(2008) Brides of year 2008

Korice,

Lucky when I do the house my MIL didn't step in and interfer. My hubby brought her up to our place when the place is done up. Hehe ... so i got my way to do the things I want.

You knoe what I nearly want to "kill" my MIL last week when she use my new place for CNY dinner... She pick on this, say that... all kind of things lar... treating the place like her own. Kind of enjoy to see my hubby caught in the middle. Lucky my hubby side me more than his mum....

Err... is my own dad that is taking the 40 tables...

Usually my hubby will give in to what I want so even he object to something. I will - "objection over rules" by me. Ha ha... sometime kind of guilty to bully him like that.

Everytime I see him go fishing I will say him that a 24 years old man doing a 42 years old man hobby.

Haiz... P.S. My dad had decided on my BS - Double Up. He say that is his long time customer so let them have the business.

Janice.. Woohoo.. So your father's the big businessman.. Half of the total number le.. Hahaa..

Your hubby 24? Then you leh?? I'm 25 btw..

The house was quite bad lor.. Cos she kept wanting to come & see the works.. I was like "today & yesterday" got no diff lor.. And she'll still insist on going.. Then say herself not "pantang", then gave us so many "things-not-to-do".. Now house done le, want to interfere how we do the housework.. Like washing clothes.. All these must be washed separately: my tops, my bottoms, undergarment-tops, undergarment-bottoms, his tops, his bottoms, & his undergarments.. I was like "how many washes is tat gonna be?!?" Yah lor..

Double Up is at IMM right? How're their gowns like?

hi vivienne,

my bands was also mix and match. Not identical pairs cos my FH like square kinds and I prefer classic simple design so after much pondering, it's going to be worn for a long time so it's best to get what each person like! for us lah..

just to share =)

I am new to this website also, i intend to have my wedding around June or Sep in Yr 08.

But a bit confused about the Efile for ROM
Do we need to book for a date for ROM now?
My ROM will be on my AD also.

Also as i signed up my BS package in JB, i need to pay add $550 Sg to engaged the MUA to singapore for my AD(morning and dinner MU)

Is it expensive? How much is MAU in singapore? I am just worried that if i engaged a MUA that i am totally umfailiar with she will not know what i like..so if i am confortable with the MUA in JB (who will Makeup and do hairdo for me for BS)I rather engaged her to Sin.

But i hope to compare charges against singapore MAU, can any one is so kind to share some info with me.

Also regarding dates....can we choose ourselves?must we engage Shi Fu to choose for us? Does any 1 has good 1 to recommand?

I think i prepare too earlier le? more than 1 yr in advance...so Kiasu ma?

Nice to join this group

JoJo

tete

Your wedding is next Jan and you managed to book the place at SAM? I was told they are only open for booking this year end! May I know when is your wedding date?

hi yvonne and bernice.. welcome

wanna update us ur preps status and dates?

hi korice

ya ur case seems quite jialat. my FMIL is also veri pantang and traditional. but so far she is veri nice to me, juz tat restrict us on the dates.. need to suan. maybe now i'm still at square 1.. when our preps go further, i may see more restrictions or smthing.

ya i tink washing of clothes is quite a sensitive issue.. esp undergarments haha. my fren also faced such problem. shall not elaborate further.. doesn sound v nice keke.

ya must be a gd DIL infront, if not once tension and conflict starts, it will be hard to settle liao. it won't be the same again.

hey ur house is done? got pics to share?

janice: u're a lucky gal huh.. ur FH so teng u hehe.. will side u more. my FH tend to listen to his mom, cos his upbringing veri strict. hopefully big conflicts arise if not dunno wad will happen haha.

Tete,

We've considered that but can't find the best mix yet... haha... not really worry about the bands cos not like banquet or flat, would be sold out or fully book... the only thing is the lead time of 3 months (among the longest of most jewelry) to place order.. so can wait till latest July.

Hi everyone, Finally managed to get internet access ~!

