(2008) Brides of year 2008

Hi Yun..

Don't worry, i'm sure you will have fun. Just relax on that day, make sure you have already brief your bros and sis what to do. Leave everything to them. Just be a happy bride, you are the star of the day!

Pls take care, drink more water, no late nights from now till your big day. I hope you have stopped working already. Take the off days and just chill at home. Don't panic and don't stress yourself out ok!

on the subject of jiemeis, i was told by one of my colleague that its not good for the btb to have a jiemei born in the year of tiger. as my colleague is from that year, she will always remind her gfs that its not appropriate. of cos this is supersititous lah. anyone heard of this myth?

Ah Net (ahnetsan)

tomoko, you bought the rosegold rings from tianpo ar? got free ring pillow ar? which range of wedding bands you buy?

Yes i bought my wedding band rose gold in tianpo. i am getting free ring box with two bears that hold the rings type. We ordered Annika Larsson from Switerland.

u???

to me.. the most imptly, i must love my ring , its design, the significance of it, and if i really can afford it or not, though. i rather go for quality rather than quantity..

most likely I getting custom-made one lor.. not off the shelf kinds, cos I dun normally wear ring, and my fingers are quite meaty..

I agree that D’meyson has nice designs... used to own a pair earrings.. but one side went missing… I am going to search my quest for my ring…

hi jesl,
yes, she very good at DIY things.... i bought the corsages material already then i saw online ppl selling 1 corsage for $3 nia.... feel like ordering liao cos i lazy to do.... chamz.... btw, she will be the 1 doing my montage for me as a gift for my wedding... ho ho ho....

hi meiling,
u wan contribution ah ?? i have leh, my arms, butt n tummy, can contribute a lot :p... i also buy bedsheets liao for an chuan wan, red red wan... but i dun have a bed yet too.... hahaha.... got offer, buy 1st mah.... buy n keep....

hi tinkybell,
GDL have timing too ?? I only have date for GDL n AD.... An chuan the master din give me... Timing wise only AD have....

lois> i was told by my FSM, jus the zodiac of that "chong" must avoid when the groom come in the hse when fetching the bride.. after the fetching part, he said is ok.. can be jie mei also..

Hi Mary Poppins, I have no idea whether Xiaohui have 3 brides that day or not. Have not decide on the PS date yet. Only going to the BS on Mar. That Ann keeps on postponing our meeting date. haiz.

polarwhite,
u r 1 lucky gal, got fren to help u wif all these things, my frens r all so busy n i pai seh to impose on them too :P
hehehe....actually i wana contribute to ppl too...as for d bedsheets, i havent even got a flat, a rm so no mood to buy anything yet

Definitely enjoying avery moment of planning this big day. Been asking here and there for reference. Of course, great inputs from the forum too...

Jacqueline, I agree with Nelle. When choosing the date, must it be constrained by 'ba zi'? If so, better check early. Otherwise, you can just choose a date that both of you comfortable. Then starts calling those hotels you have in mind. What is the budget that you are looking at?? Cheap restaurants/ hotels that you might want to consider are noble house (http://www.tunglok.com/noble/wedding.html), qian xi/ hilltop/ bliss garden(www.qianxi.com.sg), yan palace restaurant (http://www.yanpalace.com.sg/wedding_2.htm). Just to share my personal opinion, see what is your priority in choosing your wedding venue? You might need to compromise decor/ service/ location if it is cheap. Or they may not cover those you need such as food tasting or hotel room. Nothing is perfect, even if it is expensive.

Hi Polarwhite, i have yet to go to the master, so everything also 'hear say' from frenz de... really not too sure whether the timing will be given by the master or not ley... shall check it out...

