(2008) Brides of year 2008

haha now i look upwards and i realised too. whahah. duchess u wan come along? i made appt at 745. lets be barbie dolls

hi sassy_girl and valerie:
yes my banquet SHOULD be at hilltop garden restaurant in bukit batok, FH and i like the place and the price
i'll be having my wedding in church! oh yes, my BS is My Bridal Room
honeymoon in japan and home should be in taman jurong, near my mom and dad. hehe. we'll be living in a rental flat in taman jurong before we purchase our own flat since we need the marriage cert to apply for one. (we won't be getting our marriage cert before 1st nov since we no need ROM.)

hi lydia

what makes u sign up my bridal room? tell me more.. and share ur package here ar.. i'm searching for BS

wa u plan 1 n half yrs in advance huh.. BS and venue also booked le. sooo fast!

hello valerie,

I am sorry, but, i didnt take any pics. However, you can refer to these links taken from Hilton thread for the layout of the banquet suite:
http://img249.imageshack.us/my.php?image=grandballroommatchin2na.jpg
http://img265.imageshack.us/my.php?image=grandballroombackdropsi9so.jpg
http://img401.imageshack.us/my.php?image=grandballroom6ee.jpg

I believe these pictures are taken before the renovation. Instead of wooden color, the whole suite now looks white and modern. The ceiling lights are verrryyy nice too. My only problem is the reception's floor is very outdated as there's no renovation done
. But, nvm lah, main event is in the suite. Haha

Each table is $868NETT for weekend.

aiyoh,
i see so fun also very gian to join you all!!!

mmm...how many dressing rooms?
wear what kind of underwear?

aiyah, i better post in another thread where they dunno my age...so old, still so swa ku.... :P

hi sasa and lydia...

mmm...hilton eh...is the 5* or 6*? i'm really blur abt these things one...

the ballroom looks nice

after the renovation, do they still hve the pillars around?
cos i'm thinking of having a dance floor...so pillars wld get in the way...

lydia,
do share with us your reasons for choosing MBR, and the packages,
val and i are on a hot hunt for BS!! :D

sassy,
do you hve any pics or packages of sheraton?

lydia,
which church are you marrying at?
how's the food/prices at hilltop garden restaurant?

congrats all BTBs!!

nec,

i don have pic leh, only have the package from ST, let me have your email, will send it to you.

haven go down to take a look yet, maybe one of the sat afternon (when theres a wedding going on in the evening) will drop by to see the ballroom deco. there are some pics at the ST website showing the suits and the ballroom, you might wana take a look.
oh yah... just to let you know... the ballroom is L-shape..

Hi nec,

Hilton is 5* i think. Erm, the pillars are still there. But, if you're holding like 30 tables, they should have enough room for dance floor as the maximum capacity is 50 tables.

wow.. so fast..!! hahaa..

yaya.. i agree.. lydia, you're super fast.. all planned out!
me only settled BS.. val & nec must jia you k.. hehee..

sasa. hilton BR does look nice.. hmm.. we're lost at trying to do something different for the dinner.. sigh.. as wat ppl always say, wedding dinners are always the same.. but.. but.. we always end up doing it normally too.. bleahs..

HAHAHAA... underwear?!?!?!?!

ok.. lower bottom ones.. cos their gowns have got sexy backs.. hahaa.. and top wise, no need worry.. cos need to remove when trying cos all padded le..

val.. 745 on!! duchess & nec.. come lah.. barbie dollies.. hahaaa.. erm.. my sales person is stella lah.. anything lor.. hehee.. yayee!!

haha, agree with korice. I also wanted sth different, but, not sure how to do it differently. Dun like cutting cake, dun like yum seng. But, i am sure in the end will end up having both. Hahaha.