Hi Joanne81,

You will still need to e-file though u are having ur ROM on the same date as ur AD.
U can e-file online. Read more details at following link
http://app.rom.gov.sg/

If u are having the solemnisation done at the restuarant before ur AD starts, you will need to engage a JP as well.

Not too sure about MUA charges leh. cant advise on this.

For dates, if you want an auspicious date, think u will need to go to a shifu with the ba-zi to calculate.
coz from wat i knw, Tong shu for Year 2008 will only be out after the lunar 7th mth this year.

1year earlier is ok la.
Guess eveyone here is 1 year earlier.

Hi Strawberry

Thanks for yr kindly help =)

Oh so it's still too early now to go to the shifu since the Tong Shu is not out yet..

Than without a date i cant decide on which place i can book for dinner le..

you plan yr AD date le ma?

Hi Gals~
Saw some of u have dates chosen already, can shifu pick a date for u as early as now for next Year wedding hm...maybe in June or Sep...maybe Oct also..

Pls help me

JO

U can go to a shifu to count the dates with the ba-zi.

The tong shu is more useful if u are picking the dates urself.

For my case, Mum is helping to check dates for me with the shifu. Looking at dates in Sep which is lunar 8th mth

hi joanne, i am also facing this confusion.
I am looking at dates after Jun 08 but don't know where to look for advice on a good date for us. anyone can advice us on this?

hi joanne,

abt your MUA,
if you really like the one from your JB BS, then take her by all means.
btw, which JB BS did you sign up with?
can share the package?
am also quite keen on JB BS leh...

if you prefer to take SG MUA, they also provide trial make up ones. i think there is a long list of SG MUA in the forum..many contacts floating around, so you can call up a few. I believe they cost less than $500 with trial and AD.

hi valerie,

you looking for church too ah?
my FH is not catholic...
so am wondering if the priest will marry us or not...
but we will both go for marriage prep class, prob EE. hopefully can meet up with a father to discuss this then.
anyway, no date fixed also. difficult to go church hunting. :P

how abt you?
Where is SAM? not sure of the acronym.

korice,
any news from any bridal show organizer if couple can = 2 gals? heehee...

anyone else wanna go?
my galfriend also keen to go...actually her wedding may be earlier than mine, but i'm already in sgbridals and she hasn't even registered in the forums yet. :P
talk abt kan cheong. hahaha....

Val,

Some of the considerations when choosing BS beside the price. However, if you compare those BS of the same range, then you would realise that the prices offer is within the same range. So I've come out with some other factors, although some are intangible.

1) Depending on your body type, you need to get the kinda gown suitable for you. Hence got to find out what are the types of gown available in the stores. Many BS which I went to showed me tons and tons of Bustier... which is not suitable for me. And my FH doesn't believe that bustier is not suitable for me till I tried one and he was convinced. Well, you won't know what you won't look good in till you've tried it. The rule of the thumb is
"show off" your flaw.
http://www.henryroth.com/tip.php

2) The photography skill. Look at the albums, do the couples look natural? Happy? "Involved"? Or the 1st thing that captured you is the background? Not to forget that true enough a charming background will enhance the overall mood of the picture displayed but a poor photography skill will not be able to bring out the main CASTS from the background. Personally I don't like those photography that show two wooden blocks with frozen smiles...

3) Friendly VS Over-friendly staff who serves you. I am more picky when dealing with the people who I've to work with. I can't define what is Over-friendly but it is kinda those who leave you with no personal space and also who would like to decide everything for you.. and ended up delivering empty promises.

4) Look at the make-up in the Album. Do the brides look natural or like Pop-star singer, chinese opera or Geisha? My elder sister's album was so "well" done that she look extremely pretty in the photos... but if she was to show her album to her friends now, without telling them whose photo are those, they would have to guess. Bottomline, my sister doesn't look like herself in the photo. I'm not trying to be cruel but I want my photo to be my photo.... of cos without eyebag, eye ring and pimples lah... but should still look like me. In the BS, you can ask them to show you photographs of Brides before and after the make up to allow you to make a comparison.

