(2008) Brides of year 2008

Hi strawberry,

I also planning to do everything on the same day - ROM/Customary/Dinner. Somemore need to plan for reno for our new home too. Going to be siong but very worth it!

tentative feb 08 btb checking in!

hmm htb and i lookin at 16thfeb08 but havent gone dwn to view hotels yt as waiting for his mum to let us knw hw many tables she needs... also thinking of asking her to choose auspicious date .. hmmm nt sure if 160208 gd or not...

btw cn share with me contact of master ong, location n contact n charges = [email protected]
thanksss

Hi pple...

My FH and i planning to hold just a church wedding on 7 Dec 2008
Have been to Rasa Sentosa to check out the outdoor venue..But most likely our dream of outdoor wedding will not come to past as Dec is a monsoon month;( Recently paid a deposit @ Santiago BS (Bridal fair). Have a very comprehensive package. However, didn't do my legwork..Have my doubts after reading some of the threads. I will be going down to BS to try some of their gowns and meet my coordinator to clarify my doubts. Looking forward to hear more from all of u!

Hi.

My mom's been to a few geomancers and they all say that cos the Tong Shu is not out yet, we can only select the dates in May, when the next year's Tong Shu is out.
Has anyone have the same problem? The thing is, I have to book another wedding location here in the UK as well and it seems like the dates are going fast in June 08 already! so my FH is not happy to wait till June 08.

Mrs C, do you know if Mr ong will be able to read? Did he gives you a few dates to choose from? I might have to make a long distance call to him then to see if he can give us the dates. Can't do anything without the dates sorted out!

Anyone can give advise or help??

HI mIsSY

I"M ONLY BacK IN sIN FOr cHINESe NEW YEaR WILL bE BACK IN AUs FROM MARCH ONWardS>>>IT"S REALLY Hard ESP TRYING TO aRRaNGE GOWNS AND PHOTOGRAPHY AT THE MOMENT>

how's the prIce like in UK? if u can afford to design a gown, why not do it iN UK whIch u"LL LOOK dIfferent from others and u keep them eventually. Sin SB usually is for hire and inclUdes PHOto shoots right? So if u r thinking of taking outdoor shoots in the UK, it's probably wiser to buy some cheaper gowns to take photos and spend some money to design ur dream dress.

At the moment, i'm thinking of getting some gowns on sale here like few hundreds for 1 to take photos, and invest more money in a actual gown for the wedding day cos i dun want to dirty my wedding gown for outdoor shoots. But i'm still comparing prices so this trip back home SIN, i'll look ard and see wat they can offer.

I heard that French studio and Slyvia? are the best in SIN bcos they have the biggest range. My fiance's sis had it with French and they were very happy with it. She had 3 changes in one night.

My wedding is in June and some of the hotels actually allow bookings alrdy...so have to ask around...

Hi Kassey,

Same here I had signed up with Santiago during the fair...have yet to contact the coordinator to see their gowns...I have a comprehensive package too...just hoping to keep an open mind and hope for the best in everything.

jojo (blur_queenie),

my colleague had hers during the food tasting
session.

for me, we are considering to arrange one at restaurant, and food tasting is most probably not the first time they'll meeting if both sides can fork the time.

we find it a little tad too late to wait till food tasting for them to meet. wanna "drill" them with a common understanding whilist preparing the wedding together to safeguard all interests.

but then, the lunch/dinner is not gonna be cheap for a normal 10 person course! =(

Hey henyue,

Who is the person that u spoke to? Mine was Candy. An approachable lady..Ya i guess, we will be hopeful ya
Great to have found someone
Perhaps one day we can arrange to meet at the BS
Will update u tom on my visit!

Hi BTB of Aug 08, Aug happens to be the 7th lunar month. Exact date (1 Aug - 30 Aug) Know what that means? Most Chinese will be avoiding this period cos it's the "Hungry Ghost Festival". I'd actually wanted to have my customary on 8 Aug 08 too but only came to realise that it's the inauspicious month. Had to change date already

if anyone of you havent decided on a BS yet, i have a very comprehensive package with My Bridal Room that i am looking at letting go. I only paid $500 deposit.
Anyone interested please let me know ok? My package includes 32pieces 12x18" pics, 1 outfit for bridesmaid, outfits for paigeboy & flower girl, FIL jackets x 2... the rest are standard package... please let me know if anyone of you is interested in my package details ok? my email is [email protected] or you can leave your email & i can get back to you as well.

if anyone of you havent decided on a BS yet, i have a very comprehensive package with My Bridal Room that i am looking at letting go. I only paid $500 deposit.
Anyone interested please let me know ok? My package includes 32pieces 12x18" pics, 1 outfit for bridesmaid, outfits for paigeboy & flower girl, FIL jackets x 2... the rest are standard package... please let me know if anyone of you is interested in my package details ok? my email is [email protected] or you can leave your email & i can get back to you as well.

