(2008) Brides of year 2008

hee hee I forget who's the oversea bride here (work in china one)? hee hee signed 1950? hee hee

Cheryl: Will you be wearing Kua? for me I will "have to" wear the traditional pajamas inside my KUA...it gonna be hot man.... I hope I can skip that without my mom knowing hahahahha

i'm more calm now.. probably now more or less settled already.. and told my HB i don't want to be bothered about stuff that are already done or finalised.. now concentrating on the guest list.. which will be a big headache too.. keep pressing my parents to give me their list.. and guess what they really give me a big whole list.. but they told me they will not be inviting all from the list.. alamak.. they don't get me one leh.. since they had already sent out the invitation cards, i need to know who are the people they invited.. ai yo.. blur blur one leh...

oh ya, still got one more things to think abt.. my guest book!!! it's ok.. my sister quiting her job soon.. so can get her to help me.. hahaha..

green> my BQ is buffet style.. that's why i need headcount.. i told her "i dun mind ordering more food, its jus that some ppl will have no seats at the hotel nia", cos the venue only can put that much no. of tables/chairs, else it becomes crampy..

the older gen. all wan face.. who who invite her to their children's wedding, she thinks she shld invite them back too.. my alternative to her is she can invite ALL her friends (those whom i dunno/never seen b4 faces) to the buffet at my house on AD afternoon..

join us for the gathering on 16th la..

Hi Mrs Chew, y need to wear pjyamas? Hehe, my MIL actually wanted me to wear KUA too, but in the end give up, because i just want a simple poolside party.

greece, not for honeymoon.
for a trip this july.
;)
just for fun.
havent been out of the country for sooo long!!!
(m'sia and philippines and jakata and india don't count)

pin,
you're so right.
those BS like to show super gorgeous albums with fantastic shots, great layouts etc.
but when you actually count the number of poses/pages in those albums,
it's like 100 poses and 50 pages.
while in the package, most pple get 30-40 poses and 25-30 pages.
of course wont have the WOW effect, plus the layout etc, not as much effort as those show albums.

Erlina> Ummm... What's wrong with Italy huh..?

I'll probably be going Europe for belated honeymoon next year June as well..
.. Dec too cold, plus no time and no $$$ after wedding.. hehe..

Hi R&J,

If your MIL don't wan yum seng, then will be 'cheers' becoz the purposely of yum seng is like.. blessings for the couple..
Eg.
1st yum seng- wish both of you happy marriage
2nd yum seng- have lots of kids
3rd yum seng- etc...
Mayb you ask your HTB to explain to her?? No yum seng, then cheers lah!

Hi piyo,
Yup.. i juz bought a resale flat at hougang.. For bed, you mean bed frame or mattress?? or Both?? Your friend is soo nice to even think of you when she is overseas.. So she will be one of your jiemeis?

For the guest list, my mum is doing the relatives one, i gave her the table arrangements.. let her choose which table she wana put relatives and i will settle the rest for my friens and colleagues side.. ;)

hahaha i oso..i plan nex yr sept then go europe honeymoon i think is sooo far from the actual wedding date december this year so consider honeymoon or not hmmm up to the couple itself...but the dinner cost itself is taxing on both of our savings...so better save up for honeymoon till a comfortable level before we go europe...tentatively will want to travel to Italy..France..Switzerland :P

gals some question on multipy , I have upload my PS photo do I need to resize it ? as I see from the PC is like abit blur blur if i load full size

mrs chiew,
thanks! my PS will b tm n on tis coming sat, really pray for gd weather so i can have lotsa fun....

cyc,
my PS is tm n tis coming sat, did my mani n pedi yest le, hope dat d colour will last me thru tis sat....esp my mani cos i too tough liao :P
gd luck for ur PS!

polarwhite,
yah....im so nervous...kinda doing lotsa last min stuff these few days, duno wat to bring for my PS too....

cheryl,
yah....let's wish for gd luck for our PS n hope everything goes well...spoke wif my PG n communicated my idea to him, hope dat everything will turn out well

Switzerland is so nice..! My hubby also wanted to go Switzerland.. But between snowy alps and Gaudi architecture, I convinced him to go for Gaudi instead.. More unique.. hehe.. So Barcelona it shall be for me..!