5) Make the hidden cost transparent so that you are mentally more prepared when you've to pay the extra at the end of the whole service...
a) Ampoule to be used during make up, market price abt $50. I was told that you pay directly to the MUA, this ampoule is to make ur makeup stay fresher, esp good for Outdoor - hot and humid weather.
b) Eye lashes
c) Laundry fees (mine is FOC)
d) Number of corsage given, what's the cost of extra pieces
e) Cancellation of photography date. e.g. if you plan to take photograpy this sat, but down with a cold
on fri, so you've to change the date, is there a penalty? For YC, there is no charge so long makeup not done. That means I can cancel as late as on the actual day - so if it is pouring heavily, I can re-schedule to another day without having to pay penalty.
f) Cost of extra photos to be added to the album. Your photos might turn out so fantastic that you like every single one of them... I was told that there are couple whose original package was 20 photos and ended up upsizing to 40 (double!!) and market rate is $80 per photo.... so if you calculate the initial price is $3000 + the additional photo - $80 x 40 = 3200 will be $6200 wow!!! (So must also make FH commit that if extra photo are wanted, he must say yes! kekeke... ) And for digital album, it's not per page, it's per photo used....

I wrote down most of the stuff but the note book is now with my FH... so must get the note book back... Haha.... very long post again (luckily no rule on Max number of words allowed).... but I think haven finish yet... will add on when there is more...

Hi Tingie..

I called long shi fu the one that is said to be famous in this forum....he charge $80 bucks and asked me to email him my bf and my birth dates , parents sheng xiao and our name..I am thinking if we could just pick a day from the web as long it's a auspicious date....seems like without a date everything cant proceed...like booking dinner etc...

Hi Nec,

I took up elegance bridal it's somewhere around "THE STORE" . I like the photo and bridal gowns there. Tried a few that day. Actually Milan also good. I think u can go and compare both shops they are along same line if i dont remember wrongly.( there's topics on MILAN also u may refer FYI)

I compared the package with singapore de...wah so much better than sin wor. Try to ask for more pages and pics i think they will give if they can do it. customer service is also good.

JoJo

hey vivienne gal! thanks so much for the info leh! its really useful. today i went to the jp fair. felt quite lost when they start rattling abt the packages. i did wad one of the gals told me.. izzit u? i can't rem.. i copied down the package cos i can't rem and there are so many items. i asked the sales person.. got any hidden costs u didn't tell me o not? must be honest with me cos i've no experience. i got a list at home but i 4got to bring.. so i'll go home check against wad u told me. keke. so she told me abt the eye lashes and ampoules. tats all eh. so i'll come find out then go back to bargain with her

ok i shall wait for ur note book info hehe. ya i got try to ask if i don wan certain stuffs, can change for extra pics o not, then wont waste so much $.

how's ur flat hunting todae? saw ur post now, anyway gd luck.. hope it was fruitful for u

hi nec

ya i was looking for church but i'm an xtian and my FH is a freethinker.. so no pastor will marry us either. so i guess i'll settle for SAM lor. SAM is Singapore Art Museum. U can check out the site, the auditorium is veri nice. its previously a chapel. i believe u will like it

me also no date fixed.. haha. so i do my research on hotels and BS 1st lor.. start somewhere ba keke.

u were asking: 'anyone wanna go?' --- go where? bridal shows ar? which one u all wanna go?

Hi Vivienne, wow...u know i find u really amazing!!! do u mind if i post what u have written on my blog and i also put ur name that u wrote this? so that all brides can benefit!!! >.<

hi valerie,

i am still searching for venues... but i have already booked my bridal package already from french bridal.

hello valerie,
have you gone for any marriage prep course with your FH?

i die die want church wedding...heard from the other forummers possible if priest is willing...and if you are on good terms with your pastor, maybe can discuss with him?
i believe in the christian bride thread, some do say some pastors are willing...although not recommended...i think someone mentioned a methodist church that rents out its premises for weddings, but i'm not sure which denomination you belong to...

have ya seen changi chapel....quite small, think can seat 30pax? it's an outdoor one, so might be hot if pm, then chance of rain also...but it looks very quaint!
havent seen SAM yet. still hoping/praying for church lor...cos i really want God's blessings and also He's our Father mah, must have wedding in His presence.

hi bernice..

hmm i've heard not gd reviews on french bridal leh. so far how u find their service? what makes u take them?

which venues u looking at?