Meiling, i guess each of us r on different stage of our wedding preparation... CnC drafting guest list n u already completed ur wedding vows and contract. tinking back, i seems to have done nothing for the past 2 months ley... guess i am too relax le...

i am on mc today, but still feeling quite alrite, except for the cough and inconsistent breathlessness, so was thinking whether i should drop by spotlight to get some ribbons and materials for AP box and corsages ley... jus wori i cant take the heavy sun n faith outside only...

as for bedsheet, if u come across anything u like, jus buy n keep, u will need it eventually... but one thing u need to confirm is the size of the bed u wanna get, then it will help u determine the size of the bedsheets to get...

Alrite, we shall all work hard to get things done for our approaching big day...

Xinglin is so lucky, to be able to get a place where you are comfortable in. But...parents in law still stay with you or they move out to their new plc?? My sec school already revamped, that is why we are considering whether to go there or nt, coz it looks different now...Dun have 'old feeling', more to strange feeling...

Jac, so July is not a good mth for photoshoot since it is the driest month??

Originalcraft, any news about bi-mthly sales?

Eunice, good that the meetup was smooth. Is it the first time they meet each other? I believe not right.. When both parents met up for the first time, it was so awkward for me. Coz both very quiet, hubby & i duno what to tok too..Hope the 2nd round dun be like this..

hello M,

T-Dragon is recommended by four seasons hotel, but in the end i went with lil art cards, also recommended by four seasons.Depends wht u are printing, on ur hotel cards or to design new ones? http://www.lil-art.com/. But if u want cool invites, u can go to my friend http://www.card-blanche.com/main.html. Just say u are recommended by xiaolongbao, she know who i am.

Ok will take out bible verse from invites. thanks for ur feedback.

G.M is worth it to me cos i am not taking pre weding shoot. so i shd spend on good actual day pictures. he he.

PSH,
I am officially pissed with Danny. Very irresponsible leh. he promised to get back to me on my EG cloth, its been 2 weeks! and i called him 2 days ago to leave a message as him to call me back, he didn't! so angry. I am wondering if i shd show my displease. Is ur experience like tht?

And also to all brides... do u know any cheap and cheerful church deco?

Girls, i have some recommendations for removings scars off the legs. You can using Renew Rose Hip oil. I normally use it after showering, i put 1/2 drops for each leg and it helps in lightening the scars. I bought these only after raves from another forum too. Can get this from NTUC pharmacy or Guardian.

http://www.renewskincare.com.au/renew.html

*panic*
I think I must be the slowest in planning anyway at the moment seeing the preparations that everyone's making. -.- Sure got a lot of things to do at this stage since we haven't done a single thing .... I'm not sure what to do next actually..

I've booked my banquet venue finally; going to pay the deposit this coming weekend - it's going to be at the Regent, we're still sorting out whether a Chinese theme or a black-and-pink theme is nicer.
Soooooo relieved at least that is out of the way...

Polar - the sun is incredibly fierce todat - maybe better if you just stay at home and rest first

Hi sleepygal and Mary Poppins,

It's advisable to book PS and gown selection date a few months in advance. As for meeting date, Ann could be too busy with other brides who married earlier, so she postpones it. Do give them a call a few days in advance for appointments.

Mary Poppins, hope u can select the banquet venue soon and let us know

sue,
^5...i like d 2 sets too....

tinkybell,
hope u r feeling better now
rest well at home ok? d weather's v got today, juz went out to run some errands, alrdy feel d scrotching sun *ouch*
as for d rest of my wedding stuff, trying to see if ppl can get for me at a cheaper price so i no need to DIY :P

lex,
dun panick...we r oso at our prep stage, once u settled ur major stuff den everything will follow, btw have updated ur venue in d table, will post it up at a later date :P

oops sorry Polar, it's tinky.. sorry sorry... was rushing, then type un til blur >.<

BTW how many bridesmaids do most of you have? Just curious cuz i'm sorting that bit out at the moment

Meiling
Oooo that's a lot! Any idea what amount of angbao we're supposed to give them?

