(2008) Brides of year 2008

dor> don't panic.. booked PS?? Latest is June loh.. that is late late late la... so u still have time.. I'm just going for my 1st fitting tmr!! so if u can settle for ur BS soon... i'm sure everything's in control.. can recommend u my BS... if u want, PM me..

waxie> i also big foot. hahaha..

hello koyoyo..

let's see, jac, shybride and myself are dec brides..
meiling and nelle are oct brides...
er...i think!!!
:P
when's yours?

disclaimer:
if i got it wrong or missed out, don't kill me ah, instead buy me some ginko biloba lah!! hehehe....

can update my details too? my PG and VG are Robin Photography. thanks

wow, you all so good at DIY... i cant even DiY ang pow box lor... haiz...

ask u all ar, if both my WG and EG are bustiers and with 'can-can', is it weird?

hi sleepygal,
U might wanna consider trying warm colours like orange, yellow and even fuschia. One of my colleagues who's pretty tan had an orange EG n it looked quite good on her. Champagne or silver shd be good choices too?

shybride, your gown is so sweet. Matches you perfectly. You look like a demure princess.

Talking abt exercising, I haven't been going to the gym. But have started my toning session at home from last week. Every nite before sleep, I'll do 30 sit-ups, 400 bicycle crunches, and 40 push ups. I hope by dec, I'll look in better shape.

Started to eat light lunch oso. Like oatmeal, niang dou fu without those fried items, fruit salads, po piah. But when I have lunch appointment, I'll have to eat like a pig again.

hi koyoyo, welcome. I'm a dec bride. Jac and I hv the same wedding date.

Abt 3 months back i bought some hard liquor from airport dfs, and i scan through the whole bottle didnt see any dfs stamp or anything leh. Anyone check through theirs?

I dont get waive corkages so will be getting wine directly from the hotel. At least i wont have to source ard.

I intend to cater buffet or hi tea for AD too, most likely one for each location. But im trying to find a caterer who can provide for abt 20 guests, coz from past experience, even when catered for 25 guests, there is still alot of food left over.

ykim, nervousbaby, you've got mail...

i think VG is important. you may not need to spend alot on that, but just reasonable rates to capture your big moments...esp if ur hubby has to make some touching speech..haha..can replay many times! and personally, i tried not to get my fren as VG. First of all, i want them to spend great time on my big day. also, just in case it turns out not very nice...hurt friendship..so, i engage one.

aiyo nec i m june bride lah.. haha.. err.. the gingko nut ah.. dream of it in your sleep tonight ok? :P

florabliss.. wow.. you very disciplined leh.. anyway you very slim lor.. unless your gown is the tummy revealing type? ooooo.. sexy....

opps mine is not.. mine is Ho Bee.

I feel that be it cheap or expensive. most impt that the ID/contractor, you are comfortable with him and be able to click.

My contractor, is slightly more expensive, although i didnt do much reno. But then he is an responsible person with good workmanships.

Every reno sure got problems. No 100% problem free reno. ID/contractor must be responsible enough to face the problems not to run away with it.

Hi YKim,

Haha ya..it's just dat kind of feeling for thomson!! Think Sattine gowns are more suited to my taste. : )

Hi Nervousbaby,

Yeah hopefully everything will turn out well.
Read so much about some brides being fan over the BS, makes me a bit scard..but must think positive.. : )

Nec,

Ya most likely will nt be having one.. VG are harder to find and seems more expensive. . hmm but who knows i mite change my mind down the road.. hehe!! Thanks for sharing.. I did tot about that too..my bf is actually nt so keen on VG.. so had to compromise somehow hehe!!

Koyoyo,

Welcome.. I also just joined this thread like a couple of days only. My AD is in Dec.

Mi flat will only be ready in 2011 or 2010 i think. Mine is at Pungol... they just fenced up the area only.... :/

Ahlo may btbs,
Jus curious on finding out howz ur beauty regime getting on so far?

We so busy buying/bargaining/planning/preparing in e wedding tat we forget abt...ourselves!!!!

Anione share share ur glowing secrets leh?!
Laugh more k...cos itz e cheapoz beauty secret!

I did my reno for 5 room for oni $7k+ ..revarnished the parquet flooring (Whole house),custom made shoe rack n feature wall, curtain n blinds, painting, changed 2 bedroom doors..not much to be done as mine was quite well done up by ex owner..

Mentos,

I went to taka, saw the paradox shoes... Very ex lei... Even after disc, its still more then 100 bucks... hmmm... I was also thinking of buying a pair of shoes then DIY the bling bling myself... But I scared wait turn out disastrous....

