(2008) Brides of year 2008

Ah Yat abalone, I receive good feedback on the food. Makes me salivate now already.
AD is planned on 1 May 2008 actually but I think we are most likely to change to August cos there is no urgency in wedding.

We are in the process of buying a HDB unit and 'waiting' for HDB to push us to get married..kekeke... There's some admin problem (the seller passed away suddenly in the midst of transaction) so our purchase is going to take a long time. This is another long and interesting story so will let you know once we settle it and everyone can learn from our experience.

Anyway, enough of me :p

Do you ladies work on a wedding budget? Is there such thing in the first place? haha..

Nelle, yes there's such a thing as wedding budget. We happened to burst ours. Well, aren't budgets meant to be exceeded just as rules are meant to be broken? Haha... that aside, our budget for the whole wedding inclusive of ROM & honeymoon was S$30K.

So far, my ROM already exceeded the allocated funds but luckily got ang pows to cover a bit here & there. I wasn't expecting any AP for ROM so it does help to aid a bit lah. But I heard from some of my frens, they have surpluses in AP money after deducting off the cost of ROM, they'll set-aside for other uses.

Jojo...it may not be easy to find CX7 for rental as it is a relatively new model so usualli it's for long term rental....mayb u could try ur luck by posting in d forum.....=)

good luck on ur balloting too......

Nickname / Name / email / Qty (btls) / Type
1. Stnov / Serene / 5 btls / Collagen
2. Sleepycat/ Geraldine/ [email protected]/ 5 btls/ Hydration
3. Mage / Angeline / [email protected] / 2 btls/hydration / 2 btls/purifying
4. Jojo/ Jo/ [email protected]/ 5 btls / Hydration
5. Ashley / [email protected] / 3 btls / Hydration
6. Noreen / [email protected] / 3 btls
7. Lovebytemi/kymmie/[email protected]/6 btls/hydration - expiry 2009 please
8. Muddpie / [email protected] / 3 btls / hydration / 2 btls scar or whitening

Total: 24 x hydration, 5 x collagen, 2 x purifying, 2 x scar / whitening

Fifi,

Thanks, not putting too much hope on this. Do u stay around the area too?

Stnov,

Yah, been searching around the internet, no results, except Murano. If not, take Mec SLK 200, :P

Nickname / Name / email / Qty (btls) / Type
1. Stnov / Serene / 5 btls / Collagen
2. Sleepycat/ Geraldine/ [email protected]/ 5 btls/ Hydration
3. Mage / Angeline / [email protected] / 2 btls/hydration / 2 btls/purifying
4. Jojo/ Jo/ [email protected]/ 5 btls / Hydration
5. Ashley / [email protected] / 3 btls / Hydration
6. Noreen / [email protected] / 3 btls
7. Lovebytemi/kymmie/[email protected]/6 btls/hydration - expiry 2009 please
8. Muddpie / [email protected] / 3 btls / hydration / 2 btls scar or whitening
9.hatemenot/[email protected]/3btls hydration

Both my parent's place & my new place is at Redhill.

No matter how, all the best to you. Who knows you might strike gold. But looking at the numbers, better don't put too much hope, else very disappointing if dun get. On the contrary, if get, the success will be much sweeter.

gina~ no ah.. maybe certain angle looks ok only.. i am also short leh.. =) in fact on that day i don't like the hairdo and MU.. maybe it's bc0s i was sick and too pale so she has to use such MU to cover my dark rings.. sob sob.. but my makeover taken at WL years ago was not bad and i like that much more than the ROM one leh.. i think on my PS and AD i gonna tell Irene what i want.. and see if it's ok.. =) my photos quite alot le.. so i hope i won't be tempted to pay more..already over-budget for this.. and my AD PG & VG also over budget.. haha.. so must not top up anymore pix.. or else really STRESS.. sobx..

What's your package like and how much?? Your coordinator? MUA? PG? =D

Jule - thanks for arranging the sequence!

Somehow we all prefer the 2nd half of July huh? We're not very big feng shui buffs but still did some simple checking online - http://mindcity.sina.com.hk/MC-lunar. I'm waiting for next year's chinese calendar to be published just to double check and confirm the date, that is if I'll be in SG then =P

us_mei - Where did your SO stay when he was working there? I looked up on Seattle on Wikipedia & thought Beacon Hill/Capital Hill look like nice places. Sorta regreted doing this research cos now I'm even more torn between Seattle and 19 July in SG. It's such a tough decision.

