(2008) Brides of year 2008

That's good, MeiLinG. Here comes the supermodel on fashion parade!

We have done the budgeting for the wedding. It comes up to about $8 to $10k (excluding dinner).

Meiling,
What I am most concerned about is the payment of the 10% downpayment. Guess we'll just go for the loan which offers the lowest interest rates which is prob HDB loan.

Nelle,
Thanks the explanation about the tea ceremony. Its very informative & interesting. Didn't know abt all these things before. But as my mum said to hold the tea ceremony at the hotel, is there still a need to change? As I'm having luncheon, I decided to wear just my wedding gown. I don't want to change out of it (very vain as i want to maximise the usage of the gown).

Jac, go for HDB loan. It is fixed at 2.6% constantly. No bank/credit co. can match that.
Furthermore, the impt thing is, if one day should you or your husband (heavens forbid!!) is retrenched/without a job, and thus unable to pay the loan, HDB is not so cruel to chase you out of the house. Cos you can go to your MP and tell your sob story!! I am serious.

If you take a bank loan, ha ha, no payment, you will find yourself in the streets sooner than you think.

Wow, tea ceremony at hotel? That saves alot of time & trouble liao. Then you dun change already.

So girls, where are you all planning to go for honeymoon? Don't remem to plan this cos this is the lovey-dovey holiday you will ever get, b4 work & other realities come in.

Hi Rach, can I have a copy too? [email protected]

Thanks a million

luvz17,
wansheng is a PG whose online portfolio is really really like, whose prices are really really high.
hhaha...so i can just dream....

evisu,
Pm me your PG also leh...
me still looking hi and lo

nelle,
no lah, it's once in a lifetime n i do wana don on as many outfits as possible, perhaps cos i added in d deposit for banquet as well as wedding bands n proposal ring, dat's y my expenditure is alot more than urs, most prob is abt $30K....excluding d estimated loss for our banquet...

my fh n i r planning to go either europe (paris, switzerland, italy n germany) or japan (tokyo n hokkaido) for our honeymoon...wat abt u?

jac,
yah i agree wif nelle, if need b, guz i might have to fork out d cash n get my fh to return to me by instalments, if not, have to get a loan frm our parents if d amt is too big
we have alrdy decided to take a loan frm hdb :P

hi yesfeb29, u can download the list of JP from the ROM website n either find 1 to ur postal code or any names tat caught ur liking
so far the most famous one tat i saw is

- prof yu
- chan kai yau
- mrs chia

Mr Chan Kai Yau "6235 6143
6256 4298 (office)"
Mr Koh Kok Weng
Mr David Loh 9742 5005
Mr Yong Tai Tong 9824 7142 [email protected]
Prof Yu Shi Ming 9736 6131 email : [email protected]
Mrs Chia Swee Tin "6342 1381 (Home)
6788 8220 (Office)"

Hi All Oct Brides,

I'm new to this thread, going to be an Oct bride too. My AD is 4 Oct, wedding lunch, venue should be confirmed in a week time. Meiling, pls update me into the list. Thank q.

I have just started my wedding preparation, no BS visting and PD or VG searching yet. I have just brought Her World brides and I like the gowns from Di Gio and Sohpia. Could someone share with me their package from these 2 bridal shops? Any comments abt the BS? Thanks.

Hi Stnov,
Understand the frustration you felt with the hotel. We recently had our ROM with FRF and had a bad skin reaction (due to bed bugs), after staying over at the room for a night. When I showed it to the hotel staff, she merely said sorry, that's all. Feedback to my coordinator and he said that I could have got it outside the hotel!! I was so worried that it would leave unpleasant scars which would affect my AD!!

nelle, I din try the pink CS coz a bit rush during lunch. Thought of going down tdy after wk but last min I got to go to my offsite office at Bedok. Maybe tmr after wk I go see see look look again. Tat pink CS is suitable for D&D and other formal events hor?

Like Meiling, I contemplating to change into CS when sending off the guest at the end of the banquet. But on the other hand, I wanna spend more time at the banquet to mingle with my guests and to enjoy the live band music, than to rush off to change.

Our initial wedding budget is oso around $30K. But so far, we have managed to save at least $1.7K liao.

