(2008) Brides of year 2008

kelluvjer

Hi everyone...Im also a May Bride...Mine is on 30 May...

Anyone can advise the things that we need to do now? Im still quite free...Nothing much to do leh...

:D

divine_genie

take photos, choose photos, get gowns and suits ready, print invites, get ready guests list, prepare seating arrangements, write and mail invites, getting in-charge to know what they need to do, get your itinerary ready, facials, book mani and pedicure

kelluvjer

thanks so_blur...

Can we take the invites now? heard that we can only do it like 2 months before the AD....

My PS is in Mar....

Honeymoon not booked yet ..seems like a lot of things to do...

haven get JP as well....

tinkybell

Hi Irene&Janet, welcome to the thread....

Irene, stil have time to work on your AD so dun need to worry as yet... think need to be focus to get the major items done 1st bah... btw, when u coming back to Sg since u mention you are base in NY..

Janet, my frenz are also Oct 2008 couple, just finalised not too long ago n as for banquet, what they did was shortlist the bigger venue then call up one by one to check... you may wanna try too... all the best for your venue hunting...

UKSportgal, i like the big Xi... btw, are u selling them? or are u showing us the design??

Meiling, dun need to compare cos everything 1 is diff... your colleague might be one of those who happen to marry a "gold turtle" thus she is more taitai... but muz agree w u cos i envy the bling bling on her finger too...

Sue, u mention that urs is so pale.. then at least better than nothing rite... i still dun have any bling bling on my finger ley... my hubby totally 4get abt his proposal... haiz... really sad each time i mention abt this cos every girl have their special proposal but i din even have mine... but all these aside, i am happy that i have a sweet and caring hubby, which is more important to me...

nelle

I would like to ask a silly question. If I want to post pics, how to I attach it to my message? Can I just click the "Upload Attachment..." button? Will you all be able to see the pics (with my message of course) without clicking on something? Cos sometimes I see the messages with the files which you have to click on the filename.

How should I save the pic, I mean, under jpeg or something?

~sblbee~

tinkybell,
sigh...yah lor, tong ren bu tong ming...but hor, i glad to find smone who's willing to pamper me within his means...im sure if he can afford it, he'll buy me things too :p
actually i agree wif u lor, but will still hint hint to him else he'll get contented n think he treats me v well :p hehe....

ling27

Hi Lim,
My mum told me that my younger bro will stay in my house after i leave with my hubby to his house. Someone will drive him over to my hubby's house and 'bring' me back to my house. Hope this info is useful.

I'm not sure if this is a compulsory thing. I saw my friend doing that as well during her wedding last year.

lovebytemi

Hi II,
Wow you got a long way to go compared to the rest of us in this room =). Congrats anyway. I think as to whether we'll recover or profit depends on how we splurge and who we invite to the wedding.

Seriously this did cross my mind before. When you talk about recovering are you referring to the banquet cost only or are you expecting the WHOLE wedding to be paid for? =) for me and my HTB we are only hoping that the dinner will be well covered as well as our church wedding =).
As for BS cost and honey moon, hopefully can but if can't we are alright. We have also budgetted for about 8K lost of the dinner. Just in case =)

blur_queenie

Kymmie,

no pics yet will only get the AD pic from my PG next week. Will update in my multiply once it's up.

II (weddingII), if you are worried for the cost, try to hold a simple banquet with just your close relatives and friends? The banquet cost for every hotel are increasing 10-20% each year therefore IMO it's more economical to have it small and cosy. Never have the expectations that AP will cover for cost as most people do not know the market rate for banquet. Have a wedding within your own means, never mind what people says. Some couples are doing away with the banquets and head off for HM after ROM.

gingerbread_gal

Nelle,
Yes, just click upload attachment. Think we can just see the pic without clicking on it. Just try it.

Yes, jpeg will be good, cos the file sie won't be too big.

swee1182

I am a 12 Dec BTB! Have updated the list.

I have booked my banquet at FRF. Very lost now.... Dunno what to do next... Am thinking of attending a marriage preparation course. Any suggestion?

Btw, Lizzybride - can u share with me the package details u took with SG Bridal? My email is [email protected].

Thanks! =)

<center><table border=1><tr><td>
mime_msexcel.gif

Copy of Dec_08_Brides-594064-594478-595566.xls (29.2 k)</td></tr></table></center>

moments0442

justina >>> ah... he is one of my shortlisted JP... but yet to call him up... woo...when is ur AD ah? i did not saw ur nick in the June list? kekeke

yeah yeah... So did anyone actually wanna get a real tier - cake for the wedding?

summer_ice

you all discussing abt HDB flats here, and i feel that i must just put in a few comments... hehe...

i have tried for the hdb bi-monthly for several times now, trying every location, and everytime our q number is sooooooo far behind, totally no chance to even select a flat. since start of last year we have tried.. and until now, we still have yet to get our flat... all the talk abt first timers having how many % more chance, and with every 4 unsuccessful tries you get one more chance or something is really all lies lo... tried so many times still cannot get anything..
so frustrating...

and currently with the property boom, we have to strike off the option of getting a resale flat..

we have even explored the option to go for BTO..which willat least take another 3-4 years to complete!

summer_ice

and to the honeymoon...

my ROM is in June, so we are planning a sugarmoon one day after our ROM, most prob to taiwan or hkg..coz i want to go shopping!