Still waiting for the package. It's in the big boss' mailbox but he hasn't read it so I can't get my hands on it...

hehs..
berry_egg .. yeps.. i guess as long as its a date we're happy with.. its gd enuff. keke..
we just picked our own date and hope it to be quite an auspicious one so dat the folks (esp. his parents) won't nag too much abt us not choosing a date the proper way, i.e. via the fengshui master..the almanac or smthg.. heehe..

so, us_mei .. seems you are super excited abt planning the wedding oredi! yr dates are both very gd~ and so , you would be one of the earlier ones in the thread to hold your wedding. keke =P
the rest of us are mostly towards end of July.. haha.. =)

Hi gals. I nearly faint when I check on the application status for WIS. 7342 applications for 354 flats. Need to be extremely lucky to be able to get a flat. I tink my chance gone gone gone liao.

As for the wedding budget, we are trying to keep within 20-25K. But difficult since we are lookin to get a band for our banquet.

s'rene: my SO stayed quite far away from town. Took him about 30-40mins (depending on traffic) to drive to Seattle. If you want exact, it was 'Redmond'. I don't exactly know much about Beacon Hill/Capital Hill. The few times I stayed, I also stayed in the University of Washington area (known as UW or u-dub for short of 'u-double-u') with a JC friend who was on exchange there. I guess the areas you're looking at are more 'city-ish' but it really depends on what you prefer. Living in US = need for car, so it's ok to live further from the city (cheaper also) and then drive in, if you can drive lah.

stef: I'm actually "limited" by my brother who has hols from 28 June to 20 July. I want him to be part of my wedding so yep, not much of a choice. =P Kekeke.

for me, i was looking at peony jade as a ROM venue but may decided to do my ROM tgr with my AD as it's difficult to engage a photographer for ROM on a sunday, unless it's 1/2 day.
did u all engage a professional photographer for ROM? do u think it's necessary? aiyah, actually wanted a ROM separate so i can wear my tea-dress and take mei-mei pics, but now...can advise me?
as for my wedding budget, we planned to keep to below $40K...another big hole in my pocket....

hi flora bliss,
i'm also part of the 7000+ applicants for this lot of WIS flats, now really regret not taking up my jun WIS when my queue no was 120. i think i can forget abt getting a flat now....sigh....

Hi Juli

Hmmm...I also knew PMB thru this forum as many of her brides contributed positive reviews about her service. I signed up $2145 for in/outdoor PS. Basically, like most BSs offer, my package has everything except no car lor. Kekeke...I was attracted by her OTR gowns..new + clean + nice nice. I'm given 20pcs of photos which also includes designing & imaging at FOC...haha..find this definately worthwhile manz

Most BSs offer quite the same but ultimately, guess it's the difference in add photos purchased bah. Hope this helps

Happy shopping ya

My ROM photographer was from DeCharacter but few weeks before my ROM I had an outdoor photoshoot taken by another PG (the photos available on my Multiply). This PG is also available for ROM & AD, I'll be using him for my AD. I find him very flexible & easy to communicate with. If u want, I can recommend u.

To keep the costs low, we are having the soleminsation before the dinner so skip the ROM process. Just the tea process in the morning. All on the same day (I think I will look like crap!!!). No studio/outdoor shots, etc. No costume changes so I can splurge on THE ONE expensive dress!

I am quite old already so no need for the full works. I think you ladies must be very young so I encourage you to 'break' the budget and plan for a really beautiful wedding to remember.

heh, s'rene: i just checked with my SO. He says that Capital Hill seemed like a popular residential area with his colleagues so maybe you can check that out if you're really going bah. perhaps by that time, if you decided, i can hook you up with some friends there.

I felt that no need to break the budget in order to have a beautiful & memorable wedding. Even budget weddings can be as beautiful & memorable lor.

I'll been to a simple wedding once. It's well done with lots of laughter as the host was an old ex-radio deejay. Plenty of dancing. Buffet style at Hyatt.

Mrs Yap,

I am also short leh.. Think i must wear 3 or 4 inch heels le.. Haha.. Actually i am also over budget for my ROM le.. I have hire a PG for my ROM in NOV and is quite expensive.. I still don't know who is my coordinator and MUA as i have not been to their shop to select the gown yet.. But i will be going next month to choose my ROM dress.. So excited.. Hee.. Who is your coordinator and MUA? Is she good? maybe i can request to use the same as yours.. Haha... Btw my package is originally $3988 but after less $300 it becomes $3688. It includes 1 MTM WG, 1 MTM EG, 1 OTR tea dress, 1 OTR and 1 MTM suit with pants for the guy to keep, bridal car with deco, 4 make-up, about 30 photos(18R), 1 repeated mini album, 1 CD-rom, 1 8R TT, OTR jacket for father and in-law... Think something like that.. What about your package? How is it like?

hi snowypooh,
what's the rate for his services for ROM? can email me his contacts at [email protected]. thanks!

nelle,
actually my FH was thinking dat doing everything on d same day can cut down on the cost e.g venue for ROM makan and photography...but i want to take some nice pics wif different outfits to keep leh.....sigh

MeiLinG5, men are quite typical (sometimes). They don't want any fuss. You still can have different outfits on the same day..but, you have to change many times and the hairdo & makeup is the same. You see which item can cut cost then harden the heart and do without.