*Nodding hard... HDB not as rigid as banks. If defaulted on payment, then tat's it liao. The banks will spare no mercy. But do be mindful of total income ceiling of $8K when you try for HDB loan.

As for honeymoon, we don't have any concrete plans yet. But dream destination is England. To watch a live Liverpool match and to visit Matt's university.

yup tete...we will do it tis weekend as we juz lay our hands on the contact of their GM....how they response to our case shall define how 'good' is their customer recovery services as well as service quality.....based on previous incidents wif the hotel by others...I can say the compensation will be veri 'insulting'....=)

mage...u have given mi a real good idea....shall insist on paying the GM a visit as follow up action after our complaint letter....thanks ger!!!

dun worry too muchie....most of my guests are too occupied with catching up with peeps to find ur wedding a bore....relac ya...=)

Kymmie..perhaps they would have regard it as we are onli paying for a 31/2 star hotel price thus shd not demand too much compromising on their quality of services....prior to tis, our banquet had been compromised to another MNC event indirectly showing us dat we are small fly to them....having said that as far as we are concern we are still paying them so will make sure we fight for our rights....=)

hey gals... hehe
thanks for yr many ideas.... Iris, ya.. great idea.. but i scared after the voting... all equal votes..lagi diff to decide. keke...
i'm gg for fitting this sat.. so, will bring down the shirts/ties to match with the gowns. haha.. ma fan hor?

anyhows, ya.. we gg to punggol for the lallang.. and also, an old church. n den, tinkg of doing nite shots.. but not sure how it'll turn out.. need to discuss with PG i guess. erms, i would like Clarke quay or the cbd/esplanade area? haha.. dunno.

i wont be able to do singapore flyer shots now.. maybe on AD we'll go do. hehe.. my hotel is at clarke quay so by then.. can do shots nearby too. hehe... hmmm... exciting !! =)

Alright, will go for HDB loan def...only thing is, we haven't even applied for flats! Actually was asking as we do plan to get a flat from HDB, then was confused by the downpayment stuff.

Nelle,
Ya, my mum quite laidback. So she said save the hassle of relatives travelling, then do in hotel. This sounds good to me

Meiling,
Is there any criteria for taking loan from HDB? Like income ceiling etc? Is it the $8K Flora Bliss is talking about?

Flora Bliss,
Yeah, we're very mindful of the income ceiling...that's why we want to get a flat now...otherwise, when I graduate then will kena stuck in the middle. I thought the $8k is the income ceiling whereby if the household income exceeds $8k, then not eligible for HDB?

Haven't plan for honeymoon yet too...Though I have been thinking about it. Would love to go to Europe (Italy or Swiss) during winter and stay in some relatively isolated log cabin and just chill (literally) Hehe....This is provided finances allow for it..

Nelle, where are you planning your honeymoon at?

Thanks Anne and Ivy for the table of nov brides.

I wanted whine abit heee..inflation is so high. Damon Low charged my fren less than $800 in 06 is noW charging $1.75k in 08..same for alot of VG..all inflated by like $500 at least...

Any one got lobang for VG for less than $1k?

Mindy, when are u planning to try out the gowns at Sattine? Do you have MTM with them? =)

I'm looking for a PG & VG too.. thinking of fotowerkz... any comments?

I've added myself to the Dec 08 brides list..
<center><table border=1><tr><td>
mime_msexcel.gif
Dec08brides
Dec_08_Brides-594064-594478.xls (23.0 k)</td></tr></table></center>

My BS actually advise me to have PS earlier,@ least 1/2 year earlier.Got sufficient time if amendment is required.
I'm thinking to have my PS end Mar'08

hi new here,
wow u having ur PS so eealy? U have choose ur gowns already ah?..im tinking of doing it middle of the year leh..

by the way, can i check with you gals, do u take otr or mtm gowns ah?..im tinking of mtm but heard from fellow btbs that by adding embrodiery or lace we will have to top up extra, hence my frens are asking me to take otr gowns to save $..hmm

OoooOooOO...i see !thanks for replying ting!
to ting: when's ur AD?
mine is on the 24th

to lovexiaolongbao: heheh...congrats to you!!!!