Hi Kassey,

My coordinator is Chris...I haven called them up to check out their BS yet...maybe I shld do so too...rather scarily reading others comment but let's have an open mind =) I'm sure as long as we enjoy the process of planning everything will go smooth =) Hehe my AD is excatly 6mth before yours =)

hey snowy..
Unless your in-laws are particularly against it..or u yourself feel it. In my opinions, everyday is a great day...Its how u perceive it..Do talk it thru with your FH. I believe there was a reason y u guys chose 8 aug 08..So think abt it again. Just some 3 cents thought ;)

Hey Henyue..
Haha...i guess we have a connection
Ya Open mind!! I think we both are quite free hee...Anxious Brides to be
In fact i have been online looking for suitable venues to hold my solemnisation. Our combined guest list is abt 300...AS we do not want the traditional chinese round table dinner, looking for alternative venues where there good view of the nature and/or with ample sunlight or nice chapels with stain glass windows. IF you or any of u have, do share with me ya...Thanks

Hi Kassey,

You wanna try the Singapore Yatch Club...duno how is it going to be like but my fren say scenery very nice =) Else, there's a restaurant in Botanical Garden (forgotten the name)...my fren recom oso but think is quite ex...=)

nice to "meet" all of you, am a BTB in June 08, have selected 8/6/2008 but not sure if its an auspicious date for wedding, the 08 tong shu haven out right?

have already placed a package with GHA..am sourcing around for hotels now..

Hi ladies, I'm a June bride too! My AD is 2 June 09 and is having the banquet at Sheraton Tower. I've confirmed my VG & PG and now is left with sourcing for BS. Haha..I should be pretty free at the later part of this year.

hi hi to all ladies...
nice to meet u....

me yet to ROM...also planning to do it all at the same time but feels it will be too rush....

additional to tat, we can pretty pretty 2 times leh....

I have gotten out hse and it will only be ready in 2009 or late 2008...it at tampines...

BS also gotten...me signed up with Yvonne Creative at a roadshow....a comprehensive and worthwhile package!!!

Banquet still looking as i need to look for a venue tat can cater 60 tables....

Sweat ah....

ling: .. oh does it ? I thought its slightly before lunar 7th mth ... then I have to find another date already ... I just kinda like the number that's all haiz ..

Joycelyn: I still looking for house sadly
and Im looking for a budget yet hotel ballroom banquet erm not very big though lolz .. I dun even know if I got enough people fill 25 tables :P

hi Fifi,
my package is $3388 i got 32 pics because i dun wan the car, so i got more pics hehe... but they will still deco the car for you.

you interested in My Bridal Room oso? their service is really quite good you can read from their thread. Me letting it go only because i like another BS gown now hehe but sadly i cant get such a comprehensive package there... :P

Hi Winnie, which BS are u considering now? Some may consider to absorb the deposit which u'd paid for other BS, can check with them. For example, u can get a value of S$500 worth of service from the new BS if they allow, they'll usually require u to return the original receipt. Do check just in case u can't find someone else to transfer to...

paiseh, my email is is the above thread. didn't copy again. sure, will email to u but give me some time k coz it's hard copy le. Need to type out.

erical99,
ur e mail address?

Missy54, ya Mr Ong able to read. He have a few books and his own table chart i think, for reference to calculate the dates...
He will give a few dates, like mine have about 5 dates to choose...

Hi all BTB!!

So excited to see so many of you ladies here. Thought that I was KS to start searching for info when the day's only in 08. Seems like you girls have got things going. I still have no clue, no dates, no idea of what's gonna happen yet.

Hi joenbby, missy54!

I'll be holding mine overseas too. Or rather, one in Aus & one in SG. And I'm still trying to figure out how to work this out...

Hi Kel, most wedding planners advise planning early, of at least up to 1 or 1 & half years in advance. First of all, u'll definitely need to decide on the date when u wanna have your wedding. When that's fixed, everything falls in place. Cos all of the venues/BS u wanna book will ask you for the ROM/AD first.

hey Kel!

so glad to hear that i'm not the only one planning in another location!! =)
I'm not planning to ROM here in Sg. Just have the Civil Ceremony here in the uk, reception, then a week later, the banquet in sg. so it's 2 half days rather than one long day....

Thanks Mrs C!
Will ask my mom to give Mr Ong a call this week!

Winnie, sorry but I'm already a MBR customer. I was just wondering why you got 32 photos cos I think everyone else bargain a lot oso 28 only. But we have car mah. If not then see how to change. :-)

Actually, try to see if Sandra can MTM your gown for you. She's rather creative.

hi kel...

which part of aus are u planning..i'm doing mine in the gold coast QLD...it's actually not so hard..depending on ur budget. Taking photos in Aus is beautiful...they've nice scenery just about everywhere...

are u getting ur gowns in SIN or AUS? Is ur photographer from SIN or AUS? i'm still planning for mine..tentaively fixed on aus photographer and gowns but will check out what sin has to offer.

if u r doing anywhere in QLD, i'll be able to provde some info like location, gowns or even photographer. Let me know if you need help

Hi ladies, latest news i got from my Sheraton coordinator, 2008 weekday price has been revised to $788+++. Not sure about weekend rates. Hope this is useful to you.