Blurz_ger, and gals...this thread is moving real fast...anyway,
my PG is forest production Don - less than $1k, $850, there are chapters input also. with wedding highlights it is $1150 . they are quite good, i have my friend wedding highlights to show you if you are interested. email me ([email protected]) i signed them up because my PG worked with him for quite a number of wedding also. lest they are professional and will not block each other in their filming/shooting.
my HTB and I like his style also, we feel it is quite worthwhile, because he even done up the chapters for you for easy navigation. i know some other VG they will charge more for this. they are getting more popular and will be increasing price in end mar, so i quickly sign up !

For PG, i have engaged AmPm photography

I have also done a compilation comparison of PG previously. if anyone interested can just email me, I will send share the file

for VG that time i only shortlist 3 VG which are within my budget of $1K. because my need is just a decent, presentable Video which I can let my child view next time. hehe..i shortlist forest prod. (my friend recommendation) ; Mirage picture (my colleague recommendation) and Fotowerks ( forum lowest package rave abt). i quite like mirage and forest, in the end chosen forest because it suits our needs and feel more comfortable. fotowerks video are so-so only in our opinion...not very impressive actually...

actually sometimes, money is not everything...i feel most important is you must feel comfortable with the PG and VG because you need to smile natural infront of them. don't engage a VG or PG which you feel like beating them up when you see them..you gonna see them on your joyous wedding day lei. hahaha...joking.. try to arrange a meetup with them and request to see their portfolio...then try to chat with them for a while see if they make you feel comfortable.

Hahaha... okay...thats nice.. no need to pay anything?? even when ur quote is $40K? wah.. got sign contract or not?? dun later at the end he say did this & that.. end up gotta pay more??!!!??

xinyi> yah u are right. meeting the right person is more impt.. not so much about which ID... sometimes the company doesnt say much abt the ID itself..and sometimes the ID doesnt say much abt the company also... it depends on who is doing it for u.. hahaha...

thias> thats good.. save money!

rach> thanks so much for the info u'd emailed me!! Definitely will come in handy!

i m havin my wedding banquet on 090908, tues, at m hotel.
alot oth stuff haven really start as yet...nw oni start to hunt wat to do nial...alamak...
6mths approx to our so called big day!
last week went JB to hunt for bridal studio...but haven decide cuz duno shld b in SG or JB....reaallly stresss....

vivian> you are welcome!

Wah..thats one week after mine.. heheh...
If you really wanna go to JB, try Don.. dunno is Don or Dawn... but pronnounced that way.. or City Bridal... my BS recommends that for BS in JB...they are supposed to be real good in JB.. but for SG, do come to My Bridal Room.. no regrets and definitely much better service!

Don't stress!

I am not so fair and not so tanned. Tried a few EG in maroon and red. Suits me well. Since we are chinese, red is a suitable colour for chinese wedding naturally.

Hi ladies, another good way to slim down for me is to put on braces, since I have horrible looking teeth. Due to the braces, I can hardly eat as much as I used to. Snacking becomes a chore as well. I just did it earlier this month and I have slimmed down 3kg with significant improvement in figure. Maybe during PS and AD, I will take it out for a few days (with costs).

Hi koyoyo, welcome, I am a Nov bride.

Hi Koyoyo, I'm a Dec bride.

Florabliss - wah u jus trigger my craving for SG food by mentioning yong tau hu and po pian... haha

Nelle - did u prepare ur own fakelashes?

melody,
the bottle size is different
Hrad liquor is 1 litre from Duty Free and 750ml for duty paid. But yah, my newer bottles of duty-free have no stickers also.

lex,
thanks for helping me to chk out d prices! hehe...i may have a lobang for my black label but must see how 1st...my fren trying to tok to her corodinator if she can transfer her excess bottles of red wine to my wedding cos we r using d same hotel...n oso d barrel of beer :P

koyoyo,
i'll make an appt wif belinda once i've confirmed my gowns....earliest will b in mar holis :P

melody,
for my catering, i intend to get frm neo gardens cos went for many weddings as JMs n get to taste their food a few times, i like it...yummy :P so most prob will order frm there...shd b ordering 30-40 pax for my side, my fh's side shd b 20-30 pax ba :P

koyoyo,
hi gal, finally see u here....finally moved frm our oct thread to here....den we can go out tgr to meet d rest of d gals here...too bad u didnt join earlier cos u missed out our 1st gathering :P

nelle,
i didnt know dat it wks tis way for d calculation of d dustance...thanks for sharing! btw, when's our nxt meeting? hehe...

shybride,
ur gown looks swt like u...it's v suitable as it's v princessy...we got a glimpse of ur prince in d pic as well...so compatible wor...

flora bliss,
u r ever so discipline in ur exercise routine...actually u r alrdy v slim...u really put me to shame as i've done nothing to "improve" my figure...only eating n eating :P

jac,
d magazine is not interesting as wat u've described, luckily i didnt buy as i was searching for a copy but couldnt find it b4 i met up wif some brides frm my BS :P

mary poppins,
braces is really gd for slimming, i got a colleague who lost 4-5kg after putting on d braces for 1 mth...somemore she's alrdy v skinny...wah...

