(2008) Brides of year 2008

Hi All, Was introduced to this forum by my fren. planning to have mine in the 3rd quarter of 2008. When do u all think i shd start sourcing for the banquet etc?

Hi All ,
I'm new to this webpage, saw alot of interesting information everyone has contributed. Having my ROM on the coming 28 Dec 06 and planning my AD on last quarter 08.Anyone knows when the tongshu 2008 be out?Dont noe how to start planning.

And any hotel with less then 20 tables to book?

Hi Esther,

Most of the hotel 2008 package is not out yet, but some hotel are willing to let you lock in with 2007 package. You can start attending the wedding shows to have an idea how the setup will be like and what are the usual perks that hotels will throw in. Consolidate the list and use it to negotiate with your "choosen" one. They may not give you all but its worth trying.

Hi all! i am new here as well...read through the posts n everyone sounds pretty excited = )

Anyone knws wat's e price for orchid country club ballroom??

We heard pretty gd comments and considering booking there..

hi moon...u can check out the downloads at this page...these r for 2006 but they show the number of tables they offer...hope it is helpful

to gloria - my AD is on 101206...tot of considering OCC then...but they never reply me....but i ended took up HIPV

to Chia Ling - u can look at dec06 forum and browse thru...i have documented the entire process of my prep in my blog...u may find it helpful

josey, thanks! where will be yours be held and when?

still keeping moi options open, hoping by late january to finalise the venue and book... ...

hi josey,

so haz u booked ur banquet wif sheraton tower?
cz they send mi a package which is oso 768+++ bt its 2007 package so i wonder wat 2008 rate will be...

Hi Carowl, they have sent me the contract but I have not signed it yet. Will do so after I meet up with the coordinator next month.

So which date did you give them? The 2007 package should $728+++ and it should be valid till Sept 2007 (that's what was stated in their current wedding package!)

If you check the Sheraton thread, some of them even managed to secure $728+++ all the way till Dec 2007.

Thx Josey, for the advice..my significant other told mi that we can plan our wedding within 6 mths..Sianz..y are they always so last min?

haha sther, i think they r in the relax mode while we r in the kanchiong mode :P

josey, i gave them the date dats in the 3rd/4th quarter of 2008 so they said they oni haz dis 768+++ package till 1st quarter of 2008. i can oni book when tongshu 2008 is ready, mst probably aft the lunar 7th mth rite?

haha sther, yes you can do it within 6mths...either you have a very simple wedding or pray very hard that you will be a heng heng bride. So that everything runs smoothly no hiccup as 6 months is pretty tight timeline and almost no room for mistake.

carowl, ya 2008 tongshu will be out only after the lunar 7th mth. I went to a geomancer who doesn't need tongshu as it will be too late for me if I wait for it. I'm also a KS bride :P

one tip before signing the contract...check if the coordinator is the same for ur entire wedding ...cos mine changes 3 times...so just a word of caution...

u can read here...

good news recieved... *hehz* tables are minimised to maximum 40.

Sther : yes, not just yours i guess. mine said it's all because ladies are more fussy, thus explains why... ... =/

I'm also a 08 bride. =)

Now facing the challenge finding the perfect place. Shortlisted Merchant Court and Regent for our lunch weddng. But saw quite a far bit of complaints in the forum abt them. sigh.. sian..

hey Linny......allow mi to share my take on ur concern....look at things from a positive view....both ur shortlisted hotels held hundreds of weddings every year but wat u see in d forum is juz a handful of complains....always remember dat nothing is perfect, complains might be due to alot of reasons e.g. miscommunications, too high expectation or it could be purely juz nice sway sway sumthg happen......btw im not related to them....juz my 2 cents worth!!! Cheerios~~~

I am planning my wedding in 2008 too. Nice to meet all of you here! How much are you planning to set aside for your BIG event?

Josey, can email me the Sheraton package for 2008 wedding at [email protected] ?

Im also planning my AD after the second half of Y2008. Is there a website/home page for Sheraton Towers? Food is served by Li Bai restaurant is it?

charlene,
i'm not exactly sure about the overall budget. what we are doing is a mere budget for the individual items.

currently, we are done with the photoshoot and is sourcing for the wedding venue.

how about yours?

