(2008) Brides of year 2008

Mine is Chen Chor Min sifu somewhere near Balestier Plaza. His contact is 62547311. He will tape down all the details in a cassette tape as well as write in down on a paper.

For the dinner, I'm sharing the cost with my FH and my family knows about it so my parents are returning all the angbao to us!

charlene,
in midst of shortlisting... ...

luncheon is indeed more cost saving, but i doubt it's feasible for us due to family reasons.

as for dinner, most probably the family helps us in the sharing of costs first, and we'll pay back once the dinner is over after the settlement.

we intend to also pay for the dinner ourselves if we have the budget. in that case, we would keep the angbaos.

jojo, you're fortunate that your parents are ok with just a reception. but like duchess, we definitely need to throw a dinner.

Wedding_girl, I have been to a few hotels.. I really like one of it but its very ex.. I will contribute as much as I can for my wedding because its not fair to just ask one party to pay for everything..

I think I would be going down to the brides asia fair next week to take a look at what they are offering. =)

Thks brightstar,your blog is very informative .

When can we start booking for a banquet?When are the hotels banquet open for booking for yr2008?

Any bridalshops to recommend ?

hi jojo,

i am glad to find a like-minded BTB
i am also thinking of having wedding reception (no dinner). How will u be doing ur lunch reception?
care to share ur ideas?

btw.. i m planning to ROM & hold the wedding reception together in end 2008.

Hi celine,

I have yet to make up my mind to do a traditional 8 course lunch or international buffet. Some older folks would think that buffet is not that "presentable" and some would not prefer western food. I'm doing lunch solemnisation in beg of 2nd qtr 08. Currently sourcing out packages from some places that i have shortlisted for comparison (PJ, CV, Grand Roxy Mercure, Gallery Hotel). Any one has any comments on these hotels/rest)? Actually i am also considering GWP but will have to see if it's within our budget.

So celine, i think you have ample of time for your sourcing. As both of us are in tight budget, we are dropping ideas on 5 stars hotel packages as we would rather preserve our capital for reno if we ever get a flat next year. Still waiting for HDB to release news , making me abit impatient and have the notion to buy resale flats. How about u?

Wedding_girl: my wedding is in Jan 2008.

I also agree that its a lot of money to be spent on a 1.5 day event (cos my wedding is over 2 days with 1 full day and 1 half day). I will be sharing the cost with my FH. Cos after wedding, it's our money anyway. Count so much for what. Make this unhappy only.

5 star hotels are nice but too ex. I think find a nice hotel 4 star will do. What we want is a memorable event & it does not have the be neck-breaking to be memorable. I will be having my dinner at a 4 star hotel - Holiday Inn Park View (tentatively). :-)

HI all!!! wow.. so many of u all already more or less confirm banquet? what about ur bridal studio???? i just booked French Bridal.... having mix impression of them..hope they really give me what i wanted and i will enjoy the process!

i still have nt yet go down to feng shui master for the dates. those joss stick shop able to do it? need to just confirm before i go down so that i dun feel paisey if they dun provide..heee

Hmm..i have not even SL the bridal studio! Heh. Best to confirm banquet for those who are having dinner cos some dates are really popular.
As for BS, was thinking of SL: MBR, D'sire, Thomson wedding, Amanda (abit out of budget).

Both of us are considering PJ as it looks reasonable, however yet to hear from the coordinator as we have dropped her an email.

to moon- be on the look out for newspaper for upcoming wedding shows...and exhibitions...most porbbably can be in marina square, expo, suntec and even in hotels

u can get more freebies plus discount up to $1000

jojo,

wow u have done a lot of research
I am also considering 4 star hotel if too much pressure from parents lah. See how.. but i really dislike all the hassle of wedding dinner. Haha.. i m lazy bum..For me & my FH, we got the flat already; the newly built at Commonwealth. The key will be ready only 2nd quarter of this yr. At least, house is settled for now...

Fifi,
my colleague had it at holiday inn park view also and they made a gain
i did consider that one but lately, it looks rather run-down.

I heard from another fren that Hilton is $580nett on wkday dinner. Sounds reasonable but i dont know wat kind of package it is.

fifi,
you're fortunate not to have to spend so much money. i'm restricted to the more expensive hotels which has a bigger capacity, because mine will be a big affair - about 60+ tables. i would prefer that FH and myself pay for it, but he feels that it would make things easier for us if we just let FIL pay for it.

moon, brightstar,
recently went for the bridal show at marina mandarin, and i found some of the salons very pushy. especially as i hadn't really looked around at the bridal salons yet. i feel that it's better to do some 'homework', go down to the salons before a show, then if one of those you're interested in is participating in the shows, sign up at the show, as what brightstar said is right, they do give more freebies.

celine,
i was nearly your neighbour... FH actually balloted for the 5-room flat, and we got the queue number to select but in the end didn't go for it as only the lower floors were left - we preferred the highest floor. which unit did you pick?