jac,
i've contacted my JP le, he's more of an angmo JP but i use him cos i know him personally, guz it's less stressful n nervous for me...will b meeting him in aug to finalise d details

i wrote my own wedding vows juz like florabliss

msclaire,
welcome back! how was ur exams? hope u did well...im going for my PS tm...wish me luck

mei, have fun tomorrow and sat!!

cheryl, i'm not using ampoule but going to put face masks everyday a week before PS and AD. i think that will help. cheaper too!

xinyi > mi oso ve the same prob.. now i just kip my fingers crossed hope everytin turn out well then i can happily go for HM...

let's hope for the best !

Mei, enjoy yr ps tom.. we shall all pray for a good weather

I just came back from hk.... bad weather, it rain and rain.. didnt have much time for shopping, coz the weather was real bad. But i managed to get my hello kitty wedding guest book, im a happy gal now

Mrs Chiew: Sound hot siah..yap Im wearing Kua also, special request by my side's old folks. But nt yet told abt extra pyjamas issue. My aunts all buying gold for me during tea ceremony..gosh I will be sparkling gold after the ceremony..haha

Tks cyc..

Sorry, could I ask a stupid question? Do the hotels holding your wedding banquet provide wedding favours?

Do we have to provide ourselves? Thanks!

Sorry for asking such a question here. hahah

mei, exams were....unnerving. I never thought it was possible to think for 6 hours...so glad its over.

Good luck for your PS! Rem to sleep early and look mei mei tmr!

leely: nothing wrong with Italy. It is a great place with great food. Just that the place is not as beautifully developed city and quite dirty and dusty. We felt that it will give ppl a better impression if ppl dun go as their first eur city. ;)

I will also like to go to switzerland! Htb doesn't wan leh, cos not worth it to fly there during dec and go alps when we have a free trip to Austrian alps.

The reason I chose Barcelona over Switzerland is also becoz I feel that snowy alps I've seen before in other countries.. And not sure how different can snowy alps get.. =P

Okay, I'll make it a point not to fly into Italy.. Shall make Italy my last destination then.. hehe..

green, i understand how you feel... though my bf doesnt trade in shares, he gambles on soccer and 4D and toto... there was once he lost alot on soccer and i cried cos i was too angry and upset. and it's not as if we were born with a silver spoon, every cent counts alot for us.

green, go for the gathering ba. you wont dampen the moods one. im more afraid i will dampen their mood if i go.

Hi pin&jie

Added you in my msn. I was also admiring the gowns that you choose. Heehee...but i'm surprise that they actually allow you to take photos. I remember when i was trying the gown, they dun allow me to take photos.

Yah....Kelvin belongs to the master level...actually he was surprise when I told him that the prices charged by Singapore photographers at his level will be ard S$3k to S$5k. I have to said the service provided by them are good. Very patient in guiding you on the poses...b'cos no experience mah...so kind of feel awkward and funny in doing those close-up poses. So I feel that given another choice I will still JB BS even with all the hassle of going in and out.

Hi Evelyn, I think it depends on your package when you sign with the hotel. Most hotels do provide.

But if you don't like their favours, you can source for them yourselves. =D

Hey Leely, you will love Barcelona!

:D I want to talk more about Rome though, cos I really loved it when I was there...it's completely walkable - no need to take the subway at all, and you feel like you're living in history, because you're walking in this modern city, and then you turn a corner, and there's a half-excavated ruin in front of you.

Three things you must do in Rome:
1. Eat Gelato. Rome has the BEST gelato in the world. Their gelato shops has such a huge range, there's about 8 different types of chocolate (they have lindt, ferrero rocher, bacchi, etc). They also have the best coffee

2. Visit the Vatican City and the Sistine Chapel. St Peter's Basilica is awestrikingly huge. And the Sistine Chapel is very beautiful- I never used to understand what the big deal was until I saw it and realised the kind of scale it was painted on.

This is an important tip if you want to see the Sistine Chapel at its best. Be kiasu- get to the Vatican museum before it opens. Then when it opens, get in and walk as fast as you can to the end of the museum because the chapel is right at the end (some people actually run). If you do this, you will enjoy the chapel when it is serenely quiet and there are few people. (Otherwise it's shoulder-to-shoulder shoving with loud tourists) Then you can walk backwards through the museum to see the other exhibits.