Hi Linda and chimes! Welcome and congrats!! Linda, just found hotel? Seems quite late alrdy? When u sourcing for hotel isit alot has been taken up? Cos i heard from many hotels that Nov is hot. Anyway, glad that u hv confirmed le. Btw, whr u taking ur BS?

Chimes, I don't think its too early to take BS now ba.. I'll be taking mine in end Feb. The earlier the betta i think. Cos actually see is like still very long, but i feel we have to take into consideration that there are still many things to be done.

Amanda, have to agree with you that the prices of PG and VG quite high now.. Most of the prices are above $1k...

Hi love xlb,
A good reminder 2 do e efiling soon...wait so caught up in e prep tat we forget 2 inform e ROM...

My church deco...i decided 2 engage a floral designer 2 do e stuff...saw qite good referral frm e thread under recommended florist...
A young boss by e name of Qiuxian...under e name 'rosebay'... She offers qite gd stuff 4 a budget below 1k...qite happy...e deco a bit different frm e usual organza/ tying ribbons / paste flowers along e pews...instead she is thinking of placing vines/ petals/ leaves alongside with e flowers placed inside cute metallic buckets along e aisle...qite innovative. Looking forward 2 discuss further w her. Mayb other BTB doing church wedding can consider this arrangement...

As 4 e caterer, we hav shortlisted e following:
1. Neo Gardens
2. Angeli
3. Rasel
4. Lavish Dine

Going 2 meet u w banquet coordinator 2 discuss e deco n package details...
Hope 2 compile e guests list n liase w e card co. on e invites by Feb...
still looking out for honeymoon packages...sighz ani1 oredi found a gd deal on honeymoon? Share share leh... we hope 2 chill in Asia...mebe Japan/ Korea/ Hong Kong.

Hi Ann...wow u getting married on a rather HOT day leh! Congrats...

16 days 2 BS fotoshoot! Dunno if need 2 rehearse on how 2 pose in front of camera...so shy...

hi annabella,
welcome to this thread! ok, will update ur details in d table...no problem, hope to rcv more updates frm u soon after u have confirmed all d rest of d details....i cant share wif u on d 2 BS cos i didnt take their package, perhaps u can chk wif those who have signed up wif them