Celine,

I'm abit of the KS type, furthermore, both of us do not like to rush to get the things done and end up wasting our weekend which is the only time we spent together throughout the week!

You are lucky to get the CW flat! We ballot for it, but not successful. The chances we have right now is the up coming WIS in first Qtr 2007 or else be staying w IL for a period. Sigh.

Do you know which hotels have release the pricing for 2nd half 2008 ? I checked and most accept only till early 2008.

Celine, I will be your neighbour
there's a thread on this.

mine is tentatively in 2008, first half of the year.

i'm kiasu too, as i do not want to rush stuffs at the last minute, especially moi flat will be ready most probably in late 2008 or early 2009.

actually I think its not about being kiasu but about choices. If you start off early you won't feel stress up if the hotel/PG/VG you want is being booked. You can in fact be picky about the things you want as you have ample time to make changes.

I'm in fact search for my PG and VG now even though my AD is in mid 08. I can compare rates and works of different PG/VG and select the one I like best. I rather have a pool of choices than to be left with no or little alternative.

Agree with Josey, currently i have send enquiries to at least 9 venues and till date only 1 reply back. Apparently the one that reply back do not have 2008 package but i do not mind 2007 as i can compare the prices and add in % mark up for any price increase next year.

to jojo - i emailed 25 hotels and only 10 replied when i first send out my first wave of enquiries....hehe....the rest aslo dont know why didnt reply....

do homework first before going for wedding shows...

ask around...what freebies they give and compare...push a little bit more and u will be surprised they give more..if not dont sign lor..go else where....anyway got many BS around :p

i called them up and requested them to email to me. all are done within the day itself... ...

i am comparing the rates now, hoping to start on site visit soon!

Maybe i should do the same.

Anyone has any idea which hotel/restuarants that offer ala carte menu for lunch rather than fixed 8 course or buffet?

Is it too early to visit BS now? I'm intending to visit some but not too sure if i should book one within these 2 months as i might miss out nicer or better offers later part of the year. Will i be late if i decided to finalise the BS package in June? How long does one get to obtain the PS album before the AD?

I would suggest to take PS at least 6 months before AD. This would give ample time on getting the album. I have seen some friends take 2-3 months before AD and end up collecting the album 2-3 days before AD, which imo is very rush..

My wedding will be in Jan 08...
I am wondering if it is gd to have wedding a week before Chinese New Year.

Will it be very weird? any comment?

My wedding will be in 2008 as well. tentatively Mid-2008. Now busy with renov that i got from the recent WIS

So many things to do within so short time it suddenly seems.

Gosh!
there are so many things to think about! we've not even chosen the date yet! and i'm planning it from UK as well!! Stressed!!!
does anyone have a good geomancer to recommend in giving dates for 08?
What I'm planning is to travel back to Sg prob 3 times before the wedding. may this year to sort all the BS and venue out, hopefully can sit down and even get dress designed. The Oct for 1st fitting and depending on date of wedding, for the studio photographs.
does it all sound a little rushed?
If anyone's got a geomancer to recommend, please drop the infor! Thank you so much!

Wow missy54, that's pretty rush given the fact that you will be back three times during that period. What if something happens (touch wood!) that need to be look into (like sudden change of coordinator, bad arrangement/communication during the change, price increase, etc)
Do give yourself more allowance and some backup plans. I can imagine the stress level you will be in. Good luck in your planning!

to missy54, u can email the hotels to ask about the price...but first of all, u need a date...

maybe from the "search" u can type keywords like "geomancer" "feng shui"

jojo,
if you got the budget, moi friend had her luncheon at Marriot. 1 person is around 40+ i think...
the other had hers at The Legends,outdoor.

don't think it's too early, and it's always to be early than rushing. they need time make the gown (if mtm), arrange slots for photo shoots, and the editing.
if *touch wood* photos / editing isn't satisfactory, you'll still have the time to salvage.

missy54,

emailing usually takes longer time. get your buddies or FH to call them up and request them to email the package to you.

any hotels/restaurants in mind?Can email you the packages if i have them =)

Missy, you may wan to try master ong, his price is $38. i went to him to get my dates.
He give us a few to choose.
(pls leave ur e mail for his contacts)

its not early to search for hotel/resturants now.
if ur wan to hold wedding in 2008 weekend.
Cause that day during dec i went to book my dates for Jan 2008,
then jan weekend left a day for me to choose onli.

hi hi!!
oh thanks so much for all your infor!!! it's great to know that there are others out there sharing your stress! hehe..

my email is [email protected], Mrs C. can you please email me the details?

