(2008) Brides of year 2008

Meiling, though I work in a bank, all my exam isn't financial related. Last yr is my certified BC specialist/ expert exam. This time it's the project mgt course. Upon passing, will be certified as a proj mgt professional, which is internationally recognized. And also if I pass, my boss would have extra budget for me to go for the CISA course later this yr. So every day my boss would nag and remind me not to fail the exam. Got so much to study. Stress!!!!

Jac, juz like meiling, I found out abt the wedding show via the bridal magazines. But I guess I wouldn't be attending the next ones coz by then, I would have already MTM my WG liao.

providencia, I don't dare to drinks essence of chix leh. Like very bitter leh. Btw, if you wanna try out the snake powder, I can pass you a bottle on fri's gathering. I think the mkt selling the small bottle at $1. I think there's the original and lavender scented ones.

Nec, oh you need to work hard too... Good luck to you too.

nelle, you and I are rather similar. I always think abt budget and how to get cheap and good deals. Tat's why I haven't get my shoes yet.

hi jules,

d'sire have moved to race course road cause i went to their new place just last week. hmm if allure charix is at amoy st, i may have walk pass the shop a few times le... hehe... i'm so blind... i can walk over during lunch time or after work.

hi karen,
it's quite scary that from the list you have come up with i only got one thing done and that's the venue... haha... i need to buck up abit...

Hm last time zhouen also did a check list for us rite? I cannot remember what was inside but i remember it was pretty good. anyone still remember?

flora, i have not seen wat the snake powder bottle looks like can take a pic and add it here? where do we get it anyway????

I think gss can buy shoes liao. Sure have discounts. I always try to get shoes tat have discounts only. No discount dun buy.

Nec and flora, gambateh!!! Always think that you can make it, and preprare the neccessary can liao!

nelle, 25 Apri I dunno i can make it or not. I may have last min preparation rehersal that day for my friend's wedding de next day.

Mary, glad that you have a wonderful bday!!!

wow, thanks, Kirei. What time do you knock off work? Maybe I can go to tiong bahru to meet you? You don't mind email me your a/c number and the total cost to me and I i/b it to you, k?

waxie> haha. dun dare to take pics liaoz...the last time i did.. sigh... big trouble..
so... not that excited abt taking pics also liaoz. hehe.. just try and then rem in my mind..

and it can be a surprise too.. hahahha..

Its not removable.. just that can fold up and hook unto the back of my butt area... very innovative. haha..
I love it... my frens love it more.. hahaha...
My FH is anything... not much pref... as long as i like and I'm comfortable..
and it looks slimer on me.. maybe cuz of the black waist thingy.. hehehe..
I love the string of diamonds in front at the waist.. wooohoo!! Hehehe...wait till my PS then show u all la... 27 more days! hahah.. :P

fortunemew> you can try fotohub.com they have a few branches in singapore...
It costs about $200++ for a 12R 20pages coffeetable album... asked and seen it before... quite nice..
But dunno if we wanna spend that kind of money. :p

crown> yet to see ur email... i got 150 to clear.. once i see it, i'll reply u hor.. hehhee.. now busy clearing SB forum emails first.. hahaha... :P

YL> hehehe.. 6 in total.... 1 WG, 1EG, 1Kua, 2 OD gowns (white & off white) and 1 more EG..
we didnt want to take those traditional ones.. so taiwanese style loh.. hehehe...

Ah Net> hahhhaa... u good man.. drink bird nest since u wanted to wed?? best.. hahaha... i've just placed 2 bottles of order from kire.. keke..
I didnt take any photos this time round.. not a single one! hahaha.. so... yup... just wait for my PS to be out! hehehe...
Surprise surprise!

Can take my MTM one.. when its done on 24th i show u all la.. heheh.. :P

Soya> we prepared one for 1st march in, one for march out (coz i having church ceremony at the BQ venue) and 1 for 2nd march in..

So total is 3... then gotta think of some for looping the rest of the nite...
think my FH is compiling that.. he's better at it... and we have english and chinese mix. hehe. :P
Then you should on ur MSN also.. can chat there.. ;)

Ah Net> yup.. bought my wedding bands together with proposal bands.. heheh...
from D'Meyson...the one u dun like... u said very cheapskate one.. heheh...