Hi Stnov & brightstar,

Thanks for your encouragement. Yah, I have to be more positive. *Jia You!* I think sometimes we just expect too much from the hotel. I guess when the expectations are low, disappointment wont' be tat great after all =P

hi, i'm planning to hold it beginning of jan too but havnt gone around sourcing for wedding venue.

there's too much choices and dont know how to decide.. dont know whether I want to hold a separate one, ROM party with friends only and chinese sit down dinner with relatives only...

any advice?

Hi d-duchess

Wow you are fast. I am sourcing for my banquet now. The others I have not really started yet.

Which studio did you book the photoshoot with?

Hi Yelody

My two cents worth on the following

1) Shangri-la
I attended a fren's wedding there. Its very grand and nice. The only thing is that its quite inconvenient to get there.

2) Four Seasons
I went for a site visit and they have a private cocktail area and the ballroom is pillarless. Very cosy area. But max is only about 30 tables. Heard that the food is good

3) Conrad
Cant comment on this coz never been there before.

4) Fullerton
Personally, I like Fullerton. I love the layout, the stairs and the feeling there. Heard that food portion would be quite small. Package is comprehensive but... Expensive! Confirm will burn a big hole in your pocket..

haven't been in here for a week a many new people have logged in!! =)

me a 08 bride too! haven't set the date yet though.... it's going to be really tricky cos I'm going to be planning everything from the uk.
anyone with any advise on where to start in the planning? Am i being too kS to start planning now? the wedding will most prob be after the 7th lunar month in 08....

Time passed so fast, it's 2007 and i hv less than 1.5yrs to prepare everything, not even the exact date. Finally get to obtain OH chinese birthdate for dates. He was telling me to look into venue first rather than selecting the dates for wedding.

If we have decided on the dates & month but yet to look into the tong shu as it will only be out after lunar month of 2007, won't it be a bit too late if the date we have chosen is not appropriate and have to follow the tong shu? What if by that time, we have settle most of the preparations for hotel, won't it be a big loss if we change the dates?

Oh dear, i sound like a KC aunty..

am new here, and a 08 bride too!
to those worried about starting too early, i don't think it's too early to start planning. at least you don't have to rush so much later on.
need some advice on (in)auspicious dates. Both fiance and i are Christians and we don't believe in them, but MIL would prefer that the date we choose not be a 'bad' date. How do we go about checking such things?

hi charlene,
agree about Shangri-la being very nice and grand. it was one of my choices too, but i may have to forego it as it's so expensive! will burn a hole in your pocket too unless hubby is earning big bucks or parents paying for the dinner!

charlene,
i took moi package in johor...printemp. what's your choice of banquet venue and budget?

missy54,
it's not gonna be easy for you... it'll be good if your budget allows a planner, or your trustworthy friend who is able to assist you in errands and check.

jojo,
the chinese dates are out? i'm still waiting to "see" the "master" for mine. hope the tentative date i want is fine.

ya, gonna shortlist the venue, but then again, we have to give them the date once we want to confirm the venue yea?

wedding_girl,
guess the way is to go those "shifu" (fortune tellers?)

i also wanna to have those nice and grand venues...but budget constraint is the main factor. don't wanna blow too much into the wedding.

wedding_girl,

Either
1. Go to a shifu to calculate. Some use the Tong Shu, some use some other methods. Cheapest, maybe $38. Most ex, maybe $128.

2. Consult the Tong Shu yourself. It's quite easy actually & the Tong Shu cost abt $3 only.

3. Use those online websites that tell you whether the date is good or not. But I realised that these websites don't use the Tong Shu. They use some other method to derive.

hi duchess and Fifi,
thanks! i don't think we will go to a shifu, since we don't really believe in it; more to make MIL happy.

can i just ask what's the Tong Shu? and how can i get hold of it?

btw, any of you going for the show this Sun at Marina Mandarin?

hi missy54,
agree with duchess that it will not be easy to plan your wedding from overseas. unless you're pretty sure of which venues and dates you want, and budget isn't a problem, then you can just book straightaway. but i feel it's still good to meet with the hotels personally to sort out the details in the package. maybe when you next make a trip back here you could sort out some things.

hi ladies, getting dates from Tong Shu maybe easy but if you really want to get a good date, it will depends on the couple's DOB and TOB. The more complicated ones will even include parents's DOB.

hey shirlaine.....noted dat u intend to have ur weddg in Jan 08....if so pls decide & book ur venue asap cos mine AD oso in Jan 08 & wen i was sourcing ard in oct 06, a handful of d venues are taken up oreadi.....not trying to scare u but do act fast otherwise u may not get ur 'ideal' venue......cheerios~~~

For parents, no need the full DOB. Only the year can already. Because each day "belongs" to 1 animal. Hence will will clash 1 animal too. (The 12 animals can be divided to pairs that clash each other).