Personally, i think plan early better. Have enough time to think of ideas for the BIG day. Now banquet confirm liao, time to concentrate on slimming down for my MTM gowns. Cross finger tt i wont give up so soon. Haha.

oh.. 2 dressing rooms on level 1.. upstairs i dunno.. but i dun mind sharing??? heheheee... it's alright one lah.. so many BTB.. they know they must be on their best performance..

sasa.. I WANNA SLIM DOWN TOO... hahaa.. in caps to emphasize how much i mean it.. but "you xin wu li".. argh.. always half-hearted.. say say only.. sigh..

me too.. we also kept wanting to be out of the norm.. but i'm sure we'll end up the same way too.. sigh.. as my colleague, it's boring in s'pore.. how unique can you go? or maybe i'm just not creative enuff..

haha, me trying the Fancl Aloe Vera extract + uzap. Let you know if have any effect. Hehehe

Hrm, i think slowly bah. Start from march in. Probably i dont want the dry ice. Would use bubbles instead. Coz it will match the angels theme that i m going to choose. Imagine dim the lights, whole room in darkness, door open, lights slowly ligted up with bubbles flowing from the main door. Then march in Hahahha....(think too much)

wa so fast..

now hor like dry ice is outdated le leh.. heard my fren say now is use smoke effect le. similar to dry ice but much nicer.

ya la special thing we tink too much end up also same one. i thot of so many ideas now end up simplest plan. everything in 1 day and rom is juz 1hr b4 dinner. hahaha. so much for killing so many brain cells over the past few weeks!

ya korice.. me n nec will jia you. i'm gg HIPV this wkend. hope the viewing goes well, then i shd be booking at the BOW's fair liao. then 1 down! heheeh

ohhh stella.. okok. i 4got who was telling me to look for big sally. she said big sally is gd. ok.. many gd coordinators is a gd thing huh keke.

wa i didn take off my bra with i tried gowns! some too loose la. wait zou guang how?? i shy la hehe.

ok onz 745. u email me ur no hor. wait got anyting can contact

thanks for the invite girls!

but don't tempt me leh! i bought moi wedding package already... =(

you girls go ahead and share with me about it! if can, smuggle pictures hor!

Tete n Stnov,

Actually I tot of MTM cos like Tete, my FH not much taller than me... the max that can go shall be 2"... Anything higher than that, I will be as tall as him le... And also, I very rough, don think can balance and walk gracefully on >2" heels.

Hi Valarie,
yes i will be going... already paid the reg fee...
my lovenest at bukit panjang segar road... exciting... but then its very tiring... already very tied up with work... dunno able to cope with all the preparation work or not... wah... everything coming together.... siong leh...

i dun intend to have any PS overseas... singapore has lovely places too...

wat is important to me is the deign of the gowns... cos i very fussy one... and i want to find the perfect gown that i like... haha...

Hi Vivienne,
thanks... which topic is your post on 3 March?

hi valerie, nec, korice and sasa!

for questions on MBR:
i chose it mainly because of the photos and the feedback of brides on this forum who have signed up with MBR. i was very impressed with the photos on the site and most of the BS that i have visited previously are very taiwanese, so the photos are not to my taste. i just don't like the photos to have digital motifs (bubbles, autumn leaves etc) and all that, no offence to anyone who has had them for their PS. my FH was very impressed with the photos, and photos are very impt for us, so we went ahead. i was surprised with the service even though i had heard that MBR's service is good; didn't expect them to be so accomodating, open and even the boutique itself gave a different feel. (have to take off your shoes when you go in, heehee.) previous experience i had with another BS was pretty bad, so pushy, in the end we just paid a deposit to stop them from nagging. MBR was different, plus the feel of the place is very nice, very at home. i like the package too, if you guys want i can email my package details to you, just pass me your email add.

yes i am super excited about my wedding so i started planning fast. and i also predict that in the near future i have no time to plan, i'm on 2 months holiday now (studying in poly) so quickly use the time to plan.

starting my pre-marital counselling with pastor in maybe june? (my church is calvary pandan bible-presbyterian :D) see when FH is free lor. pastor is free from april onwards but FH is very busy. once pre-marital counselling start i will start confirming the venue, going down to other places to look before i confirm my venue of choice, etc. (i take diff events that happen outside my wedding to act as markers for my planning, like when counselling start i will go and book the venue, my next holiday come i will go for food tasting, etc.)

haven't tried the food at hilltop garden, but mom says it's very good. she was there for a function about four months ago. the ambience is wonderful too
the price for the lowest package is $508 inclusive of GST all that i think. you can check it out on the website, i think is www.qianxi.com.sg!