My personal list of JP:
Mr Chan Kai Yau
Mr Chia Ti Yu
Mrs Chia Swee Tin
Mr Phang Tai Heng
Mr Yeo Woon Soo
Prof Yu Shih Ming

Mmmm... enough or not?? got more than YL's list?? hahhaha.. i think they are mostly the more popular ones...
Mr Chan is a Christian in fact.. didnt know till we met him to sign consent form.. he's very old.. about 70.
My mummy says good to be blessed by an elderly.. hehe.. so i think we quite fortunate...
the fact that he's still doing this at this age..

kire> thanks.. what time u home one huh?? tmr nite on my way home i pick it up from you?? I usually walk home from MRT..
Thanks sooo much!

Hopefully it'll really helps by 10 May.. hahaha.. eat one bottle a week got better effects or not? hahhaa...
is it already sweetened??
Is those ownself cook and double boil one better??
More ex issit?
sms me ur acct too.

waxie> you using who huh?? littledream?? can i have the list too.. u have my email rite?? hehe..

dor> you can always save it to word or notepad.. then send it to urself or wat.. then come back then send.. thats what i do now..

Emcee?? Mmm.. i'm not that good. but can do a reasonable job of introducing and welcoming the people...
You wanna employ my FH and me? we are the RARA couple...
hahaha... coz he's Ray.. I'm Rachel... some call me Raychel.. hahhaa....
Just give us a nice AP can liaoz.. hahaha.. :P

If u wanna games or what.. we can try la... i've just emcee for frens a few times.. Mmm... ookkk la... not superb like those Mediacorp Emcees.. haha...

dor> you've engaged PG liaoz huh?? My PG is good too.

check out www.melvinho.biz he charges $688 for whole day PG + editing into a slideshow + all images returned in CD.
He's my cousin in law..

Hiya,

i was advised by my fengshui master that i was not suppose to attend funerals especially. i dun remember anything mentioning regarding wedding though.

currently, i can't attend my cousin's wedding and another close gf wedding cos theirs were within the 3 months. In fact, my parents are pretty cool about it. It's them who felt otherwise. sigh....i felt abit disappointed especially for my close gf. cos she can't be my jie mei, can't attend my banquet and i can't be hers and attend hers too. Duhhhh..

Plus i have another pair friends who are getting married on the same day as me. So i'm "losing" some of my uni friends to the other side.

SotongLet, this is how the snake powder looks like. The one I have at home is the lavender scented. I think the original will be even more cooling. If you gals want, I can bring it to the gathering. It's usually avail in mkt or supermkts like NTUC.

649229.jpg

Rach
I already got the photographer. thanks.

Why you have so many gowns? I only hv 1 WG, 1 EG. My designer say, "why you need so many gowns?"
=(

Talking abt JP, hmm... I nearly forgot I need that too...

Kire,

I PM you my HP number liaoz..
And no need to meet at tiong bahru, my bf stay in khatib, so the nxt time he's back he'll bring me over to collect lor.

for those taking my birdnest..this is the advise fr e shop uncle..

1 concentrated birdnest..is already cooked and sweetened..
take 1 teaspoon a day twice daily..morning and nite
it should last u abt 1-1.5 wk..
once open keep refrigerated..
uncle say recommended period to finish 1 opened bottle is 1 wk..but he say can put 2 wk or more la..jus tat he worried e smell might change..but he say based on 2 teaspoon daily..it shld finish by 1-1.5 wk

he recommend me to buy double boiled cos is a bit cheaper..but if u really lazy, u shld jus buy ready made..which i m lazy la..

there is an offer for double boiled birdnest..
e offer is for 1 liang = $150
now promo, buy 2 liang get 6 big bottles of bird nest but is those watery type in big bottle and need to consume straight away once open (1 bottle worth $20 only)
this promotion birdnest (both bottle and double boiled version) is one/two grade lower than e concentrated birdnest that we had bought

actually uncle say buy birdnest n cook urself is more valuable..
ppl wan to buy ready made is bcos lazy..
cos ready made, they will definietely charge u for packaging cost la, cooking cost la, blah blah..

so mayb u all wan, can buy self cook birdnest lo..
jus buy those 1 liang $130-$150 can liao..
otherwise if u got more budget, buy $250 over for 1 liang lo

dor> 1 WG & 1 EG is for actual day.. together with my Kua...
the rest are for PS... i have 6 outfits for PS ma..