piglet,
which punggol flat u got? so envy leh...at least u got a flat alrdy, unlike me....until now, i still havent manage to get a flat...so practically homeless now :P have to stay wif my mum after my AD

cassie,
u r a foodie too? hehehe...was munching on 2 super oily prawn cakes (given by my colleague) while i was typing...tsk tsk, somemore my fitting is on sun...jialat liao :P

morning gals.

thais, yours smiliar to mine. mine also pretty good condition left by previous owner. Just that I spend abit more cash when buying the resale flat last yr.

hey snowypooh... for my case my hotel mgt is the one suggesting me emptyin the liquor into empty bottle .. haha i think it funny the law is so strict lucky for us the hotel mgt find an alternative to it.. U are lucky that your hotel dun even mind.... btw, melody i am curious too how do they know if the wine or liquor is DFs? I duno too..
Dear all there is a caterer my office always use not bad.. they serve halal food at first i tok only malay food but they server both chinese n malay food so lex if ur mama prefer indian food try source online for caterer that does both .. easier to manage cos u will be very busy on AD ...
also the part of order less is true .. maybe everyone too excited tt y there are leftover..

snowypooh n lex's hotel good, can accept duty free liquor.... mine cant.... thats why i am not getting any hard liquor....

hi snowypooh,
for food catering, only groom side have.... cos my side's tea ceremony is at the hotel.... therefore no relatives will be at my place in the morng....

hi meiling,
neo garden is nice.... puroland uses neo garden.... their sotong you tiao is nice....

Hi Meiling,

I bought the Pungol - Treetop or Treelodge. But as it wun be ready so fast, I will also be staying with my bf parents after the AD. But Pungol flats quite small and a bit ulu.. haha wanted the premiere but didnt get it.

meiling
hehe I've heard good things about Neo Garden but not tried the food le... but since you personally recommend.. I'm sure foodie's choice is safe kekeke.

koyoyo
my mom wants to take the caterer from "Riverwalk Tandoori"... a friend had his baby first month catering from them.. the Indian food is really nice! Lol

snowy,
nope ym hotel can't accept duty free also. So I have to xfer the duty free into duty paid bottles

polarwhite,
yah yah i agree...i ate at least 4-5 times for their catering liao cos got frens' wedding n 1st mth celebration...so i found their food yummy :P

lex,
i think they provide a gd spread of food, everytime i go to ppl's function, i always go n take a brochure on their food...to see if there's any change or updates...if ur wedding on wkdays got additional 5% discount too :P

cassie, no, the MUA supply. She has many kinds.

Mei, I agree Fridays are better. But I will be on course every Fri evening till 18 Apr.

If everyone is ok, how about 25 Apr evening? It is abit of a long wait..hahaha..

Yup Meiling i am a foodie! I am supposed to be on diet but i couldn't resist the yummy potato chips (and all other sinful stuff).. It's even worse when i go back to Sg for holidays, it's more like playing 'shi zi lu kou' (cos i eat and eat and eat) haha

When u going for ur ps?

no sign contract either.. haha.. but he did my fren's house too.. same thing - no downpayment no contract.. but the worksmanship is good.. and he's nice

hi polarwhite,u be holding a banquet dinner too? If so, wat time u arranging ur relatives to cum for the tea ceremony? I have intention to do it this way too but wondering wat time should i ask them to cum...

hee hee... morning~~~ is Fri! Finally..

hahaha Caterer can have food testing?? hahahhaahha I dun think so right?? but how will ppl know if their food nice or not hor hahahaha unless we always go eat cater food lor right?? but the fact is we don't..... hahahaha

Actually I thinking to get not the lunch buffet but maybe high tea type or so.. bread ar finger food ar... personally feel better.. coz ppl wake up early.. then so busy and excited they also not in the mood of eating.. Drink is impt.. must have alot of water supply... easy to eat one better.. that time be JM, we all feel like we are on "mission" so we also din eat much... just drink....

AhNet>Both my WG and EG are bustiers but don't have can can cos I want to be able to move easily.

Happiness&Bliss>Ya, I went to look at the Paradox shoes with my friends when she was getting married. Too expensive I think. If you want to DIY your own pair of shoes but worried about doing it yourself, maybe can try Loe & Behold? My friend used them and said they are quite good.

uksport,
yah Fri! Lol but I feel my week is like just beginning. Have more flat-viewing over the weekend. Meh. Saw one last night we both kind of fancied.. but valuation 395, the owner askng 465... So fed up with these people and their ridiculous cash upfront demands. zzz

Er... I think caterer offer food tasting if you got like banquet size buffet LoL..

Eh no one suggest honeymoon locations yet