Hmm are you paying for their dresses/outfits?
Your wedding sounds so cool... it's like everything's been settled while I'm still running around like a headless chicken

congrats wendily on ur weddg....=)

noreen...guess it could be te busy preps thus the flu....anyway it's the season now..i have it for one week and it worsen since yest too....=) drink more orange juice for vit c and hope u recover in time to fully njoy ur weddg ya....=)

Lois> Ehh.. not pang tang about this.. we are Christians.. so we don't believe in this la..

waxie> Oh yah...sounds familiar now.. the one born in the year of Tiger must hide and not be seen....but once the fetching is done...then can come out le.. hehhe.

Hey tinkybell, take cares.. I'm also on MC today. Yesterday as well. Got sure a bad sore throat that I couldn't even speak! U drink lots of water!

Meiling, what's a marriage contract? Must draw up? My FH wants me to draw up guest list so that he can budget how many tables we need for banquet, and how many to invite for church.

Ask u ladies, would you invite similar groups of pple for church ceremony and banquet? I thot close frens i would invite for both but I scared they feel obliged to come for both and bao angbao twice, since my church ceremony and banquet on diff. days.

And jie meis, yah, do we pay for their outfits? also the angbaos.. is it ok to ask them to get their own outfit since I low budget.. haha..

Luvz17,
MY HTB also suggested going to sec sch to take pics...but sec sch's facade not very nice...so am considering..I'm not hardworking, just daydreaming alot...if on the mrt, you see a girl smiling/giggling to herself, that's most likely me.

Hmm, I think July should be a good time if its a dry month. Cos weather will be good, blue sky, white clouds and dry land. Although it will be hot, the gown won't be dirtied as easily as it would be on a wet day.

Eunice, so nice that the meetup was good. I'm not sure what to expect from the meet-up....

Eunice,
My ideas for photoshoot involves a couple of out-of-the-place- locations..eg a park in Woodlands (cos we live in Woodlands so we know where the greenery is), then bukit gombak. Of course, there's sentosa...I also thought of the lalang field...but dun know if they'll still be accessible by the time we take our PS.

Then hor, have so many ideas for the indoors...want to bring so many toys and gifts there but I think not very realistic cos of the time constraint. Oh, and will be bringing my dog for PS as well.

Good luck with whichever BS you choose. Make sure you get whatever you have negotiated written down.

Meiling, thanks for the info on the weather, i simply look out of my window (just next to my bed) and i have no intention to go out anymore...

slack at hm and rest is the best thing i can do now, i suppose... but i am not feeling any better, terrible headache n urge of vomitting.... worst of all, my hubby will be out with his frenz till late n i have to manage being at hm n sick... sux...

uksportgal, i guess u r the very positive one when it comes to preparation, always so firm n steady...

Lex, i have confirm 6 JMs, and like MEiling, have confirm the colour code. As most of my JMs have experience of being JM and have their own outfit so i dun have to worry at all....

Cyc, u take care and avoid hot drinks n spicy food okay... wishing u a speedy recovery too....

Meiling, thanks for the info on the weather, i simply look out of my window (just next to my bed) and i have no intention to go out anymore...

slack at hm and rest is the best thing i can do now, i suppose... but i am not feeling any better, terrible headache n urge of vomitting.... worst of all, my hubby will be out with his frenz till late n i have to manage being at hm n sick... sux...

uksportgal, i guess u r the very positive one when it comes to preparation, always so firm n steady...

Lex, i have confirm 6 JMs, and like MEiling, have confirm the colour code. As most of my JMs have experience of being JM and have their own outfit so i dun have to worry at all....

Cyc, u take care and avoid hot drinks n spicy food okay... wishing u a speedy recovery too....

