dotes, so it's enough for me.

Fiona, hope you'll have many luck in finding your EG.

MeiLing, i never ask them if they'll give me anything, cos like very thick skinned leh, if they give, then it'll be a pleasant surprise, if they don't, i won't be disappointed.
Ya lor, who cares abt the mountains of cakes, i don't even like to eat cakes.
However, I would never reject any diamonds, ha ha.

SotongLet, what's LFJ? Ur hubby very pragmatic leh,er,so u got diamond ring for proposal?

YL> you not just collect cert.. need to also make some declaration. so both parties have to be present..

so its better to take a few hours off..of half day to go lo..

The timing is in between. u can go abt 9plus.. and be the 1st to go and leave...
Coz many couples will have the same timing.. we waited about 20min before its our turn.. and many couples sitting ard and waiting for their turn too..

Gotta take Q no. one..

and the whole thing is just 5 min..

Ah Net> 2 witnesses.. one from each side..

waxie> cannot choose.. its auto allocated to you de..

Hee... 69 days to my AD.. wooohooo....

Hi Meiling,
Saw yr unselected PS, like yr od shoots. No doubt u are the shopping queen in our thread, it shows in the photos. yr bs has quite a no. of background props for the id shooting too.

need another 2 more weeks to view my layout... waited for a month liao.. haiz... hopefully i can get all my hard and soft copies back then...

straylamb>wah, I would prefer to have 8.30 wor. cos can chop chop go n get cert, check our stuff, etc then can go back office. No need to waste time.

Rach>only 5 mins? Like this, I think I'll ask FH to go earlier. Maybe we can settle faster and go off. :p

hi mrs chiew,

we plan to go by tour bcos language barrier.... prime tour huh, ok ok, i take note... heee.... thanks.... wan to see sakura, mt fuji, disneyland, sanrioland etc.... we both r more of play n eat ppl....

for europe, my fred book wif dynasty travel...

hmm my friend book dynasty before too.. went and feel no good .. say they bring them place to shop more than sight seeing.. (maybe earn commission) then the tour guide even lost some of the ppl's passport.. coz got a guy dun know from where just pop up the coach and get their things?! hmmm scary le.. but maybe only that that guide never pay attention..

hmmmm in my opion.. I will suggest u to go Kyoto (Heritage + sakura), Osaka (food), then down to Tokyo (disney + shopping + sakura)... mt fuji is in on the way down to Tokyo..

Like that u can enjoy all!.. that's almost where I went last Dec.. I see enf of maple leave season(abit wrong timing due to last min decision should go Nov) enjoy food so much at Osaka... and Tokyo is shopping(I din shop much.. not shopping person)but get to see Tokyo culture :P

Oh forget to say... Lang is not a barrier at all.. is not a must to join tour! hee hee I went F&amp;E ourselves and I dun know any Jap too! just need to plan coz Jap is very organise too :P

YL> thats provided u have no Q before u hor.. later u go there one long Q u said i bluff u.. haha.. not sure if there is 9-10am ones.. or 8-9am ones.. mine was 830-930am i think. we reach 9plus... then get Q and waited loh...

yes yes i can't make it, cross my fingers i can make it the next time round.

There are so many posts, so i had to fast forward a bit. I see some GDL entries, and i just bought my bedsheet set for about almost $300. Wondering if that's too ex? It's 500 thread count cos i thought I should pamper ourselves for our wedding. Woo i cant wait to unwrap it and sleep on it.

yawn. i hate mondays.

msclaire, you bought the bedsheets for yourself? My MIL says she must buy the bedsheet for me, whilst I have to buy the pillows and bolsters.
I think 300 plus for 500 thread count not too ex, I will make my MIL buy at least 300 thread count. Saw 1000 thread count bedsheets yesterday, so ex,but i'm sure they must be very luxurious.

Hi providencia and Meiling, your HTB will also have potential to earn 200k p.a., it's just a matter of when. For me, maybe when my kids are grown up? I told my HTB to remain his frugal lifestyle so that I can have money from him to study. Feel that I am very mean

I study for interests not for $. Hospitality don't allow one to earn much. But my dream is to work for Ritz Carlton one day. I only want to work for the best hotel.

Hi fionachua, good idea to ask them to MTM based on the selected EG. So long as no additional costs involved, PS in Sep is not an issue, go for it.

I just went Great World City to hunt for the Charles and Keith Sales. It's still on but not so significant and the sales only apply to selected designs. I too bought a pair of boots at $30 as well as a pair of working shoes.

Anyway, I happened to chance upon Novo and they are having 50%-70% sale too. Got lotsa nice bling bling shoes at 50% and 70% but sizes are very very limited. Those I liked were only left with Size 5 and 10... For those who haven't buy their shoes might wannna go try try luck... Average price per pair after discount is about $30. (^_^)

I wonder if the outlet at Marina Square is also on sale....

Thanks, girls. Just a bad throat for now.
Seen all the posts (well,nearly... :p) It's great to see the full swing of things, helps to remind myself what I have left out.

Talk about bedsheets, do remem to check out whether the fitted sheet can cover the depth of your mattress. A frd of mine bought those luxurious pillowtop mattress of at least 15inch thick and she can only buy from certain brands (aka really expensive brands).