3. Make a wish at the Trevi Fountain. Corny, but it's part of the fun.

Hi gals.. can understand how you all feel... my HTB also one who just sit and do something, while I spend my time and all thoughts on the wedding stuff. I always say him.. sure dont look/act like someone getting married in a month's time..

till now, my future PIL has not say much abt the wedding preparations and leaving it to us.. but I also worry they last min tell me.. even my parents also...

hi leely, earthsea is absolutely right abt Rome! Best gelato of all time. ;) look up the lonely planet for this gelato place. I was there twice during my trip. Also, remember the saying abt making a wish at trevi... U never know and u will be back in Rome again. ;)

For a little breather, do go take a seat at the Spanish steps. I happened to be there when a couple were taking their
PS.. So nice.. Saw another couple at trevi too.. Haha.

Eee.. Sorry if I am a spoilt sport, do take care of ur belongings in Italy. A friend we travel with (& we were in a big gp) had his camera then his mobile stolen within an hour. Both times it happened on the bus.

Green>see, if you are free next Mon, you are warmly welcomed. Won't dampen any moods at all de.

Karen>Besides TDragon, neko also recommended a printed called Jasvy. Think you can find its contact further up this thread. Or you can do what Rach and I did and go JB to print your cards.

Ohh, I met my PG today and I've a new task. Was asked to look for bridal hairstyles I like. So we can see duplicate it, if possible, in Taiwan. Is useful too, I guess, when communicating with my MUA. Anyone has any recommendations for hair style sites?

its pouring over here which hopefully means it'll be a cooling day for Meiling's photoshoot. Best of luck, Meiling. Hope it goes well.

Eh, anyone has any recs for nice bridal hair sites? Need to start thinking of what to do for hair...

I manage my parents and him and his mum like I'm managing my tenders. Deadline to finalize all GDL items by this Friday because I'm placing orders this Sat/Sun. Thereafter no changes will be entertained.

I wonder sometimes if I'm a control freak. I'm not even letting my parents choose where our relatives will sit. I'm putting them in one corner up front where it's easy for them to interact with one another and entertain themselves. I know my relatives are darn good at that.

Jule... now that you mention wedding bands... I need to remember where I put ours... =P

hey ladies, today my colleagues suggested me to go JB for photoshoots. She told me her studio is near the Taman Garden, cost only S$500 for a 30page album? Do you all think its worth it? Or the quality in JB is not good?

Ya xinyi, lara & thias, let's not get too stressed up by our guestlist. Let us jus enjoy our BIG day and may everything goes well

green &Ah Net > come..lah...Its good to have a gathering,turn ur moods around..might feel better after that.

Green > I understand how u feel.because my dad is good example.my mum still lives on but I M the one that is paying the WHOLE family's debts that impedes me getting married..its a complicated issue.haiz...so I understand how u feel now.

LSnTYL > might wan to see this wedsite.taiwanese wedsite for hairstyles or wedding ideaz~

http://verywed.com/

689286.jpg

689287.jpg

this is my 喜饼 I got from my fh..he is trying to bring them over from taiwan box by box,month by month.. (^-^)

LSTYL > so its comfirmed 7pm @ miss clarity cafe for the 16th gathering?
I have no preference lah...i anything lor..coz' I not working that day so anywhere more convenient for u gals.
okiez..will give you the info for the mochi that day..or email you. easier? (^-^)

Perhaps I can join u guys on 16 June Mon, But not confirmed yet cos my work/ project deadline is on that day too! Sigh.. I will try..

Just collected a sample wedding card, so I need to ask Tdragons to print all the 100 pcs with my parent's names & wedding details, then I bring all these 100 pcs to T&T in JB and ask them to print inserts right? They take how long? 2 weeks to print?

Stra Clar: wow.. looks compact.

Have you all bought your gold strings? City sq got sell?

green> thanks green... i think i think too much yest... and knowing that a cousin also getting ROM in Sept..and not going to have any BQ at all in future...
makes things easier... so we can safely cut away alot of people..without worrying liao. hehe..

So i think it'll be better with lesser relatives..