Hahaha...Jac, a way to describe yourself. I think I will let BS to give us some inputs of the photoshooting location. Unless I happen to passby anywhere that we really like.. What are you sourcing now, other than the photoshooting location?? I din really bargain alot during my BS discussion lei, in fact really little discussion loh...Are you going to engage any MUA for sisters/ mothers? Forgot to ask u...did you apply for the BE?

lex,
well, it's not dat many considering dat there r ppl who have 8-10 JMs....so my no. is considered to b moderate :P juz not too sure if my fh managed to get so many XDs as his frens r all overseas :P
apart frm d gate crashing AP, i intend to give them a token AP as well as a gift, as d colour is chosen by them cos they have d outfit so im not paying for their dresses...they'll prefer to recycle rather than waste d $ to buy a new one

dun worry, i shd b at tis stage as i've been planning since last jun
im oso trying to buck up cos a bit too relaxed these days :P

cyc,
oh a marriage contract is an agreement of d things dat i want him to do for me...but it's a one-way one, i refused to let him draw up one for himself :P
as for d guest list, i've tentatively come up wif d no. of tables n d guests b4 i book my tables in last jul, so wont b making any changes until i send out d save d date reminder to d ppl i intend to invite

tinkybell,
must take care of urself ok? d weather's q bad so hor, many ppl r falling sick these days...
poor thing, res well in d meanwhile, im sure u can take gd care of urself as u r an independent gal

koyoyo,
u went for ur mini honeymoon liao in malacca alrdy? how come nv c u online these days?

hi lex,

i shld be having 5-6 JMs, colour code also settled liao.... no, i not paying for their outfits... from the past 2 gate crash, the ang bao rate is ard $18 from the bride, $30+ from the gate crash n 2 ang baos from both sides of the parents....

hi tinky / cyc,
better take care and drink lotsa water... new year is coming liao.. must be well to eat all the goodies. I know i am going to get it soon too... no idea why but i can feel the heatiness .. coz my nose is bleeding and can feel my throat is getting sore. Funny thing is that i didnt eat much heaty stuff and drink more than usual... wonder where this are from.. gosh.

hi lex/ mei,

i guess i m the least happening one liao.. i think i will only have 2 JM.. coz mine is a luncheon and wont have much time... it will be rather rush for me.. coz my timing from master is that groom can only fetch bride after 9am.. and by 11 i must go into my 'wedding room' and after tt must rush to hotel .. so well well.... mine will be so 'quiet' i guess hahaha...

MRS LAW... wru? in ' Honeymoon ' land liao ah..?

Luvz,
Probably no need to engage a MUA for mother/sisters...my sisters are good with make-up, so prob they can help around. You looking for MUA?
I'm not sourcing for anything now...think gotta start on the guest list and the theme of the wedding. How come there was little discussion with BS?

And yes, we applied for BE..

Jac, i'm staying soon in Woodlands too

luvz, my MIL will stay with us cos the Ang is the only son.
Hmm...agree lor..the old memories of the sec school might be lost lor.

>mentos!!! omg, really ar, can remove the scars??? i must go check it out.

>Lois, i heard that if bride (let's say she's a goat) den she will 'chong' with monkey. i dunno abt tigers. i only knw it depends on the bride is a wat, den see wat chong wif her.

Hello everyone,
busy with work these days. No time to do much for wedding. We juz had our 1st appt with HDB 2day. Bank balance really low now... sigh. But excited abt renovations. Doing our homework diligently.
It helps to take my mind off wedding prep and keeps me grounded abt not plugging too much $ into the frills.

Xlb: yes danny can be quite forgetful. Like when I leave my hp no. and ask him to pass on msg to get this person to call me back, I won't get any calls back one. Think when he's busy, he's like that. Other than that, he's quite alright. Maybe because I took all OTR gowns, I did not have many opportunities to encounter other instances of his forgetfulness, because I seldom leave him instructions to follow up with. He does bear with me when I change my mind abt my gowns (which I do A LOT! Even 2 days before PS! And that's why i didn't do MTM. Even up til now I'm wondering if I can change my AD church gown to the new designs, after PS!)