<table border=1><tr><td>AD Date</TD><TD>Username</TD><TD>ROM Date &amp; Venue</TD><TD>Venue</TD><TD>BS</TD><TD>PG</TD><TD>VG </TD></TR><TR><TD>4-Oct</TD><TD>annabella</TD><TD>NA</TD><TD>Not confirmed</TD><TD>Not confirmed</TD><TD>Not confirmed</TD><TD>Not confirmed </TD></TR><TR><TD>4-Oct</TD><TD>Belinda Lee</TD><TD>4-Aug-2007 (Changi Village Hotel)</TD><TD>Marina Mandarin</TD><TD>Sattine Bridal Couture</TD><TD>Sattine Bridal Couture</TD><TD>Not confirmed </TD></TR><TR><TD>4-Oct</TD><TD>iriswil</TD><TD>18-Jun-2007 (GP's pte house garden)</TD><TD>Orchid Country Club</TD><TD>French Bridal</TD><TD>Mojoideas</TD><TD>Not confirmed </TD></TR><TR><TD>4-Oct</TD><TD>Jeslyn Lee</TD><TD>NA</TD><TD>Furama Riverfront</TD><TD>Not confirmed</TD><TD>Not confirmed</TD><TD>Not confirmed </TD></TR><TR><TD>4-Oct</TD><TD>koyoyo</TD><TD>23-Jan-2008</TD><TD>Park Hotel - Orchard</TD><TD>Golden Horse Award</TD><TD>Bobman Wedding Services</TD><TD>Vocare Media </TD></TR><TR><TD>4-Oct</TD><TD>sunny bear</TD><TD>NA</TD><TD>Not confirmed</TD><TD>Not confirmed</TD><TD>Not confirmed</TD><TD>Not confirmed </TD></TR><TR><TD>4-Oct</TD><TD>tinkybell</TD><TD>4-Oct-2006 (Aranda Country Club) </TD><TD>Le Meridien</TD><TD>Seletar BW</TD><TD>InJack Studio</TD><TD>InJack Studio </TD></TR><TR><TD>4-Oct</TD><TD>uksportgal</TD><TD>4-Oct-2007 (Changi Village Hotel)</TD><TD>Swissotel Stamford</TD><TD>Modern Classic (Macau)</TD><TD>1950 Photography</TD><TD>Not confirmed </TD></TR><TR><TD>5-Oct</TD><TD>whaleywilly</TD><TD>NA</TD><TD>Marina Mandarin</TD><TD>Not confirmed</TD><TD>Not confirmed</TD><TD>Not confirmed </TD></TR><TR><TD>5-Oct</TD><TD>Transformer Prime</TD><TD>NA</TD><TD>Not confirmed</TD><TD>Not confirmed</TD><TD>Not confirmed</TD><TD>Not confirmed </TD></TR><TR><TD>9-Oct</TD><TD>AJ Wech</TD><TD>NA</TD><TD>Rasa Sentosa</TD><TD>Not confirmed</TD><TD>Not confirmed</TD><TD>Not confirmed </TD></TR><TR><TD>10-Oct</TD><TD>xmasnowy</TD><TD>NA</TD><TD>Not confirmed</TD><TD>Not confirmed</TD><TD>Not confirmed</TD><TD>Not confirmed </TD></TR><TR><TD>10-Oct</TD><TD>ChunChun</TD><TD>01-Dec-07</TD><TD>Novotel Clarke Quay</TD><TD>Not confirmed</TD><TD>Not confirmed</TD><TD>Not confirmed </TD></TR><TR><TD>11-Oct</TD><TD>Mal</TD><TD>19-Jan-2008</TD><TD>Merchant Court</TD><TD>Thomson Wedding</TD><TD>Jude Seah</TD><TD>Nacho Motions </TD></TR><TR><TD>11-Oct</TD><TD>mrs kel</TD><TD>28-Sept-2008 (Singapore Flyer)</TD><TD>Hotel Intercontinental</TD><TD>Di Gio</TD><TD>Not confirmed</TD><TD>Not confirmed </TD></TR><TR><TD>11-Oct</TD><TD>sher</TD><TD>NA</TD><TD>Le Meridien</TD><TD>Golden Horse Award</TD><TD>Not confirmed</TD><TD>Hubby's friend </TD></TR><TR><TD>11-Oct</TD><TD>silent</TD><TD>NA</TD><TD>Raffles the Plaza</TD><TD>J&amp;M</TD><TD>Not confirmed</TD><TD>Not confirmed </TD></TR><TR><TD>16-Oct</TD><TD>Adeline Lim</TD><TD>NA</TD><TD>Not confirmed</TD><TD>Not confirmed</TD><TD>Not confirmed</TD><TD>Not confirmed </TD></TR><TR><TD>17-Oct</TD><TD>^MeiLinG5^</TD><TD>17-Oct-2008 (Marina Mandarin)</TD><TD>Marina Mandarin</TD><TD>White Link</TD><TD>Photo Language</TD><TD>Hilo Production </TD></TR><TR><TD>18-Oct</TD><TD>PolarWhite</TD><TD>18-Oct-2008 (Mariott Poolside Pavillion)</TD><TD>Mariott (Hi-Tea)</TD><TD>Golden Horse Award</TD><TD>1 Eye Click</TD><TD>Not confirmed </TD></TR><TR><TD>18-Oct</TD><TD>Jesl</TD><TD>11-Oct-2006</TD><TD>Park Hotel Orchard (20-Oct)</TD><TD>Di Gio</TD><TD>AM,PM</TD><TD>Benson Neo </TD></TR><TR><TD>18-Oct</TD><TD>Liew Rachel</TD><TD>12-Dec-07</TD><TD>Meritus Mandarin</TD><TD>Di Gio </TD><TD>Not confirmed</TD><TD>Not confirmed </TD></TR><TR><TD>18-Oct</TD><TD>lynn</TD><TD>19-Oct-08</TD><TD>Holiday Inn Park View (19-Oct)</TD><TD>Seletar BW</TD><TD>Celestine from Fotowerke </TD><TD>Not confirmed </TD></TR><TR><TD>18-Oct</TD><TD>melody</TD><TD>NA</TD><TD>Grand Hyatt</TD><TD>Divine Coulture</TD><TD>Not confirmed</TD><TD>Not confirmed </TD></TR><TR><TD>18-Oct</TD><TD>pipi</TD><TD>27-Dec-07 (StarDus)</TD><TD>Hilton</TD><TD>Sattine</TD><TD>Not confirmed</TD><TD>Not confirmed </TD></TR><TR><TD>18-Oct</TD><TD>snowypooh</TD><TD>07-Jul-2007 (Furama City)</TD><TD>Secret Venue</TD><TD>Not confirmed</TD><TD>Bobman Wedding Services</TD><TD>Not confirmed </TD></TR><TR><TD>18-Oct</TD><TD>sue</TD><TD>18-Oct-2008 (Conrad)</TD><TD>Conrad (Lunch)</TD><TD>U Style</TD><TD>U Style</TD><TD>Not confirmed </TD></TR><TR><TD>25-Oct</TD><TD>lrs1025</TD><TD>NA</TD><TD>Not confirmed</TD><TD>Not confirmed</TD><TD>Not confirmed</TD><TD>Not confirmed </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