But AD will only get to wear 3 la..the rest only get to see in the album... hehehhe.. now talk to u.. suddenly i feel sooo excited that i'm taking PS soon! hahaha. :P

just search for our nick and add loh..

rara, i tink tml i will b at home ard 730-8..

btw, ah net, can come down to coffeeshop near my hse to pass u e birdnest..
i dun wan to bring birdnest to work le.. :P

those stay yis one..can meet u all nearby my block?
u all jus sms me when u all wan to collect tml..
thx

1 liang depending on e size birdnest..
normally 1 liang got 6-7 pcs..
for 1 bowl, u use 1 pc

in hock hua, 1 liang = $130-$150, e birdnest when soaked will not expand much
another type of birdnest, 1 liang = $170 (quite gd grade in cheaper range), when soaked will expand much..so tat y is gd n exp but v small in size..so tat type 1 liang i tink can get 7-8 pcs..

birdnest really got diff diff kind n types n species..
some got in cave type, got near sea type, etc etc..
been to so many birdnest shops..heard until i can memorise
ahahah

i got tot so to buy double boiled..
maybe when i finish my bottles..and mayb persuade my aunt to cook for me..
hahaha
and mayb ask my aunt to pay
haahah
*dreaming*

kire> yah... know there're many diff types.. usually mummy buy and cook, i eat.. hahha....

I wont be home so early one..usually 10plus 11plus.. MMm.. i'll just give u a sms when i'm on my way home.. if u are sleeping then i take another day.. else i'll go up take from you..

rach,
even for my photoshoot, I only hv 1 WG and 1 EG. my designer said, "why you need so many gowns?"
that's for photoshoot... boohoohoo...
I hvn't confirmed my photoshoot date. Haven't even chosen my WG and EG designs. Can only settle all those end april when my bf is back again... Prob photoshoot will take place only in June/July earliest.

dor> you from margaret huh??
Mmmm.. usually bridal packages comes with 5-6 outfits ma.. mmm.. so many to look nice loh.. once in a lifetime ma.. heheh..
My MTM EG 1st skeleton will be out 24th Apr.. then by 5th May it should be ready with all the embroidery etc.. 24th will just try the base structure..then my designer will see how i wear it and where need to do lace and beading etc to make it look even more outstanding!

kire> hahaha..so hardworking leh u... hahaha.. okok.. thanks..

How come you are not on MSN?

ya need to do normal mask once a wk..i missed it liao..

oh cos i watchin Hk series..
so only check forum nv go msn..
keke

ok i goin to sleep liao..nite

tinkybell,
heard it's cheaper than in sg as some of d brides in d forum buy their stuff there :P

jeslyn n tinkybell,
i think ivory is ok...both my gowns r off-white, 1 v close to white so i'll use it in d morning n 1 is v yellowish so i intend to use it at nite, im surprised dat my mum is ok wif d 2nd choice, guz she felt dat i look nice in dat gown n dat's wat most impt
i insisted on d 2nd one cos of d longer train n oso d lacey n shining effect :P

nelle,
thanks for ur announcement! let me chk wif koyoyo if she's keen cos she indicated her interest earlier on if i didnt remember wrongly

providencia,
i get v irritated by d pimples or acnes when i stand in front of d mirror while brushing my teeth, den i'll use my fingers to pinch n extract them out...of cos den my face will b red n full of finger marks :P
im not too sure abt using d powder for pimples but i do use it for heaty rashes as it helps to cool n calm down d skin :P if ur skin is sensitive, den better dun use it on ur face :P i usually will bear d pain for d cramps unless it's terrible den i'll take panadol menstrual...wah d pills to delay menses sounds great, can get frm any pharmacy or need doc's prescription?

mary poppins,
glad dat u had a wonderful bday celebration! oic, den i shall go n tok to my BS d nxt time i go down :P

florabliss,
wah....u r truly a pro...must have obtained so many different certs n passed many exams alrdy, so dun worry abt it, im sure u can pass ur exams wif flying colours given ur hardwking personality, exams r nv a prob for u

u wana MTM ur WG? how does ur dream WG looks like? i always cant make up my mind on my WG so i decided to take off d rack cos i expect dat wif my requirement on laces etc, it'll b ex n require top up :P

sotonglet,
i love shoes....hehehe, u really make me hope dat GSS can come faster but i doubt there'll b any discounts for paradox shoes though, dat's wat d salesperson said but hopefully there'll b newer n nicer designs :P

Queenie : I just realise our AD on same day ;p I 17th May bride too.
I haven even gave out my invitation cards...Oops...hoping to do it by next week.
Ya, agree, seating plan is the worst part, i start to realise I've got alot 11 ppl in a group combination, now cracking head where to put that extra 1 person.

Ting : How's everything at DG? What have u settled? I haven even seen my completed WG, waiting for Casey to call leah.