Good point, nelle. Maybe need to measure the matress. but my real mattress only coming in dec...

prov, i bought quilt cover, pillow case and fitted sheets. i thought it's girl's side buy leh....

wow, you girls are back again! making this a busy thread once more

My fiance and i went to buy the bed stuff together too...so tempted to take them out and use them now...anyone who wants quilt, can go john little...discounts as high as 40%.
Think taka has the best range of bedsheets? the ones at Tangs are so luxurious...Egyptian cotton but those will cost nearly $1k

Flora,
we're getting 4+1 piece....can you post some of the videos you took on multiply?

went for 1st fitting session on my wedding gown last Sat and was advised that I should get a pair of 4half inch heels instead. My newly bought 3 inch 9west heels not high enough. Sigh, what to do, not tall and lanky enough. So devasted now. Where can I buy 4half inch heels that is slightly platformed ? Tangs used to have and I went by last Sat and they do not have that anymore. Heard Essex Walk has 'high' heels for evening wear and also suitable for brides, anyone been there ? How about custom made shoes ? How long does that take ? Please help...

wow...s'rene, it seems that u are all set for your BIG DAY!! So Exciting for you. All the best!!I'm sure you'll look gorgeous in both ur gowns...=)

Adeline: Why need to buy 4.5"? hmmmm most impt thing is are you comfortable to wear that height? coz you got to endure the whole day le~~~~ if the gown is too long ask them alter la.. actually sometimes I just feel... why the BS always ask us to cater their gowns instead of they alter for us? hmmm like that is we wear gown or gown wear us?? and if is so... why they provide alteration service? is not being alter to our needs?

anyway 1.5" will give u alot of difference when u wear the gown?? hee hee seriously if I dun wear such high heels before I dun dare to wear.... 4.5" le! wait I fall lagi down worst...

annabella,
thanks for ur compliments! hehehehe....i get really excited when i know i was going to do my photoshoot at bugis...even now, my fh is asking me will ppl recognise us den i said NO :P
yah actually i must say dat my BS ia rather well equipped wif d backdrops n props, i was spolit for choice when my PG asked me to select d props, esp for d kua outfit...he said my hands too busy le :P
i duno when i'll b viewing my layout, juz have to wait for my BS to contact me to inform me when i can go down....hopefully will b real soon too :P remember to share wif us ur pics ok?

adeline,
i bought 3 pairs of essex walk shoes for my wedding....it's abt 3.75 to 4 inches in height, u may wana customise at leaping lizards too....a few of d brides here r customers of leaping lizards including myself, i got 1 pair 4 inch n 1 pair 3.5 inch
customised shoes wld take probably a mth...

Mrs Chiew,
I totally understand you. I feel the same too. I am fine with high heels and 3 or 3.5 is easy for me. 4.5 with platform is something I never try before. They let me try a similar 4.5 inch and standing next to my fiance, they said the whole look is much nicer and accentuate the whole gown. What more can I say ? Sigh.

Plus, they say better to get a 'more padded' bra so that it will look nicer... I wanted comfort and not as if my bra is not not padded...just slight. Still have to shop for another bra..32B still more padded...erhhh.....i wanted the natural look and fine with flat chested...Then again, have to priortise, shoe 1st...

Mary, think if hubby sticks to working under govt, there's no way he can get anywhere near 200k pa, so for me, it'll continue to be a dream. Once married, "I" becomes "we", so I suppose your hubby will try to make sacrifices for you to fulfil your interest.

nelle, take throat lozenges if it helps and a lot of "liang teh". Tks for the reminder, shall go and measure the thickness of the mattress before committing to bedsheets.

msclaire, all these things i dun noe, my MIL says buy, i buy lor.

Jac, thks, will check out John Little too.

MeiLin,
Thanks.will drop by Essex Walk later and I think leaping lizards is located at Int'l Plaza, rite ? Will drop by later the week when I go for another round for EG fitting. It must be very exciting to have taken your photos, I still have more to go before the photos leh.

sotonglet,
my fh will most prob kill me for being so hiao...anyway i expect myself to degrade every yr cos i gets older n fatter by d yr :P i alrdy took a few teachers' day series leh n racial harmony day (kerbaya), 1 yr is indian, 1 yr is shanghai n 1 yr is victorian so hopefully i get d chance to don on my own jap n korean costumes :P

msclaire,
oh u cant make it for d gathering? do join us d nxt time ok? wah....i can imagine how comfy ur bed is gona b...for both of ur comfort, im sure it's worth more than $300 rite? dun worry, it's worth it cos both of u gets to enjoy d comfort of ur bridal bed

providencia,
yah true....if u ask for sth den they'll have a bad impression of u so better wait till they take d initiative ba :P cos d more u expect u more disapptment u'll face so i think dun ask for anything better
mayb they'll buy u a truckload of diamonds instead

mary poppins,
i think by d time my fh retires mayb den can hit $100K....his pay is more or less fixed de :P wah u really plan way ahead...u r in d hotel industry? my cousin is wking in shangri-la, i can see she's enjoying herself
wah so gd...ritz carlton is 1st class in service excellence n i was really amazed by its culture n impressed by its service stds
mayb both of u can wk towards it n it's really a goal for u to look f/d to

nelle,
glad dat u r feeling better now except for having a bad throat, hope dat u can recover by fri, remember to take logenzes to soothe ur throat n drink lotsa water, most of all do rest well ok?
i shd b meeting koyoyo to head down to raffles city on fri....

jac,
wah...u've been busy shopping for household items as well? glad dat u got a gd buy for 40% discount quilt....u gals r really making me wana go to slumberland after all d tok abt bedsheets n quilts :P

adeline,
no prob....hope u can find ur ideal shoes soon, do let me know if there's any new arrivals at essex walk, itching to get another pair of heels though my mind said no cos it's really comfy :P yes, leaping lizards is located at int'l plaza level 1 (adjacent to burger king)

yah it was v exciting, i kinda missed all d fun now, dun mind if i can do it all over again but wif new locations n new gowns :P dun worry, we still got time so settle ur wedding heels 1st ok?

adeline, i think Guess got heels that are 4" 4.5".. u can check out. how tall r u? i think it's more impt to feel comfortable, like what Chiew said..

when is ur PS?