So when you check the Tong Shu. Even if the day is auspicious, you still have to check which animal that day is for. Make sure it dun clash you, your husband or parents.

Some people will check that it doesn't clash with siblings too but this is not that advisible cos you will find that there are no more days left for you. If siblings clash, ask them to hide in the room when the bride enters the house and leaves the house.

I learnt all this when I was selecting my date. I'm also a Catholic but my FH is not. So to please his family, we went to find an auspicious date. We went to a shifu at first but could not get a hotel venue for most of the dates he gave us. Either that or the date is too early in 07. In the end, I got a Tong Shu & selected the date ourself.

Tong Shu can be bought from those shops that sell joss papers, etc.

hi fifi,
thanks! will check those joss paper shops. but sounds really complicated to check for dates!

read earlier on in the thread that the Tong Shu for 2008 isn't out yet? when will it be out?

The Tong Shu goes by Lunar calender. I heard the 2008 Tong shu will be out sometime ard/after the 7th lunar mth.

If you are looking for dates before CNY in 2008, you can use the 2007 tong shu.

Basically, if you are not that pantang, just simply choose a day that "marriage" doesn't fall in the bad day for ... section. Auspicious days are those that "marriage" falls in the good day for ... section. Those without are more neutral.

If you want to go beyond that, then better go ask a shifu lor. To me, as long as I do enuff to satisfy people that the day is a good day, can le. So I chose an "auspicious" day that doesn't clash us, nor our parents.

hi Fifi,
what if i'm looking for a date after CNY in 2008, but would like to book the banquet before the 7th month this year?
basically, as you said, as long as the dates we're looking at aren't bad dates, we feel that's the least we can do for my MIL.

when's your AD?

I went to the geomancer who does need Tong Shu. I can't wait for the 2008 Tong Shu to be out either as it will be too late to book the banquet.

But can you book the venue without giving them the exact date? Before I got my date, I told the hotel I'm looking at March 08, but after I went to the geomancer, he says there is no good date for us in March and the best date is in either May or June.

Anyone who has a good geomancer to recommend for looking at dates?
Had a long chat with my fiance and he agrees that we might have to take a few trips to fly back and forth between singapore and uk to sort things out. We are planning a trip in May this year, so hopefully we can arrange to meet a few bridal studios, get the date sorted out and also book the hotel for banquet all within that 1 trip.
If someone can recommend a good geomancer for us, that'll be great! thanks!!

Hi wedding_girl

I agree.. But then sometimes I feel that this is like a once in a lifetime thing.. so it's like a dilemna.. I dont know if I should just spurge .. on the other hand.. Need the money for other stuffs also.. Haha

d-duchess - I am still thinking about it.. Where did u book urs?

i think i will just pick a few dates and pass it to my MIL to check if they're alright with her since i can't wait for the tong shu to be out.

charlene, i agree with you; am in the same dilemma. wedding is a once in a lifetime thing and most of would want a fairytale wedding. but it is a lot of money, especially since i would prefer to pay for it. have you been to take a look at any hotels yet?

are you girls paying for the dinner or going the traditional way to let the guy's side pay for it? am not sure what to do as finances are quite tight...

i do agree with you , wedding girl. It's really a lot of money to be thrown on just one day or half a day like my case (I opt to take a lunch reception instead). Both of us are trying to keep everything simple and light so that we have some capital left for flat if we happen to get one within that time frame. It's too stressful to cramp both housing,renovation and wedding together within that short period of time.

I do not believe in doing the traditional way of having my OH to pay for most of the stuff. Marriage is a two parties affair, not just one party slogging like mad to fulfill the other party fairytale dream wedding. We decided to pay it through our joint account which we contributed a fixed amount faithfully throughout the year. Both of us are not high fliers and with family committments,we are contented with a simple but yet memorable wedding.

Any recommendation for fengshui masters on dates? I read in one thread that there is one at Jalan Sultan area which is pretty near my workplace but i can't seem to find that thread anymore.