AD in early Dec, so we are planning to go on honeymoon in Jan 2009 to avoid the dec school holiday surcharges... have a few choices and option in mind.. Hokkaido, Italy, Germany..

~sblbee~

polarwhite,
hehe....mayb ur bed comes wif a proposal ring...juz wait n see

sue,
happy anniversary to u n ur bf! how was ur celebration?

koyoyo,
after listening to wat u wana do to surprise ur fh, really think dat ur fh is a lucky guy to have u!

~sblbee~

summer_ice,
yah i agree cos im in d same boat as u
still no luck after 5 attempts (or shd i say 4 attempts cos i got a queue no on my 2nd attempt) wah...u have so many travel plans, for me, my fh intends to go to australia tis jun but was telling him dat we cant cos we need to take our PS n oso save $ for our honeymoon n wedding
there's oso no way for us to avoid d sch holi surcharges unless he quit his job which i think is highly unlikely :p

ctgal

Congras to all NOV brides..
I'm a 23 Nov bride.had a hard time booking hotels for this date
So happy to see all of u sharing info here :>

tinkybell

Polarwhite, i tink ur hubby wun be a blockhead as my hubby lor... i marry him more than a yr plus le, n i stil dun have my proposal...

Koyoyo, what are your expectation for your hubby??

Sue, Happy Anniversary to you &amp; ur hubby...

UKSportsgal, once u finalise the price, let me know okay..

tinkybell

Polarwhite, i tink ur hubby wun be a blockhead as my hubby lor... i marry him more than a yr plus le, n i stil dun have my proposal...

Koyoyo, what are your expectation for your hubby??

Sue, Happy Anniversary to you &amp; ur hubby...

UKSportsgal, once u finalise the price, let me know okay..

emilyteo

Hi PSH> my habby and I are hokkien, but we will be going towards the cantonese customs as my mum is cantonese...

Hi Xiaolongbao> my parent is not very particular with the gifts... they are happy for ang bao to represent all the traditional stuff. However, they are quite particular of the auspiscious time and date fro GDL.

Oh... BTW, is there a real need to light the long feng candle on the wedding day? My hubby will be picking up from the hotel as he does not have a home based in Singapore.... i dun think the hotel will allow him to light the candle...

koyoyo

haha meil,
u really think so... i doubt he appreciate it..
wow mrs kel ur fh really romantic .. u r so lucky..

sue can u believe i am so busy i suddenly cant rem you are mrs....

yo Mrs Tham get used to it hehheh

netfinity25

yesfeb29> u mus book ur jp fast....wat time is ur solemnization?

my outstanding list:

1. guest list and seating

2. sending the invites

3. GDL

4. sourcing songs for march in and 1st dish

5. sourcing for flower basket

6. meet up with jie mei

anything i miss out?

bunnyhop

wow ET,
Sounds like u r doing e traditional way of wedding...i oso cantonese way...prob buying e gdl items after CNY.
4 e long feng candle, i believe there is a symbolic meaning behind it. Mebe u wan 2 check how long u need to light up e candles.
If hotel not willing...check w ur mommy if there r alternatives 2 place e candles...
Which day is ur AD?

yfeb29

Hi Joleen,

Thanks so much for the kind info. I have managed to get JP Chan through my colleague's recommendation. I guess the list you given will be very useful for others still in search for JP.

yfeb29

Hi Netfinity,

You are so much better than I do. I see you are almost done with. You wont want to know what i have not accomplish...

icyxiaozhu

hey rach, i have received it.. thanks alot n u guess what.. my HTB knows ur HTB.. hahaz.. he was so shocked when saw ur pic in the spreadsheet.. small small world leh~

raragal

hehhe... Thats my birthday!! lalalal~~... wanted to have it on that day initially.. well.. too bad.. kekeke...

Mmmm.. seems like Mr Chia Ti Yu getting popular as well.. Mmmm... can i change my JP?
Have anyone tried calling up the JP and then change JP?? how do u tell the initial JP????

melo_ddy

Hv been MIA lately. I still read but just hardly post
Still busy searching for my PS PG, and AD PG &amp; VG.

Meiling, Koyoyo, Im consider Hilo &amp; Vocare for VG. Mei, you using who in hilo? I shld be meeting them this or next wk. Saw vocare video, think its quite good

hello Janet, welcome to the thread. You might want to consider Grand Hyatt, they dont seem to be as popular as the rest of the hotels, maybe might still be available... hehe but im having mine there. For 50-60 tables,can try MM, Orchard, Ritz, Shangri-la.