BTW, the other time u recommended Stamford Catering. Do u have any pics of their food/layout? I realise that their office is like in Senoko?! That's so far away! Don't know if I ought to make a trip down to do food-tasting. Am thinking of getting the cheapest package, the "Eternity Tea". Any advice? Tks.

PSH: All the best for your PS! Drink more water, don't be dehydrated like I was.

hi sue,

urs will be like bullet train.... hahaha.... for mine also a bit rushed.... i can only go into his house after 9am... then solemnisation at 1pm.... luckily marriott cater a function room for me to have my tea ceremony after my high tea... if not, cant make it at 1pm cos my side de relatives a lot....

sue,
no lah, it's not dat u r not happening lor, i havent got my timing frm my shifu yet, will b consulting him in jul, dun dare to go too early cos he asked to go 2 mths b4...but how to go during 7th lunar mth :P so have to go 3 mths earlier lo, hope he wont scold me :P

uksportgal,
can i have d dimension for d APs dat u've posted up? cos i got similar mini APs...dun wana buy d same size

Tinkybell, cyc, hope u gals are feeling better now. Do drink more water, weather has been quite bad recently. Have a good rest

Mal, koyoyo, congrats on becoming MRS.... Mal, saw yr pics, aiyo u so slim leh, envy you and you are so determine on yr diet plans..... i also want to donates whatever excess fats to those who wants them haha. i have plently of fats to share

I hv confirm 3 JMs, pending 2 more and shld be including my cousins and sis, hmmm..so maybe i might hv 6-8 JMs. Color theme more or less settled. Ang bao money, how much do you all intend to give? Will you all be having equal no of XDs?

As for Wedding prep, i will be using Peter from daylight pictures for pre-wed and AD. VG to be confirm after CNY. The only wedding stuff i bought is the aussino wedding quilt cover set, towels and mug. But at the moment got no bed, lovenest also not confirm, just buy and keep first.

I sort of written a marriage contract for my hubby before our rom. Yup, its definately a one-sided thing. But i cant quite remember what i hv written by now. Maybe its time to prepare another one

Hi love xlb n bnl,
Phew e PS finally over...my htb n i felt 1/2 of our energy left. In fact, halfway thru e indoor shoots, i nearly dozed off!!!! Muz b e air con blowing onto my contact lenses...

We went to 3 locations...
a. shophouses near Chinatown...
b. Waterfall @ Millenia Walk
c. Art Museum

E sun was unbelievably hot!!!! Thank Goodness we faced e sunlight only 4 certain shots...Yen n Edmund * PG/ Asst called me melting icecream cos itz so scorching to put ur face under e sun n yet beam radiantly...

H'r they were really professional...e clear blue sky actually worked 2 our adv....seemed like e shots were taken in Aust Adelaide...really impressed!
After e PS, we were really washed out...never noe PS can b so tiring...but fun!
E wildest part in PS was when Yen asked us to stroll n look everywhere but his direction...my htb quickly swooped me up n carried me in his arms...n turned moi round n round!!!! Thoroughly scared stiff!!!!! Cos' hez not feeling 2 well...very touched by his gesture too!
I think too much sun had gotten into him....lol.

Hi ET,
E hotel / MM oso ties in w T dragon for my wedding invites...seems like it includes e printing of e cards, though not sure they absorb e cost till wat no. ... going 2 check soon next week. If u wan something unique n affordable, why not diy or ask frienz who were married b4 u for contacts?

Oh ya love xlb, whoa...! U sounded really upset w Danny...Do u wan 2 raise ur concern 2 another staff in Sattine? If he is a popular choice, I believe he will prioritize e weddings tat happen say in Feb/ Mar...indeed he should give u a reply but if he dint, mayb something might hav happened...or therez something he's trying to work on in ur situation till all is confirmed. If u bottle it up, e misunderstanding will b veri serious n uncontrollable.