LE MERIDIEN SINGAPORE’S WEDDING SHOW 2007 PRESENTS…
an evening of gorgeous gowns, fine cuisine and fabulous prizes!
Don’t miss Le Meridien Singapore's Wedding Show 2007!!! Filled with alluring bridal gowns from renowned wedding couturier, Jazreel Collections, the event promises an evening of glamour and splendor. Le Meridien will also highlight their delicious six-course Chinese Wedding Menu together with their enchanting crystal wedding theme. Plus, if you confirm your wedding dinner during the show, you’ll stand a chance to win fabulous lucky draw prizes.

Date: 31 March 2007 (Saturday)
Venue: Le Meridien Singapore, Margaux Ballroom, Level 3
Time: 5.30pm – 10.30pm
Registration: $28 per couple, inclusive of 6-course Chinese Cuisine. (UOB Cardmembers pay only $25 per couple)

STYLE WEDDINGS GLAMOUR BASH 2007
Be part of the fun and excitement at our biggest bridal event of the year!
Indulge in an afternoon of good food, exciting activities and great fun at the Style Weddings Glamour Bash 2007!

We have lined up a fashion spectacle with Mediacorp celebrities and will be showcasing gorgeous gowns and suits from the top names in the bridal industry. There’ll also be lots of fun workshops and a sumptuous buffet! Plus, stand a chance to win prizes worth more than $30,000!

Date: 22 April 2007 (Sunday)
Venue: Swissôtel The Stamford
Time: 12 pm to 6 pm
Admission: $20 per couple ($1 admin fee per couple)
RSVP: Get your entry forms in the latest issue of Style Weddings.
* Please reserve your seats by 6 April 2007

NTERCONTINENTAL STYLE
Brought to you by InterContinental Singapore and Style:Weddings.
Don’t miss this fabulous Wedding Showcase – InterContinental Style. Get a peek of the new wedding packages for 2008/2009, savour fine cuisine and enjoy champagne. Look out for luxe gowns by bridal couturier Ted Wu, tips from top florist and presentations from bridal photographer Chris Ling.

Plus, if you sign up for our wedding package on that day, you will get a free honeymoon of your choice – 3D/2N stay in a wedding suite at InterContinental Bangkok, InterContinental Bali or InterContinental Phnom Penh.

For enquires, please call 6825 1258 /1248 / 1256 or e-mail [email protected]

Date: 10 June 2007 (Sunday)
Time: 12pm to 6pm
Cost: $35 per couple
Registration: Please log on to www.singapore.intercontinental.com/wedding/style

hi nec

nope i've not gone for the prep course with him.He's currently on biz trip. We're sorting out the venue and BS 1st. the course will come later.

i've not seen changi chapel. u have pics to share with me??

u're in christian bride thread? u saw my requests for help? hehe. ya wad they say is true la.. if our partner is not xtian/catholic, holding in church is not tat appropriate. BUT i noe what u're talking abt. u're voicing out what i'm feeling/thinking! thus i understand how u feel. u have to tink on the part on the vows, exhortation.. praise and worship, holy communion, unity candle.. guess u did read these in tat thread right.