Hi all, seldom ppl said pregnant can't attend, if can't I tink it's the same thing abt crushing of luck bah, just like attend funerals, ppl scare not gd luck, if really no choice then they will put a red string on one of their finger for funerals. But pregnant lady should be able to attend, I always saw pregnant lady at wedding dinner.

how's everyone preparation?
I'm also still at the stage of choosing the layout for my album, hopefully can confirm by this week.
I had yet to go buy my wedding stuff. Too busy..

Mary, sounds like u had a wonderful time during your birthday.
Tks, i'm well.

Flora, i'm a bit lost in all the BC/CISA thingy, true financial idiot, but u really high flyer!
Tks for posting the pic, I have seen it before. Think it's just talcum powder. When u all say snake powder, i keep thinking of some ah pek peddling the powder at the market square, and showing off his pet snake. But this one is "branded" one - St Luke and from british pharmacy.

MeiLing, what must i say to stop u from touching them, want to vomit blood oreadi.

The pills must be obtained from Dr. U go to the Dr and tell him/her u want norethisterone, sound very smart, right? hee hee. The pills are cheap cheap.

sotonglet, i'm also waiting for the sales, that's why taking it easy for now.

tinky, hahaha ya i thought so too... coz when i hear the muffin is like with maple syrup i was like... ew......

shopping in JB, sounds cool but need to really find one day when it is not so jam... but then which day hahaha

morning ladies

Kittyng, my mum is more of chin cai type, as well as my MIL. My mum dont even want to pig totters. That save us some troubles of buying it. Will be striking off quite a no. of things in GDL list.

Hi Zhuoen,

My multiply id is swee11... I would love to see ur pictures!

Hi Jules,

Prices for everything are shooting up... If must expect to pay more if you custom made ur rings too late...

I checked quotes for a same design band within a period of less than 3 weeks and I got different prices due to the diamonds and gold rates... So if possible, it is better to get it early. (^_^)

meiling, I'm not so ambitious to pass with flying colours. I just need a mere pass, and I'll be more than contented. Becoz the nature of my job/ job scope can be rather general, so I've got no choice but to obtain certification to add value to my career. If not, I'll have difficult to change job.

I think most likely I'll MTM my WG. I've always adore low back or bareback designs. I like long trains too. But given my height and my preference for low back, long train may not be possible. So maybe something low back with soft flowing training?

providencia, BC & CISA are not financial courses. BC stands for Business Continuity and CISA stands for Certified Information Security Auditing. You gals can also go for such courses. And I'm definitely not a high flyer. If I am, then you would have seen my face on papers all the time. :P

Btw, anyone keen in going to David Tao concert? I know someone who is selling a pair at $140 (usual price is $108 per tix). THe seat is T39 and row 24. Let me know if you are keen.

hmm i think the pill to delay menses is actually a contraceptive right? so if you planning to have kids within this year, better don't take it.. cos supposed to go off all oral contraceptives for at least 6 months b4 u try to get pregnant, in case it affects the foetus..

<font color="aa00aa">so funny, all sleep sooo late... not scared eyebags ah... lolz... me latest be in bed by 11.45pm, usually by 11.15pm lights out liao. lolz...

bird nest, i only take in the morning leh... take at night after i eat so much rubbish, feels very wasted hahahaaa... so only once a day... i using "Dalacin T" - it's a topical antibiotic for treatment of acne skin... very effective!! but in Singapore, need to see doc then can get (first time consultation, subsequent can buy off the shelf)...

so active leh this thread... all so excited eh... i already buay tahan and switched off the email alerts and just come here directly... lol

fortunemew >> oh yah i wanna ask you.. u enquired only on the animation pkg from stefine ?? cos i called them asking about the VDO + ani pkg they say OK!! u wanna try again... </font>

So long havent come in here and everyone seemes to be moving along for their wedding prep.... except me! Kind of panicking now coz so many things not done... my PS is only end of May (!!) think shld be the latest among all.

I have 2 wine contacts if anyone wants I can pass u. But do u all go &amp; taste the diff wines b4 deciding? I wont have the time &amp; prob will juz take the same wine my sis took for her wedding.

Jule &amp; Qunqun- I am also going for my honeymoon in Japan! Booked at the Natas fair. Now deciding should we extend our stay as afraid tour wont have time to shop hehe.