Initially, i thot my consultant was rather passive...later on, as e PS draws near, she actually bothered 2 call me e nite b4 e PS...lez try 2 see if u can get him in another way...who else attended 2 u besides him? I noe of a feng jie...she seems rather nice. Mayb u try 2 speak 2 her tat u need 2 get in touch w Danny urgently...if need 2 call him directly! Get his contact no. if allowed...Guys usually do one thing @ a time...mayb he can only fully attend 2 ur needs after some pressing issues...no offence but guys n gals work differently; may not b lousier...jus different. Sometimes, e lady who attended 2 me tries 2 complete EVERYTHING @ once but really, therez no urgency lah...4 me, u jus need 2 do a great job @ e end of e day...i dint qite bother her till she is able to breathe a bit easier n get back 2 me...

Guys like girls 2 b direct, if u need him 2 do something 4 u...afterall, a customer always deserves e best!

Hi bnl, i oso like u... calling up caterers 4 contacts...qite interested in Angeli/ Rasel... probably check out more near CNY...they oso beri busy, i can only meet up w Angeli's i/c after CNY...I shortlisted Rasel cos they r halal certified...May consider Lavish Dine/ Neo's Garden 2...

4 all those BTB who r having ur PS in feb...die die bring/ drink/ rinse urself w tons of mineral water!!!! Itz so hot tat one can hav headache if peng kan outside 4 too long....

kao_kiss2.gif

green> Hahahaa.. yah...so true... i actually dun really care one.. but after reading..set me thinking again..and i've just realised one of my jiemei is a Tiger.. but dunno if she chiong with me or not.. but after hearing what you said.. it just reaffirms my decision...who cares what she is... why let my fate and happiness be left in the hands of someone who is born in a particular year???????? Our happiness is in our own hands...and is lead by God!

Heee...

Hi BTBs!!

I'm new here! My wedding is on 12 July 08 at Peony Jade Restaurant, ROM n wedding dinner on the same day. BS is My Bridal Room. AD photographer is Lam from Rainbow Centre.

We just confirmed these 3 things in Nov, Dec and Jan. Other than these, we havent really get started in any other planning! And as the days pass, i am really getting nervous with the overwhelming things that are to be done! With less than 6 mths now, really getting gan jiong lei... oh no...

But...its great to get to know all of you here!
Then we can help each other out and exchange ideas . And so exciting to know that we are all getting married around the same time! Cool! Cheers to us the July Brides! =)

hi uksportgal,
thanks for poviding me wif d dimension!

melody,
u must b kidding....u r so slim in ur ROM pics n u look great too!
actually wanted to get 2 more frens to b my JMs but both of them r teachers so cannot apply leave on fri, so got them to b my emcee n help out at d banquet at nite instead

my JMs wanted a white theme so i leave it to them...as for APs, my fh will b giving them a gate crash AP ave abt $58 or $68 each n den i'll give them a token AP of abt $28 or $38 each, i intend to have d same no. of XDs but wonde rif my fh can get :P
hmm...seems like im q slow in d buying of wedding stuff like bedsheets etc cos i really have no idea wat to buy since i dun have a house n have a bed :P

cyc,
no problem, it's always nice to exchange ideas...for me, i intend to make a journal wif all my AD stuff inside to capture my wedding so dat i can keep it as a memo
doubt dat i'll remember on dat day cos so many things r going on...gona even include my buffet items, dinner menu, AD schedule, wedding vows n marriage contract, contacts etc

Hahaha, BE = Balloting Exercise right? Not Bridal Elegance right? You guys lifted my hope for a while, cos wanted to know more about the place!! :D

Anyway, for the meet up, mmmm, I cooked for the families at my place, so it was quite a relaxed informal setting lorr...Anyway, if your parents meet up during CNY, shouldn't be too awkward cos it's a festive season after all! Hope it goes well!! Keep us updated!

Jac:
PS PS PS!! Can't wait even though it's ages away!! Hehe...Bukit Gombak is pretty nice cos of xiao gui lin!! I always drive past during my driving lessons...So you might be one of the brides when I'm driving past one day!