Small small items can add up to the final cost. Eg. a fanciful ring pilow, elaborate angpao box, etc. Some items you may want to consider to borrow/buy 2nd hand. Cos, wedding costs are just the beginning. The house is another headache.

hi nelle,
thanks for the advice! i'll see how 1st...hopefully can work something out...i stil want to MTM my tea-dress and keep, at least can wear for PS...
what's trial makeup?

hmm.. for me hor, I also did hire a ROM Photographer... from snapxot....
talking about the small items, I have yet to look into it leh... haha....
my SO complete opposite to meiling's... he is the one who practically force me to hold it on two different days.... haha.....

trial makeup -to see if that's what you want/the look that will be on the actual day. It's good as the MUA may think a certain look is suitable for you but you don't like etc. So can discuss.

Mindy, to me, ideally is two days cos, most of the time the makeup is abit not fresh about 3-4 hours later. I think my nose and forehead will shine like a beacon!!

gina~ your package not bad too!! i got nth to keep ah.. duhh.. my MUA is irene.. she's not bad.. my coordinator left liao.. so now liase with agnes and shirlyn.. both also not bad.. have you scout for AD PG and VG??? actually i also over-budget.. but i think its worth..

Hi All, just to share the promotios my geomancer is having for this month:

"lunar 7th mth is full of interesting events: cowherd meets the maiden,
ghost fest, buddha happy mth etc. & we offer the following:

1a. 20% off Feng Shui jobs (xcept unit selectn, off-site & walkabt) to
be done from now to 10/9/07.

1b. 10% off Feng Shui jobs booked from now to 10/9, & must be done by
31/12/07.

2. 20% off Wedding Date Selectn for 2008 or 2009 (Just LAUNCHED).
usual rate for 2008 is $100, $160 for 2009.

Act Now! all enquiries welcome.

danny - cheong geomancy consultants - estd 1988
hk trained geomancer - 67450023
mastercheong.blogspot.com"

He's a nice & friendly guy.

hi mindy tay,
think i want to negotiate for 2 separate days cos it's gona be real tiring if everything done on 1 day....i think i'll do it my way
care to share with me the charges for your ROM photography?

hi nelle,
i prefer ROM makeup rather than trial makeup leh, at least can wear nice clothes n take nice pics, trial makeup a bit wasted leh....

he charge me 188 for 4 hours of photography... good deal?
he told me that it was a promotion... my SO saw his works and thinks that the pictures are quite good and so we took them...

Ladies, when choosing PG, no doubt price is an important factor, we have to consider the skills & the total package (what's included & any surcharges, etc) as well. Most important is that u like the type of photography skills the PG adopts.

hi us_mei,

the ones on overseas websites are very similar to the yahoo auction ones. they are the classics, simple looking types. i have also seen more complicating types, but i still prefer the simpler ones lor... but overseas have to pay shipping & all. troublesome lah...

i have still yet to contact the yahoo person to see how she can customize...

hello gers!
another dec 08 bride reporting here

my banquet is on 26 Dec 08...have not decided the date for the ceremony yet...
seems like there r quite a no. of sattine brides here? i'm one of them too! ;)

hello fellow brides to be... aiyo.. me haven't been able to come for a while lo.. hows everyone's prep?? me so far only settled my gown, photography, rings... kekekek.. haven't got time to go visit hotels for banquet leh.. dun care liao.. kekeke.. wait till after my solemnisation den i come worry about the AD liao.. ekekekeek

Hi us_mei,

Thanks for the tip! I can drive but not sure if the company will provide a car. They might be providing accommodation so I thought I might get some backgrd info first.

Boss secretary said... HR took the package back to the drawing board. At this rate, any posting will commence next year instead.

hi tiffy,
long time no see...how have you been? i've settled my BS, banquet, AD PG, gona settle my ROM PG and AD VG by the end of tis mth, meanwhile, have to start to search for my JP before i confirm the ROM venue. :P

hi snowypooh,
thanks for your recommendation! we shall discuss in depth in msn...

Hi all nov brides,
a group of us were chatting on the thread Nov brides. Someone suggested that we re-name our thread so here it is.

erm, not good at starting new threads...so actually created one with a wrong subject (my username actually) earlier...oops.

welcome welcome!!! my friend's rom is also on 07dec!!! 1 day before mine... we cant attend each other's wedding... =( sad

nelle, you mean you will be holding your solemnization during your banquet or just before your dinner cocktail? I'll be having mine after 1st march-in.

I've juz settle my AD photography with http://www.bobman.com/gallery/. Now pending wedding band, AD videography, jazz band and of course the flat.