My progress todate is as follows:
1.Venue confirmed
2.BS package signed
3.Photographer &amp; video for AD confirmed
4.Actual date confirmed
5.Wedding Band in progress
6.Wedding/Montage Songs in progress
7.Shortlisting gowns' designs for MTM in progress
8.Sourcing for contractors/ID for renovation
9.Have done up the spreadsheet to monitor guest's RSVP (very kiasu on this hor...)
10.Have created a template for both side parents to fill up the guest's name, address and contact.
11.Sourcing for outdoor venue for BS PS.
12.Have shortlisted honeymoon venues and gotten the estimated costs of the tour.
13.Most importantly, on diet, beauty and fitness regime now... kekeke...

wah, so happening yest nite.

Kirei>thanks again for the birds nest. I smsed your account number to FH le. He'll I/B the $ to you. :p

Flora, thks for explanation, still sound quite cheem to me, prob cos I don't have such things in my area of work.
low back and long train sounds nice, when will u be MTMing ur WG?

Shybride, it's not a real contraceptive, it's not very effective as a birth control pill, and taking it for a short term (delay menses during PS and AD) has minimum effect on pregnancy rate and foetus.

my progress till now:
1) PS not done yet, will be doing so next week.
2) Will be printing my invitation cards this week.
3) Namelist &amp; Table arrangement 70% done.
4) Montage 80% done.
5) Will be booking my honeymoon next month.
6) AD Schedule 50% done.
7) Sourcing for ballroom decor now.
8) Ang Bao Box not done. will be doing so in Jun.

Yesterday was discussing with my HB, he says actually we are pretty much done with most of the things.. but i still feel we got quite a lot not done yet.. but can't think of anything right now.. hehehe.. think i worry too much..

i use dalacin T last time oso..
ya is quite gd for acne skin..
but cant use for too long..
last time my face v v v v bad one..
got all kind of acne scares, pimples, all over..
even take foto oso can see e scar n pimples..

then c skin doc, now beta..
but stop lioa..cos using too long skin doc products, skin bcome v sensitive and dry..
so now go to facial only..

k i will check my bank..thx

provi, I was thinking for WG. For EG, I have gotten a pair of red shoes but haven't start to stick bling blings on it, so didn't post here.

hahaha...my partner is only 1.7m tall (I am 1.6m) and I am determine to match his height, that's why I got both pairs of heels at 10cm.. :p

flora, study hard. I know what you are talking about. It is TOUGH...

hi Stnov, could it be due to your D&amp;C? might need sometime to get back to your regular cycle. Do take care of urself hor. Eat more nourishing stuff...

wow, R&amp;J, u did quite a lot. my HB quite busy, most of the things I remind him many times before it's done.

my progess till now:
1) PS done, waiting for my album layout to be finalise.
2) Invitation cards printed, really for collection this thurs, insert will get them to print soon.
3) Namelist for mine side 80% done, my HB side 0% done (haha, HB dun bother)
4) Honeymoon not going yet (No leave to take)
5) AD schedule 30%
6) Ang Bao Box borrow from my HB's sister
7) Guo Da Li Stuff not yet buy
8) Food Tasting &amp; Wedding Favour had not discuss

R&amp;J, u know when can we discuss with them on the food tasting and wedding favour? Food tasting list when need to email them? I lazy to go the forum read cos the list quite long, hee hee.

My actual day in June, so I need to get start with most of my stuffs, if not I worried no time. After AD still got abt a mth to do my dinner stuffs, so wedding dinner part not much done.

Morning all

SOrry been busy with work recently... I'm becoming like Koyoyo sia... LoL

Went down to LL yesterday to try on the skellie shoes. Issac was marvellous as usual - he even remembered me and was very patient in adjusting the straps and all; when I told him I wanted to take pics, he very obligingly stuck on crystals with masking tape so I could do so. Really impressed with the level of friendliness and service here... heheheh

meiling &amp; co
should we arrange a trip into JB you think? I'm sure we could squeeze everyone into cars but the issue would be who wanna volunteer to bring us around.. LoL especially when it seems like the ones who drive don't know the way LoL

providencia,
i'll try....cos cut down on lotsa squeezing alrdy cos my beautician kept on nagging at me saying dat i spoilt my skin after d constant squeezing :P
oh, can get frm doc? ok, i'll see if i need to get closer to d date den monitor cos my period smtimes plus minus a few days one...so may not need in d end :P

florabliss,
hehehe....dun worry, im sure u can pass ur exams one
juz study hard n den im sure ur efforts will b paid off in d end

wah...lowback n long train? i simply adore those designs but i cant carry off lowback cos my designer said i got a broad body n fleshy back so tis is not flattering on me so i'll settle for a long train for d 2nd march-in :P