flora_bliss,
actually was thinking of d time constraint too but i still wana wear more dresses n take nice pics cos it's once in a lifetime, will try to make it quick...smore im gona touchup on my makeup n change my hairstyle....
it's so cool to have such a swt honeymoon idea...envy envy
im juz thinking of going faraway places wif my fh :P

nelle,
i think my wedding budget is gona hit $40K....sorry, wrong info yest :P

jac,
wat flora_bliss said it's true...im oso mindful of dat...dat's y im trying to get my flat b4 2009, else we'll hit the income ceiling alrdy
i wanted so much to apply for d loan n live in a hdb flat cos i dun think i can sustain d kind of living std :P

hi Ann,

Same day as Ting! Mine is a week earlier, on the 17th.
Who's your coordinator at di gio? Both Ting and Mine is Casey ... Busy busy busy for him

Hi MooMooLand,
Actually depends on how many people will be going to the new couple house. My friend's wedding hv caterer at their new house as they have a big group of friend at her house. As for my sis wedding, no one is there except the jie mei &amp; bros. So they only serve drinks.

Hi Pauline,
I am still considering between Neo Garden or YSL caters. Found out from the forum that they are one of the better ones. You can e-mail to ask them for the non-CNY menu.

sorry, sorry, i kapo, budge in but u all talking abt hdb, i cannot resist, fingers itchy.
>$8K (excluding allowance)means cannot buy new flat from HDB, but can buy from open market (resale flat) - but cannot take housing grant from HDB, so very lugi.I read the HDB guidelines so many times, I hope I read it correctly.

hi morning everyone..

today i m going to attend a wedding dinner at intercontinental.. hehe.. shall go and see how the feel is like hehehe..

mrs kel... yours is there too... i shall let you know how the feel is like hehe..

Stnov, hope you get it resolved. They should be professional enough to either compensate a night stay or free dinner at one of the restuarant.

My guests love my album and my boss requested for my PG contact to take their family album.
I love my hand posy too. Got a market aunty at Bedok 85 market to do the car deco and hand posy.She was recommended by most brides in the forum. Very reasonable price and very professionally done. Charges $200+ for posy+car decor+parents corsages+4 sets of bro's car ribbon. My HB love their hospitality as the whole family helped out in the car deco and even invited us to their house for a drink. Have forgotten to take pic of my hand posy, she used ivory rose with purple "cabbage-looking" flowers, very unique.
Those interested can ask me for contact.

Hi Jo,

I will b selecting my gown early Mar'08,have PS end Mar'08
im taking OTR,it is cheaper.
If u want to have mtm gowns,u must have to the design in mind 1st
it takes 3-4 months to make a mtm gowns

i was telling d brides frm my BS dat i saw a ultra huge bling bling on my colleague's finger...wah, mine pale in comparison as hers is clsoe to 3 carat, abt 4-5 times bigger than mine...it's super huge sia...she told me it's a proposal ring given by her hubby 10 yrs back...envy envy
she's super tai-tai too, carry so many LV bags n take cab to sch everyday w/o fail :P