I think we can still go ahead..

Huh??? You are seriously considering ur r/s????

$100 is far too ex la..siaoz... mine is $30 per hour...

why PS postponed?????

Karen> if u need my excel sheet let me know..

You dun need to downsize.. it'll auto down one i tot? hehe... i upload from Kodak gallery.. i upload everything there. from there then download to Multiply.

If you print at JB. its RM$80 for 200 copies.... so.... i not sure if they calculate for 140copies..

spoiltbabe> exactly.. when they are not ur frens.. its really tough.. but i'm fine liaoz..thanks for u ppl's support and encouragement..

Just realised my cousin not having BQ.. so we are safe now.. can cut somemore... just need to talk to my venue abt it. hopefully i can cut more..scarly i end up with 50 tables.. hahahaa.. :P

neko> food tasting u can ask them to take note of certain things.. like too salty... so cook less salty... not hot... fish not fresh etc loh.. ;)
My cousin considering ROM at Carlton.. hehe.. my helping him to plan.. on 10th Sept.. keke.. :P

crown> u best... hahaha... use it as ROM.. win.... haha..champion man.. :P

Xi Bing - is to give close relatives only? Usually need how many boxes? Or depends on parents? My parents nvr say leh.. Boy's side must give Xi Bing a not?

my invitation card printing is being held up cos quite some dispute on the wordings..cos i m the only daughter and i got a younger brother..so Tdragon got me to use "only daughter" bt it makes me sound like i m the onli child in the family..and the chinese wordings is "ai nu" which my fren n mom say sound like wat's written on a tomb=( so i dunno wat to put.. "zhang nu" also cant cos tdragon ppl says that is onli if i got a younger sister....it's driving me crazy liao..u all knw hw to address??

I will like to meet up gals up on 16th jun..bt i dunno my work schedule yet=p so i will let inform soon ok??

Speaking of PS, Erlina, so cool that we have the same PS date! Where are you thinking of going? (I think people were discussing this earlier right? Must look through the previous postings).

fanny> u dun need to print the cards first to print insert.. just need to bring 1 sample to T&T to print the invites..they take about 3 days...
So once u go in to print.. u can collect the next week loh..

very fast de.... spore takes longer time.. coz we suspect they send in to Msia to print also...thats why longer....

no need string la.. just put glue in the center and stick to the card..easier.. no need to cut and tie knots.. hehe.. :P

Yah.. I think the pickpocketing thingy is not unique to Italy.. My friend's friend got her wallet stolen from her bag in the subway in Spain as well.. Oh well.. Just one of the things to watch out for when touring Europe..

Earthsea>> Wow, that's important tip on visiting Sistine Chapel.. The only reason things I knew about Vatican City before this were from Da Vinci Code.. hehe.. Thanks!

I'm so looking forward to my Europe trip now.. But err.. still got one more year to go.. haha..

strawclare:
i love your xi bing! somemore they are individually packed so it's more fresh. The box looks classy too
My auntie told mi to juz get bengawan solo cake, no need to give them nice nice wan. How i wish all my relatives are litat!

fanny:
yes, is to close relatives only. But my good friend also gave us so.... hmm... up to you bah. If got extras i will give them also. My side i need about 16boxes. Guy's side also need xi bing.

jgal:
phew! luckily i have an elder sis :P Not sure how to address too. Wat your mum suggest?

fanny > yeapz..depends on ur parents,how many they wan to give to ur relatives.Its FH's side to give to urs.It depends whether ur parents wan anot.For my parents,they never request for anything even for Ping Jin etc...but my mum wanted the xi bing from taiwan coz' it looks different from singapore. (^-^)

rach> ohhhh! i just bring the card size to T&T and they know the size of my inserts. do they have pink inserts and can i choose the colour of front? I see Tdragon got pin and ivory inserts papers for us to choose. then will T&T know my hotel address, ballroom details in terms of english and chinese? or i need to provide a sample pc of them to see? wow..ready in 3 days! i agree that tdragon prob. bring to m'sia to print..

i see a sample says "zhang nan and zhang nu" means first son and first daughter.

i got 2 younger brothers, and im the eldest. My husband is the only son and eldes followed by a younger sister. sounds ok to me leh.. although i got no younger sis..