As per wad they say, God's presence will be where-ever we hold out wedding, thus i'm looking at the next best alternative.. SAM. u can go have a look

dear All

Can any one help me...i remember seeing in 1 of the topics where they are links to accessing to auspicious dates for the wedding...cant find it now..

any1 has it? pls share the link with me

Jo

I am a 2008 BTB too. Have problems selecting my AD now. Went to my fortune teller whom i usually go to recently and wanted to ask him to help me select a date for my AD. As what many other ppl had said, he mentioned that the Tong Shu is not out yet. I told him that i know some ppl use Wan nian Li to calculate auspicious dates and dont need Tong Shu. He said that Wan Nian Li is not as accurate as Tong Shu. I had another friend who told me this before too. I am in a dilemma now. If got to wait for Tong Shu to be out then it is still a long wait. I fear that by that time the banquet venue that I want may be taken up already. Any advice on this?
Any 2008 Bride already has fixed a date?

LO, i've sent you my BS liao...

flat hunting? resale or the new walk in selection? i like the flat hunting portion, very interesting...

Harlow gals!

Me also Jan08 bride. Wah.. looks like u gals have confirmed so many things! I haven't even shop for my gown.. now panicking (breaking out in cold sweat)

Any packages to share?

BrightStar,
You making me
... haha... I don't find myself amazing.. just very Kiasu I guess. Well, if my contribution would be useful to others, pls by all mean, share with the rest.

Val,

Ya... I told you to write down... kekeke... not paiseh right? Anyway, the house hunting part not fruitful... And guess what, saw this pair of bands in Goldheart - Celestier Collection - squarish bands that comfortable fit the fingers. FH said if by July can't find another better bands, will buy this. But I find it expensive... I know of ppl spending few thousands for Bands and this "only" cost $988/band but I still find its too expensive comparing to the typical range...

Jo,
Resale.. cos like bigger flat... nowaday, the new flats built by HDB seems to have strink... wall everywhere but no floor area... so prefer the older flat but got to hunt them down... LOLZ

And Linny,
kao_welcome2.gif

Hi Viv

its a bit paiseh ar.. the salesgal give me a 'not veri happy' look but she tried to hide it cos she wans sales ma. don care la. who can rem so much info. keke.

hmm celestial collection.. u getting ur bands with diamonds? ya 988 is ex to me also.. maybe i feel bands are to be worn everyday, thus no need to be so ex. i don intend to get bands with diamond too cos no pt. engagement ring have diamond can liao
i'll be searching for cheaper bands too, and i'll let u noe if i see any nice designs
let me noe wad type u looking for. i heard fairy's inc is very gd for customizing. have u been there to try? i'm going soon.

Linny: hello and welcome

hi blythe15, u can still look for hotel and book them temporarily first.

hotel work in this way...if there is a competing couple who wan the place, then hotel will call u..then u will have to make decision whether u wan the place or not..if not, u can "chop" the place first

for auspicious dates, it would be better to consult the feng shui master cos the chinese character of all couples plus birthdates r diff

Valerie,

I'm lucky as my hubby don't really get along with is family so to him I'm his only family like that. So he tend to sayang me alot lor.

Actually I can understand how you feel as my MIL is also very hard to get along.

Hi Bernice,

when is your actual date? And where is venue you are looking at? Me too in March.

Korice, the grown not bad, I had just talk to them yesterday, they were telling me if I required anything that is within their means they will do it for me FOC. the service is good as they are quite flexible with what they provide like the invoice state 24 pcs of 4R photo but if you need more they can actually give you more for free.

I'm also 24 same as my hubby, he is 10 days older then me. He is so stress by the number of table that my dad requested.

My MIL don't bother how I handle the household work as I handle it better than her and keeping the house cleaner than her (seen her kitchen) as I'm a cleaness freak. Usually my hubby don't let me do washing (house work that come into contact with water and chemical).

My house had been done up last year... I will take some photos and send it to you. So when will yours be done?

Hi Henvye, have you finalised the hotel package with Novotel already?

Did they lower the price of wine? Jamie is v firm. Kept the wine price at 23+++. So ex!!

Hi Jule/Ayukie
We have not finalised the package yet. Actually want to ask other brides to give me too. Jamie, the coordinator, is v firm. Very diff to negotiate things with her. Currently we are stuck at wine price. We wanted 23nett, but she say "no".... =(