Duchess,
i'm thinking of either June or Sept 08. I've emailed Conrad, 4 seasons, marina mandarin, sheraton and regent. because I've only got about 12 tables for dinner, it's easier to take out those hotels which have min number. I've got all their packages now. Now thinking of maybe grand copthorn waterfront and maybe a few others. Can you email me all the packages that you have which are not in the list of 5 that i've mentioned above? I can then take a look then... thanks very much!

BS wise, I've got a few also shortlisted. Yvonne creative, Siloutte atelier, dang, santiago (via recommendation). Does anyone have any comments about these places? what are the BS that you have chosen? We can share experiences too! =)

gosh!! so many things to think about!!!

Hi missy54,

I have Grand Copthorne, have sent to your email.
I'm also looking into 4 Seasons & Sheraton towers, but i need the buffet menu rather than the chinese set lunch package. Do you happen to have it? Can kindly email to me at [email protected] ? Thanks.

I'm also 2008 BTB. My BS I have booked with Yvonne Creative. Taking their overseas photo shooting.... Currently still looking for banquet which is quite a headache now...

Sorry I have not been replying here. HIPV looks a bit older from the outside but I find that it is quite cozy on the inside (esp the lobby). The ballroom is not fantastic but I like the theme. In comparison to 5 star hotels, I feel those are very grand but also very cold. No warmth. I also dun want to spend too much. 2 days wedding is already costing me a bomb.

BS, I booked My Bridal Room. I like the creative style of photos by the PG. Maybe cos I like scenary & his outdoor scenic photos are nice. The gowns are also quite nice & creative. The people are also very warm. I actually went to abt 15-20 studios before I decided using a rating system on photos, gowns and service.

Hi Fifi,

Ive sl MBR as one of the BS to visit as as i heard positive comments on it. Will be dropping by the BridalAsia Exhibit at Suntec. Is anyone going as well?

Hi d-duchess, though i have heard good reviews on Marriot but been there for one wedding din and the food is bad, some dishes are cold and the fish is not fully cooked.But thanks for the suggestions.

I believe it all boils down to luck... every studios / hotels have their fair share of goods and bads, just depending on the ratio. Just pray hard we aren't falling into the "sway" category.

Jojo,
I've personally been to a wedding reception at Regent Hotel. Not bad too..

missy54,
I only have Grand Copthorne Waterfront from your list, which Jojo had emailed to you already I guess.

Mrs C,
Moi email is [email protected]. Do mail me the contact! Thanks!

Moi BS is from johor... ...Do share with me the photos if anyone has taken. Would love to see the nice pictures!

Hello, i am new here, and still trying to get used to reading so much at one go... i'll be having my wedding in jan 2008... wld be holding the dinner at oriental hotel.. oriental hotel is holding a wedding show this 21st jan... the perks given is not bad...

e mail sent...
Master Ong, is nice.
Althought onli met once, he helped us to calculate and give us some dates on the spot.
Heard from my friend that we will have to go back again to find him to get the other dates
and time like guo da li and an chuan at no extra charges. Gd hor?

BTW, any of ur having ur wedding a few weeks b4 chinese new yr?

oriental is charging 888+++ for wkend dinner... perks include free flow of beer, one bottle of red wine per confirmed table...

my wedding wld be 3 wks b4 CNY.. if you got relatives from overseas, then it might be a bit of a hassle for them, cos they need to travel at peak season... cos that's the problem for me, but cos it is a significant date, we went ahead with it.

i was looking at conrad too, ballroom is rather nice and i like that grand look but cos they charge for using things like projector and wouldnt compromise on such details, so i gave up...

marriott is the other option, was very good.. like the place and the price is very reasonable.. but HTB didnt like some of the details, so gave up.

Hi girls!
I was thinking i may abit too early to plan for my 2008 dinner. Glad to see so many of u guys having it around the same time as me. i intend to have mine in feb or 2nd month of the chinese calender.Dunno where to start to plan haiz

I think find a master first if u intend to find one to calculate the dates.
Cause hor, i also want to hold in feb or mar 08.
then after seek master advise.
he say feb and mar not very gd for us. so we choose jan 08.

tot normally the shifu will give u all dates at one go? for hunag shifu, he gave all dates including guodali and an chuan...

for 2006 packages, u can get from here menue shld be abt the same but price may have increased...so kindly check with hotels...

Just got back from BridalAsia event at Suntec, the participating hotels: Parkroyal,Ritz Carlton Bali & resort, Grand Copthorne, Spaboutique and some other restuarants,didnt catch my eye.

BS participating include: Santiago, Bridal Concept, French Bridal, Graceful Image, White Link,Wedding News Coulture, S.broadway, Golden Horse Award/Dio Gio, White Link, have special packages/promotion for this event only. So far, i'm only impressed by Golden Horse and Di Gio as the photography skills are good and refreshing.

Just my 2cent opinions.