(2008) Brides of year 2008

hi mosburger, my rom is in jan..flat will be ready in 2009 so intending to haz my Ad in 2008..so dat my pocket $ can breathe..wahaha

hello ladies,

i'm so so unmotivated to get started. well, i've rom-ed in 2005, our hse renovated last year (burnt a huge hole in our pocket!!). me & my hubby are happily living in our comfort zone so we're just plain lazy to get the whole thing going, imagine rushing to book hotels, plan guest list, choosing bridal studio, gosh..HEADACHE again!! ... any BTB facing the same problem as me? or izzit just us?

Hi Chuinyok.

Which BS is the package from?
I'm currently in the UK, not singapore, so can't call you.
Will you be able to email me the details instead? Is there a date for the package to be used or can I use it like in end 2007?
THanks!!

hey ladyk....ur not alone....so share wif u my 'story'...

we romed in 2003....house done almost at the same time in 2003.....like wat u said burnt a super big hole in our pocket.....imagine now then we started to plan for our big day which is gonna b in 2008.....alot of ppl r surprised dat we dragged for 5 years......

so dun b dishearted alrite....look forward to being a mei mei bride....dat should keep u motivated......cheerios~~~

Hi Chuninyok,

i would also want to know which BS is the package from? It looks pretty good but would also like to know which BS so that can have a look at their gown design...

looks like there is more 2008 brides comming ya... lets all share our preparation and exp together....

really glad to join this forum.

hi ladies, I'm also planning my wedding 2008. anyone got a wedding planner? I have met up a few. i will start looking for hotel once i confirm the planner. anyone got good recommendation for hotel?

welcome harp.....

dats true Mabel.....guess thr shd b more soon since it's abt time 2008 btbs plan their wedding.....=)

thanks stnov for the encouragement!!

yeah mabel, we shld come tog, share our preps, our experiences, our worries & joy!

Hi Harp... it depends whats your budget for hotels... those 4 star and above and famous ones can be pretty exp up to $1k

My AD is in Jan 08.

We've shortlisted a few hotels but havnt decided yet.

1) Shangri-la
2) Four Seasons
3) Conrad
3) Fullerton

Any comments?

I've got no idea where to start really! to be honest, I'm not planning the wedding cos my boyfriend haven't even proposed yet! hehe....
but no harm just taking a look.... prob planning next year for 2008 i think... i'm in the uk as well, so it's really diff to plan!

i heard 4 seasons have very pretty ballrooms and service, but very ex... anybody can tell me roughly what the cost is per table for 4 seasons?

well, you are not alone, my bf didnt even propose and jump straight to "which period are you looking at?"

Looking into either Jan or Apr 2008...aiming for Apr instead , to avoid giving angpao during new year..it's a tradition at his side

Aiming for a simple solemnisation, either a lunch or high tea. Did ever thought of picnic wedding, more relax and fun but dun think my OH can take the heat
kao_dizzy.gif

hee i purposely indicate to my bf that he needs to propose to me first...

actually no harm sourcing and researching for all the details first because it takes pretty long min of 1 yr to plan your wedding one...

hi hi... i'm new here.. read through your threads..very interesting..
me too planning for 2008 / 2009 wedding (depending on when we will be able to get a flat..) but we plan to conduct the ROM next year..
my fren had her wedding @ conrad..very nice..food is good too

I've heard some good things about conrad. I'm not sure about the number of tables that I'll be having though... cos there'll prob be less considering he's not from Singapore. prob looking at about 25-30 tables... that's why i wanted to look into smaller ballrooms.

also looking at bridal studios that can help or provide the dresses for overseas use as well cos we'll prob be having a reception here in the uk.

Hi hi... I'm new to this thread... =) Be having my actual day in Jan'08.. =)

Hi Mabel,

You've got mail! =) So which are the hotels that you have looked at already?

Dear all, i'm also planning to have my wedding in 2008. My family don't really believe in choosing auspicious dates etc. but my hubby's side do. So will have to wait for them to tell me which date is good before i will know when i can have my AD.

Hotels are way too expensive for us, as we plan to have 40 tables. So i'm thinking of having my dinner in a nice and affordable restaurant.

My rom just over on the 2nd of dec, am thinking of taking a breather before planning for AD. But after looking at this thread, looks like its better to plan early.

Hi Stnov,

Yipee! I found another Jan'08 bride in this forum.. kekeke...

Oh! I'll be having mine on 05/01/08. How about you? Fixed the date yet?

Hi Eowyn,

I had to plan early because I'll be having my wedding dinner in a hotel.. Pple usually book way in advance.. Especially if its an auspicious date. So no choice lor.. Had to act fast.. =)

Hi Missy54,

I'm not too sure about this... Cos my parents handled the date thingy for us... I remembered them asking for my fh's date of birth, time etc..

Erm... which are the months you are looking at? I mean do you have a preference on that? Cos my parents asked if we wanted to hv our wedding begining, middle or end of the yr..

I noted fm your earlier posting that you are looking at smaller ballrooms.. for ard 25-30 tables... You may wish to check the following hotels out. By the way, what is your budget per table for the wedding banquet?

1) Hilton
2) Regents
3) Hyatt
4) M Hotel (max 32 tables)
5) Traders (can't remember their max.. think its ard 30 tables)
6) Holiday Inn Atrium (the hotel mayb a lil old but their package is really attractive & comprehensive.. ballroom is pretty ok.. service & food is excellent! If you are interested I can pass you the contact to the Director of Catering Sales.)

Oh! I think Four Seasons is around the $1K plus range.. Regents is under the management of Four Seasons.. If you are interested, I can also pass you the contact there..