Mei, then yr colleague is wearing a hdb flat on her finger hehe. Think a 3 carat cost as much as that

Sue, its yr anniversay? Happy anniversary. How was yr celebration?

Tinky, everytime i read abt others special proposal i also envy them. hehe but at least i hv a hubby who pampers me and buys me whatever i want

Mei, sometimes man cannot hint one, they are too slow, must tell them directly hahaha.

cyc

hi all! so glad to stumble upon this forum and see so many real people planning for their weddings! this is so exciting. just by reading your posts, i learnt quite a bit.. tks for sharing.

btw, would anyone of you know how i can organise a church wedding when i'm not a member of any church? tks much!

tinggy

hi ann,

my actual day is 25th. I havent go for my final fitting yet. And i also havent take my photo shoot, dun worry, I think i m much later than u. Taking on 2nd of Feb. i haven buy my heels yet.
Henry will be my photographer and micki will be my MUA. HOw abt u?

jo_vin

Hi Linda, haha, ya, now alot of kiasu brides and grooms. N i'm one of them. Haha.Booked my wedding venue last month. Nowadays ppl very diff from last time. Now some even booked for 2009 le...

Can't comment much about taking PS in Jul/Aug... Cos i'm those that prefer to do things earlier. But i think BS should be able to do it. But maybe abit rush for them? Try not to drag beyond July ba. Cos still hv to design and print the albums...

new_here and sleepydopeey, I actually have 2 MTM gowns. Hehe.. Its included in my package. My package is cheap cos I know the BS well.

Linda, if you wan BS, maybe i can recommend you the one which i go to. They may give you good package. But its in J.B, not Spore thou..

~sblbee~

koyoyo,
well, he'll appreciate it someday cos i appreciate wat my fh does for me only after sometime...not everyone will give n those who rcv must learn to b appreciative

hehehe....i think i'll have a prob remembering all ur hubbies' surname so i better juz stick to calling u all by ur names rather than mrs XXX cos wait i get mixed up den pai seh :p

koyoyo n polarwhite,
zhu ni sheng ri kuai le!

uksportgal,
when is d last day for ordering? cos i need to show my mum as well as my fh b4 we place d order

melody,
i'll b using christopher frm hilo pdn...oh u r considering to use them? dat's great!
wah...i didnt know a 3 carat costs dat much but hor, hers was given to her 10 yrs ago, mayb it's not as ex as now but to think 1 can afford a huge gem 10 yrs ago, dat guy must b damn rich :p
if i tell my fh directly, smtimes he'll laff it off...he's always fooling ard :p

hi claire,
welcome to this thread! r u a oct btb too?

princess_sue

hi Claire,

welcome to our happening thread . hehe

Hi mrs law, dun worry, he will appreciate you .. like wat mei say. look forward to a good beginning hehehe..
you will be mrs next week... the moment you say I DO. hehehe

hey tinky,
dun worry too.. your hubby may hv something up his sleeve and jus pretend he had forgotten about it.. i am sure he will do something nice and memorable for you .

Hi Uk,
i will be showing my FMIL and my bf first before ordering.. so can i place my order next week? I saw your site that orders to be made before 3 feb... so i guess next week should not be too late ya?

Hi mel

how is everything coming along? for VG, i recently got to know that my dad's fren's fren hahaa is doing it and may get him to do it.
some of his works as follows

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iVjSIpkczA0&amp;feature=user
>
> http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_2rC3nc5GFA&amp;feature=user
>
> http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u_WaueR5GT8&amp;feature=user
>
> http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7NWxbvjhGlg
>

haha.. my anniversary... nothing special leh.. went to have dinner at bugis. KOYOTO SABO then head home. My fh seems stress at work.. so i guess its prob not a really good time to celebrate also.. so was a simple thg. but well.. we came a long way.. 8 years liao.. next year will be something different ... coz we would have been married by then .. hehehe. he apologise for the simple fare and stuff so i told him he have to make up to me next year .. hahaha.

malchan

wow... the thread is so active lately..

UKsportsgal, I'm keen too.
Do you have supplier for red packets too? My fren got it for me in HK for HKD8 for big ones and HKD5 for the small ones.
I went to Amanda Dreamweavers and she is selling it for $3 for big ones and $2.80 for small ones.

queenie10

Hi PSH,
u also going cantonese way? me too cos both me &amp; my hubby r cantonese,we'll have roasted pig...quite costly leh $399 for a pig.As my PIL is not in SG thus my hubby will forgo "Shang Tou" (Combing ritual) thus we won't also be having the Long Fung Candles.So have u choose a date for the GDL &amp; An chuan? Aft marriage,hubby will stay with me as we still can't get our dream house thus i dunno where to bunk in when in between An chuan till AD.