my dinner's highlight will be a video that i will be producing with my friends for my FH and i... in my course of study i do film also, so it's like another proj for us :P i will do it very conversationally, perhaps get my FH and i to share about the stupid things we do to each other, how we want to help each other in future, each other's quirks, get some interviews from close friends about how they feel about our wedding, all that... don't really care for what i do during the wedding lah, because marching in, pouring champagne all that is very standard, but it will be the first time i'm doing it so def will be memorable for me. just want my guests to have something special, so even though they have seen the standard wedding stuff happening many times, it will be the one and only time they will see a special video.

hahaa.. we might be doing edible bubbles too.. i told hubby.. do snow lah! hahaa..

lydia.. so sweet for the video.. your FH knows about it? yah.. if it's unique enuff, ppl will remember.. tat was why we gonna do our own invites & favours & who knows wat.. *lol* we did our own invite for our ROM.. and the one line tat we all hear is "tat's so you!"

MBR's webby is www.mybridalroom.com? only got those few pics ar?? val.. those pics are in melbourne too! hmm.. maybe i should go there & see more of their pics.. to get ling gan for BC.. hahaa.. *oopsy*

in office on a sat.. until 6pm somemore.. wat a drag..

hi icecherry

i'm going too hee. how did u pay? did u receive the hardcopy they posted? i've not receive anything from them leh.

ok so u like design of the gowns.. wad type of gowns then? lacey? beading? embroidery? or if u're looking at really nice gowns n gd service, u can try ritz couture.. mnay ppl recommend it to me. divine and ted wu has great gowns too but it may be expensive. i've not check them out yet but intend to do so soon.

i typed a long long post and its gone! aiyo!

ok summarise..

lydia tks for ur post! i'll go MBR see later since u say they're not pushy heeh. ok share ur package with us.. [email protected] thanks ah.

u're so sweet to do the video for ur hub.. he's a lucky guy! ur church is at pandan gardens? where u stay?

korice was is edible bubbles? how to eat them??

poor u working till so late todae.. its ok get ur hub to go for a gd dinner tonite lor hehehe. enjoy ur sat nite.

i'm tinkin og gg MBR later since lydia said they not pushy. then i'll go SAM, swissotel then oriental's garden suite if possible. will take photos to share with u all if they allow k

val.. ask mbr to show you their mel album (if they have).. den lemme know how you feel..

edible bubbles are like sweets lor.. so instead of soap bubbles, which den will dirty all the tables & stuff.. edible ones wun..

tonight got wedding dinner ar.. furama city centre..

ok! wait u get me addicted to mel then u noe heeh. anywhere i'm pretty addicted to bukit tinggi le.. now trying to find a not so ex package to go there PS.

where to get edible bubbles? hey if u can, take a pic of the theme at furama can? hehe

erm.. never bring camera.. i see if my colleagues got bring k.. will try my best..

hahaa.. wun one lah.. diff ppl will wanna go diff place one.. hehehee..

hey korice and valerie

yes my FH knows about the video cos it's gonna be our joint project hahaha... he's excited about it too :D

one thing about the photography in MBR is that even though a lot of the shots were taken in singapore, i couldn't tell that it was singapore. initially i wanted to go to bintan to have my PS, but after i paid a visit to MBR i decided that i want to do it in singapore because some of the places are very very unique, none of my friends would ever have gone there and when they ask me where i took, i can say "singapore!" haha XD plus no need to spend money go overseas too :P budget wedding, muahaha. the photographer knows a few 'secret places' hehehe... they would even show you soft copy of the photos that are just one step away from being made into the book. very open one. i'm very excited abt having my PS with their photographer, but the place that i like very much is going to be demolished soon to give way for a commercial building
so sad. however i told my FH that after seeing the photos i have faith in the photographer, i know that even if that place is gone he will get another nice place for our photos.

valerie, i live in taman jurong (lakeside area). you know where's my church huh? :D

hey ladies,

I am looking at Nov 08 dates, a saturday during the school holiday. is it too early to book for banquet now in your opinion? Like will we miss out any possible 'promotions' during bridal shows etc...? i have a hotel in mind already which sort of fits my budget that's why i am not sure if i should wait and see.

Hope to get feedback over here.. Thanks very much!