Weddings banquets on a weekday are usually cheaper as compared to weekend.. & the hotels tend to throw in more perks for weekday too.. Like free flow of beer & a bottle of red wine per confirm table.. With those offers, you can save alot.. Quite alcohols are pretty ex & they can burst your budget by alot if your guests loves to drink! =)

Hi Josey,

Saw your posting pertaining to hotels not opening up their '07 packages to your wedding in '08.

Maybe you can take this as a guide.. add about $30 to the current packages & include another 2% for the increase of GST.

My advice to you is to still continue with your search for the ideal hotel now.. Shortlist them in order of your preference. Get the hotels to tentatively block the date for you & once their pricing for '08 is out to contact you immediately.

Hi Alicia,

Thanks for the advise. Yes, I will continue to keep a look out for it. By the way Marriott Hotel is having a wedding show today. I think they are reducing their weekday rate to $768nett!! After Sheraton reduced their weekday rate to $728+++ I suspect the rest of the hotels are going to follow the same trend...Let's cross our fingers and hopefully we will be able to get a good deal out of it.

i intend to haz my AD in end of 2008.
so wondering where to get informations abt the various hotels wedding shows?

josey,
izzit true dat marriott is reducing their rate??
wow...it wud be good if all the hotels r following suit :P

Wow! Prices are so attractive... Are they extending these offers for weddings to be held in '08?

Hi Carowl,

What my friend did was to email to the hotels & ask them to notify her when there is a wedding show.

Holiday Inn Atrium is having a wedding show on 13/01/07. According to the Director of Catering Sales, they are giving alot of perks/good offers.. Should check them out.. I've visited them, in my opinion they are the best in terms of perks.. service & food is also excellent!

Hi to all 2008 BTB, i'm new here but have been reading the various threads for quite some time.

Will be a 2008 bride too, but no exact date yet, only know it will be in the first half of the year.. Looking around for hotels now...

just wanna share wif u gals esp those planing to have dinner in Jan 08 that it'll be good to book a tentative date wif the hotel u are looking at soon cos my younger sis who's getting married in Jan 08 have confirmed her date wif Amara. She had wanted to be held in Dec 07 on any sundays but when she met wif the coord, she was disappointed to know that all the weekends of the dec 07 are fully booked. Lucky she had a few dates and managed to get a sunday in jan 08. Speaking from my own exp, it's good to give yourself at least one year from the date u wanted to book wif the hotel. Becos those popular ones can get booked very fast. Some hotels allow u to book 2008 dinners using 2007 rates... it differs from one hotel to another. My sis managed to book hers under 2007 rates.

Alicia, Stnov, I'm also a Jan 08 BTB. :-) My date is 26 & 27 Jan 08.

I've already booked my BS & church. Hotel is more or less booked too. Just that haven sign contract & pay the downpayment. So now can relax a while le.

Hi Starstar,

I totally agree with you.. I think when it comes to wedding planning (especially booking of hotel banquet) its beta to take the more 'kaisu' approach. keke...

Hi Fifi,

Cool! Another Jan 08 BTB... Welcome welcome.. =)

Wow! Which BS had you signed with? And which hotel are you going to confirm? =P

Alicia
yo..so long never tok to u on msn..how r ya? Saw in your profile u booked Hilton.
good choice.
also realise your AD is one day before my sis....keke..hers on 06/01/08.

Hey Gals!
Thanks alicia for all the infor!
hm.. I'm looking to prob have mine in June 08... not sure about the prices.
Only thought of 4 seasons cos I've heard of the reputation.
The M hotel sounds good too. Are they of the similar standard to Conrad and 4 seasons? Anyone knows the current table prices for M Hotel weekends? I'm trying to keep it to max 30 tables. =)

Any feedback on conrad, marina mandarin, 4 seasons and M hotel?

Hi StarStar,

Think you may have gotten the wrong Alicia... =) I just joined the forum not too long ago.. =P Hee Hee..

Hi Missy54,

You are most welcome. M Hotel is under 4 stars while the rest you have shortlisted are 5 stars. =)

I think M Hotel is charging $888nett for weekend.. But that's based on '07 prices... Prices may increase for '08 weddings.

Hi hi.. MIA for a while..sometimes lost this thread..hehe..
I am planning for ROM next year (07) and I tink AD will be 2009 or 2010 liao.. cos next year will probably use $$$ to do house renovation first then save all over again for wedding.. sigh

mine's tentatively in 2008 too, but has yet to check with the "master" on the date. sourcing for moi dinner venue still...

Hi Josey,

Have you checked out the other hotels like Hilton & Regent? I think Regent is giving quite a good deal leh... =) If you want I can pass you the contact to both hotels.

Hi Sharz,

Welcome to the thread... =) So which are the hotels you have seen?

Hi Alicia,

Thanks, but actually Sheraton still work out to be a better deal. $768+++ is for a table of 12 so after taxes, it is about $75.52nett/pax. The plus factor is they are beside Newton MRT station. Its good for those who don't drive.

One thing about Regent is that they have those auspicious dates. If your date happen to fall under their auspicious date, there will be additional charges. And they are located away from MRT so transport maybe a problem for the guests.

hi josey,
im oso considering sheraton...looking at the pricing too for a table of 12, its quite a gd deal :P when do u intend to hold ur AD?

Hi carowl,

My AD is on 2 June 08, will be having my solemnisation on the same day at The Waterfall area. What about you?

alicia,
tentatively, i'm looking at noble house, parkroyal at beach rd.

relatively quite a number of tables, at least 45, and the budget too... ...