Hi tete... my actual day is going to be on the 19 Jan 2008 instead, bo pian hotel dun have other dates le!

btw ladies..look out for the BOWS show by Blissful Brides end of this month at Tan Quee Lan Green

I just sign up with Signoria Nuziale.

Hi Henyve

We shared the same wedding dates!!! How is your prep coming along?

I am waiting for the balloting result for my flat to be out in May. *Cross-finger and pray*

hi gals i'm back! i went to MBR todae.. yup i do agree tat the places they had in the photos are v unique. not commonly seen in spore!! i saw their bali pics also.. the water, waves, sunset.. all are really nice! but i wonder how much is such package hor cos bali have to sit plane.. i tink will be more ex than bukit tinggi. i tried a few gowns there too, their gowns are not bad.. found 1 tat i liked a lot. shall look ard more then decide

i went to swissotel too! their suite is fab! the view hor.. is really shiok. i took pics! show u all after i dl hehe.

lydia.. i tink i noe where is ur church. its at pandan gardens right? i live near there..hehe. 4got the name of the 2churchs there but its v familiar. how come u come to this church? u use to stay there?

hi tingie

its not too late to book. infact smtimes if u book earli, u get to keep the old package price. which hotel u looking at? let us know, we might be able to know when they are changing their prices.

Lydia, I think you are right! I don't know which pic is took in Singapore. Hmm... I am indeed impressed.

Valerie & Korice, have you all heard before candle lighting instead of champagne pouring? Do you know how does it works? I also want to do something different ley! Val, I also have the same feeling that I will end up taking the simpliest plan also. My ROM will also held on the AD. Faint! Unless, my flat comes first, then I will have no choice but to ROM first. If not...jia lat lor! All in one day.

Tingie, personally I feel that so long as you are comfortable to start the wedding prep, then just go ahead and do it. But you must always be prepare that in the event if there is any promotions that you will missed out later, do not regret, just remember that is your choice at that time when booking. It must be something that you feel comfortable of and is already prepared to come out this sum of $. I am budget bride, so I think ... as long as you feel like doing it...then JUST DO IT! Good Luck!

hey fifi

u signed with HIPV! dinner or lunch? who is ur coordinator? i'm v interested in HIPV too! can u share ur package with me? i'm gg to view the place tmr.. see nice o not and wad i can nego. tell me more! thanks!

hi jean

i saw tat signoria's pics are quite unique in the mags. did u sign up becos of tat too? how's the service there? can share ur package? thanks

joanne

i've only heard of the unity candle lighting during church weddings. nv heard of for banquets leh. ohhh i tink i sorta heard of. its like a big candle stand (with xmas tree shape also like the tier of champagne glasses) and the couple slowly light the candles, 1 person on each side.. start from the bottom up and when they reach the top candle, they light it together. smting like tat.. can imagine? but where to find the candle stand or how to do the placement of the candles? hehe tat is smting for us to find out. not a bad idea!

ya la everything in one day is v jialat.. but then how? this is the most budget le.. save $$$ hehe. joanne which BS hv u taken? booked venue le ma? when is ur date? sorri i 4got le.. hehe.

Val.. I'm about to sign up with Holiday Inn too.. but its the atrium. They gave us lots of perks too.. talk to Malcolm.

I'm emailing you...

hi trista,

fellow printemp bride! if you had paid for the deposit, so most probably you had settled for the package already?

mine only settled on photography, yet to discuss with moi coordinator on AD, and is still contemplating should i get a local one or stick to them.

for bargains, basically nothing much for PS except extra poses, lower costs for additional poses pictures and some framed pictures.

oh, moi cooridinator's katrine.

when's your wedding by the way? =)

oh Joanne i'm also Miss Budget. Not into premium hotel. Still torn between hotel & restaurant choice. I kind of like Furama's Riverfront CUPID package as it fits my budget and should be able to cover as most people will pay bit more for hotel dinner. Any comments on that?

I heard packages price will increase every next level? is it true? Ya i would love to be getting the current package price if the price increase in future, but again am afraid booking too early will miss out on perks from shows or whatsoever in the coming months.

Anyone is a Furama Riverfront BTB? Anyone knows whether they will have bridal shows annually or what?

Hope to get help from you ladies!